Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,213 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Smidge wrote: »
    I disagree, the other side are no where near as bad.
    These are real people, lots of elderly people too, who have to deal with the attitudes and actions of certain concert/GAA attendees as have been highlighted in this thread.
    If I went to YOUR or THEIR home and did what has happened to countless people who live beside Croker, it wouldn't be taken lightly.
    But because people have the temerity to expect the same rights and respect as every other householder in the country, but happen to live beside a large venue we are moaners.
    But hey, they dont care about that, right?

There are a lot of elderly and infirm people living on Clonliffe road alone. I volunteered for the 'meals on wheels' round there a couple of years ago and there are quite a number of elserly residents in that area. On match days or concerts they'd be terrified to leave their homes with some of the carry-on that goes on.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

JRant wrote: »
    First one was '85 I think. That would have been the old Croker. What a place that was, rough as a jockeys preverbials.

That far back!

Yeah, the "smell of piss of it" is a famous quote from that concert.

Referred to the Hill and Canal End and soccer terraces here and in England. Due to the over crowding some people preferred to take a piss in the terraces than chance going to the few toilets available. So loads of people taking pisses on terraces. So if you were on the step below, wet trousers.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

Who the F uck is Bart Grookes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

There are a lot of elderly and infirm people living on Clonliffe road alone. I volunteered for the 'meals on wheels' round there a couple of years ago and there are quite a number of elserly residents in that area. On match days or concerts they'd be terrified to leave their homes with some of the carry-on that goes on.

I lived on Russell Avenue so you can imagine :eek::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

bumper234 wrote: »
    No

You rather post for reactions :rolleyes:
    no, i post to give my opinion

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭wedger

simple fact of the matter here folks is that 5 gigs are sold out... me as a resident and many others arent too sweet on this broke prick whining out sh1te for 5 nights and all the bits that go with it,

So we'll complain and Dublin CIty Council or some judge will make a decision... gigs or no gigs.

K-9 wrote: »
    That far back!

Yeah, the "smell of piss of it" is a famous quote from that concert.

Referred to the Hill and Canal End and soccer terraces here and in England. Due to the over crowding some people preferred to take a piss in the terraces than chance going to the few toilets available. So loads of people taking pisses on terraces. So if you were on the step below, wet trousers.

Thats the one. They used to be crammed in like sardines. Plus the "toilets" were little more than a wall around the back of the hill, certainly no hand-washing facilities anyway :)

I lived on Russell Avenue so you can imagine :eek::)

Oh yeah, in the heart of the good stuff right there. Clonliffe Avenue is another shocker when Croker is on.

wedger wrote: »
    simple fact of the matter here folks is that 5 gigs are sold out... me as a resident and many others arent too sweet on this broke prick whining out sh1te for 5 nights and all the bits that go with it,

So we'll complain and Dublin CIty Council or some judge will make a decision... gigs or no gigs.

I sadly don't know if it would make a difference. Would love it to though to show that money making machines like Croke Park/Aiken/Garth Brooks cannot just ride roughshod over people.

I don't still live there btw but it doesn't make me feel any less for the people who are still there.

Oh yeah, in the heart of the good stuff right there. Clonliffe Avenue is another shocker when Croker is on.

I caught a couple in my back garden having sex after a gig :eek:
    Leaning against my lean-to green house, it still had arse prints on it the next day :D:D
    It was an old green house and was a bit grotty and was missing a large butt shaped patch of grime

I feel that Croke Park will have to dig deep to win this one. Dublin city council can't treat two different communities differently. AVIVA are restricted to 3 and if Croke Park, GAA, AIKEN, Garth Bucks didn't get so bloody greedy then they would have been allowed the 3 1 erection concerts an 3 for this bag of whining p1ss!!!

Meetings are being held in the near future between all parties so interested to see what comes of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Yawn.

Enjoy your moaning.

Im looking forward to July.

Ironically enough, it seems that you've been doing your own fair share of moaning on this thread.

I feel that Croke Park will have to dig deep to win this one. Dublin city council can't treat two different communities differently. AVIVA are restricted to 3 and if Croke Park, GAA, AIKEN, Garth Bucks didn't get so bloody greedy then they would have been allowed the 3 1 erection concerts an 3 for this bag of whining p1ss!!!

Meetings are being held in the near future between all parties so interested to see what comes of them...

The really annoying thing is that most of the measures required to make these events enjoyable for concert goers and residents alike would cost very little to implement.

Nobody wants to ruin the chance for fans to see their favorite groups/act but the issues the residents are faced with are very real.

I caught a couple in my back garden having sex after a gig :eek:
    Leaning against my lean-to green house, it still had arse prints on it the next day :D:D
    It was an old green house and was a bit grotty and was missing a large butt shaped patch of grime

Dirty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Garth Brooks is not a greedy money grabber. He likes to keep the prices of tickets low to make it for his fans. Five nights were not added for money. It was done to meet demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,403 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Was there much trouble after the Red hot chili peppers concert in 2012 ??

I was at the gig and there were a fair few unsavory characters at that show but i saw no trouble

The really annoying thing is that most of the measures required to make these events enjoyable for concert goers and residents alike would cost very little to implement.

Nobody wants to ruin the chance for fans to see their favorite groups/act but the issues the residents are faced with are very real.

This is 100% the point.
    No-one wants to STOP concerts from being held there but it has to be equitable with our southside counterpart, Aviva.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

In fairness, despite being a culchie GAA and country music fan, I do see the residents point. Never been at a concert in Croke park but have been at plenty of matches. It's no joke having thousands of people walk right outside your door. Can only imagine the disruption a 5 day concert would cause.Hope it get resolved quickly and fairly. Genuinely assumed that residents got complementary tickets to events and matches, bad form that they don't.

@Riveroflove... your blinded by Garths bullsh1t you think he's doing these 5 gigs just for you.

Supply and demand is one thing 26million or so from "folks" like you is whats keeping Garthy going...

Sure didnt Garth say that he "loved Ireland soooooooooooooooooo much that he had to come back to play...."? only took him 15 or so odd years to blow all his cash and then come back... sure he loved ye all so much he didnt bother his whole coming back once he made his money

Garth Brooks is not a greedy money grabber. He likes to keep the prices of tickets low to make it for his fans. Five nights were not added for money. It was done to meet demand.

Cough cough €65 cough cough.

That's a minimum of €26 million and you think he's doing it for the fans!

He'll be slapping on a fake smile and ploughing through his playlist one more time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,403 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

@Riveroflove... your blinded by Garths bullsh1t you think he's doing these 5 gigs just for you.

Supply and demand is one thing 26million or so from "folks" like you is whats keeping Garthy going...

Sure didnt Garth say that he "loved Ireland soooooooooooooooooo much that he had to come back to play...."? only took him 15 or so odd years to blow all his cash and then come back... sure he loved ye all so much he didnt bother his whole coming back once he made his money

he was raising his kids so didnt have time to come back lol

You and others have come here demanding for respect when you and others can't show it or give it.

He is making over 28 and a half million euro from his Irish dates alone.
    And he isn't doing it for money?
    Riiiiiiggghht:rolleyes:

He's had a long standing gig in Vegas getting loadsamoney. Something to do with wanting to be closer to home as he had a young family. Fair play to him, knows his priorities and how to make a shed load of dollars.

Good Ol Garth he loves the Irish... we gave him enough cash to raise his kids now he's back for the money for the Grandkids!!!!!

Cough cough €65 cough cough.

That's a minimum of €26 million and you think he's doing it for the fans!

He'll be slapping on a fake smile and ploughing through his playlist one more time.

You are so wrong about this. Garth Brooks is a good man. He put on some charity concerts to raise funds for Haiti and some wildlife concerts.

Dirty.

The green house?
    Yes, yes it was :P

River of love... you will get respect when you earn it. Your on here telling all the residents to suck it up and quit whining that we deserve to have this pr1ck and people like you foisted on us for 5 days.

Well I'm speaking my mind here and you just gotta suck it up and stop whining...

Look simple fact here is love... Garth has friends in low places and River aint much lower than you.

You are so wrong about this. Garth Brooks is a good man. He put on some charity concerts to raise funds for Haiti and some wildlife concerts.

I had no idea you know him personally

And where did I say he wasn't a good man?