Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge} [No Names]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Muise... wrote: »
    He describes the operator as "way too calm and collected", which tells you a lot - it seems he'd prefer it if they spazzed out altogether and posted OMG on facebook rather than working out the logistics of a rescue - so I'm guessing he was ranting and roaring and they didn't understand him.

Tbf, I wouldn't understand a Corkonian shouting frantically down the phone at me either. It'd probably sound like someone playing the Axel F theme by the Annoying Frog on a broken synthesizer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Muise... wrote: »
    He describes the operator as "way too calm and collected", which tells you a lot - it seems he'd prefer it if they spazzed out altogether and posted OMG on facebook rather than working out the logistics of a rescue - so I'm guessing he was ranting and roaring and they didn't understand him.

Which they're trained to be. what would people prefer the emergency operator freaking out at the other end of the phone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

krudler wrote: »
    Which they're trained to be. what would people prefer the emergency operator freaking out at the other end of the phone?

Im sure emergency services are used to people calling them with emergencies too. They would be exhausted if they had a fit each time there was someone calling with one. If they all started panicking and running all over the office nothing would be done.
    Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    I think blunt honesty is the best policy. Please post response here.

You're trying to get me killed, this person isn't too bad really. I dont need to sit at a screen with some paper as I try to decipher something that makes the da vinci code look like a childrens word search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,426 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

ivytwine wrote: »
    I saw this yesterday and something really didn't sit right with me.

First of all, if someone had drowned in Cork, I think we would have heard about it on the news by now?

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/search-under-way-for-man-in-river-lee-622136.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

MrStuffins wrote: »

Good point of information. Still think the guy is a twat though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

RainyDay wrote: »
    It doesn't sound very credible, but if there is any truth to his claim that the operator couldn't find 'Patrick St', then there is a very serious problem here. Is it possible that the operator on the end of the phone was a long way from Cork, and had possibly never been to Cork and never heard of Patrick St?

It seems true alright. Long thread about it in the Emergency Services Forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

It seems true alright. Long thread about it in the Emergency Services Forum.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057145229

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

MrStuffins wrote: »

Thanks Mr Stuffins, hadn't heard. Poor guy. I still don't know what to think about the FB post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

krudler wrote: »

It's an awful story, but I'm laughing in spite of myself now at the thought of what he expected:

"HELLO THERE'S SOMEONE DROWNING DOWN HERE I NEED HELP!"
    "You...WHAT?!? THAT'S AWFUL! DO SOMETHING!"
    "I AM! I CALLED YOU!"
    "Oh **** oh **** oh ****...we need to THINK!"
    "SEND! HELP! NOW!"
    "Just gimme a second I'm...FREAKING OUT A BIT HERE! Are you 100% sure they're not just...synchronized swimming or something?!?"
    "There's only one of them, who would they be synchronised with?!"
    "Right. ****."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,697 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

This was psoted on a "yarns" page which basically just posts stories from the locality.
    From Anonymous........ Wont mention names but here goes 3 lads from ballyfore went to work in Boston a good few years ago and went to the pub one Friday evening for a few scoops, 2 of the lads had to work sat so went home early and one lad stayed for another while, a couple of hours later he headed home and got mugged and beat up by 2 black lads a few blocks from his digs, he managed to crawl back and knock on the door he was in bits and explained to the boys what happened. .. so the two boys grabbed 2 hurls n went down n knocked the lights out of the two black lads... an hour r so later a knok on the door and there stands a cop.. excuse me sir were doing enquiries about an assault that happened in the area have ye seen or heard anything? Says the cop no says the boys why what happened? ? (In an American accent) I dunno these lads round the block must b high r summit they reckon they got beat up by two lads with giant WOODEN SPOONS.... true story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Quazzie wrote: »
    Boston wooden spoon story

Heard the same about a fella (from Offaly also) doing it in New York, smells of urban myth, but it's a great story.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

rizzodun wrote: »
    Heard the same about a fella (from Offaly also) doing it in New York, smells of urban myth, but it's a great story.

Yeah, putting "true story" at the end of a story is always a good indicator that it is indeed a complete work of fiction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

it's sucks ACCEPTING a friend request
    there are 500 people wants to be my friends..
    i know i'm not special girl :(

The list of attention seeking posts goes on and on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,697 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

rizzodun wrote: »
    Ballyfore is in Offaly so it could be the same story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

A conversation I just had.
    Me: Can you get the June bank holiday weekend off work?

Him: When is it?

Oh dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Super-Rush wrote: »
    A conversation I just had.

Oh dear.

Not unreasonable since June is a month, not a date. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

So you don't have a valentine for valentines day? Some people do not have a mother on Mother's Day and / or a father on Father's Day so please shut the **** up you pesticides.

I've the full collection. I fücking rule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

so please shut the **** up you pesticides.

pesticide is an insult now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Tetra

"I swear you can tell who needs to get a life.....it's the bored idiots that post a gagillion bitstrips in the span of a couple of hours. I hate those things and wish people would stop posting a few hundred a day and filling up my news feed. Ok, rant over!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Tetra

"I want to know how you guys think we should spell baby girls name. Here's the options:
    1 haylie
    2 hailie
    3 hayliegh
    4 hailey
    5 hailee
    6 hailiegh
    7 haylee
    8 Hayley
    9 hayly
    10 haily
    11 Halley"

Tetra wrote: »
    "I want to know how you guys think we should spell baby girls name. Here's the options:
    1 haylie
    2 hailie
    3 hayliegh
    4 hailey
    5 hailee
    6 hailiegh
    7 haylee
    8 Hayley
    9 hayly
    10 haily
    11 Halley"

"Mary"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Tetra wrote: »
    1 haylie
    2 hailie
    3 hayliegh
    4 hailey
    5 hailee
    6 hailiegh
    7 haylee
    8 Hayley
    9 hayly
    10 haily
    11 Halley"
    "Mary"
    "Harold", clearly.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    "Harold", clearly.

RIP :'(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

"Mary"
    Much too old fashioned.

Mayri is way trendier.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

"Who says Facebook friends are not your real friends? They enjoy seeing you on the internet every day. Miss you when you're not on. Showing compassion when you lose someone you love. Send you greetings on your birthday. View the pictures you upload. Like your status. Make you laugh when you are said.

Share this if you are grateful or your Facebook friends"

What a load of old sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭CarMe

Getting really fed up of all the sarcastic
    "My postmans back is broken from carrying all my cards", "ease up lads I can't keep up with all the Valentine's messages" etc etc.
    Boring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

My sister-in-laws bf just posted a "voucher" picture on her Facebook page that reads:

"GOOD FOR ONE EARTH SHATTERING, EARTH MOVING, TOE TINGILING, BODY VIBRATING ORGASM"

And yes, it was spelled "tingiling".

The worst thing is they're both friends with a LOT of family members on it, and they live together together. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Narcissistic "I wish I had a valentine today" posts on Facebook. People don't have mothers on Mother's day, fathers on Father's day, or even families on Christmas day. SHUT THE FECK UP you self absorbed prick!

Sorry. :o

[-0-] wrote: »
    "I wish I had a valentine today" posts on Facebook. People don't have mothers on Mother's day, fathers on Father's day, or even families on Christmas day. SHUT THE FECK UP you self absorbed prick!

Tbf, you don't (hopefully) shag your mother or father so there is a bit of a difference…