Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

dgt wrote: »
    Same here with insurance. €1100 to renew the 406 (pricks :mad:) or €829 for the 520i, both fully comp

The kits can be expensive but the superflex Strongflex kit isn't and having driven a V6 with that very kit I can say it handled very well!

I always get those 2 mixed up. It's strongflex you need

You'd need the engine out anyway, although some reckon you can tilt the engine and do it that way still in the bay.... I'd have it out though. Don't know what tools you'd need for the 2.4 but they shouldn't be too dear.

I'm on that forum ;) that thread is about a JTD SW that went to some chap in Galway, then went to Cork. Seems to be remapped. 04C26738

Reading a few bit's on it be done in just with a mount off and tilting. Sounds alright :). Your mad for taking engines out;).

That's the one I'm looking at, in cork. Just googled the reg. and that link came up. Seem a bit dodgy? DD link http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-156-jtd-20v-sportwagon/6616343

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Interslice wrote: »
    Reading a few bit's on it be done in just with a mount off and tilting. Sounds alright :). Your mad for taking engines out;).

That's the one I'm looking at, in cork. Just googled the reg. and that link came up. Seem a bit dodgy?

It's a force of habit :pac:

The reg is written on that thread, that's an old thread from Jan last year btw. Is it....

Wait I just realized what 156 you're looking at, black one with TI wheels, been watching that one for days! I know someone who wants that car, no it isn't me :p

That's the one, just realised you hadn't seen the original post and stuck the link in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

NCT booked, for the 2nd of April. Fingers crossed she passes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

NCT booked, for the 2nd of April. Fingers crossed she passes!

Good luck on yours. Mine is 13 hours from now... a little scared. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

1381426_700896349952592_1474628520_n.jpg
    :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

How do you still have the old facebook, mine changed automatically and I hate it :mad: Much prefer the old layout!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Well thats enough living for me, twas nice knowing ye lads :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

How do you still have the old facebook, mine changed automatically and I hate it :mad: Much prefer the old layout!

Que? Mines like that sure....!

The old layout been gone for years!

Mine changed last monday, automatically. It was as kaiser until then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Mine was like Kaisers, but then it changed, the top looks like this now.

2q81uv4.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Mine was like Kaisers, but then it changed, the top looks like this now.

2q81uv4.png

I find it is better since they done that update. If I clicked a vine on the old way it would open up by itself and you would lose where you were on the home page and would have to scrowl all the way back down again, used to annoy the hell out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

A Facebook discussion.........really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

pred racer wrote: »
    A Facebook discussion.........really?

Yeah, better off bringing it to..........................................facebook. ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Yeah, better off bringing it to..........................................facebook. ;)

hqdefault.jpg

In other news, I'm getting droplinks, a thermostat, a indicator stalk with working cruise control buttons annnnnd a cargo net for the nicely pricely sum of.....80 quid including delivery :D

hqdefault.jpg

In other news, I'm getting droplinks, a thermostat, a indicator stalk with working cruise control buttons annnnnd a cargo net for the nicely pricely sum of.....80 quid including delivery :D

Was anything on that yoke actually working:p

pred racer wrote: »
    Was anything on that yoke actually working:p

Yes! I'm just taking preventative measures :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,085 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

299929.jpg

Heading home on the R132 through Drogheda yesterday and a Micra with a huge Russian notice in the window passed us. The feckin' thing took up most of their rear window- rear visibility would have been severely hampered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Hope the car passes GvidoR!

Tp, it really seems like you've just built a saab rather than bought one :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Hope the car passes GvidoR!

Tp, it really seems like you've just built a saab rather than bought one :)

Refurb job :pac: Ah no I want to sort it properly before i go mad with stuff on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

It's official - if you ever have the misfortune of being stuck behind a Nissan Micra, you're going to be late for whatever/wherever it is you're going to!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,085 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

It's official - if you ever have the misfortune of being stuck behind a Nissan Micra, you're going to be late for whatever/wherever it is you're going to!! :mad:

Ah that's not true..... this fellow had a heavy foot!

Refurb job :pac: Ah no I want to sort it properly before i go mad with stuff on it

Makes sense :) She'll be basically mint in box now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Ah that's not true..... this fellow had a heavy foot!

Actually my post wasn't related to yours at all hah I had this experience twice at the weekend and once again on the way to work this morning. I can't begin to describe how bloody annoying it is! 40km/h on a road that has a limit of 100km/h and not 1 chance to safely overtake the whole journey!!!!

It is by far the most annoying thing out there MM. I have on occasion wanted to pit manoeuvre them into the ditch for everyones sake :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Those feckin' Yaris drivers are the same! Always doddling around at 40km/h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

There was some fella up my arse the other night, looked just about 18 with a car full of mates. Brake checked him, nope. Wanker signal out the window, nope.
    Right so, settle into 30kph where he can't over take and plant the foot when he can (not when he tries to, high horses).
    The ducking eejit was behind me for a good 15-20 minutes and I could see him going mad.
    He would have been flying along if he just stayed a reasonable distance from my bumper, I'm generally fairly heavy with the foot.

Hope it thought him something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I don't know for me Nissan Qashqai have taken over Micras as my most hated car on the road.

The girlfriends is going to be looking at getting her first car in a couple of months, and since were moving further away from my job etc the chances are her car will become the first car and my car the second car in terms of usage. So would want something that is not painful to drive.

Was looking last night she wont be spending a lot what are the old 147 Alfas like? or the 1.9 diesel Alfa engine like? Going through Carzone Alfa really seemed to stand out. She wants a five door easier for baby seat and something not to big.

Might try and convince her to for this reckon I could handle being sat in this :).

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/GT/1.9-SPOR/201337218285586/advert?channel=CARS

I don't know for me Nissan Qashqai have taken over Micras as my most hated car on the road.

The girlfriends is going to be looking at getting her first car in a couple of months, and since were moving further away from my job etc the chances are her car will become the first car and my car the second car in terms of usage. So would want something that is not painful to drive.

Was looking last night she wont be spending a lot what are the old 147 Alfas like? or the 1.9 diesel Alfa engine like? Going through Carzone Alfa really seemed to stand out. She wants a five door easier for baby seat and something not to big.

Might try and convince her to for this reckon I could handle being sat in this :).

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/GT/1.9-SPOR/201337218285586/advert?channel=CARS

I love the look of those GT's and that 1.9 lump is very reliable. But..........(why do I always have to put a but in my Alfa posts:o ) the ride is supposed to be very stiff (some say harsh even) so take one for a spin before you go looking to buy one.
    They also suffer from failing suspension bushings but good aftermarket stuff is available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Oh no :(

L28nSJcl.jpg

bxSRIWjl.jpg