Boards Golf Society Outing - Esker Hills Golf Club 22nd February 10:00AM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Going for the 10th is a form of Irish madness. Here's looking at you captain :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Lads have a great time on Saturday, absolutely gutted I can't play, as usual I will be playing catch up to the usual suspects (Ballyk, Rikand, ParLance:D, Ben) in the GOTY.

Although I have to believe the smart money is on Denisoc, he was spotted in the crazy weather down in Castlemartyr practicing his arse off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

College cancelled course today so I will be able to go if there is a space available.
    Travelling up from Kilkenny so if anybody needs a lift, I'll be happy to oblige.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Anyone from Galway want a lift? Leaving from kilcolgan but can pick nearer the city if wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Well done lads with all this car sharing.
    We will be the first carbon neutral golf society in Ireland.

Not entirely sure how, but we are still the best most efficient small golf society In Ireland to do business with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

ssbob wrote: »
    Lads have a great time on Saturday, absolutely gutted I can't play, as usual I will be playing catch up to the usual suspects (Ballyk, Rikand, ParLance:D, Ben) in the GOTY.

Although I have to believe the smart money is on Denisoc, he was spotted in the crazy weather down in Castlemartyr practicing his arse off.

That's probably a good call on denisoc.

I have my name down for Saturday but I have a big decision to make as my old school are in the Munster hurling final that day. It's the first time since 1931 that they've made the final so I'm between a rock and a hard place as to whether I go to the hurling or to Esker....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

I was out in it alright ssbob but played second fiddle to reganovski that day. Haven't played any golf since but have been hitting the range a good bit alright. Was there again this evening so that's all the prep work done. Can't beat the practice on the golf course though. Really looking forward to actually playing now. Thanks for the dreaded vote of confidence though:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Rippeditup

Had a lesson tonight so let's see how that affects the game for Sat.. Great with a pro there but will be sure to fall to pieces once on the tee.

So 300+ yard drives are on the cards while yipping the 2 footers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Rippeditup wrote: »
    Had a lesson tonight so let's see how that affects the game for Sat.. Great with a pro there but will be sure to fall to pieces once on the tee.

So 300+ yard drives are on the cards while yipping the 2 footers

Hey - there is a queue for that here.
    sadly it is a 299 yards 1 foot long queue.

Hey - there is a queue for that here.
    sadly it is a 299 yards 1 foot long queue.
    Now my yards are like the 6ft goals you made as kids with coats.. Small step = 1 yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

You're some
    bernhard-langer_1692697c.jpg

This year is gonna be my year ssbob, I'm gonna burst out of the bottom 5 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,528 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

ballyk wrote: »
    That's probably a good call on denisoc.

I have my name down for Saturday but I have a big decision to make as my old school are in the Munster hurling final that day. It's the first time since 1931 that they've made the final so I'm between a rock and a hard place as to whether I go to the hurling or to Esker....

Take the driver out of the bag and stick a hurl in there, that should do the trick :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I sent all the names off to golfgraffix earlier so you can track scores online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭kieran.

Had a look but couldn't see a stroke saver or course guide anywhere - has anybody seen anything they could share?

To get a gauge of the course you can use the measure tool on google earth its surprisingly accurate, but as fixdepitchmark says if you have a 'safe' club that goes 200 yards thats the best stroke saver you can have :cool:

RoadRunner wrote: »
    sounds great, thanks for the "help" guys :)

they are all just being cautions and not give too much away as they are all out for the win!!:D

Good few of us have played here before. We'll try get at least one person per group who has played here before to go out with someone who hasn't to try help out.

kieran. wrote: »
    To get a gauge of the course you can use the measure tool on google earth its surprisingly accurate, but as fixdepitchmark says if you have a 'safe' club that goes 200 yards thats the best stroke saver you can have :cool:

Or get the big stick out and focus on clearing the trouble.. What could possibly go wrong with that tactic??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Last call for a lift share from Dublin 3?

Anyone want a llft or vice versa. could meet near lucan alternatively and go from there (halpenny golf)

Or get the big stick out and focus on clearing the trouble.. What could possibly go wrong with that tactic??

i use my driver on all the par 4's & 5's but i know the course and know the lines.

EG: 1st hole if you are longer than 220m go over the trees on the rhs if not use an iron and go straight but you won't reach it 2 then. (Par 5) Some lads bomb a drive dead straight and its OOB in front of you!!:P

2nd: You can go left over the trees with driver but safe play is straight up.

3rd: Straight or right is good but if you do go left make sure you are real long as its OOB to the left.

4th: Hardest hole on the course in my opinion. You can try driver through the valley (and of you do then you might get a par) Left and right are big trouble. Short is the way to go, lay up with second and try get up and down.

6th: Grip it and rip it

7th: Need to be dead straight, water on left, trouble on right

8th: Left of straight, if long try be slightly right.

10th: As said before, drivable par 4 from green tees but water / oob behind hole.

11th: Fairly open so go for it. Aim for the RHS of the white rock

12th: Same as 11th but don't go left

14th: Draw if you can or straight. Aim for the RHS of the white rock

16th: Take on the LHS corner, reachable in 2. Go right and you are fine but a loooonnnnnnnnnggggggg way from the hole!! OOB left too.

17th: Straight or right is ok. Need to be very long to clear the trees & corner on the left.

18th: Fairly ok if you go left or right but not too left. Straightforward finishing hole.

So to summarise, use a 5 iron off every tee!!!!:D

BTW - we are going to be playing off the Green / Forward tees on Saturday. I know some of ye wanted to play whites last year but its tough enough as it is.

There will be lift / clean / place everywhere

Bunkers will probably be in play (I've never seen them out of play yet, but its lashing rain here in Tullamore today)

Last call for a lift share from Dublin 3?

Anyone want a llft or vice versa. could meet near lucan alternatively and go from there (halpenny golf)
    me and rippeditup are car pooling not sure what type of car he has but I can drive. We'll fit 3 sets of clubs in my car. We're meeting up at the clarion liffey Valley at 830. Rippeditup needs to be back for 4am so we would all need to be out in first few groups if Charlie can accommodate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

me and rippeditup are car pooling not sure what type of car he has but I can drive. We'll fit 3 sets of clubs in my car. We're meeting up at the clarion liffey Valley at 830. Rippeditup needs to be back for 4am so we would all need to be out in first few groups if Charlie can accommodate that.

Planning a big celebration for the W ? :D

charlieIRL wrote: »
    i use my driver on all the par 4's & 5's but i know the course and know the lines.

EG: 1st hole if you are longer than 220m go over the trees on the rhs if not use an iron and go straight but you won't reach it 2 then. (Par 5) Some lads bomb a drive dead straight and its OOB in front of you!!:P

2nd: You can go left over the trees with driver but safe play is straight up.

3rd: Straight or right is good but if you do go left make sure you are real long as its OOB to the left.

4th: Hardest hole on the course in my opinion. You can try driver through the valley (and of you do then you might get a par) Left and right are big trouble. Short is the way to go, lay up with second and try get up and down.

6th: Grip it and rip it

7th: Need to be dead straight, water on left, trouble on right

8th: Left of straight, if long try be slightly right.

10th: As said before, drivable par 4 from green tees but water / oob behind hole.

11th: Fairly open so go for it. Aim for the RHS of the white rock

12th: Same as 11th but don't go left

14th: Draw if you can or straight. Aim for the RHS of the white rock

16th: Take on the LHS corner, reachable in 2. Go right and you are fine but a loooonnnnnnnnnggggggg way from the hole!! OOB left too.

17th: Straight or right is ok. Need to be very long to clear the trees & corner on the left.

18th: Fairly ok if you go left or right but not too left. Straightforward finishing hole.

So to summarise, use a 5 iron off every tee!!!!:D

Boom... Better than a strokesaver

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Planning a big celebration for the W ? :D

4am I wish.. The only time I see that on the clock these days is when I am dragged up to settle the baby.

I have a small 3 door car so happy to join up and go in 1 larger car if that suits?

4am I wish.. The only time I see that on the clock these days is when I am dragged up to settle the baby.

I have a small 3 door car so happy to join up and go in 1 larger car if that suits?

Thats grand , I'll drive up. Does 8.30 @ Liffey Valley suit you Johnny_Fontane.

that suits me perfectly aswell. maybe pm me with number and can come back to you.

I have an audi a4 that comforably fits whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Oh well i have a masarati but the missus is going shopping so i will be travelling in a yaris with the bearings gone in the back wheels so i should have a migraine by the time i get there. ;-)

gonna hit the range tomorrow....first time I will stroked a ball since november ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Oh well i have a masarati but the missus is going shopping so i will be travelling in a yaris with the bearings gone in the back wheels so i should have a migraine by the time i get there. ;-)

if you make it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Boom... Better than a strokesaver

that list actually is spot on, especially the 4th. But I'm an idiot, so I'll be cracking driver and hoping i dont screw it way left like I usually do :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Guys I am sorry but I won't have the live scoring ready for Saturday.

We have had a crazy busy week and we just did not have the time.

Will have it ready for all the others

J