Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2014 Champion Hurdle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Second guessing how much trainers have left to work on is pointless.

Lol at thinking Mullins will pull UDS from the race because he has the beating of HF, think the owners might have something to say about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Huntley

A lot of guesswork there. I'd question the thinking that one horse has plenty of improvement while one left his race on the track the last day. Both will likely be primed to the minute when they turn up on the course in five weeks and we should assume that to be the case.

I fail to see how MTOY was lucky in the Christmas Hurdle. It looked like he was going to crack when he was let down, changing his legs constantly and stuck his head in the air. He went three lengths down at one stage but approaching the last had cut that deficit to within a length. TNO obviously lost momentum but his lead was shortening prior to the error and he regathered his stride almost immediately. He was then eyeballed by MTOY and comprehensively out battled to the line. The further they went the more assertive MTOY was. The jump at the last doesn't excuse what happened in the last 100 yards when both horses had an opportunity to get their head in front.

If Our Conor doesn't win the CH I don't think it will be as a result of jockey error either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Huntley wrote: »
    A lot of guesswork there. I'd question the thinking that one horse has plenty of improvement while one left his race on the track the last day. Both will likely be primed to the minute when they turn up on the course in five weeks and we should assume that to be the case.

I fail to see how MTOY was lucky in the Christmas Hurdle. It looked like he was going to crack when he was let down, changing his legs constantly and stuck his head in the air. He went three lengths down at one stage but approaching the last had cut that deficit to within a length. TNO obviously lost momentum but his lead was shortening prior to the error and he regathered his stride almost immediately. He was then eyeballed by MTOY and comprehensively out battled to the line. The further they went the more assertive MTOY was. The jump at the last doesn't excuse what happened in the last 100 yards when both horses had an opportunity to get their head in front.

If Our Conor doesn't win the CH I don't think it will be as a result of jockey error either.

To be fair TNO landed almost sideways over the last and Sam lost an iron. Its tough enough being in a driving finish against AP with both irons.

No doubt the way MT battled back was impressive and looks to have it all, I would still think TNO will finish ahead of him in March.

That said I agree Our Conor will win, though UDS lining up could very well bump him into second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

mdwexford wrote: »
    Second guessing how much trainers have left to work on is pointless.

Lol at thinking Mullins will pull UDS from the race because he has the beating of HF, think the owners might have something to say about that.

He could very easily be the beating of HF without necessarily having the beating of him. There's a difference.

The Champion Hurdle is going to be run at a decent clip as always. Not running UDS to accommodate a less severe gallop for Hurricane Fly wouldn't make sense. The blueprint to get HF beat is common knowledge now, something will force the pace regardless and Willie Mullins knows this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

Huntley wrote: »
    The Champion Hurdle is going to be run at a decent clip as always. Not running UDS to accommodate a less severe gallop for Hurricane Fly wouldn't make sense. The blueprint to get HF beat is common knowledge now, something will force the pace regardless and Willie Mullins knows this.

If the blueprint is common knowledge why has he won 9 races on the bounce since his last defeat?

Looking through the entries I don't see an obvious front runner.

Only 18 runners left declared and considering the strength in depth in this years field I'm imagine a lot of the no hopers will go elsewhere.

I don't think front running will suit any at the top of the market bar Un Des Sceaux.

faoile@n wrote: »
    If the blueprint is common knowledge why has he won 9 races on the bounce since his last defeat?

Only 18 runners left declared and considering the strength in depth in this years field I'm imagine a lot of the no hopers will go elsewhere.

I don't think front running will suit any at the top of the market bar Un Des Sceaux.

Jezki maybe, at a push. Could be worth trying different tactics with him.

Just because the formula is there to get him beat does not mean it is easily/readily applied.

It was the very same last year. I don't recall any Champion Hurdle consisting of a load of horses looking around at the start waiting to see who is going to set the tempo. It just doesn't happen.

Pulling UDS from the race, under the assumption that a more moderate/sedate gallop will ensue without him, would be nonsensical. There will be something to force the issue here and nobody should expect anything different. I don't think Mullins does either and as such the participation of UDS will not hinge on the above.

jimjamcos wrote: »
    He could very easily be the beating of HF without necessarily having the beating of him. There's a difference.

Never said there wasn't.

Him setting a breakneck gallop would certainly not suit HF if he could sustain it for most of the race.

I'm just saying Mullins isn't going to pull UDS to give HF a better chance of winning because he has a soft spot for him as the poster who's post seems to have disappeared claimed.

Ruby was on RUK at the weekend (half term report, I think). When discussing the Champion he was asked if there was no way he could be prised off The Fly, he smirked and said never say never. This was the tone of the show when being asked about his ride in other races.

He did say if UDS was in the race and he was riding The Fly there is no way he would let him have a soft lead.

If UDS does run and can maintain the gallop or Our Conor picks it up from him cruising we could very well see a new record time for the going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

mdwexford wrote: »
    Never said there wasn't.

Him setting a breakneck gallop would certainly not suit HF if he could sustain it for most of the race.

HF is a Grade 1 winner over 2m 4f, he has plenty of stamina in him, if UDS set a breakneck gallop there are others in the field I would worry about before HF tbh. They went plenty quick enough in last year's CH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Ruby was on RUK at the weekend (half term report, I think). When discussing the Champion he was asked if there was no way he could be prised off The Fly, he smirked and said never say never. This was the tone of the show when being asked about his ride in other races.

He did say if UDS was in the race and he was riding The Fly there is no way he would let him have a soft lead.

If UDS does run and can maintain the gallop or Our Conor picks it up from him cruising we could very well see a new record time for the going.

It wouldn't be in the best interest of the horse to run him in the champion at This stage. 1st time in graded company and he's in the hardest race of the season. I can't see it happening

ste2010 wrote: »
    It wouldn't be in the best interest of the horse to run him in the champion at This stage. 1st time in graded company and he's in the hardest race of the season. I can't see it happening

I might agree if he was a horse who would be dropped in and in the middle of the hustle and bustle in a larger field than he has been running in. Once they jump off he mightn't see a rival until 4f out if at all.

If he were mine he would be running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭Panrich

I get the feeling that Willie Mullins has avoided good horses with UDS because his style of running means he takes a lot out of himself and you can't go to the well too often with horses like that. For instance, running him around Leopardstown against HF and OC would have been a very hard race. He's got a big race in him, but they don't want it to be a trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 eljoker

I can't get away from HF and OC. I don't think there will be much between them. Maybe it's the green blinkers again but it's how I see it. OC at his age will improve with every run and even though he got 2lbs and HF was pulling away I think when they hit cheltenham there will be nothing between them.

kfallon wrote: »
    HF is a Grade 1 winner over 2m 4f, he has plenty of stamina in him, if UDS set a breakneck gallop there are others in the field I would worry about before HF tbh. They went plenty quick enough in last year's CH.

He has stamina but a fast pace at Cheltenham doesn't suit him as we have seen the past two years when he was being bustled along to keep in touch, Huntley has gone in depth about this before and I agree with him.

Fast pace should suit the other 3 main rivals better than him imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Any word on Cinders and Ashes lining up for the Champion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭nobody told me

Wouldn't be in the first 3 if he started now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 eljoker

Anyone going over on the Tuesday? It's by far the best day in my eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

eljoker wrote: »

Yes and agree re best days racing. I'm like a child waiting for Christmas. Going the full week mon to Friday and to be honest, there is little else occupying my mind right now than the festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

The only champion C and A will be appearing is in the Liffey champion article on the history of the supreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

jimjamcos wrote: »

C'etait tres bien.

What has intrigued me though is why every horse begins with 'U' in that race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Yep. The best day. Got the £ in BOI yesterday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

Going tue/wed/thurs and i cant wait. Champion hurdle is the race of the meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

only1stevo wrote: »
    C'etait tres bien.

What has intrigued me though is why every horse begins with 'U' in that race?

They have races like that in France all the time, where the whole field have names beginning with the same letter. Not sure why, but obviously a condition of the race...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

yaboya1 wrote: »
    They have races like that in France all the time, where the whole field have names beginning with the same letter. Not sure why, but obviously a condition of the race...

Ah cheers! I thought it might have been something to do with a particular breed or type of horse only being named with a U....
    I struggle to find any logic behind that, what a crew the French are.

I think the letter has to do with the year foaled.

The Aga Khan names his with the first few letters of the sire so has plenty of Zar and Sam horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Bangor Billy

The first letter of the horses name indicates the year it was born. It think this just applies to AQPS horses, ie non-thoroughbreds. If you look at the entries for the Grand National for example you can see

10 year olds - Quinz, Quiscover Fontaine
    9 years olds - Renard, Roi du Mee
    8 year olds - Sire Collonges
    7 year olds - Toner d'Oudaries, Tour des Champs

etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Annie Power drifting like a barge for The CH on Betfair over the past couple of days. Currently 16/1 (only for €57 mind you) and no apparent takers at that price. Over €200 available at 14/1 or better. On the other hand, pretty solid at 7/2 for The Stayers. Does someone know something??