Boards Golf Society Outing - Portumna Golf Club 22nd March 12:20PM

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I'd say Galway road for you J

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

What's the best way down from Dublin? Limerick or Galway road ?

Take motorway to ballinasloe be prepared for a nice spin though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

This is the way I am going from Athlone

rrifyv.jpg

in order to prevent me paying the toll between Ballinasloe and Loughrea, plus It'll save me about 5 quid each way in fuel - Pretty crucial when you havent got much, lol :D

If you dont mind paying tolls though, head for loughrea and then take the N65 straight to Portumna.

Both take the same time though :)

Clubs in garage. Check.
    Covered in muck. Check.
    Rain gear soaking wet. Check.
    5 balls in bag assorted crap. Check.
    2 short plastic tees. Check.
    White mars bar. Check.
    Golf shoes could do with sand blasting. Check.
    4 cans of Guinness drank. Check.
    Right all set for tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Clubs in garage. Check.
    Covered in muck. Check.
    Rain gear soaking wet. Check.
    5 balls in bag assorted crap. Check.
    2 short plastic tees. Check.
    White mars bar. Check.
    Golf shoes could do with sand blasting. Check.
    4 cans of Guinness drank. Check.
    Right all set for tomorrow.
    Ha ha! I'm coming from Kilkenny if anyone wants a lift?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Lads, enjoy. A great track.
    If you want a bit of inspiration before you go... Photos are here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

@Parlance can't believe your complaining when you have gotten out twice SO FAR this week......::

I have a feeling I am either going to drive 2 par 4s and score 45pts or else I am going to shoot something in the teens with about 8 lost balls!!

@fix can I please meet your wife sometime, she is a legend for putting up with you :p

A big score is very possible in portumna. But you want to be good.
    ;-)
    7 cans

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Is it too late to put my name in ?

J

It will be no bother at all lads. We're booked in from 12:23 to 1:15 but I can't see any problem bringing an extra few. We're supposed to go out in 3 balls but the last few groups can go in 4's. We'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Hope you all have a great day playing a fine course. Sorry I can't be there but I only get back from skiing on Sunday. How's the weather back in Ireland? Fingers crossed ye get a nice day for it.

ballyk wrote: »
    Hope you all have a great say playing a fine course. Sorry I can't be there but I only get back from skiing on Sunday. How's the weather back in Ireland? Fingers crossed ye get a nice day for it.

It was you......it snowed in athlone earlier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

scrubber72 wrote: »
    A big score is very possible in portumna. But you want to be good.
    ;-)
    7 cans

Any sort of game plan for a lad who has not played the course - father in-law just handed me a Port :eek:

charlieIRL wrote: »
    It was you......it snowed in athlone earlier!

Sorry! Snow forecast for Italy on Saturday but I didn't expect you'd be getting some in Athlone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ssbob wrote: »
    @Parlance can't believe your complaining when you have gotten out twice SO FAR this week......::

I have a feeling I am either going to drive 2 par 4s and score 45pts or else I am going to shoot something in the teens with about 8 lost balls!!

@fix can I please meet your wife sometime, she is a legend for putting up with you :p

Shoot something in the teens is my bet Ssbob :)
    (Only saying that to spur you onto your 45 ;) )

I'm only counting it as being out once this week.. In fact I didn't have 9 decent holes from the 36.... So half a round.

Speaking of halves, we could have a few lads half cut tomorrow.
    (It'd be a Shame to fall short of double digits Scrubber. Fix, you can't have a port without some brandy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

ssbob

That must be the first time I ever agreed with a mod on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭shane 007

phkk wrote: »
    Ha ha! I'm coming from Kilkenny if anyone wants a lift?

I'm also travelling from Kilkenny so either of us can drive if you like.

2 unfortunate last minute withdrawals due to illness so fine for spots lads.

Am hoping heineken will help me tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Will be heading up via Charleville, Limerick, Nenagh etc etc in the morning if anyone wants a spin on that route.
    Charleville 9.20ish
    Limerick 9.50ish
    Nenagh 10.30ish

PARlance wrote: »
    Shoot something in the teens is my bet Ssbob :)
    (Only saying that to spur you onto your 45 ;) )

I'm only counting it as being out once this week.. In fact I didn't have 9 decent holes from the 36.... So half a round.

Speaking of halves, we could have a few lads half cut tomorrow.
    (It'd be a Shame to fall short of double digits Scrubber. Fix, you can't have a port without some brandy)

Just spilt the said port over a white carpet - :o

Spent last 1/2 hour cleaning - stain devil - all white disaster.

I think I got away with with it - gave father in law a whiskey in other room.

Jaysus these boards outing are hard core - need a drink after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

shane 007 wrote: »
    I'm also travelling from Kilkenny so either of us can drive if you like.

Grand job Shane, I can drive today. PM your phone number and we can arrange to meet somewhere. Snowing here at the moment!!

Glad to announce that the sun is shining here in athlone and lets hope it stays that way. Lot of rain last night.

See ye later lads. Drive safe. At least on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,145 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Looking forward to my 1st boards outing this afternoon.

See you all there later folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Enjoy lads and ladies, hope the weather is good to you all. Grip it and rip it!

Weather was grand in the end, a bit windy, but otherwise fine! - didnt get any rain at all.

Pity the golf wasn't up to standard, a bad start ruined me :)

I'm home now already, I'd say there's still some lads to come in :D

Rikand wrote: »
    Weather was grand in the end, a bit windy, but otherwise fine! - didnt get any rain at all.

Pity the golf wasn't up to standard, a bad start ruined me :)

I'm home now already, I'd say there's still some lads to come in :D

So who took home the bragging rights lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Great day lads, thanks to all that organised.
    Did Fix win longest drive after all his talk? ;)
    Went for a 4i on that hole myself.

Home in time to put the baba into bed. Brownie points earned.

ballyk wrote: »
    So who took home the bragging rights lads?

Parlance definitely had the long drive nailed on in our group. I FLUSHED my drive and i still came up 15 yards short of him, lol. No idea if anyone got passed him :)

ScubaPro had the best score from our group aswell, probably didn't hold up though, but you never know :)

Also, big thank you to Scubapro, Denisoc and Parlance for the game today. We had great laughs all the way around and it was a pleasure to play with you all :)

Rikand wrote: »
    Parlance definitely had the long drive nailed on in our group. I FLUSHED my drive and i still came up 15 yards short of him, lol. No idea if anyone got passed him :)

ScubaPro had the best score from our group aswell, probably didn't hold up though, but you never know :)

If I could drive the ball as well as Parlance I would be a single figure golfer! Must have been a serious drive to be 15 yards further than one you flushed. The suspense on who won is killing me and I'm not even in the country! What did scubapro shoot?