Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society Outing - Portumna Golf Club 22nd March 12:20PM

• 24-02-2014 1:07pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Round two for the society has us visiting a course which we've heard fantastic reviews about and one we were eager to get to.
    We have the tee booked from 12:20 to 13:15 so members get your name down quick!!

17.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Looking forward to this but might not make it due to surgery. Count me in for now and i will let you know asap if circumstances change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I'm in, see ye there lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

I'm off skiing that week so I won't be able to make it unfortunately. :(

It's a fine course so I'm sure it will be a great day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

I will be there at 11 ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

Count me in for this too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭kkelliher

after my apparant last place in esker some serious range/round work needed before this event but looking forward to it all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Cool, my home course! I'll let you guys know what its like if I get a chance to play between now and the 22nd.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

kkelliher wrote: »
    after my apparant last place in esker some serious range/round work needed before this event but looking forward to it all the same.

Onwards and upwards!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,511 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Would like to be first out! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Rikand wrote: »
    Would like to be first out! :D

I'd like to see that, sure you are always one of the last to arrive :-)

scubapro wrote: »
    I'd like to see that, sure you are always one of the last to arrive :-)

True, but the 12:00 start is right in my wheelhouse :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭3putt

I'm in looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

I'll be coming too. Looks like a gorgeous course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 timmo2000

sorry to go off topic a bit but how do you join the boards Society sorry new member

timmo2000 wrote: »
    sorry to go off topic a bit but how do you join the boards Society sorry new member

Pm me a contact number and email address and I'll add you to the text service. We send out a text a few weeks before the event to get numbers.
    Come along to the next event and away you go!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Also missing this :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

I'm definitely in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

ballyk wrote: »
    I'm off skiing that week so I won't be able to make it unfortunately. :(

It's a fine course so I'm sure it will be a great day out.

Jaysus.... miss any more events and you might be banking on the aul captains pick for the Ryder Jug... then again, knowing you, you will probably win the 1 or 2 you turn up at :)

I'll be there.. can't wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

:P
    Looking at summer , work etc.

thinking of taking leave for this, win it.

Then win captains day.

In jug team. Job done.

win it too

:P
    Looking at summer , work etc.

thinking of taking leave for this, win it.

Then win captains day.

In jug team. Job done.

win it too

as the late Tommy Cooper would say.................."Just like that!!":D:D

charlieIRL wrote: »
    as the late Tommy Cooper would say.................."Just like that!!":D:D

Fixdepitchmark = Declan Moffit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

stevieob wrote: »
    Jaysus.... miss any more events and you might be banking on the aul captains pick for the Ryder Jug... then again, knowing you, you will probably win the 1 or 2 you turn up at :)

I'll be there.. can't wait

Hopefully I'll be able to make the other events though and win my place on the team by rights rather than rely on a captain's pick. Although I've played twice in the Ryder Jug and won twice....

ballyk wrote: »
    Hopefully I'll be able to make the other events though and win my place on the team by rights rather than rely on a captain's pick. Although I've played twice in the Ryder Jug and won twice....

The chances are you would lose the 3rd so :D

Hey Charlie, hope your keeping well... I'm almost as good as Victor in matchplay :D

PARlance wrote: »
    The chances are you would lose the 3rd so :D

Hey Charlie, hope your keeping well... I'm almost as good as Victor in matchplay :D

Don't jinx the man!!

Christ my record is a half and a loss!! Time to fix that!!:eek:

I've lost twice - Nobody wants to get drawn with me :D

Looser looser!!!!:P :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭3putt

100% record thanks to Ben. Hopefully more of the same this year WHEN I make it into the team. Pressure is on this year with the amount of people that turned up at the first outing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Think you're just not been put with the right partner......

mafc wrote: »
    Think you're just not been put with the right partner......

Unfortunate events which could not be avoided meant rik had to go out first time on his own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Have been in golf hibernation for the winter months. Due mostly to being busy and partially to the fact that i dont enjoy playing golf in rain on courses that are like bogs( but thats for another debate).

Hope to make this next event anyway and looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Won't be able to make this one unfortunately lads but hope you get a great day for it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

At the moment it's actually looking likely I'll make this one.

Thought it was a definite no go, but I think the missus is probably away that day so I'll have the free pass.

Have to just 100% clarify the details but I'm in cautiously optimistic mode at the moment

Jaysus, I've never seen such a bunch of hen pecked, pussy whipped guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Can't make this outing. Not a good start to my boards outings this year. This was an outing I wanted to make as I've never played the course.
    Will have to send a couple of brown envelopes to the Captain just so I'm in with a chance of a captains pick!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

I'm not a definite for this either but am hopeful. Have only heard good stuff about the course so would really like to play. Club foursomes qualifier in my place that weekend which I've no interest in playing in so it's clashing with nothing else. I'm playing Doonbeg on the previous Monday so will need a pass for the Saturday but shur I'll work on that.

denisoc16 wrote: »
    so will need a pass for the Saturday but shur I'll work on that.

:eek: Another one :D

I wouldn't even attempt to deny the fact!!!

I get my game in every weekend in the home course, but thats a 5 min drive away

A 4 hour round trip plus 4 hours for golf plus time for a bit of grub takes a bit more grovelling :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

You have to make it in their interest my ploy was promising a long weekend away with herself for one of the trips.

kieran. wrote: »
    You have to make it in their interest my ploy was promising a long weekend away with herself for one of the trips.

that doesn't work with mine, a weekend away means a weekend away. Away from EVERYTHING!!!! Especially golf ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭tigerwood1

Ben1977 wrote: »
    Can't make this outing. Not a good start to my boards outings this year. This was an outing I wanted to make as I've never played the course.
    Will have to send a couple of brown envelopes to the Captain just so I'm in with a chance of a captains pick!!!!

Fair play Ben for giving us all a head start this year your a decent skin:)

Lads - I don't think we are doing anything to discount the the idea that golf is a misogynistic sport :P

stevie - were you not the man organising the romantic weekend away for Captain Day ;)

Joking - lads , we have to work on rebalancing the society to a modern one :)

Lads - I don't think we are doing anything to discount the the idea that golf is a misogynistic sport :P

stevie - were you not the man organising the romantic weekend away for Captain Day ;)

Joking - lads , we have to work on rebalancing the society to a modern one :)

Well as I got married there I thought it would be nice if I brought herself back down to caddy for me.......... Maybe it runs in the family and just just hasn't twigged her true vocation yet :)

lol,

no I think your onto something - the final pass :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Can't make it (that's two in a row now!!) as its too far away for me to get a pass. I've managed to get out every weekend for the past month now, so the availability of passes is diminishing quickly... I've put the Carlow one into the diary though so we'll see. Enjoy it all!

Anatom wrote: »
    Can't make it (that's two in a row now!!) as its too far away for me to get a pass. I've managed to get out every weekend for the past month now, so the availability of passes is diminishing quickly... I've put the Carlow one into the diary though so we'll see. Enjoy it all!

a quick visit here and your might be able to pick up a pass ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057158419

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Dossy

When is the latest i could put my name down?

Im playing Spring League in my Club at the moment and the 22nd March is week 5, i could try fix it for Sunday but need it too suit other 3 team members

If you showed up in Portumna on the morning of, I doubt anyone would turn you away. Portumna definitely wouldnt :D

depends on handicap and recent scores ;):)

Joking. :p

Dossy wrote: »
    When is the latest i could put my name down?

Im playing Spring League in my Club at the moment and the 22nd March is week 5, i could try fix it for Sunday but need it too suit other 3 team members

Ideally we'd like to know by the wednesday before the event.

Will the usual Teamer mail/texts be going out on this one?