Inquiry set up into taping of phone calls from Garda stations

I posted something in the Legal forum asking about a brush with the law I'd had. My God I got set upon like a Christian being thrown to the lions. What is it with boards and the pro AGS agenda? Obviously when they're not on Pulse looking up Georgia Salpa's address or cancelling the penalty points of the elite then they spend the day on boards. Probably have plenty of free time what with the secret recording of phone calls leading to "amazing" breaks in cases that Sherlock Holmes himself would be proud of.

consider the series of events

deputy daly is one of the TD,s who draws public attention to the issue of the cancellation of penalty points of well positioned people , she speaks at length about it in dail eireann

she is soon after arrested on suspicion of drink driving and detained in police custody for several hours , it is subsequently discovered that she was not even close to being over the legal limit

who in this story appears to be ( guilty ) of suspicious behaviour ?

deputy daly is driving and takes a right or left turn where there is a 'no right/left turn' sign.
    Gardai spot a car taking the illegal turn and stop it.
    they speak to the driver, who smells of drink. by her own admission had drink taken ( a hot whiskey for her cold!!)
    the roadside breath test equipment fails to work.
    so she is arrested on suspicion of drink driving, brought to the station, placed in a cell until a doctor arrives, gives a sample, sample is tested, its under the limit. good girl deputy daly.

she should be happy the Gardai are doing their job, i know plenty of Guards who wouldnt have a clue who she was if they stopped her, myself included, although i get the impression she wouldnt be long telling ya!

also, she was placed in a cell while waiting for a doctor?
    so is every other prisoner,

is Clare Daly saying she should be treated differently because she is a TD? is she somehow above the law?
    is she better than others that have been arrested for suspected drunk driving?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 eddie_hitler

Shady Tady wrote: »
    Hard fcuking man! How do you do it?

not hard , just learned sense , speaking to guards is not a good idea , wait for your day in court , that way anything you may have said in an interview room several months previous , cannot be used as ammo against you

I posted something in the Legal forum asking about a brush with the law I'd had. My God I got set upon like a Christian being thrown to the lions. What is it with boards and the pro AGS agenda? Obviously when they're not on Pulse looking up Georgia Salpa's address or cancelling the penalty points of the hoi polloi then they spend the day on boards. Probably have plenty of free time what with the secret recording of phone calls leading to "amazing" breaks in cases that Sherlock Holmes himself would be incapable of.

its not as bad as it used to be , less than three or four months ago , it was predictable as night following day for this site to descend into a group eulogy when the topic of AGS came up , anyone who thought otherwise was a criminal

a lot of naïve idealists have woken up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

J K wrote: »
    The level of force which "I" believe is the minimum required, and proportionate is the level I am entitled and obliged to use. And that which I do so. And it hasn't failed any test yet.

Sergeant Sean Moyles probably thought the same.
    http://www.courts.ie/Judgments.nsf/09859e7a3f34669680256ef3004a27de/964ff98054a8983e80257c83005d297d?OpenDocument

bubblypop wrote: »

deputy daly is driving and takes a right or left turn where there is a 'no right/left turn' sign.
    Gardai spot a car taking the illegal turn and stop it.
    they speak to the driver, who smells of drink. by her own admission had drink taken ( a hot whiskey for her cold!!)
    the roadside breath test equipment fails to work.
    so she is arrested on suspicion of drink driving, brought to the station, placed in a cell until a doctor arrives, gives a sample, sample is tested, its under the limit. good girl deputy daly.

she should be happy the Gardai are doing their job, i know plenty of Guards who wouldnt have a clue who she was if they stopped her, myself included, although i get the impression she wouldnt be long telling ya!

also, she was placed in a cell while waiting for a doctor?
    so is every other prisoner,

is Clare Daly saying she should be treated differently because she is a TD? is she somehow above the law?
    is she better than others that have been arrested for suspected drunk driving?

nice dossier you got there

though you forgot to include the part where the story was leaked to the press :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

not hard , just learned sense , speaking to guards is not a good idea , wait for your day in court , that way anything you may have said in an interview room several months previous , cannot be used as ammo against you

Great advice! Maybe if you didn't commit crimes you might not need to worry about court dates and charges. Your mask has slipped!

nice dossier you got there

though you forgot to include the part where the story was leaked to the press :D

irrelevant.

as stated, most probably wouldnt even know what she looks like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I posted something in the Legal forum asking about a brush with the law I'd had. My God I got set upon like a Christian being thrown to the lions. What is it with boards and the pro AGS agenda? Obviously when they're not on Pulse looking up Georgia Salpa's address or cancelling the penalty points of the hoi polloi then they spend the day on boards. Probably have plenty of free time what with the secret recording of phone calls leading to "amazing" breaks in cases that Sherlock Holmes himself would be incapable of.

I thought it was the "elite" that got their points cancelled. The whole 100,000 of the elite. Not the hoi polloi.

hoi polloi
    noun the common people, the masses, the (common) herd, the underclass, the populace, the proletariat, the lower orders, the rabble, the great unwashed (informal & derogatory), the plebs, the third estate, riffraff, the proles (derogatory slang, chiefly Brit.), canaille (French), commonalty Inflated costs are designed to keep the hoi polloi at bay.

Great advice! Maybe if you didn't commit crimes you might not need to worry about court dates and charges. Your mask has slipped!

who said I committed a crime , did clare daly commit a crime last year ?

after all she sat in a cell for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

irrelevant.

What? It's irrelevant that her arrest was leaked to the press? It couldn't be more relevant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

mikom wrote: »

No he didn't. He gave evidence that he made no assessment of the prisoner.
    You're going around in circles if you're going to keep misinterpreting the same judgement.

irrelevant.

Irrelevant because she does not have the profile of Kim Kardashian.

I thought it was the "elite" that got their points cancelled. The whole 100,000 of the elite. Not the hoi polloi.

hoi polloi
    noun the common people, the masses, the (common) herd, the underclass, the populace, the proletariat, the lower orders, the rabble, the great unwashed (informal & derogatory), the plebs, the third estate, riffraff, the proles (derogatory slang, chiefly Brit.), canaille (French), commonalty Inflated costs are designed to keep the hoi polloi at bay.

You got me sir! I thought it meant "posh" people! I promise to pay more attention at the back sir. Please don't send me to the Principal! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭metroburgers

Enough about Clare Daly.... back to thread topic pls...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

irrelevant.

wtf??

ThisRegard wrote: »
    What? It's irrelevant that her arrest was leaked to the press? It couldn't be more relevant.

in fairness, yea i agree, should not have been leaked. definately not.
    but i dont think thats what her complaint is about.
    i think she believes she was targetted somehow and arrested falsely.

complete rubbish!

if she has complaints about the leaking, surely she would have complained to the Data Protection Commisoner?

complete rubbish!

if she has complaints about the leaking, surely she would have complained to the Data Protection Commisoner?

oh christ!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

I posted something in the Legal forum asking about a brush with the law I'd had. My God I got set upon like a Christian being thrown to the lions. What is it with boards and the pro AGS agenda?

Irish people for the most part have always been frightened of authority, must be some colonial hangup.

Lol

Anyway............. this just in...
    RTÉ News has learned that former garda commissioner Martin Callinan wrote to the Department of Justice more than two weeks ago about the recording and retention of telephone conversations in garda stations.

The Government spokesman said tonight that Mr Shatter only found out for the first time yesterday about the recording and retention of telephone conversations in garda stations. despite the fact that a letter informing him about them was sent to the Department of Justice more than two weeks ago.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0325/604505-garda-recordings/

Two weeks ago............. or yesterday?

oh christ!!

what??
    thats where you complain to about Data Protection issues.
    whats your problem?

what??
    thats where you complain to about Data Protection issues.
    whats your problem?

my problem is people not seeing what's going on and their insistence that the mechanisms in place would suffice to tackle political/garda corruption/intimidation.

what is your problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

complete rubbish!

The ombudsman is looking into it and apparently found it difficult to get the roster of who was on duty that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Statement from Clare Daly TD

I was brought in a patrol car to the Kilmainham Garda Station – within 300 metres distance. At one point I was placed in a cell on my own. A doctor was called and I provided a urine sample. When I was released a female Garda told me to ‘come back when you are sober’.
    I believe that the Gardai implementing road safety have a job to do and I support them. However, I object strongly to the arrest, handcuffing and release of information re the arrest on suspicion of drink driving to the tabloid press early on Tuesday. My legal advice is that none of this is ‘procedure’.
    I have received the official result of the test on the urine sample provided and the result is 45 milligrammes per 100 millilitres of urine, which is 33% below the allowable limit – 67 milligrammes

Why didn't they let her drive her car the 300m to the station? She could hardly have "escaped" and appeared in the Dail the next day.
    Was she stuttering or unable to stand up that they assumed she was drunk? The handcuffing was completely OTT.

Jackasses.

Anyone that agrees with this should go and live in a police state. It is not how I want my country run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Why didn't they let her drive her car the 300m to the station? She could hardly have "escaped" and appeared in the Dail the next day.
    Was she stuttering or unable to stand up that they assumed she was drunk? The handcuffing was completely OTT.

Jackasses.

Anyone that agrees with this should go and live in a police state. It is not how I want my country run.

Let someone arrested on suspicion of drunk driving drive to the station LOL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 epic_boner

The ombudsman is looking into it and apparently found it difficult to get the roster of who was on duty that night.

well im sure the guards from that branch will be eager to provide the ombudsman with all the relevant documentation related to deputy dalys arrest :rolleyes:

Let someone arrested on suspicion of drunk driving drive to the station LOL

But they failed to get a reading when they breathalyzed her?
    She was stopped for doing an incorrect turn.
    Can we all be arrested for suspicion of drink driving when stopped by the cops?

There is no doubt they were out to get her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Yes....they don't need to have any reason only ''suspection'' to stop you nowadays

*I live in an area with rife drink-driving so am regulary informed of details by the locals;)

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

Welll... If they could smell booze (and who knows) then maybe it's just an abuse of power ...

It's all a guess at this point. But it smells rotten!