Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Drivers side driveshaft fecked passenger side on the way out.

Ruh roh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

Never good news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

lads , anywhere open late tonight dublin/kildare where I can get the driver theory test for buses ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

lads , anywhere open late tonight dublin/kildare where I can get the driver theory test for buses ?

Easons in Maynooth maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ruh roh

Que?! :(

As in CV joint or splines shredding....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Easons in Maynooth maybe?

closed at 7 :/

maybe a big topaz somewhere ? Apple green ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Ruh roh

It wasn't me............honest!

OSI wrote: »
    Easons in Dundrum would be open till 9 thanks to the centres ridiculous policy.

I for.one approve of that for now !

thanks for that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

So I was originally planning to buy an e39 this year but the old man has now mentioned to me the thought of him taking out a loan for me to get an e60....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Trying to sell the focus is unbelievable. In fairness I have it spotless and all the receipts for everything and there is nothing wrong with it my dad has driven it 3k km in the last 2 weeks and it's perfect he was even saying it surprised him. But one crowd came to look at it and they were basically time waster looked it over and found a few scratches and that put them off they basically wanted a 141 for 1/4 of the money.

Then a guys rings a few times about it and is really interested. But trying to call my bluff or something he said he could get a berlingo cheaper and that if I could meet the price of the berlingo he'd buy my van :confused: that had to be the worst attempt at haggling I've ever heard :pac: Ah sure I'm getting a laugh out of it if nothing else. If I don't get what I want for it I'll just keep it not going to let it go for nothing after doing a sh!t load of work to it.

dgt wrote: »
    Que?! :(

As in CV joint or splines shredding....?

Transmission end of shaft its badly worn down.

Drivable for a couple weeks. Just gotta look at my options now as same thing will happen again with standard parts.

dar83 wrote: »
    Never good news!

Hokay then.

Sports cat fitted and it sounds good !

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Bpmull wrote: »
    Trying to sell the focus is unbelievable. In fairness I have it spotless and all the receipts for everything and there is nothing wrong with it my dad has driven it 3k km in the last 2 weeks and it's perfect he was even saying it surprised him. But one crowd came to look at it and they were basically time waster looked it over and found a few scratches and that put them off they basically wanted a 141 for 1/4 of the money.

Then a guys rings a few times about it and is really interested. But trying to call my bluff or something he said he could get a berlingo cheaper and that if I could meet the price of the berlingo he'd buy my van :confused: that had to be the worst attempt at haggling I've ever heard :pac: Ah sure I'm getting a laugh out of it if nothing else. If I don't get what I want for it I'll just keep it not going to let it go for nothing after doing a sh!t load of work to it.

Is your Focus a car or a van????

Id say if its a van that would restrict the market for it a bit :(

Hope it gets moving soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

So I was originally planning to buy an e39 this year but the old man has now mentioned to me the thought of him taking out a loan for me to get an e60....

Id try them both out first tbh before ruling out an E39 or going straight into the E60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Bpmull wrote: »

Looks in great nick. Did you put an ad in the cars section too?

Old diesel wrote: »
    Is your Focus a car or a van????

Id say if its a van that would restrict the market for it a bit :(

Hope it gets moving soon :)

Yep it's a van. I suppose it does and doesn't restrict the market. The one benefit of selling a van is that 95% of vans are wrecked. Focuses seem to be perticularly bad most are absolutely mank. Ah we will wait and see. It looks like the car I wanted to buy is sold so that means I'm not under a whole lot of pressure to sell. As I may just sell it and drive my parents octavia as my dad will be doing a lot of work abroad and will only be home the occasional weekend so there's not much need for us to have two Octavia's and the van.

It makes the most sense to sell the van as I may need the extra seats the octavia has. A tbh I don't know what I'm doing my self at this stage :) were moving house to top it all off. I've never moved house before and it seems like a extremely painful experience so far. Going from living in the country to the dead centre of Kilkenny should be fun :)

Interslice wrote: »
    Looks in great nick. Did you put an ad in the cars section too?

No good Idea i will do that at the weekend when I get a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Old diesel wrote: »
    Id try them both out first tbh before ruling out an E39 or going straight into the E60.

Never planned on ruling them out. Will see how it goes over the next few days/weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,085 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Called Valdas in Motor Confidence this afternoon. Will get the missus to drop it over next Tuesday. I'd love to be there as he has come so highly recommended but I'm working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

1545678_10200812011816195_293078093_n.jpg
    *ahem* :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

That another hoarder among us then.

CianRyan wrote: »
    That another hoarder among us then.

I was clean for months, but the itch is back!

It was this or an auto MX5..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Kaiser D wrote: »

Wise move :pac:

Ah it was a nice yoke, but the Beetle is really excellent.

They never really done much for me in the past, but its a great yoke (so far).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ah it was a nice yoke, but the Beetle is really excellent.

They never really done much for me in the past, but its a great yoke (so far).

Whats the plans for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

One of the worst auto boxes ever in the MX5, which is mad seeing as the manual is one of the best ever.
    Auto MX5 is sadness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Kaiser, where all these cars coming from? :D

Also a question: Where should I buy the lug nut removing thing? (not sure how it's called). It wasn't in the car when I bought it and I kinda need one to take the wheels off and sort out the brakes for the NCT.

Whats the plans for it?

Not much really, getting it road legal firstly, it has some holes in the floor that need to be patched.

After that, I'd kind of like to have it matte black and low. I know its done to death with Beetles, but sure theres not much else I can think of on my budget!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

GvidoR wrote: »
    Kaiser, where all these cars coming from? :D

Also a question: Where should I buy the lug nut removing thing? (not sure how it's called). It wasn't in the car when I bought it and I kinda need one to take the wheels off and sort out the brakes for the NCT.

A wheel brace is it?

If you have a socket set would you not use one of the sockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

A wheel brace is it?

If you have a socket set would you not use one of the sockets.

Wheel brace, yeah that's it, thanks... where should I get one of those?

My socket set is pretty crap (I should really get a new one) and you can put your foot on the wheel brace. :P