Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2014 Champion Hurdle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Huntley wrote: »
    I don't need to be condescending when discussing with people who actually have half a clue. If I was so dangerously clueless as you are I would like to be informed. You're a lost cause. The racingpost will only educate you up to a point and you just don't have it. You might show me something of note that has proved valuable to the forum should you disagree.

Rinse and repeat the below until you can grasp it. The alternative being to close your eyes and pretend the Champion Hurdler elect is being unfairly kept away from the race.

When Adebayor rides Last Instalment to Gold Cup victory I'll land round to yours with the wheelbarrow, good man! :pac:

Over and Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭billy_beckham

I don't need to be condescending when discussing with people who actually have half a clue. If I was so dangerously clueless as you are I would like to be informed. You're a lost cause. The racingpost will only educate you up to a point and you just don't have it. You might show me something of note that has proved valuable to the forum should you disagree.

Rinse and repeat the below until you can grasp it. The alternative being to close your eyes and pretend the Champion Hurdler elect is being unfairly kept away from the race.

Huntley,
    Still waiting for an explanation on the "sick for that part of the race" statement.
    Could the oracle please educate the little people on that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭mulbot

mdwexford wrote: »
    I think it's stupid to think he isn't stronger and faster than he was last year.

of course,thats wht the natural progression would be,just is a strange line of form,or is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Huntley,
    Still waiting for an explanation on the "sick for that part of the race" statement.

He was being sarcastic. I thought that was quite evident really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Huntley,

Lol, take a day off will ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Theborderfox81

mulbot wrote: »
    saw here that PW mullins drew a line of form through champagne fever beating MTOY last year as a way of doin away with his chances against HF in this years champion hurdle-whats ur views on this? if we were to think the same he's a great lay bet

That could be very dangerous. Look at the improvement in Sprinter Sacre a year after he was 3rd in the Supreme. Horses get stronger, mature and if this lad settles in the Champion he'll go very close.

No, the alternative is that Mullins doesn't KNOW that UDS is good enough (nobody does), but he can be 100% sure he'll screw things up for Hurricane Fly.

It's completely obvious, and the owners are mugs not to see it.

as for the "one for the future" line. he's 6 years old. Long Run won his gold cup at 6 years old. Even if he remains sound he might not be the same horse next year, let's face it we could list 'future superstars' trained by Mullins who were never seen again till the cows come home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Via The Guardian..

Un De Sceaux

At the moment, we have to think about it. He looks well this morning, I was quite pleased. But the other day after Gowran, even though it looked a walk in the park, going two miles in that ground at his pace takes a lot out of them. Lots of things are going to happen between now and then, so we'll see. He's a young talent I don't want to abuse. We've been lucky enough to find races that he can show his talent without coming under huge pressure and to throw him into a Grade One race like the Champion Hurdle after what he's done . . . To me, Un De Sceaux could be the future. So we'll just play it as we find it over the next few weeks. He looks like a huge talent and he wasn't on any of the top peoples' radar. He has surprised us all and is still surprising us. But he hasn't been in Grade One company yet. One or two horses took him on in one or two of the races and he put them away but, when you go to Cheltenham, you're going to have five or six take you on. And they mightn't just fall away as quick, so I don't know what he's going to do when that happens. Maybe he'll go further away from them but maybe he won't. He works on his own at home, he would do too much [if matched with another horse]. He looks visually good coming up the gallop but he's on his own. He's a young horse, relatively young and he's the future. I'm looking at next year, we'll find easier options and, if he can improve again, which he should, I don't know what he could be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Via The Guardian..

I dunno, loathe to criticise a trainer of his ability but I'm calling bull$hit here. He's never run in Grade 1, you don't say!!!it's like it was the fuppin horse's decision. And yeah, 6 is not young for a hurdler to be running at the top level. Personally, I think I'd pull him from the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Some second rate journalists mentioned McCoy was going to ride Jezki according to people on here. It was always rubbish, the second in command in Harrington's yard was fairly sure McCoy wasn't going to be on their horse before he even ran in the Irish Champion.

Don McClean, Tony Heir, Kevin Blake and Noel Hayes are second rate journalists :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭Panrich

Itziger wrote: »
    I dunno, loathe to criticise a trainer of his ability but I'm calling bull$hit here. He's never run in Grade 1, you don't say!!!it's like it was the fuppin horse's decision. And yeah, 6 is not young for a hurdler to be running at the top level. Personally, I think I'd pull him from the yard.

The big problem is if he had been sent to another yard he might be no better off:

Martin - Hoping to sneak into county hurdle if the top weights come out;
    Weld - Galway Hurdle
    Meade - Out for the sesaon
    Moore - Novice chasing

etc.

Don McClean, Tony Heir, Kevin Blake and Noel Hayes are second rate journalists :D

Well considering there was a 0% chance of McCoy ever riding Jezki over the MTOY, and anyone with a semblance of cop on knew it, then yes they were talking thru there hole.

MTOY was 2nd in the supreme, won at Aintree and has won the two English Champion Hurdle trials whereas Jeski, 3rd in the supreme, won at Punchestown, was butchered to win the Hattons Grace and been dismissed with ease by hurricane fly twice since.

Honestly, even the most hardcore Jeski fans could see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Well considering there was a 0% chance of McCoy ever riding Jezki over the MTOY, and anyone with a semblance of cop on knew it, then yes they were talking thru there hole.

MTOY was 2nd in the supreme, won at Aintree and has won the two English Champion Hurdle trials whereas Jeski, 3rd in the supreme, won at Punchestown, was butchered to win the Hattons Grace and been dismissed with ease by hurricane fly twice since.

Honestly, even the most hardcore Jeski fans could see it.

Neither horse has a chance so it was kind of like you choosing which diet to go on :D

Hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Huntley

Anybody willing to peddle the rubbish of 'I heard McCoy will be on Jezki' is second rate.
    As of two weeks ago Eamonn Leigh was very much of the opinion that McCoy wouldn't be on Jezki in March. It seems the odd racing journalist and writer knew something he didn't.

I posted the above a month ago. It didn't make sense that he wasn't in the loop on this at the time and doesn't now.
    I have it on pretty reliable word though that McCoy is very much leaning in favour of Jezki over MTOY and that would be another huge blow to the english form.

Your "pretty reliable word" wasn't worth a penny. The fact you went cowering when offered a bet on the above told its own story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Guys, can we please keep to the topic in hand and not insult other users. It's only a few days to Cheltenham and I would prefer not to have to ban people just before the festival. Final warning about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Jezki is going to surprise a lot on here, laughable that some think hes the pacemaker for MTOY :pac::pac::pac: Wont be out of the top 3 :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Dessie stated last night that no way OC makes it. Still think he will be more prominent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Don't think he will make the pace either but would expect him to be 3rd or 4th! Did Dessie say much else re his chance of winning in general?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Video of the Deloitte shown. Dessie just shook his head as they came round the bend. Said he feels he has the speed horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Video of the Deloitte shown. Dessie just shook his head as they came round the bend. Said he feels he has the speed horse.

Our Conor a novice again? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭boysinblack

What was said by Dessie.

moby.to/kb10uv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

PP going 5/1 the new one what's the max ye can get on lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

UrbanSea wrote: »

€13 ,,:rolleyes:

Offer gone now
    haha

Lasted all of 20mins.

Yeah they would give me 6.50 I left it

39c, lucky I have enough on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

UrbanSea wrote: »

Does anyone have a link, can only see 3/1 on mobile.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Does anyone have a link, can only see 3/1 on mobile.

Lasted about half an hour apparently max 20