Boards Golf Society Outing - Esker Hills Golf Club 22nd February 10:00AM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

I take it use if a golf buggy won't be a problem as i hear that esker is quiet hilly, i carry a bag and won't use a trolley since it wrecks my back. Will it be first come first out as in use at other outings also?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Two of us carried bags in Esker yesterday and it was no problem at all!! Even though the course was dry buggies weren't allowed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,145 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

So the boss (read missus) has threatened my life if I even contemplate doing something on the 22nd, so had to change my yes to a no for this.

Really annoyed as was looking forward to meeting a few more boardsies & playing a course I'd never played before.

Unfortunately, fear of the hell my life would be if I went has to trump the loss of not playing.

Sorry lads. I'm sure you'll have a great day out

That's a pity, there's 7 more so get the permission slips in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,145 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

charlieIRL wrote: »
    That's a pity, there's 7 more so get the permission slips in!!

That's the plan. Have all the fixtures been listed yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭millerj

I wont know until the weekend if I can make it or not. When do you need to know by? Hoping I should be okay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Was just looking at the weather forum and the long range forecast doesnt look great. What is the usual practice of letting members know if the outing is definitely going ahead or not? Really hope thats not jinxing the day;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Decision would be made on the Thursday and a text sent out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭gymman39

Played esker today and while its soft its still in great shape after all the rain so it will be only frost that will stop it going ahead..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Was just looking at the weather forum and the long range forecast doesnt look great. What is the usual practice of letting members know if the outing is definitely going ahead or not? Really hope thats not jinxing the day;)

gfs-0-132.png?18

If this holds up, saturday actually looking pretty decent! Might be the only good day in the whole week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,528 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

We'll be grand :)

http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Tullamore/long.html

Saturday
    22/02/2014 00:00–06:00 Fair. For the period: 00:00–06:00 6° 0 mm Moderate breeze, 7 m/s from westModerate breeze, 7 m/s from west

06:00–12:00 Cloudy. For the period: 06:00–12:00 5° 0 mm Moderate breeze, 6 m/s from westModerate breeze, 6 m/s from west

12:00–18:00 Cloudy. For the period: 12:00–18:00 9° 0.1 mm Moderate breeze, 9 m/s from west-northwestModerate breeze, 9 m/s from west-northwest

18:00–00:00 Cloudy. For the period: 18:00–00:00 7° 0 mm Light breeze, 3 m/s from west-southwestLight breeze, 3 m/s from west-southwest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

stevieob wrote: »
    We'll be grand :)

http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Tullamore/long.html

Saturday
    22/02/2014 00:00–06:00 Fair. For the period: 00:00–06:00 6° 0 mm Moderate breeze, 7 m/s from westModerate breeze, 7 m/s from west

06:00–12:00 Cloudy. For the period: 06:00–12:00 5° 0 mm Moderate breeze, 6 m/s from westModerate breeze, 6 m/s from west

12:00–18:00 Cloudy. For the period: 12:00–18:00 9° 0.1 mm Moderate breeze, 9 m/s from west-northwestModerate breeze, 9 m/s from west-northwest

18:00–00:00 Cloudy. For the period: 18:00–00:00 7° 0 mm Light breeze, 3 m/s from west-southwestLight breeze, 3 m/s from west-southwest

Perfect golfing weather :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Perfect golfing weather :D

Speak for yourself, I really struggle with a West - Northwest breeze :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

How much would this be for a non society member?

Thinking of going out friday but may be able to make this

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    How much would this be for a non society member?

Thinking of going out friday but may be able to make this
    Non Members / Visitors Section
    • Non-members pay cost of course + €10 at each event

• They are entitled to win visitors prize, nearest the pin, longest drive, 2's club but must collect the prize at the following outing or get it collected, otherwise this is forfeit

• They are not entitled to enter GOTY, Captains Prize and are not eligible for selection to the Ryder Jug

• Non-members can become members by paying the €30 less anything they have paid over the members price at outings? ie. if members paid €30 and non members paid €35 at an outing, non-members can join for paying an additional €25 at the next outing

We were looking at reducing the visitors price this year but we have got some good deals on our courses plus a fantastic deal on for the captains so we would like to keep the incentive for players to join up to avail of these. Also as a member some of the courses will be subsidised by us keeping costs down long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

When it is finalised can i get the list of players and handicaps so i can get the live scoring ready for saturday.

The guys at ClubApp have very kindly offered their live scoring for all the events this year.

J

When it is finalised can i get the list of players and handicaps so i can get the live scoring ready for saturday.

The guys at ClubApp have very kindly offered their live scoring for all the events this year.

J

excellent stuff, thanks a million.

We'll give everyone until Wednesday to accept the invitation and I can send on usernames to you after that.

BTW - have i everyones society / gui handicap now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,528 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

excellent stuff, thanks a million.

We'll give everyone until Wednesday to accept the invitation and I can send on usernames to you after that.

BTW - have i everyones society / gui handicap now?

not sure, for the record i'm at 13 now - - unless you want to give me more :)

stevieob wrote: »
    not sure, for the record i'm at 13 now - - unless you want to give me more :)

or less!! You were off 14 when you won captains last year which is a 2 shot cut!!

I need to get a h/c from:
    macker1
    roadrunner
    rollotomasi
    bigchap1979
    Also, there is 3 more lads who have accepted for Esker Hills and all i have is actual names and no usernames so not going to post them here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

or less!! You were off 14 when you won captains last year which is a 2 shot cut!!

macker1
    roadrunner
    rollotomasi
    bigchap1979
    Also, there is 3 more lads who have accepted for Esker Hills and all i have is actual names and no usernames so not going to post them here.

Hi Charlie - current GUI is 11.2

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

I need to get a h/c from....

I've no GUI yet :(
    I'm probably about 16ish. Played with some boards guys over xmas and steveob was one my playing partners then. If he's off 13 then I'd be another couple of shots back behind him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

macker1
    roadrunner
    rollotomasi
    bigchap1979

Put the ones you don't hear back from off scratch just to be sure! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭rollotomasi

macker1
    roadrunner
    rollotomasi
    bigchap1979

Hi - i'm off 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

macker1
    roadrunner
    rollotomasi
    bigchap1979

I'm off 14. Hoping to go on Saturday but looking a bit dodgy. Will know in the coming days, here's hoping :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

I can't play on Saturday unfortunately. Was really looking forward to it, but my time has been taken over by some "more important" stuff at home...:mad:

Have a great day folks!

Hi - i'm off 6

wooooo, bit of competition for you Rickand!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

wooooo, bit of competition for you Rikand!!!!:D

Sure ye have me playing off 2 shots less than me handicap - there's no competition at all :D

Rikand wrote: »
    Sure ye have me playing off 2 shots less than me handicap - there's no competition at all :D

That's what you get for winning the first event last year!!

BTW - as we're up at our allocated tee time limit I rang the club to see was there any more slots. There is a few free before us so if anyone is under pressure for time and wants to get out before 10 let me know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

Sorry I got called into college so that's my Saturdays gone for next 3 weeks. Going mad I will miss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Rippeditup

Hey, so looking to join up if it's not too late? Thanks