BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Anyone here catch Roger Waters Presents 'The Wall' Live show?

Gutted I missed it.

I saw The Wall live in London about, em, maybe 1980??.....

Unreal. I missed the ship I was working on at the time and I was nearly sacked.

Worth every penny of the grief I got afterwards...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

"Wish You Were Here" is my favourite Pink Floyd song. Absolutely love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

By the way, if you missed the Blondie Documentary last week here's the best 90 seconds.

Blondie are being inducted into the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame. Most of their former members are invited by the Academy, despite the fact they have all sued the current Blondie members for royalties.

One of the ex-Blondies asks Debbie Harry if they can perform with her. She gives them a proverbial two fingers. Fair play!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_bY7t06haY&t=4m55s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Ah lads, yiz have sucked me in again :D

Was just winding down, and saw this thread, and couldn't resist.....

Will have to get blinkers for myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Anyone here catch Roger Waters Presents 'The Wall' Live show?

Gutted I missed it.

Saw it in the O2 and the Aviva. You say you're gutted to have missed it, so I won't rub salt in the wound, but definitely one of the best gigs I've ever been to. I thought the O2 performance was way better (had better seats, better sound, didn't know what to expect).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

The guitar solo on 'Comfortaly Numb', regarded as the greatest of all time.

:cool:

*spits beer all over living room*

Bloody Nora, I'm really missing something here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,695 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Oooohhhhh.......

I just love all these songs.........

Capital Looooovvvveeeeee.....

There you go Harry....

Didn't see anything there to change my mind. If anything i feel like i need an espresso.

But i am trying!

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    But i am trying!

Hang in there Donie.....

It will come...

Didn't see anything there to change my mind. If anything i feel like i need an espresso.

But i am trying!

Do you have Sky, Donie?

Sex Pistols live on Sky Arts 1 at 12.05am! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Hang in there Donie.....

It will come...

Well this lot isn't doing a lot for my sleepiness! I'm with Donie.

Only the prospect of possibly staying awake for TOTP 1979 is keeping me here.....

+1 on that HH!

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Well this lot isn't doing a lot for my sleepiness! I'm with Donie.

Only the prospect of possibly staying awake for TOTP 1979 is keeping me here.....

Ah, you kids today.....lightweights.....:D

Do you have Sky, Donie?

Sex Pistols live on Sky Arts 1 at 12.05am! :D

No, sadly. I do have a wiiu, so i can watch youtube at the same time. SRV will fix this.

OK, there's a bit of a toon now.... and something other than whale music.... might be OK.

Shame I don't recognise it!

No, sadly. I do have a wiiu, so i can watch youtube at the same time. SRV will fix this.

Do you have a translation for this into English, please?

If anyone wants old TOTP clips, I heartily endorse these Youtube channels (especially the first one)

https://www.youtube.com/user/PenarthJem

https://www.youtube.com/user/TOTPArchive

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Do you have a translation for this into English, please?

Wiiu - nintendo console with a tablet yokey (so i can watch tv and youtube at the same time)

SRV - Stevie Ray Vaughan, my favourite guitar player

:-D

Skid X wrote: »
    If anyone wants old TOTP clips, I heartily endorse these Youtube channels (especially the first one)

https://www.youtube.com/user/PenarthJem

https://www.youtube.com/user/TOTPArchive

Only today, I was watching clips from the 'ITV Chart Show' on YT!

When they would countdown 'The Indie Chart' and show a picture of a lava lamp because the acts couldn't afford to make a video!

Good times :)

Only today, I was watching clips from the 'ITV Chart Show' on YT!

When they would countdown 'The Indie Chart' and show a picture of a lava lamp because the acts couldn't afford to make a video!

Good times :)

Good times indeed :)

Although it was the same every week ...

Don't fast forward the only video I want to see

Here it is ... ah feck. They fast forwarded it:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

But i am trying!

Please fast forward 'Barbie Girl'

Good, they did :)

Well, whatever about the music, I certainly admire the sax player's hair!

Viewers of the late night Chart Show repeat on ITV were among the first to know that Princess Diana was gravely ill.

Bingo by 'catch' was the song which was interrupted. It's the only reason they are remembered now ...

How do you know all this stuff Skid??

Thanks for the Bedtime suggestion Harry!!!!!:D:D:D

I shall put the lunatics to bed...;)

I hope they play The Verve too! Oh.

His mammy never let him out as he was constantly bold....:p

I dunno ... you just pick up things here and there. tvcream.co.uk do a weekly mailout about the week's TV and they have lots of great 80s TV trivia. Great bunch of lads.
    His mammy never let him out as he was constantly bold....:p

Nah, she would have been happier if I went out more often!