If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

mad about running

• 27-09-2013 04:38PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭

Being meaning to set up one of these for a while now so here goes.
    Started running last september and got hooked straight away.Did the C25k programme which got me up and going.Ran my first 5k in jan 13 and ran it in 26.50.Ive ran bout 8 10k since and my best is 50.11. My goal for this year was to run a sub 50min 10k so im nearly there.I try to get out and run 3 times a week but i have young kids and i started circuit training recently aswell so im struggling to get out as much.I aged 36. 5.9 in height and 178 pounds. Have circuit training this evening and hope to run 2morro aswell.Will report back asap.Im doing this blog so it will be a help people of similiar status as myself cos the help these blogs and forum have been to me has been unbelieveable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Being meaning to set up one of these for a while now so here goes.
    Started running last september and got hooked straight away.Did the C25k programme which got me up and going.Ran my first 5k in jan 13 and ran it in 26.50.Ive ran bout 8 10k since and my best is 50.11. My goal for this year was to run a sub 50min 10k so im nearly there.I try to get out and run 3 times a week but i have young kids and i started circuit training recently aswell so im struggling to get out as much.I aged 36. 5.9 in height and 178 pounds. Have circuit training this evening and hope to run 2morro aswell.Will report back asap.Im doing this blog so it will be a help people of similiar status as myself cos the help these blogs and forum have been to me has been unbelieveable

Hi, will follow this with interest, not running long myself. 10km in Belmullet Oct 12th .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

Done a one hour circuit training session yesterday evening.Mainly core and upperbody work. Punchbag pressups plank etc. Started these sessions 4 weeks ago and have been going once a week but will try and go twice a week when possible. Have to get out 2morro for a run

5k 29.50

Nearly didnt go running as i had bout 8 pints of guinness last nite but glad i did in the end.Found this tough and a real struggle at times.Done this session on a woodland trail with plenty of hills in it.Would usually run this a lot quicker so it must have been the booze last nite that slowed me up

5k 26.50

Done this session straight after work. Decided to try something different with this session. Done the first 250ms at easy pace. next 250ms at fast pace and so on for 5k and really enjoyed it. Pace was from 4.30/km to 5.40/km. Average pace was 5.20 so happy enough with that after a 12 hour shift at work

Fri 4th oct
    one hour circuit training

Sun 6th oct
    6k 32.00
    Had intended to do 10k but my running partner this morning was feeling the pinch after a hard weeks training himself. Saying that though i really enjoyed this. With every K the pace was increasing starting from 5.48 in the first k to 5.00 in the last k. Felt strong through out and there was plenty left in the tank. Have a 4 mile race next weekend so am hoping to break 32 minutes but would settle for anything under 34 mins as my last race was a disaster where i struggled home in an 8k in 43 mins

Wed 9th 2 miles.

Ran this with the intension of a tempo pace session. Ran the first mile in 8.50 and the last in 8.10.

fri 11th 4 miles.

Done a one mile warmup with pace approx 9.30/mile and a.one mile cooldown of the same pace. Done a 2mile tempo session where i tried to beat wednesdays time. First mile was in 8.25 and second in 8.02 giving me an average of 8.14/mile which i was happy with. I plan to increase the mileage of these sessions in the coming weeks. Had a 4mile race planned for sunday but wont make it so am planning a lsr for sunday morning.

Fri oct 11th

1hour circuit training
    Done a lot of leg work in this session so leg muscles have been in bits since.

Sun oct 15th

10k run 56.40
    Had intended 6min/k for this but the pace increased as the ks went by.Done this with 2other lads .Enjoyed it but legs very sore.Average pace 5.40/k

Fri 18th oct 6.5k.

Havent been able to get out all week for a run between kids\work so was delighted to get this session in.Planned a 6min\k pace as an easy session and ran it in 39mins. Legs felt good.Have circuit training this evening and i plan to run twice more over weekend. Planning on running a 10k race in early december and plan is to break 50mins. I know this may seem nothing to some people but to me it will be a milestone if i achieve it. Next years plan is a half marathon in may so if any has any training plans for a half marathon that has you running 3times a week i would be grateful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Well done on your progress so far. If you've been reading up on other logs, you'll know the generic advice will be to get out as often as you can, keep the pace slow and increase the length of your long runs. Doing that alone will make a huge difference. Best of luck with it. Any other races coming up?

Cleanman wrote: »
    Well done on your progress so far. If you've been reading up on other logs, you'll know the generic advice will be to get out as often as you can, keep the pace slow and increase the length of your long runs. Doing that alone will make a huge difference. Best of luck with it. Any other races coming up?
    just have that one 10k before xmas then theres plenty of 10ks early in the new year with that half aswell.About four of us are planning to do thr half so at least we can do the long runs together

Where is that 10km? looking for one myself before x mas in the west!

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Where is that 10km? looking for one myself before x mas in the west!
    Beleek woods 10k on the 8th of december in ballina. lovely course which has about 7k on roads and 3k through the woods .they have a facebook page and they are linked to ballina fitforlife

Thanks for that, sounds perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Thanks for that, sounds perfect.

I might try that, hadn't heard about it. I've done the River Moy half a few times which is partly in Beleek woods. It's a nice place to run.

If either of ye are looking for a warm up there's a 5k park run in Westport every Saturday at 9:30. It's free. parkrun.ie/westport for details.

snailsong wrote: »
    I might try that, hadn't heard about it. I've done the River Moy half a few times which is partly in Beleek woods. It's a nice place to run.

If either of ye are looking for a warm up there's a 5k park run in Westport every Saturday at 9:30. It's free. parkrun.ie/westport for details.

Cheers, its always good to have an excuse to visit westport:D

Cheers will make a trip back some saturday

snailsong wrote: »

about 7k of the beleek 10k is on the moy half marathon
    route

fri 18th oct
    Really struggled with this.I think my friday morning runs will have to be moved to another day as they are leaving me very jaded on friday evenings during circuit training

Sun 20th oct
    4mile run.
    Done this with 2 others and really enjoyed it. Increased the pace as we went along and really pushed the pace over the last half mile
    35mins in total

Mon 21th oct
    3 miles

Steady pace throughout finishing in a time of 27.20

Thurs 24th oct
    4miles

Half mile warm up and half mile cool down. Done a 3mile tempo run where i was aimimg to run it in under 25 mins. Ran it in 24.10 which gave me an average pace of 8.02/mile or 5.00/k. Delighted with this as the last session of this i did 2weeks ago over 2miles i had an average pace of 8.14/mile or 5.10/k so pace is improving all the time. I plan on doing another one of these sessions in 2weeks time over 4miles to see how am i progressing.Have circuit training tomorrow evening and have a 10k lsr planned for sunday morning with the lads

Picked up a pair of asics gt2000 today in elverys. Asics just brought out the gt2000 v2 recently so the ones i bought were brought out in jan 2013.Got them for €65 reduced from €130.Sure i couldnt leave them there at that price Any one have a pair of these and what u think?

Fri 25th oct

1 hr circuit training

Sun 27th oct

8.5 k time 47.50
    average pace 5.39/k
    Enjoyed this run we kept a very steady pace throughout and i felt strong throughout

tues 29th oct
    4miles
    3 mile tempo 24.27

Half mile warm up followed by a 3mile tempo run and concluded with a half mile cool down. I done this over same c/d as last thursdays session but could not match that time of 24.10. Disappointing but sure there is always next time

Wed 30th oct
    10k 58 mins average pace 5.49/k.

Planned to do this in around 5.50 to 6.00/k and kept a steady pace throughout

p
    Planned an lsr and enjoyed this

Fri 1st nov
    1hour circuit training.mostly core work.

Sun 3rd nov
    8.5k 45.20 average pace 5.22/k
    Enjoyable run where wr increased the pace as we went along.First k in 5.48 and last k in 5.09.Ran the last 500m in 2.08 so it was nice to finish it out fast

Mon 5th nov

8.5k 47.00 average pace 5.34/k
    same loop as y/day but took it a bit easier

Thurs 7th nov
    3miles

Half mile warm up.2 mile fast pace.half mile cool down
    ran the 2 miles in 15.40.
    splits mile 1-7.48 mile 2-7.50
    average pace 7.49
    happy with this as my pace is getter better and speed increasing.i think it a combination of a more structured training plan.more tempo runs and strength/circuit training

Fri 8th nov

Sun 10th nov
    10k 57mins average pace 5.43/k

Nice easy paced session.enjoyable. i enjoy running on cold mornings zo much easier than hot summer days to run in

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,361 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Great stuff John, keep up the good work.

Sun 17th nov
    7k 39.20 average pace 5.37/k

Havent ran or done any type of exercise all week. Reason being is that my right hamstring was very sore earlier in the week. So much so that i was walking with a limp. Best thing for it was rest evrn though it drove me mad. Glad i rested it though and it feels a lot better. Enjoyable run as i went out first light and ran a new loop nearby to my house.Have a 10k this day 3weeks so its all systems go

Tues 19th nov
    11k lsr
    1hr 5 mins average pace 5.55/k

Fri 22th nov
    1hr circuit training

Sun 24th nov
    5k hill run
    no time on this

Tues 26th nov
    4k run
    Hadnt much time this evening so done a k warm up and k cool down. Ran the 2k in 9.54 with first k in 5.22 and second k in 4.32 with overall time of 9.54 average pace 4.58/k.

wed 27th nov
    1hr circuit training

fri 29th nov
    1hr circuit training

sat 30 nov
    6k tempo run
    32.00 min average pace 5.20/k