BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

This lad looks like he's ready to rock. But he's miming some disco nonsense. Hmm...doesn't work for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Sounds like 'let the sunshine in' from the musical 'Hair'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Now that's a pair of hotpants :D

He'd blind you.

But he'd stand out in a crowd..

He'd be safe enough walking home on a dark night.

I'm always amazed how many of the tunes on this I've never even heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

It's like a shiny swimsuit with gloves...

And they are all squished on that stage..

Judas Priest!.....

I feel like I've gone into a time tunnel...

George Michael just basically raided his wardrobe......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

so this is what "hard rock" was in 1979......

oh the innocence!

Think I like this tune. Heh, that outfit would make a village person blush.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    so this is what "hard rock" was in 1979......

oh the innocence!

The young people of Ireland were going to see the Pope at that time.

And lots of babies were called John Paul......

So I heard anyway....:D:D:D

Ah, Mickey Jackson when he was normal looking....:)

The young people of Ireland were going to see the Pope at that time.

And lots of babies were called John Paul......

So I heard anyway....:D:D:D

Ah, Mickey Jackson when he was normal looking....:)

I was there :eek:

Ah Michael, shure we'd hardly recognise ya.....

"Michael, you do all the vocals - everyone else just sway on the stools and hum along"

It's no wonder he went solo.

Didn't end up so well for poor old MJ, but jaysus he had a brilliant voice.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Didn't end up so well for poor old MJ, but jaysus he had a brilliant voice.

Could fairly bust some moves as well, even then!

Oh, I loved Blondie.

Parallel Lines was the album...

My (older) brother used to be completely obsessed by Blondie.... I never got it at the time, but I can see it now.....

Probably the music...:-D

If I had been a few years older, I would have fancied Debbie Harry something rotten.

She was my Candle in the Wind :(

Probably the music...:-D

Of course... duh!

Skid X wrote: »

She was my Candle in the Wind :(

:D:D:D

Calm down Elton.....:)

That was good craic.....

Stay safe lads!....

GSWxxxx:)

I'll always be disappointed unless the old TOTP has Driver 67 on it. Man, that was weird.

You know you've stayed up late when BBC 4 stops playing music.

Of course... duh!

Not sure you do get his obsession, then! :-D:-D

I'll never profess to understand (then hormonal teenage) boys!

NN all - see yiz all soon!

Well, that was fun!

Night all.

Party on!

A little nightcap as that ad is in my mind after listening to it several times tonight.....

The lovely Donna Summers!....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

The guitar solo on 'Comfortaly Numb', regarded as the greatest of all time.

:cool:

Time has a better one, imho.

A quick reminder that Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday are busy nights this week on BBC Four ...

At 9pm it's Danny Baker's Rocking Decades.

On Monday - The Seventies
    New series. The irrepressible radio DJ celebrates the best of British rock music throughout the past 40 years. In the first edition, he focuses on the sounds of the 1970s in the company of former Joy Division and New Order bassist Peter Hook, Viv Albertine from the Slits, and Rolling Stone correspondent-turned-gastronome Loyd Grossman

Tuesday is Eighties Night
    Danny Baker is joined by guests singer Pauline Black, comedian Adam Buxton and journalist Mark Ellen to celebrate British rock music of the 1980s. In a period which saw use of the synthesiser and the arrival of Goths, New Romantics and 2 Tone, the definition of what was encompassed by the genre was often stretched

And the Bakemeister finishes up on Wednesday with the Nineties
    Danny Baker celebrates British rock as it enters the dance decade of the 1990s. Along with author and musician Louise Wener, comedian Josie Long, journalist Alexis Petridis and a slew of archive clips, the era of `Britpop' and `Madchester' is brought alive. Danny also selects a number of classic performances from the decade. Last in the series

At 10.30 each night, it's Danny Baker Rocks (whatever decade he was looking at earlier) a bit. It looks like a sort of Danny Baker does TOTP2

Also at 10pm tonight the spoof documentary 'The Life of Rock with Brian Pern' (which continues next Monday)
    The host (Simon Day) presents his guide to The Life of Rock from prehistoric man to the present day, in a spoof three-part chronology of some of the biggest moments in rock history. In the first episode, Pern examines rock music's prehistoric origins, tries to discover the world's smartest band, and recalls the time he dressed up as a crab. Features Vic and Bob, Paul Whitehouse, Matt Lucas and lots of others

All the shows are repeated in the early hours if you miss them

Any chance any of those will be repeated at a daycent time...like, say midnight on a Saturday :-)

Edit: Anyone watch tonight? Was it good?

Any chance any of those will be repeated at a daycent time...like, say midnight on a Saturday :-)

Edit: Anyone watch tonight? Was it good?

The only repeat scheduled at a reasonable hour is The Life of Brian Pern which on again Thursday at Midnight, alas.

My Reception was cutting out for that, but it looked quite funny.

The first Danny Baker programme was a bit 'people sitting around talking about music as if they know everything about it'. But I really liked the second one, some very rare live performances with a nice cameo from Nick Lowe (who was connected to two of last weeks TOTP songs, spookily).

They should get Danny Baker to make more of those, it must be fairly cheap and it would be better than the lazy 'Sounds of the Seventies' tyoe compilations they keep churning out.