Boards Golf Society Outing - Portumna Golf Club 22nd March 12:20PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Great 5 denisoc.

How did others play 12 lads. I played it like Space.

7 - 8 - 56 deg.

3 putt from back of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Great 5 denisoc.

7 - 8 - 56 deg.

8 - 7 - PW - SW - SW - SW - Putter - Putter
    :(

Walked away with a blank... 3rd went into the bunker, went from plugged to right up against the edge.

Walked to the next tee with the little "hit the driver" devil laughing away on my shoulder.

Think the "course management" angel is still in that bunker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Great 5 denisoc.

7 - 8 - 56 deg.

Driver oob
    Driver 5 iron to back of green. Stuffed chip. 3 putt. Gggggggrrrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Driver oob
    Driver 5 iron to back of green. Stuffed chip. 3 putt. Gggggggrrrrrrrr

Driver - 5 iron to green - that sounds impressive for a 17 handicapper ?, joking Charlie started it , and he is captain.

Bad day on the greens too :P

Scub sounds like you have a 45 in you.

Driver - 5 iron to green - that sounds impressive for a 17 handicapper ?, joking Charlie started it , and he is captain.

Bad day on the greens too :P

Scub sounds like you have a 45 in you.
    Card doesn't show pictures. Pity.
    45 is only a dream with my putting. Now if i could put like macker.....ye all would be fecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Great 5 denisoc. How did others play 12 lads. I played it like Space. .

Can't decide if it's a good or bad hole, the fact we are talking about makes interesting at least.

I tried to hit 5 wood around the corner with the hope of hitting another one up to the green.

Ended up pulling the 5w way left, the hit another 5w right to the tree line. Pitching wedge to just over the back and a chip and putt for par, which after the drive felt like a birdie.

I reckon the risk if trying to get it far enough around the corner to get on in two is not worth the risk.

J

Yes can't see going for that in 2 as a sensible shot at all.

unless you are very comfortable with driver shape and on top of game.

Only played hole once but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

How did others play 12 lads. I played it like space.

driver over the trees to the 150 marker, mi**** 2nd shot with a 6 iron into front right bunker, made 5. Very fun hole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭tigerwood1

stevieob wrote: »
    another great outing, and as usual great company so thanks shane007, phkk & tigerwood for an enjoyable round. and of course thanks to Charlie and all the organisers

my golf was below average today with exception of the 6th, putting for eagle but settled for birdie, which was great because i think i took more putts out there today than the rest of you put together!!

i've played some great golf courses and lovely holes through the years but without question, doubt or hesitation, the 17th today goes easily into the top ten...... no the top 5 actually. It has everything, length, difficulty, trees, water, Ducks (who like nature valley bars), and my god it is an unbelievably scenic golf hole when you see its beauty as you get to the top of the hill, and that was on a dull day, imagine what it is like on a nice summers afternoon.... Anyone putting together the best 18 holes in the country, couldn't but include this hole. If I'm honest with myself, it's quite probably the best hole I've ever played

Great course worth the trip, thanks to my playing partners stevieob,phkk and the other fella with the snazzy jacket:), 32pts(double checked it Charlie) not bad considering i was balancing on only one ear from early into to the back nine which developed into the worst ear ache i have had in my life on the drive home diverted to a&e and after enough pain killers to sedate a rhino eventually got painfree at 4am:eek:. ps can highly recommend marmalade with nature valley bars scrumcious.

Rikand wrote: »
    driver over the trees to the 150 marker, mi**** 2nd shot with a 6 iron into front right bunker, made 5. Very fun hole!

Great drive.

I think it is a hole you need to have played before.
    Hard to know if clearing trees can still run out to trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,145 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Great drive.

I think it is a hole you need to have played before.
    Hard to know if clearing trees can still run out to trouble.

Ssbob hit a super drive over the corner, too good though. Carried the far side of the fairway & into the trees at the back.

You really would have to take a very aggressive line & barely carry the trees to find the fairway I would have thought

Played it many times before and mostly from medal tee. Much much harder to cut corner. On time i tried to hit a 4iron off tee and ended up duck hooking it then a 7 iron over the trees only to leave it stuck behind another tree and took 2 more to reach green. Also its index 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Portumna, great day, wonderful company and really enjoyable course.

Thanks to my playing partners Space "fairway" coyote, who gave us a master lads of driving with his trusty hybrid and 3 wood. Kieran "lumberjack" who is a far better player than he let on, bar hitting every tree on the course, once he pulled the 3 wood for the last 4/5 holes I bet he was regretting not using it all day!! Charlie "organise this" IRL, having a frustrating day working on changes but in my eyes you are just bate from all the work you are putting into these outings!

For me it will definitely be the one that got away, when I got home I counted 4*3 putts and 1*4 putt in a 33 pt round :-( normally a strong part of my game!

As for 12 I took an aggressive line but don't have a slice in my bag and ended up hitting too good a drive through the fw and into Forrest on the left, then chipped out sideways and 8 iron to left of green, lw to ridge then 2 putt for bogey 6!

As mentioned it is a hole you need to has played although I felt the same about 6!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Only getting to post about yesterday's outing now. Thanks to Rikand, Parlance & Scubapro for the company on the way round. It was looking for 3/4 of the round that Scubapro might be in with a squeak as he was doing very little wrong and I was really impressed with his ball striking. Alas, it was not to be but he could be in the winner's enclosure shortly methinks. (Hope I don't put the hex on you now!!)
    First time playing with the 3 lads and it was a real pleasure. Absolute peach of a drive by Rikand on the long drive hole only to be outdone by an even better one by Parlance. Mine was a high, half hit, hooky, ugly drive that went about 180 yards I'd say:(

Pity my golf isn't up to scratch at the moment but I'm in the process of a swing change and am really struggling with it so hopefully for the next outing I might actually hit a few decent iron shots:o

I feel I must apologise to Rikand too. On 17 I dunked two balls in the water short of the green. In fairness to him over he came with his ball retriever and managed to rescue my 2nd ball (a pinnacle). Not sure if it was too polite of me to have fired it straight back into the lake after he handed it to me! Now if he had found my 1st ball (Pro v) I'd have gladly held onto it!!

Well done to Charlie on the organisation of the day too. Even sorted the weather for us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭shane 007

Stubborn ducks....
    And the 17th

Stubborn ducks....
    And the 17th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

shane 007 wrote: »
    Stubborn ducks....
    And the 17th

Funny that Shane, when we came across them on 17 they were giving out to us about the stingey 4ball ahead :)

845264895.jpg?1395662799

Scubapro gave two of them half of his sandwich on the 11th tee box when they come up to join us :D

Had a great day out. We were lucky with the weather. Really enjoyed the course and the company. Pleasure to play with the winner Macker. Scrubber also finished with a nice score but could have have nearly given macker a run for his money if it wasn't for a few too many putts that failed to drop.

Taking on the corner of the 12th hole with a high fade leaving an easy approach in on the green was my highlight.

Lowlight was probably catching heavy what should have been an easy approach shot in on the 12th.

Made a balls of quite a few iron shots by hitting divot before the ball. Mostly hitting irons on driving range mats these days and discovering that this does not carry over well to playing off real grass :(

Less than 3 weeks to go before the Carlow outing lads (if there hasn't been any changes), April 12th 12:30 as per the main thread.

I'm sure Charlie is up to his nostrils so in the absence of the sticky thread, start applying for the Visas now.

Hopefully the missus can hold tight on delivering my second... If she went this week that'd be ok! Next week not so much.

What stage of golf addiction is it when your main concern about your second child is that it's born between Outing number 3 & 4. :)
    :(

I'll bump the main thread too.

just on a side note I happened to of told FDP that membership was 350 euro per annum while its actually 520 euro but still pab value.

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Funny that Shane, when we came across them on 17 they were giving out to us about the stingey 4ball ahead :)

845264895.jpg?1395662799

Well, the rabbit told me the duck was full of s...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭athlone99

Hi Lads, First time posting, been reading for a while! Really enjoyed portumna, cracking course and cant wait to play it again when its dried out! Couldnt hit the driver saturday! Enjoyed playing with Pat, Mark and John, John had a stormer! Dave.

Welcome to posting Dave :)

Btw, who won nearest the pin and was there a 2's club winner ? :)

Rikand wrote: »
    Btw, who won nearest the pin and was there a 2's club winner ? :)

Don't forget longest drive ;)
    May as well make hay while Reganovski didn't attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭athlone99

I think i won closest to the pin, Charlie will confirm and not sure if there was a winner on the 2's!

athlone99 wrote: »
    I think i won closest to the pin, Charlie will confirm and not sure if there was a winner on the 2's!

Was the 2's only on the 18th?
    That's what I was told... After I had my 2 on the 5th.
    Fix had a 2 as well on another Par 3 I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

No winner of the 2s. Although an admirable mention to paulos who knowing he needed that for a prize said after hitting his tee shot short and left of the green declared "I will just have to chip in" steps up and knocks it to about 2inches.

I heard there was someone within 2metres. Nice going if that was you, pity you missed the putt. The 18th was a tough green.