Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iona vs Panti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭swampgas

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    See - that's the issue. You can't see that it's not ACTUALLY black and white. At all. Ever. When it comes to political campaigns and campaigners.

Instead it's trying to accomplish meaningful goals.

Not trying to be perfect. Trying to accomplish things you believe in. Real things.

Everyone HATES negative campaigning. But negative campaigns almost always have their desired effect.

No point in living in a fantasy world.

I dislike the "us and them" and "this is war" attitude that seems to break out over contentious issues like this. And apart from the ethical issues (which genuinely bother me) there are very practical consequences to stooping to the same level as your opponents. If you want to change people's opinions, then in moral as well as real warfare, there are advantages to keeping to the higher ground.

One of the facts that undermines Iona is that they are so secretive about their funding and benefactors. By being so secretive, they lose credibility.

Perhaps we need to refrain from criticizing Iona for taking money from (allegedly) fundamentalist US-based Christians, and instead criticize them for not being open about the true nature of their funding. If they were open about their funding, then the general public could draw their own conclusions to how representative or not Iona actually are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I think that the RTE payout was all part of a big conspiracy involving the Roman Catholic Church and the mainstream media.

We already know that the mainstream media are lying to us every day in an effort to manipulate our brains. It has also been proven beyond doubt on another forum that the Pope is Satan or the Antichrist or a lizard - see the photoshopped or strangely-angled pictures for yourself if you don't believe me.

The relationship between the RCC and RTE is already well established - check out RTE 1 at 6PM or note the Brigid's cross that was their logo some time ago. On Sundays when most of us are resting, they even broadcast superliminal messages to indoctrinate the infirm in hospitals and nursing homes.

The ultimate goal of this conspiracy was to remove the word "homophobia" from the mainstream media and I'm going to explain how they did it. I'm not going to offer any proof because I believe that you should look it up yourself and I don't have time to do this for you.

The man who started all this was none other than Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger. One night while he was staying in a hotel in Ballyhaunis the night before delivering a secret mass to the people of Knock, he turned on the TV to see if he could find some Baywatch or maybe an advertisement for nappies or something.

After going from RTE1 to RTE2 to TV3 and TG4 and then back to RTE1 again, he spotted Ivana Bacik on a panel show going on about something or other. There was also a man in a dress on the show who Ratzinger understood to be a bishop. These two were having a heated discussion about something but the Cardinal couldn't make out what they were saying (he's German, you know). All he could make out was the word "Homophobe" as Ms Bacik pointed and spat at the poor bishop. "Homophobe" this, "Homophobic that" - he really didn't like this woman. He switched off the TV in disgust and after saying a particularly angry mass the following morning, went back to Rome in his Steorn Perpetual Motion Machine and vowed to get the word "Homophobe" banned from RTE.

The first thing he needed was a patsy. He had already conspired to get one of his own people into the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland some time ago - a handsome, yet cuddly man named John Waters.

John Waters was a good, bitter Catholic and he didn't really like the gays. He liked to watch Telly Bingo and Will and Grace and claimed to have some gay friends but he just couldn't stand the thought of icky gay sex that he often watched on Redtube.

To him, the gays were OK to have on the TV but he wouldn't invite them over to dinner. They were almost human beings but not quite. He also had never forgiven them for what they did to him in Eurovision 2006.

John Waters had also infiltrated a traditionally Protestant national newspaper which meant that he could share his views with the country using the finest prose since Wilde - although John Waters never really liked that comparison. He could go on at length about how the gays were sort of OK but not quite up to his own high moral and traditional standards. He was careful to hide his true feelings in a form of verbosity unmatched since Paddy Flaherty's 900,000 word Musings on Each Entry of the Collins International Thesaurus 2012.

He railed against the Gay Lobby and their friends in the Liberal Agenda - he knew that one day, divorce and abortion would be mandatory and that he might be forced into a gay marriage if these groups ever managed to impose their Marxism on the State. He would never let that happen as long as he was alive and still writing.

Most importantly to the Cardinal, Waters knew the Catholic line on everything and would repeat those lines in his unique style as though they were his own. He could formulate his Catholic ideas into such intellectual verbiage that even the educated middle classes were affected by his column.

Using his secret contact within RTE, a lizard-person on the board, the Cardinal ensured that Waters would be consulted for an opinion on just about every panel show on just about every topic. If Waters was ever unavailable, he could temporarily be replaced by David Quinn whose opinions on everything were identical to Waters's. Quinn wasn't nearly as handsome or cuddly as Waters and he looked a bit like a short angry rapist but in the absense of Waters, he was the next best thing. In any event, the Cardinal always had a man of his own on the telly.

Between the columns and the TV appearances, Waters was a very influential man. The Cardinal knew this and so did the Liberal Agenda and more importantly, so did the Gay Lobby. Waters was the man for the job. Waters was the Patsy.

The best conspiracies are those where the perpetrators keep their hands clean. Ratzinger never contacted Waters directly. Instead he added encoded messages to the all the Catholic sermons around the world so that wherever Waters went to mass, he would receive his instructions. For years, Waters would attend mass and later in the week would fill his columns with reasons why the gays and the liberals weren't to be trusted and should be feared. Week after week, Waters, came out with more and more liberal-fearing and gay-fearing - or homophobic if you will - passages.

All was going to plan and the Cardinal sneered with glee from his newly-refurbished retirement castle in Bavaria. The Gay Lobby and the Liberal Agenda read Waters's columns every week. As they deciphered his prose with the aid of a thesaurus, they would get more and more offended by message of his life's work - gays were not really people and shouldn't have the same rights as people. The Cardinal knew that sooner or later, some Gay Lobbyist would become so exasperated at being told that they were inferior that one of them was bound to explode and publicly accuse Waters of being homophobic.

This accusation was to be the final phase of the Cardinal's dastardly plan to remove the word "homophobia" from RTE. As soon as there was an accusation of homophobia against any homophobe on RTE, the BAI who had been infiltrated by Waters himself would swing into action and censure RTE. Famous homophobes on the Cardinal's team would threaten to sue and the lizard-person on the board of directors of RTE would make sure that the state broadcaster would settle out of court. This would have a chilling effect on everyone in RTE and the Cardinal would never have to hear the word "Homophobia" ever again in that hotel in Ballyhaunis.

It didn't go quite to plan. It was taking forever for someone to accuse a homophobe of homophobia on TV and the Cardinal's days were numbered. It was literally the grace of god keeping him alive.

The process needed to be sped up and for that another patsy was needed - Brendan O Connor. O Connor wasn't very Catholic but he had a few financial problems with property after following his own advice back in 2007. He could be bought.

All he had to do was bring on a gay guest and try to trick them into accusing one of the Cardinal's men of homophobia. It should be easy, he thought to himself - like taking candy from the baby that he had on his lap.

O Connor was a skilled interviewer and could lead any guest to wherever he wanted take them. On a night that will live on in infamy, O Connor had someone by the name of Panti. "Panty", the Cardinal chuckled. Not only was Panti gay, he also wore gowns and Ratzinger knew that his moment had finally come.

As O Connor grew tired of using all of his intellect to trick Panti into accusing known homophobes of being homophobic and getting nowhere, he eventually went for the killer blow: "You know John Waters and those Iona people, they're homophobic, aren't they? Aren't they? Ah go on, you can say it". Panti, who was more intelligent than even John Waters himself, didn't fall for it but instead side-stepped the obvious trap and went on to define what homophobia is.

"Close enough", thought the Cardinal. He had the following Sunday's sermons altered to include a code word which would cause his people to spring into action. They would play victim, call their solicitors on RTE, take money for themselves and soon there would be no mention of the word "Homophobia" on RTE ever again. As he drank the last drop of blood from his golden chalice, he was sure at last that he had finally won and that this would be the end of it...

That's pretty much exactly how we got to where we are now. I glossed over some of the details to avoid a CT-style wall-of-text but I think I covered the important stuff. References, citations and proof are available on the google webpage but this post was too long to provide links.

It will be interesting to see where all this goes. I think Obama and the Muslim Bilderbergers will get involved in the days to come but I guess we'll have to wait and see.

Sorry if this derails the riveting debate of the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

I glossed over some of the details to avoid a CT-style wall-of-text

Oh yeah, you really dodged that one :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

the drones and cruise missiles that come with it:eek:

Don't worry we'll just send them on to hot deserty countries to break down like we did with our own ones (I'd give a newspaper article only duck duck go isn't currently throwing up any).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

maximoose wrote: »
    Oh yeah, you really dodged that one :pac:

Yeah, it didn't look as bad in the editor. Sorry about that.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

TD's talking about it just began

http://agenda.ie/tv/dail/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Cabaal wrote: »
    TD's talking about it just began

http://agenda.ie/tv/dail/

Pity they seem to be talking to the choir as far as attendance in the Dáil Chamber is concerned. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

No Iona support as of yet. There will be some I anticipate though?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Not a fan of Daly but she's stated that Panti said nothing inaccurate when it comes to the Saturday night show,

Ming outlined that TD's from certain county's can now proudly support and defend gay rights, something that thirty years ago would have gotten TD's abuse when they went back home (he's not wrong on that one)

Is it just me or does Rabitte look asleep?

Jernal wrote: »
    No Iona support as of yet. There will be some I anticipate though?

I doubt it as Wallace is last one and he's just started talking.

Any TD that would speak to defend Iona would be shooting themselves in the foot if they do when it comes to votes and they bloody well know that such a view does not represent the majority of the public anymore.....The Catholic church's recent survey even confirms that 70% of those surveyed are not against marriage equality.

My stream is gone all laggy. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

My stream is gone all laggy. :(

I'd go to a GP if that persists.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

swampgas wrote: »
    I dislike the "us and them" and "this is war" attitude that seems to break out over contentious issues like this. And apart from the ethical issues (which genuinely bother me) there are very practical consequences to stooping to the same level as your opponents. If you want to change people's opinions, then in moral as well as real warfare, there are advantages to keeping to the higher ground.

One of the facts that undermines Iona is that they are so secretive about their funding and benefactors. By being so secretive, they lose credibility.

Perhaps we need to refrain from criticizing Iona for taking money from (allegedly) fundamentalist US-based Christians, and instead criticize them for not being open about the true nature of their funding. If they were open about their funding, then the general public could draw their own conclusions to how representative or not Iona actually are.

Honestly, if anyone is out there deciding to support not treating gay people fairly, because they think it's popular, then reading pressure group financial records is probably a bit much to ask of them.

If the fear is that Iona is going to appear popular, then I'd say it's pretty misplaced. Sure, they might be larger than life in the media, but that's because the Irish media reflects two things:

- people with money
    - people who are friends with people in the Irish media

This is one of the reasons to actually take outside funding, btw., to buy a place at the media table. As long as Iona can outspend their progressive counterparts, they will have a louder voice in the media.

I'm all for transparency, but they won't be, for obvious reasons, unless the law makes them... if you want them to be then pressure politicians, not Iona. Iona doesn't care what you think. Obviously.

Links234 wrote: »
    I'd go to a GP if that persists.

or your local <complementary medicine CENSORED>...:D

Are we allowed to call someone a <complementary medicine CENSORED>??? :confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

You can believe it all you want; certainly no one will stop you.

If you care about accomplishing things, you'll find yourself basically alone in your beliefs.

Sure, if you'd like to find a list of successful politicians or parties that haven't ever behaves hypocritically then, maybe - just maybe - you could argue your attitude is a meaningful way to accomplish your goals.

You will not of course find any such list.

Politics is about winning. Always. It's by definition a competition. People expect a level of dishonesty because they know politicians - all of them - are glorified sales people. Selling an ideology, or a personality, or a party or a plan.

And if you think anyone thinks salesmen are the paradigm of morality, you'd be wrong.

And so, no one thinks this sort of piddling ethical issue is worth caring about. That's not why they choose to support Panti over Iona, etc., etc. and to a person almost every single supporter of equality for the LGBT community would trade a small ethical lapse for equal treatment under the law.

That's reality.

But sure, keep harping on about something meaningless. Have fun.

In the meantime people who are in your corner, in the greater sense, will continue to confound you with tiny ethical lapse, AND win victories for you.

This always reminds of that old adage that anyone who wants to be a politician shouldn't be allowed to do it and those that should be politicians won't want to be. It comes across all mature and knowing to casually describe the realities of politics and the accepted hypocrisy and so on. Accept it an move on, play the game and you might win. Yada yada. I much prefer the guy on his own asking why it has to be this way? How can we change it? Idealistic, naive. Yep. I dabbled foolishly in politics when I was younger and saw first hand why I never want to be involved in it again but I hope there are more dedicated people out there that are willing to get involved and push for change.

I'm with Bannaside on this one. I won't fight a lack of integrity with the same lack of integrity even if the "wisened" old dogs insist I'm setting out to lose from the start.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    or your local <complementary medicine CENSORED>...:D

Are we allowed to call someone a <complementary medicine CENSORED>??? :confused:

That answered that question.

mewso wrote: »
    This always reminds of that old adage that anyone who wants to be a politician shouldn't be allowed to do it and those that should be politicians won't want to be. It comes across all mature and knowing to casually describe the realities of politics and the accepted hypocrisy and so on. Accept it an move on, play the game and you might win. Yada yada. I much prefer the guy on his own asking why it has to be this way? How can we change it? Idealistic, naive. Yep. I dabbled foolishly in politics when I was younger and saw first hand why I never want to be involved in it again but I hope there are more dedicated people out there that are willing to get involved and push for change.

I'm with Bannaside on this one. I won't fight a lack of integrity with the same lack of integrity even if the "wisened" old dogs insist I'm setting out to lose from the start.

Let me distil this:

- anyone who wants to be a politician shouldn't be allowed to do it and those that should be politicians won't want to be - true

- I much prefer the guy on his own asking why it has to be this way? How can we change it? Idealistic, naive. - Yep. And do naive people win important political campaigns? Do you want to lose this? Do gay people want to lose the right to be married? So that you can be wilfully naive? Can I go out on a limb and suggest they don't.

- I dabbled foolishly in politics when I was younger and saw first hand why I never want to be involved in it again - Fair play for trying... as you can see it doesn't suit wilfully naive people...

- I hope there are more dedicated people out there that are willing to get involved and push for change. - Hope all you want, it's not bound to happen - and hasn't happened in a meaningful way in... well... has it ever happened? Are you willing to put marriage equality on the line so that you can try and prove a point about the power of naivety? And when you fail, as you're bound to do, sure all those folks that lost a bit of their civil liberties, well they'll be grand because at least you showed the man... err... what again?

- I won't fight a lack of integrity with the same lack of integrity even if the "wisened" old dogs insist I'm setting out to lose from the start. - You'll forgive me if I don't think protecting your naivety is worth trading equality under the law for LGBT people.

That answered that question.

I was only being satirical but it's possible the precedent is set for that editing to be required. I wonder, if someone did say Homeopaths were frauds and hazardous to people's health on RTE how'd they'd respond to the defamation claims. I know that cancer guy in the U.S tried to sued the sh*t out of a 16 year old. Ben Goldacre also had a not so pleasant experience.

In any case, I have no intention of censoring. But you did pose an interesting question. If you call out snake oil sales people for what they are will they take inspiration from Iona et al?

It's possible the precedent is set for that editing to be required. I wonder, if I did say Homeopaths were frauds and hazardous to people's health on RTE how'd they'd respond to the defamation claims. I know that cancer guy in the U.S tried to sued the sh*t out of a 16 year old. Ben Goldacre also had a not so pleasant experience.

In any case, I have no intention of censoring. But you did pose an interesting question. If you call out snake oil sales people for what they are will take inspiration from Iona et al?

Maybe this will finally open the door for DDI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

I missed the debate. Was everyone on Rory's side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

David Quinn is on Prime Time tonight. The Iona holiday is over.

lazygal wrote: »
    David Quinn is on Prime Time tonight. The Iona holiday is over.

Talking about what?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,966 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

With Bacik, sigh. Why do they always put those two together?

• Moderators Posts: 52,029 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

BBC covering Rorys speech.

EDIT: got there facts wrong though by saying that a legal case lead to the payout to Waters+ Iona.

If you can read this, you're too close!

Let me distil this:

- anyone who wants to be a politician shouldn't be allowed to do it and those that should be politicians won't want to be - true

- I much prefer the guy on his own asking why it has to be this way? How can we change it? Idealistic, naive. - Yep. And do naive people win important political campaigns? Do you want to lose this? Do gay people want to lose the right to be married? So that you can be wilfully naive? Can I go out on a limb and suggest they don't.

- I dabbled foolishly in politics when I was younger and saw first hand why I never want to be involved in it again - Fair play for trying... as you can see it doesn't suit wilfully naive people...

- I hope there are more dedicated people out there that are willing to get involved and push for change. - Hope all you want, it's not bound to happen - and hasn't happened in a meaningful way in... well... has it ever happened? Are you willing to put marriage equality on the line so that you can try and prove a point about the power of naivety? And when you fail, as you're bound to do, sure all those folks that lost a bit of their civil liberties, well they'll be grand because at least you showed the man... err... what again?

- I won't fight a lack of integrity with the same lack of integrity even if the "wisened" old dogs insist I'm setting out to lose from the start. - You'll forgive me if I don't think protecting your naivety is worth trading equality under the law for LGBT people.

I am an LGBT person and I am not willing to become like those who oppress me.

Because then I become just like them.

I cut my political teeth in the first Anti-Abortion Campaign in the early 80s before moving to Thatcher's Britain to work for an East End council as the Labour Party I belonged to, and campaigned for, was moving to the right and Militant Tendency was ripping it apart.

I have been out, Proud and a vocal defender of rights for LGBT people since the late 1970s.
    I helped organise the Stop The Clause Campaign
    I have stood beside Angela Davis.
    I have delivered petitions to the House of Commons in an official capacity.
    I was at Wapping when Murdoch was destroying the Printworkers Union.
    I organised food collections for the Miners.
    I was an active member of the Abortion Underground in the 1980s.
    I had to seek legal advice due to the actions of the Met's Special Branch after the killings in Gibraltar when my phone was tapped.
    I fundraised for David Norris.
    I fundraised for Mary Robinson when no one thought she had a hope in hell.
    I was one of those members of the Irish Labour Party that argued for them not to enter the current government.
    I was one of those members of the Irish Labour Party who resigned when they chose political expediency over and above what they had promised the electorate.

I am no political naif waif.

Please do not tell me what LGBT people need or want as if we are small children.

We have been fighting this fight for a long time now and we are winning while keeping to our principles .

SW wrote: »
    BBC covering Rorys speech.

EDIT: got there facts wrong though by saying that a legal case lead to the payout to Waters+ Iona.

Excellent and almost accurate!

€50 David Quinn tonight goes on a rant about how much abuse he receives on twitter and via email. He doesn't deserve the examples he goes on about but I hate the way he uses it as a weapon to stifle criticism of him. Everyone criticising him is abusing him is how he plays the angle. It's sort of despicable in many ways. If he equates Rory's label on him to that abuse I honestly don't know how I'm going to react. :(

I'm not Sen Bacik biggest fan. I get the feeling RTE put her there to make Quinn seem a bit more reasonable. :(

I am an LGBT person and I am not willing to become like those who oppress me.

Because then I become just like them.

I cut my political teeth in the first Anti-Abortion Campaign in the early 80s before moving to Thatcher's Britain to work for an East End council as the Labour Party I belonged to, and campaigned for, was moving to the right and Militant Tendency was ripping it apart.

I have been out, Proud and a vocal defender of rights for LGBT people since the late 1970s.
    I helped organise the Stop The Clause Campaign
    I have stood beside Angela Davis.
    I have delivered petitions to the House of Commons in an official capacity.
    I was at Wapping when Murdoch was destroying the Printworkers Union.
    I organised food collections for the Miners.
    I was an active member of the Abortion Underground in the 1980s.
    I had to seek legal advice due to the actions of the Met's Special Branch after the killings in Gibraltar when my phone was tapped.
    I fundraised for David Norris.
    I fundraised for Mary Robinson when no one thought she had a hope in hell.
    I was one of those members of the Irish Labour Party that argued for them not to enter the current government.
    I was one of those members of the Irish Labour Party who resigned when they chose political expediency over and above what they had promised the electorate.

I am no political naif waif.

Please do not tell me what LGBT people need or want as if we are small children.

We have been fighting this fight for a long time now and we are winning while keeping to our principles .

All very nice, but completely - again - missing the point. Even though you clicked like on a comment that laid it out for you.

Politics isn't and never will about perfectly moral people never doing anything wrong.

Politics is about flawed people competing with other flawed people to get the best they can done for the people they care about. And that's if you're lucky.

It's hugely and wilfully naive, as the post you clicked like on says, to think that politics is any different to that.

You can choose to be naive. Grand. But that won't make politics and politicians any less flawed.

Time and time and time and time again, naive ideologues lose to honest compromisers. The system we have doesn't - as a rule - work out for the rigidly idealistic.

The politicians that manage to get equal protection and rights under the law for the LGBT community, all of them - fighting for your rights - every single one, will have done something in their career that you find ethically wrong.

And yet, you'll cheer them on and fight beside them for your rights.

You won't turn down equal rights, because they were won for you with the help of hypocrites. Quite obviously.

That's reality.

Your allies are all hypocrites on some level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Pride was sponsored by Nissan UK, Google and Apple so its always been this way. Without investors nothing would happen.

It hasn't always been this way!!!!!! Pride happened for a long time without corporate sponsorship

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet