If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

mad about running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

Fri 31th jan
    1hr circuit training

Sun 2nd feb
    13k 1hr 12mins
    average pace 5.39/k
    Really enjoying these long runs on sundays.I do them with a mate of mine and the longer we seem to travel the better we are going. Incorporated a huge hill in this run on the fourth k. I think im slowly convincing him to do the half marathon in may.

Tues 4th feb
    30 mins core strengthing workout

Thurs 6th feb
    Speed work 4 400s
    Do a 1 mile warmup and then do 4 400 metres on the track. Split times were 1.36 1.30 1.26 1.28 average pace was 6.00/mile. Finished with a mile cooldown on the track. Tough session

Fri 7th feb
    l hr circuit training

Sat 8th feb
    30mins core strengthing workout

Sun 9th feb
    13k lsr
    1hr.10mins average pace 5.27/k

Mon 10th feb
    4miles/ 2mile tempo.
    Time for 2mile tempo was 14.20 average pace 7.10/mile.
    Done a 1mile warm up.Then done a 2mile tempo run followed by a 1mile cooldown.

Tues 11th feb
    30mins core and strength workout

Thurs 13th feb
    speedwork
    1mile warm up.4 400s and a 1 mile cooldown
    splits= 1.20
    average pace 5.42/mile
    Tough session.Averaged about 7secs a split faster than last week so hapoy out.Legs in bits now .feet up for the night.

Fri 14th feb
    1hr circuit training

Sat 15th feb
    30mins core workout

Sun 16th feb
    15k LSR
    1hr 25mins
    average pace 5.42/k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Hi John, are you doing any of the many races in Mayo next weekend?

Hi sam
    Im up in the hills of donegal next weekend so wont make any races. Was planning on doing the 5k in crossmolina.R u doing any urself?

Hi sam
    Im up in the hills of donegal next weekend so wont make any races. Was planning on doing the 5k in crossmolina.R u doing any urself?
    I will do Crossmolina I think, mainly because I know the gang organising it!

Mon 17th feb
    30min core workout

Tues 18th feb
    8k 49 mins
    Just a nice jog with the club

Thurs 20th feb
    30min core workout

Sat 22th feb
    16k LSR
    1.27.39 average pace 5.28/k
    16k in the hills of donegal.Finished this run with a final 5k of 23.38 so i was great to finish it out fast.

Sun 23th feb
    32 mins average pace 5.20/k
    Legs felt very heavy after y/day

Tues 25th feb
    6k jog. no time on this

Wed 26th feb
    30 min strength workout.

Thurs 27th feb
    4 mile run

Fri 28th feb
    1 hr circuit training

Sun 2nd march
    10k 49.55 average pace 5.00/k
    Done this session with 2 other lads. Delighted with this as i hav'nt ran at this pace over 10k since the belleek 10k last december. Felt very comfortable throughout and there was plenty more in the tank. Im feeling a lot stronger when i run these days and travelling a lot stronger. I suppose have lost a stone in weight since xmas is a huge factor in this. Planning to do a 10k in enniscrone on saturday.

Sat 8th march
    Mattie Carden 10k Enniscrone
    47.30 4.44/k

Didnt manage any running during the week so the legs felt very fresh going into the race. There was a serious wind blowing which was a benefit for the first 3k and between 5 and 7k. The remaining kilometers were into a serious head wind.Started off pretty fast with that tailwind and hit the first major climb at 3k which was into that wind. Struggled at bit here but kept it up and hit the 5k mark in 23.21. First 5 splits 4.23 4.28 4.38 5.10 4.47. The next 2 k were pretty flat until we can out onto the main road again and headed for the town.It was here that the wind was causing the runners problems. IT was so strong it was nearly impossible to run a straight line. Really struggled here but ploughed on at hit the finish line in 47.30. Delighted with the time as it a PB by almost 2 minutes. Ran it with a training partner who left me sitting at the 8.5k mark to finish 20 secs ahead of me. There will be revenge for that. Refreshments afterwards were great in the Ocean Sands Hotel and a great day was had.Plenty of marshals.

Sun 9th march
    5k recovery jog

HM training plan starts tomorrow so no more excuses.:

Fantastic PB John, especially in those conditions, Im very jealous! I see we are getting a park run in Ballina! You have a great base now for your HM training.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,365 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Nothing wrong with that time. Good stuff.

Week 1 of a 10 week HMP

Mon 10th March
    5k easy pace run
    pace - 5.28\k

Wed 12th March
    2 mile HMP
    pace- 8.17\m Time-16.33
    Im trying to decide on a HM pace.I feel a sub 1.50 is achievable based on a 47.30 10k last saturday. So im aiming for a pace under 8.30\mile.

Thurs 13th march
    10k 48.00 mins

Ran this with the running club. Started out with the faster group of runners and surprised myself that i was still with them at 5k. Got a little outpaced and a gap appeared but stuck at it and got going again and finished very strongly to catch up with most of the group again. This session was ran at a pace that i ran the 10k last week in. Happy with the way i ran and proves to me that last weeks race pace was no fluke.;)

Fri 14th march

1 hr circuit training

Sun 16th march
    15k LSR
    1.27 pace--5.50\k
    Thats week 1 out of the way.
    Total miles --20

Mon 17th march
    5k jog with the better half

Missed Tuesdays intended session because of sore calfs

Thurs 20th March
    8k 38.20
    Great session with the club.

Sun 23th March
    Knockmore 10k
    44.55 PB
    Started off ok with 2 running mates of mine where each of us had the intention to beat the other 2. A bit of competition is great. One of the lads pulled about 20 yards ahead after 2k. Felt the going tough but stuck at it . First 5 splits--4.24 4.24 4.31 4.33 4.40. Closed the gap on our running mate at the 7k mark and when we turned for home with just under 2k to go nobody gave an inch. When the time clock came into view and i could see that i was on for a sub 45 I really put down the foot to cross the line a few seconds ahead of the other 2 lads.Final 5 splits--4.30 4.33 4.43 4.26 4.13. The 3 of us ran PBs. Delighted with it. Its a fast course with no serious hills. Very well organised, Plenty of marshals refrestments afterwards were great.

Mon 17th march
    5k jog with the better half

Missed Tuesdays intended session because of sore calfs

Thurs 20th March
    8k 38.20
    Great session with the club.

Sun 23th March
    Knockmore 10k
    44.55 PB
    Started off ok with 2 running mates of mine where each of us had the intention to beat the other 2. A bit of competition is great. One of the lads pulled about 20 yards ahead after 2k. Felt the going tough but stuck at it . First 5 splits--4.24 4.24 4.31 4.33 4.40. Closed the gap on our running mate at the 7k mark and when we turned for home with just under 2k to go nobody gave an inch. When the time clock came into view and i could see that i was on for a sub 45 I really put down the foot to cross the line a few seconds ahead of the other 2 lads.Final 5 splits--4.30 4.33 4.43 4.26 4.13. The 3 of us ran PBs. Delighted with it. Its a fast course with no serious hills. Very well organised, Plenty of marshals refrestments afterwards were great.

John your are flying! You have taken 5 minutes off your PB in the last 3 weeks:eek: Huge congrats. That's one of your goals ticked off is it? I was sorry to be missing that race yesterday but had a family gathering that I had to cook the fecking dinner for!

Thanks Sam. Didnt think i could run at that pace for 10k but i suppose the fact that the 3 of us were pushing each other all the way was a huge factor in getting this time. I hear there is a 5k in crossmolina friday week the 4th of april at 5pm.

Mon 24th march
    3.11 miles recovery jog
    27.44 pace-8.55\mile

Tues 25th march
    4 mile HMP
    33.25 pace 8.21\mile
    Really felt the after effects of that 10k race in the legs today. Got very tired over the last mile. Rest day tomorrow

Thanks Sam. Didnt think i could run at that pace for 10k but i suppose the fact that the 3 of us were pushing each other all the way was a huge factor in getting this time. I hear there is a 5k in crossmolina friday week the 4th of april at 5pm.

I did nt hear that John, I will definitely do that one if there is. Strange time though?

Thurs 27th march
    10k 50.00 5.00/k
    I had planned to run this at HMP (5.15/k) but i felt travelling at 5.00/k comfortable that i stuck at it. I will re access in a few weeks my HMP but i get the feeling that i am capanle of a sub 1.45HM

Sun 30th march
    9 mile LSR

Haven't ben able to train all week. Firstly i had to get a tooth pulled on Tuesday because of a toothache. Then got a head cold followed by a sore throat. Its so annoying not been able to train but i cant do a lot bout it. Hope to get back training on sunday and just write this week off. There is no point trying to make up for lost time so i will just continue on with my HM plan.:(

Write it off John, it wont set you back, you were flying before this.

I haven't been out in about 2 weeks. And I'm going to miss out on the wexford hm, due to lack of road/injury. I'd love to have only missed a week. You'll be flying again next week.

thanks sam. probably the best thing to do.

Ran 5k this evening in 22.30 in crossmolina. Wasnt going to run buht changed my mind late on.happy with the time but it was a real struggle.glad i did it though

thanks sam. probably the best thing to do.

Ran 5k this evening in 22.30 in crossmolina. Wasnt going to run buht changed my mind late on.happy with the time but it was a real struggle.glad i did it though

John where was this run starting this evening and who organised it? I asked loads of people and no one knew about it! I thought you must have got the date wrong!

beertons wrote: »
    I haven't been out in about 2 weeks. And I'm going to miss out on the wexford hm, due to lack of road/injury. I'd love to have only missed a week. You'll be flying again next week.

Are you on the mend Beertons? have you targeted another HM?

SamforMayo wrote: »
    John where was this run starting this evening and who organised it? I asked loads of people and no one knew about it! I thought you must have got the date wrong!
    It was ran over the 5k loop. Started at the pitch out by the convent and back into the town. There was a 6 mile race too. It was organised by Ballina Beverages but the turn out was poor. It was'nt advertised outside the factory at all. There are running another one in June from Belleek track down through the woods which will be advertised a whole lot better. Lovely loop of the town though this evening,. I must use that 5k loop next winter cos im told its all lit up at night. I will let you know when the next race is on.

Cheers John and well done. Is that a PB?

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Are you on the mend Beertons? have you targeted another HM?

Can't afford a physio, so resting on my own bat for now. I'll give it another week, and go out for a gentle run with a neighbour. See what I'm like, and take it from there. There's 2 trail runs on in Camp, Co.Kerry at the end of June, I wouldn't mind doing the first one. Have free board with the mother in law, been a while since I did hill running. So try to get better by then, and venture back into the unknown. It's only 16k, no bother!