Boards Golf Society Outing - Portumna Golf Club 22nd March 12:20PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Won't be able to make this one unfortunately lads but hope you get a great day for it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,145 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

At the moment it's actually looking likely I'll make this one.

Thought it was a definite no go, but I think the missus is probably away that day so I'll have the free pass.

Have to just 100% clarify the details but I'm in cautiously optimistic mode at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Jaysus, I've never seen such a bunch of hen pecked, pussy whipped guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Can't make this outing. Not a good start to my boards outings this year. This was an outing I wanted to make as I've never played the course.
    Will have to send a couple of brown envelopes to the Captain just so I'm in with a chance of a captains pick!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

I'm not a definite for this either but am hopeful. Have only heard good stuff about the course so would really like to play. Club foursomes qualifier in my place that weekend which I've no interest in playing in so it's clashing with nothing else. I'm playing Doonbeg on the previous Monday so will need a pass for the Saturday but shur I'll work on that.

denisoc16 wrote: »
    so will need a pass for the Saturday but shur I'll work on that.

:eek: Another one :D

stevieob wrote: »

I wouldn't even attempt to deny the fact!!!

I get my game in every weekend in the home course, but thats a 5 min drive away

A 4 hour round trip plus 4 hours for golf plus time for a bit of grub takes a bit more grovelling :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭kieran.

You have to make it in their interest my ploy was promising a long weekend away with herself for one of the trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

kieran. wrote: »
    You have to make it in their interest my ploy was promising a long weekend away with herself for one of the trips.

that doesn't work with mine, a weekend away means a weekend away. Away from EVERYTHING!!!! Especially golf ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭tigerwood1

Ben1977 wrote: »
    Can't make this outing. Not a good start to my boards outings this year. This was an outing I wanted to make as I've never played the course.
    Will have to send a couple of brown envelopes to the Captain just so I'm in with a chance of a captains pick!!!!

Fair play Ben for giving us all a head start this year your a decent skin:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads - I don't think we are doing anything to discount the the idea that golf is a misogynistic sport :P

stevie - were you not the man organising the romantic weekend away for Captain Day ;)

Joking - lads , we have to work on rebalancing the society to a modern one :)

Lads - I don't think we are doing anything to discount the the idea that golf is a misogynistic sport :P

stevie - were you not the man organising the romantic weekend away for Captain Day ;)

Joking - lads , we have to work on rebalancing the society to a modern one :)

Well as I got married there I thought it would be nice if I brought herself back down to caddy for me.......... Maybe it runs in the family and just just hasn't twigged her true vocation yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Well as I got married there I thought it would be nice if I brought herself back down to caddy for me.......... Maybe it runs in the family and just just hasn't twigged her true vocation yet :)

lol,

no I think your onto something - the final pass :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Can't make it (that's two in a row now!!) as its too far away for me to get a pass. I've managed to get out every weekend for the past month now, so the availability of passes is diminishing quickly... I've put the Carlow one into the diary though so we'll see. Enjoy it all!

Anatom wrote: »
    Can't make it (that's two in a row now!!) as its too far away for me to get a pass. I've managed to get out every weekend for the past month now, so the availability of passes is diminishing quickly... I've put the Carlow one into the diary though so we'll see. Enjoy it all!

a quick visit here and your might be able to pick up a pass ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057158419

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Dossy

When is the latest i could put my name down?

Im playing Spring League in my Club at the moment and the 22nd March is week 5, i could try fix it for Sunday but need it too suit other 3 team members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

If you showed up in Portumna on the morning of, I doubt anyone would turn you away. Portumna definitely wouldnt :D

Rikand wrote: »
    If you showed up in Portumna on the morning of, I doubt anyone would turn you away. Portumna definitely wouldnt :D

depends on handicap and recent scores ;):)

Joking. :p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Dossy wrote: »
    When is the latest i could put my name down?

Im playing Spring League in my Club at the moment and the 22nd March is week 5, i could try fix it for Sunday but need it too suit other 3 team members

Ideally we'd like to know by the wednesday before the event.

Will the usual Teamer mail/texts be going out on this one?

yupp, going to get them sent out today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Charlie, could you pop me back on teamer if you've taken me off.

Back from my American odyssey and would like to come along to this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

charlieIRL wrote: »
    yupp, going to get them sent out today.

I never get these messages. Can you add me in?

Charlie, could you pop me back on teamer if you've taken me off.

Back from my American odyssey and would like to come along to this one.

I'll check it for you in the morning. Welcome back

Barnaboy wrote: »
    I never get these messages. Can you add me in?

I'll check that as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Won't be able to make this one lads. It's my stags that weekend. :D will be there for Carlow!!
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I'll check it for you in the morning. Welcome back

Thanks Charlie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Boom, permission slip in. Might have to try the sh1tting dog technique if I get any grief!!

Course is supposed to be fantastic, balls of a trip for me but who cares!!

ssbob wrote: »
    Boom, permission slip in. Might have to try the sh1tting dog technique if I get any grief!!

Course is supposed to be fantastic, balls of a trip for me but who cares!!

excellent stuff!

So are we going to get enough bodies with measuring devices to start putting together the boards society Average Drive stats?