Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iona vs Panti

• Moderators Posts: 52,029 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

If Derp Quinn starts off about receiving abuse, the host should just point out that pretty much any public figure with an online presence will receive abuse. He is not the only person in the world to receive it. I would expect that Rory being a gay drag performer has received an amount Derp hasn't.

It's the nature of the beast. Report to the guards, block the trolls and get on with it.

People are much more interested in seeing him trying to justify sending the legal letters as well as explaining why the label doesn't apply.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Jernal wrote: »
    €50 David Quinn tonight goes on a rant about how much abuse he receives on twitter and via email. He doesn't deserve the examples he goes on about but I hate the way he uses it as a weapon to stifle criticism of him. Everyone criticising him is abusing him is how he plays the angle. It's sort of despicable in many ways. If he equates Rory's label on him to that abuse I honestly don't know how I'm going to react. :(

I'm not Sen Bacik biggest fan. I get the feeling RTE put her there to make Quinn seem a bit more reasonable. :(

The 'abuse on Twitter' argument is really getting quite cliched at this stage. It's starting to remind me of the old 'if you criticise Israel's policies you're automatically a Nazi' type of styk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

SW wrote: »
    If Derp Quinn starts off about receiving abuse, the host should just point out that pretty much any public figure with an online presence will receive abuse. He is not the only person in the world to receive it. I would expect that Rory being a gay drag performer has received an amount Derp hasn't.

It's the nature of the beast. Report to the guards, block the trolls and get on with it.

People are much more interested in seeing him trying to justify sending the legal letters as well as explaining why the label doesn't apply.

I'd be curious to know how the admins and mods of boards compare to the amount of abuse Mr Quinn receives. Not saying he should get any abuse but I'd like to know how the level of abuse stacks with other internet activities.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    You can believe it all you want; certainly no one will stop you.

If you care about accomplishing things, you'll find yourself basically alone in your beliefs.

Sure, if you'd like to find a list of successful politicians or parties that haven't ever behaves hypocritically then, maybe - just maybe - you could argue your attitude is a meaningful way to accomplish your goals.

You will not of course find any such list.

Politics is about winning. Always. It's by definition a competition. People expect a level of dishonesty because they know politicians - all of them - are glorified sales people. Selling an ideology, or a personality, or a party or a plan.

And if you think anyone thinks salesmen are the paradigm of morality, you'd be wrong.

And so, no one thinks this sort of piddling ethical issue is worth caring about. That's not why they choose to support Panti over Iona, etc., etc. and to a person almost every single supporter of equality for the LGBT community would trade a small ethical lapse for equal treatment under the law.

That's reality.

But sure, keep harping on about something meaningless. Have fun.

In the meantime people who are in your corner, in the greater sense, will continue to confound you with tiny ethical lapse, AND win victories for you.
    What a patronising and condescending post

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    We cannot criticise Iona for using U.S. funding in their campaign if we are doing the exact same thing.

But we're not criticising them on the origins of their money, we're criticising them on the fact that we don't fuggin' know where the money is coming from. For all we know it could be those super-dollars being manufactured in a slave labour camp in the DPRK.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

What a patronising and condescending post

Reality is pretty patronising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Great contribution from John Lyons TD today
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOL7bt8kEP8

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

You can believe it all you want; certainly no one will stop you.

If you care about accomplishing things, you'll find yourself basically alone in your beliefs.

Sure, if you'd like to find a list of successful politicians or parties that haven't ever behaves hypocritically then, maybe - just maybe - you could argue your attitude is a meaningful way to accomplish your goals.

You will not of course find any such list.

Politics is about winning. Always. It's by definition a competition. People expect a level of dishonesty because they know politicians - all of them - are glorified sales people. Selling an ideology, or a personality, or a party or a plan.

And if you think anyone thinks salesmen are the paradigm of morality, you'd be wrong.

And so, no one thinks this sort of piddling ethical issue is worth caring about. That's not why they choose to support Panti over Iona, etc., etc. and to a person almost every single supporter of equality for the LGBT community would trade a small ethical lapse for equal treatment under the law.

That's reality.

But sure, keep harping on about something meaningless. Have fun.

In the meantime people who are in your corner, in the greater sense, will continue to confound you with tiny ethical lapse, AND win victories for you.

You are a great one for the pronouncements on behalf of everyone aren't you.

Yes strangely, seem lacking in support here.

What message do you think is being sent to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

lazygal wrote: »
    David Quinn is on Prime Time tonight. The Iona holiday is over.

Complain about him being given a platform again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

€50 David Quinn tonight goes on a rant about how much abuse he receives on twitter and via email. He doesn't deserve the examples he goes on about but I hate the way he uses it as a weapon to stifle criticism of him.

Well there's a simple solution to that. David has to stop paying his staffers to abuse him verbally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

P_1 wrote: »
    The 'abuse on Twitter' argument is really getting quite cliched at this stage. It's starting to remind me of the old 'if you criticise Israel's policies you're automatically a Nazi' type of styk.

He blocked me about a year for saying that his views are entirely homophobic. I think he classifies anyone who criticises Iona or calls them homophobic as the so called hate campaign. The worst he's been exposed is a lot of satire but let's be realistic,he's way too suitable for satire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

SW wrote: »
    BBC covering Rorys speech.

EDIT: got there facts wrong though by saying that a legal case lead to the payout to Waters+ Iona.

Jaysus, yer wan got her facts badly wrong, didn't she? Quite a drastic steer off course to be saying that because of Rory accusing a catholic lobby group and two reporters of being homophobic, RTE had to pay out 85k in compensation. I could accuse that reporter of being pretty crappy at her job, personally :(

I'd be curious to know how the admins and mods of boards compare to the amount of abuse Mr Quinn receives. Not saying he should get any abuse but I'd like to know how the level of abuse stacks with other internet activities.:)

Do the Admins and Mods get much abuse?

I know they will get some because numpties will numpt but would it be daily/weekly or generally when Thor has been channelled?

€50 David Quinn tonight goes on a rant about how much abuse he receives on twitter and via email. He doesn't deserve the examples he goes on about but I hate the way he uses it as a weapon to stifle criticism of him. Everyone criticising him is abusing him is how he plays the angle. It's sort of despicable in many ways. If he equates Rory's label on him to that abuse I honestly don't know how I'm going to react. :(

I'm not Sen Bacik biggest fan. I get the feeling RTE put her there to make Quinn seem a bit more reasonable. :(

I groaned.
    Then I had a wee rant.
    Then I hoped I won't end up despairing...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭teddansonswig

http://ow.ly/i/4w6Xq

david quin bingo for tonights PT

Do the Admins and Mods get much abuse?

I know they will get some because numpties will numpt but would it be daily/weekly or generally when Thor has been channelled?

I have a scheduled pm of disrespect to Jernal every 15 minutes.

It hasn't always been this way!!!!!! Pride happened for a long time without corporate sponsorship

In 2000 I was head chef in a new (unfinished) hotel in Sydney which was slap bang next to the Mardi Gras route where it was all hands on deck to be ready for the big day.

The general manager overheard a member of staff making what he felt was a homophobic remark about 'the gays' to me (it actually wasn't it was a bit of banter we were having) and his response was 'how dare you say that about those people. Don't you realise they are worth $90m to this city.'

I found that quite offensive.

But we're not criticising them on the origins of their money, we're criticising them on the fact that we don't fuggin' know where the money is coming from. For all we know it could be those super-dollars being manufactured in a slave labour camp in the DPRK.

There has been criticism for exactly that but I can't be asked going hunting it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

Corkfeen wrote: »
    I have a scheduled pm of disrespect to Jernal every 15 minutes.

I sincerely hope you're using the Shakespearean Insult Generator to aid you in this noble endeavour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

In 2000 I was head chef in a new (unfinished) hotel in Sydney which was slap bang next to the Mardi Gras route where it was all hands on deck to be ready for the big day.

The general manager overheard a member of staff making what he felt was a homophobic remark about 'the gays' to me (it actually wasn't it was a bit of banter we were having) and his response was 'how dare you say that about those people. Don't you realise they are worth $90m to this city.'

I found that quite offensive.

He may have just pointed out the economical argument because he thought you were homophobic and didn't see any other way he could reason with you. :)

He thought the remark was aimed at me and seemed to believe I need a big Aussie bloke to defend me.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

Bless.

AerynSun wrote: »
    I sincerely hope you're using the Shakespearean Insult Generator to aid you in this noble endeavour?

How dare you! Thou gorbellied rude-growing bum-bailey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,861 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Links234 wrote: »
    Complain about him being given a platform again.

I might just have a look-see to see if there are eggshells on the floor as a hint to the presenter and the others on the panel. Does anyone know if there's some way that you can darken out a face and shut out the voice of just one person while keeping all the O/P's on on live TV? And I'm not including the obvious, though it'd be tempting to see a harnessed gag-balled iconic figure live on national TV after the watershed hour :D

You are a great one for the pronouncements on behalf of everyone aren't you.

Yes strangely, seem lacking in support here.

What message do you think is being sent to you?

Ha.

People here know the solution that's required requires politicians help.

I haven't seen anyone suggesting a list of politicians that aren't hypocrites on some level.

On top of that, one of the posts against me admitted that to disagree with me, you'd have to choose to be wilfully naive. Which they wanted to be. Fair enough.

Politicians are all, like all humans except you and a few people on this thread, compromised. Pretending they're not, and demanding that no one compromise or do anything at all ever that someone disagrees with, will end in failure.

Sure if you disagree show me examples of purity in politics. Show me politicians that never compromise. Or a party full of people that you think always do the right thing.

You can't. No one can. They don't exist.

If you want to shut me up, show me how I'm wrong. You literally can't.

There's no history of human perfection. No history of successful politicians that never compromise. And no chance of the LGBT community getting legal equality with out politicians.

Simple maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

Corkfeen wrote: »
    How dare you! Thou gorbellied rude-growing bum-bailey!

Thou mammering plume-plucked puttock! :P

• Site Banned Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭Brown Bomber

I am not worried about the use of the word idiotic I am condemning it's use to describe a valid point which you have still failed to address.

We cannot criticise Iona for using U.S. funding in their campaign if we are doing the exact same thing.

What is it about this statement that you do not want to address?

And pardon me for wanting to discuss us having ethics....:rolleyes:

This will probably be the kiss of death for you but I just wanted to say that my opinion of you has been raised exponentially from this comment alone (not to suggest that it was low to begin with). I've had enough of the vomit-inducing hypocrisy that is everywhere so I salute you for your integrity, whether I share your opinions or not.

Ha.

People here know the solution that's required requires politicians help.

I haven't seen anyone suggesting a list of politicians that aren't hypocrites on some level.

On top of that, one of the posts against me admitted that to disagree with me, you'd have to choose to be wilfully naive. Which they wanted to be. Fair enough.

Politicians are all, like all humans except you and a few people on this thread, compromised. Pretending they're not, and demanding that no one compromise or do anything at all ever that someone disagrees with, will end in failure.

Sure if you disagree show me examples of purity in politics. Show me politicians that never compromise. Or a party full of people that you think always do the right thing.

You can't. No one can. They don't exist.

If you want to shut me up, show me how I'm wrong. You literally can't.

There's no history of human perfection. No history of successful politicians that never compromise. And no chance of the LGBT community getting legal equality with out politicians.

Simple maths.

RTE called - David Quinn wants his soapbox back.

This will probably be the kiss of death for you but I just wanted to say that my opinion of you has been raised exponentially from this comment alone (not to suggest that it was low to begin with). I've had enough of the vomit-inducing hypocrisy that is everywhere so I salute you for your integrity, whether I share your opinions or not.

I take that in the spirit in which it was intended and thank you.

RTE called - David Quinn wants his soapbox back.

I.e. You can't prove me wrong.

The irony is that I'll help your cause, as I see it as mine as well... And you'll be forced to except help from a non-perfect person.

• Site Banned Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭Brown Bomber

You compared forced integration to gay adoption. You tried to.

It's not a meaningful comparison.

No one is FORCING adoption agencies to LOWER standards, unless you consider gay to be a lower standard than straight.

Which you might - who really knows.

I have also seen you repeatedly and deliberately behave in ways that I would not call honest in this thread, but instead would liken to trolling.

So, I have little sympathy for your desire to be treated as an honest broker.

If gay vs straight is NOT a issue of "better vs worse" then there's no comparison to be made to busing.

The fact that you think there IS a comparison to me made either means you're woefully confused, wilfully dishonest, or harbouring some homophobia yourself.

When is dishonesty ever not willful? And you think I am confused?
    I didn't ask for your sympathy. What I did say is that if you want to know something about me all you need do is ask. Apparently though you don't need to find out information because your imagination is a good substitute.

I have already explained the reasons why busing is a valid comparison on some levels to gay adoption and don't feel the need to again. However, if you want to discuss any specific aspect of what you disagree with by all means feel free, but not with generic proclamations again about how right you are.

EDIT: Actually, don't bother if you don't mind. Only one way this is going to go.