Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2014 Champion Hurdle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Kauto Star had won the previous years Gold Cup and had won a King George by about a fence on the bridle! Ruby wasn't to know when he made his decision in January (forced to before the Aon), that the ground would go against Kauto that day. Remember his post race interview with Thommo? 'Any regrets over who you chose to Ride Ruby'? Answer...'what the fuuck do you think Thommo'. Ruby was very annoyed over his wrong choice.

Galloping left handed tracks were Denmans meat and drink, before the Aon Denman had won the RSA and Hennessy, for me he was always going to beat anything in the Gold Cup. I didn't hear the post race, he would be annoyed anyway just for being beaten.

Also, informed money and traders opinions dicatate prices. A horse does not start odds on favourite in a Gold Cup because joe mug public is backing him. So the bookies just let all these pro punters and anyone with a brain have 9/4 on a complete and utter certainty? Seriously?

The bookies manage their liabilites and are no mugs, the shortest price horse at the off is the horse they have the biggest liability on, even if the pro punters did get stuck into Denman they must have seen way much more money on Kauto due to his previous wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭mulbot

Think I backed Rule Supreme that year

:) was a good horse(,his owner was buried yesterday actually),

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Galloping left handed tracks were Denmans meat and drink, before the Aon Denman had won the RSA and Hennessy, for me he was always going to beat anything in the Gold Cup. I didn't hear the post race, he would be annoyed anyway just for being beaten.

The bookies manage their liabilites and are no mugs, the shortest price horse at the off is the horse they have the biggest liability on, even if the pro punters did get stuck into Denman they must have seen way much more money on Kauto due to his previous wins.

jkle.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Third to Inglis drever? And what baracouda second?

Who won the GC that year? War of attrition was it?

mdwexford wrote: »
    So it was mug money that made the 11 length King George winner and defending Gold Cup winner fav and everyone who had a clue knew Denman would win?

Such tripe, I certainly though Kauto would win that day as I imagine Nicholls and Ruby did.

I never said it was solely mug money, the lay person in the street were getting stuck into Kauto along with racing fans/punters who thought he would win.
    And it was all horse racing fans backing Kauto was it? People I know that have no interest in racing were backing Kauto in every King George and Gold Cup at that stage.

kiers47 wrote: »

Kicking King

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Kicking King.

Ground was quite quick that year if memory serves. Rule Supreme needed plenty of dig. Remember him flying home in bottomless ground at Windsor when the Long Walk was run there.

yea,and yea,so prob mullins was right but still,they were mighty pi**ed at the situation-how often wud u have a chance to run your horse in the gold cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Kicking King

Ya should have known. Was there a reason given that time. Surely would have had a live chance in the GC.

mulbot wrote: »
    ur just missin my point completely-it doesn't look from what we've seen that he will just bottom out if he front runs,and lookin at the 2012 is an example of what a front runner can do-MTOY wud be left struggling along with HF if that happened

MTOY travels better the quicker they go imo.

Kicking King

sorry,yea never even thought there:D, 06 was WOA

MTOY travels better the quicker they go imo.

Actually it's not your opinion, it's a fact

You should lose your posting rights after your embarrassing Denman/Kauto ramble earlier.

I think the point was missed by a few folk.
    Ruby Walsh is not a nice person

He is a horrible bastard alright.

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Have you watched The Sunday Forum? Just watching it here and at the point where it shows Mullins interview post-race yesterday. It was beyond strange. He was hemin and hawin talking jibberish about ratings and stones and even took a few seconds to calculate what UDS needed to find. Had all the looks of a man trying to convince himself!

Not a hope of him turning up, sadly.

Haven't seen it, I was away all day.

I just can't understand why you would not send your very good horse to the CH to help another owner in your trainers yard, its mind blowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

But that was for you (I backed him too). But plenty of very shrew judges were on the Kauto bandwagon. In turn, plenty of joe mugs were on Denman too. It was a market that was formed over the course of a year with the betfair market run by shrewd, punters, the bookies market by compilers and the on course books largely through the money they seen. They came to the conclusion that Kauto was a more likely winner by a decent margin. Your ramblings about Ruby 'knowing' there was no chance Kauto would beat Denman but choosing him out of loyalty are completely nonsensical.

Absolute nonsense. The shortest price is who the traders and, increasingly these days, which horse the betfair market, run by professional traders, deems to be fav. I'll give you a simple soccer example. Olyimpiacos 9/4, Draw 11/5, United 5/4 in a few weeks wit Boyles. Who are Boyles gonna see all their money on there? Obviously all their customers are British and Irish, and the general public rarely backs the draw. 90% of bets will be on United, and they'll be a big loser. So why don't they just go 1/3 on United seeing as thats all anyone is backing? Bookmaking doesnt work like that. They just have to give a price shorter than the true 100% price they calculate, and hope that over the course of the year the well backed selection gets beaten enough for them to profit (it always does).

But that was for you (I backed him too). But plenty of very shrew judges were on the Kauto bandwagon. In turn, plenty of joe mugs were on Denman too. It was a market that was formed over the course of a year with the betfair market run by shrewd, punters, the bookies market by compilers and the on course books largely through the money they seen. They came to the conclusion that Kauto was a more likely winner by a decent margin.

There was far more lay person money on Kauto by virtue of the fact they had backed him in previous King Georges and he was the reigning champ, Denman was a novice the year before. But over the course of the year Kauto was the champ and was clear favourite and as far as I remember Denman was around 5/1 before his Hennessy win, the markets had from March to November with the majority of money coming for Kauto as Denman was still a novice until he ran. There would also be lay person money for Ruby.
    Your ramblings about Ruby 'knowing' there was no chance Kauto would beat Denman but choosing him out of loyalty are completely nonsensical.

Not sure how you can say it is nonsensical, Denman was always suited by galloping left handed tracks Kempton was Kautos ideal track, this was common knowledge and I would be amazed if Ruby didn't know. If it was Kauto V Denman in Kempton, Kauto is the obvious pick.
    Absolute nonsense. The shortest price is who the traders and, increasingly these days, which horse the betfair market, run by professional traders, deems to be fav. I'll give you a simple soccer example. Olyimpiacos 9/4, Draw 11/5, United 5/4 in a few weeks wit Boyles. Who are Boyles gonna see all their money on there? Obviously all their customers are British and Irish, and the general public rarely backs the draw. 90% of bets will be on United, and they'll be a big loser. So why don't they just go 1/3 on United seeing as thats all anyone is backing? Bookmaking doesnt work like that. They just have to give a price shorter than the true 100% price they calculate, and hope that over the course of the year the well backed selection gets beaten enough for them to profit (it always does).

Based on the odds the bookies gave Kauto a 52% chance of winning and Denman about a 30% chance of winning, barring taking Kauto on then they must surely have a bigger liability if he wins. From what I remember both were odds against the morning of the race, it would quite a bold move on their part to take on the reigning champ given the money gambled on the race so they obviously shortened him up and eased Deman to mitigate their liability.

The football example is very simplistic, Man Utd have a massive amount of fans, in racing we may like certain horses but I don't know many that back a horse everytime he runs just because.

Lol, he just keeps on giving. It's embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I can't believe we're still discussing whether Ruby the possibility that Ruby knew for certain that a second season Denman would beat a KS that looked invincible up to that point.

Anyway, regarding bookmaking, HF in 2012 is another example. About 90% of the money in Ireland was for him, so why were Boyles laying 4/5 all that day, instead of Long odds on? Money matters in bookmaking, but only restricted/informed money. Mug punters money doesnt affect a market, neither does liabilities as they can always hedge them in strong markets if needed, and generally they dont need to, they just take the hit if it happens. Traders opinions and informed money is all that matters to price. Theres hundreds of articles online that'll explain it better than me, just google 'how bookmakers operate'

Thats rich, Captain Hindsight, look back at what you posted here.

Unsurprisingly, no hindsight since "pig" Silviniaco Conti won the King George and "hound" Sire De Grugy won two Grade 1's and a Grade 2, maybe that is why you stick to hindsight!

Anyway if UDS doesn't run, Our Conor will win this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

I must admit you come across as an incredibly arrogant & obnoxious individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Have to laugh at droidman thanking all the posts hating Richie but posting nothing himself.

Motivator wrote: »
    I must admit you come across as an incredibly arrogant & obnoxious individual.

Ill take that as a compliment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Lads will ye stay on topic please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Mossey Joe

I've heard from a good source that UDS will be lining up in the Champion Hurdle and the owners don't mind what name is beside him in the racecard

I'm sure the owners are wise to be patient.

After all Mullins has a fantastic record converting his future superstars into actual superstars....

If he was mine he'd be out of there long ago. It's absolutely absurd that we're still wondering how good he might be 2 years later. Every race might be his last and they're still racing for (comparative) peanuts in mostly meaningless contests.

I have no issue with a trainer wanting to keep his horses apart but there are limits and it's clear UDS should have been competing in Grade 1 contests this year and a joke that he hasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

Mossey Joe wrote: »
    I've heard from a good source that UDS will be lining up in the Champion Hurdle and the owners don't mind what name is beside him in the racecard

You can get 7.8 on him to place on the exchange.

There was people in here who were backing him to win at 10/1 so surely that's a no brainer.

Personally I don't think he'll line up and even if he does I'd have my doubts about him being good enough to win.

Mossey Joe wrote: »

He was 40 this morning and is down to 22 now, not sure for how much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 judgethemoment

faoile@n wrote: »
    You can get 7.8 on him to place on the exchange.

There was people in here who were backing him to win at 10/1 so surely that's a no brainer.

Personally I don't think he'll line up and even if he does I'd have my doubts about him being good enough to win.

Definitely worth a punt at 7.8.....could end up being quite a small field....surely thousand stars wont go......and annie power could go WH......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I haven't put my two cents in here yet. I've been taking my time sizing up the whole festival and I'm a little behind in my work. :)

I think Our Conor will win.

He's coming along slowly and shown the track is no problem. He'll stay strongly enough to fight out the finish and provided he starts racing and Mullins doesn't just sit on him and wait too long I reckon he will beat Hurricane Fly into second. Can't say I'm very confident and won't be putting my house on it. The New One will fair best of the rest.

1. Our Conor
    2. Hurricane Fly
    3. The New One

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

with the smaller field and probable softer ground conditions, the race conditions are looking like they will favour the fly.

can you see our Conor improving the 6lbs or so required to beat him?