Neknomination ***MOD WARNING FIRST POST***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Quazzie wrote: »
    He done the dare because of the game. He jumped in the river to keep up with the game. He would not have jumped in the river if it wasn't for the game.

To ignore all that, and call it harmless after a young man has lost his life, is ignorant of the facts.

so if I play a game of dare with you and I dare you to jump off a bridge and instead of telling me to **** off, you jump off the bridge - your death will have been the fault of the game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

so if I play a game of dare with you and I dare you to jump off a bridge and instead of telling me to **** off, you jump off the bridge - your death will have been the fault of the game?

The death would be the fault of a combination of factors.
    The game (you would not have dared me if the game did not exist).
    My stupidity.
    Your stupidity.
    Alcohol consumed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

Ah now. In Russia 25% of all men die before reaching the age of 55...and vodka takes most of the blame for that stat. We are no where near that yet.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/alicegwalton/2014/01/31/proof-of-vodkas-grasp-russian-men-still-dying-young/

That's not what I'm saying.

I am saying heavy drinking is considered normal in Ireland. Heavy drinkers are considered **** ups in Russia.

Our problem isn't the amount of deaths, it's the normalisation of heavy drinking.

We have a different problem than Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The death would be the fault of a combination of factors.
    The game (you would not have dared me if the game did not exist).
    My stupidity.
    Your stupidity.
    Alcohol consumed.
    the vast majority of blame would rest on your shoulders though. personal responsibility and all that. "the game" is an inanimate concept and a puerile one at that, I struggle to hold "the game" responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

People have been daring each other to do stupid things since well before the internet.
    Personal responsibility should be highlighted rather than looking to blame something else. Fellas (and it is by and large fellas) should have the guts to tell their peers or some asshat with a youtube clip to f**k off. Be your own person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I've been to Russia and other countries where they also abuse alcohol, but the difference between those countries and Ireland is it's so normal and tolerated to be hungover in work or extremely drunk at night, whereas those countries recognise it as a problem.

I wouldn't consider it normal or tolerated to be very hungover at work unless its the morning after the christmas party or some other occasion but certainly not on a normal day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

If you do it on social media and there is an element of peer pressure, then I am much more likely to. The scenario you described conveniently leaves out one of the strongest, and most dangerous elements of teh game, and that is the social pressure applied by posting it on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

I have very little sympathy being totally honest

Typical Ireland blaming peer pressure.

Me and everyone I know have done Neknomination with a pint and made a joke from it

The two boys had to push the bar too high and kill themselves!

Theres always excuses when it comes to these things, but never said like it is, two idiots with no common sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

Balmed Out wrote: »
    I wouldn't consider it normal or tolerated to be very hungover at work unless its the morning after the christmas party or some other occasion but certainly not on a normal day.

It has been tolerated every where I work.

Maybe IT is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

People have been daring each other to do stupid things since well before the internet.
    Personal responsibility should be highlighted rather than looking to blame something else. Fellas (and it is by and large fellas) should have the guts to tell their peers or some asshat with a youtube clip to f**k off. Be your own person.

Absolutely, dares and drinking exsisted long before social media. Social media just gave it a fancy name.

Although I did see a funny one yesterday where the lads involved took a stuffed model of the Coca Cola Polar bear from the pub, to neck their drinks outside with it. I assume they had permission from the bar staff, as did not appear drunk, and were just having a good time.

Quazzie wrote: »
    He done the dare because of the game. He jumped in the river to keep up with the game. He would not have jumped in the river if it wasn't for the game.

To ignore all that, and call it harmless after a young man has lost his life, is ignorant of the facts.

I think the game asks you to down, or 'neck', a drink within 24 hours of being nominated by a friend. Doesn't say anything about jumping into a fast flowing river during an Orange Alert weather warning, with all due respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,151 ✭✭✭flanzer

I see the latest craze now of necking pints of water and pints of milk. Seriously fook off off my timeline ya bunch of attention seeking whores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭papu

flanzer wrote: »
    I see the latest craze now of necking pints of water and pints of milk. Seriously fook off off my timeline ya bunch of attention seeking whores

What happens when some lactose intolerant kid necks a pint of milk.
    when will it end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

papu wrote: »
    What happens when some lactose intolerant kid necks a pint of milk.
    when will it end.
    Better have a toilet within 20 yards and 24 pack Tesco toilet paper ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,226 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Is it peer pressure or attention seeking? I would have to say a bit of both. You do the neknomination because you were nominated, you feel like you have to do it.
    The escalation of things comes down to attention seeking. If you do something 'cool' you will get all the likes and attention on FB. You want to be seen as the man for your extraordinary neknomnation.

I wonder if the people that started this will be sued or something? I think that would be an outrage but you never know.

Also the spelling really annoys me. Why no 'c' in neck?

Is it peer pressure or attention seeking? I would have to say a bit of both. You do the neknomination because you were nominated, you feel like you have to do it.
    The escalation of things comes down to attention seeking. If you do something 'cool' you will get all the likes and attention on FB. You want to be seen as the man for your extraordinary neknomnation.

I wonder if the people that started this will be sued or something? I think that would be an outrage but you never know.

Also the spelling really annoys me. Why no 'c' in neck?
    I reckon it's because it originated down in Oz or Nz , where Nek is also a term for Next ,
    Popularized by the youtube video Nek Minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

I nominate Feknomination

Just coz it's on Fekbook I must obey

/Fek dat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

A clinical psychologist wrote a piece in today's Independent about this phenomenon. He basically put it down to the alienation / isolation / worthlessness that young men feel in this recession! They are so disenfranchised with their place in the world that they are prone to feckless stunts like downing a pint of whiskey while climbing a tree was the trust of his argument. What a load of bollocks. Had facebook / social media et al been around 7 or 8 years ago in the height of the boom, this kind of shít would have been around then, only thing is it would probably have been worse. Young people will always do stupid shít, recession or not, the only difference now is technology has come along to fan the flame and make it even easier to act the eegit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Pat Rabbitte now expects Facebook to ban the videos.
    This is what would happen if we allowed politicians to regulate the internet, bear that in mind...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Pat Rabbitte now expects Facebook to ban the videos.
    This is what would happen if we allowed politicians to regulate the internet, bear that in mind...

So the videos should be allowed?

efb wrote: »

Absolutely. What laws are they breaking? Acting ye eejit or doing something in bad taste is not illegal and nor should it be.

Whats the reason for banning them? Nobodies putting a gun to peoples heads forcing them to do it / take part.
    WTF is ok with internet censorship?

papu wrote: »
    Whats the reason for banning them? Nobodies putting a gun to peoples heads forcing them to do it / take part.
    WTF is ok with internet censorship?

This. I'm getting pretty tired of the Irish government's attitude to the Internet, we had the same sh!te last year with ask.fm.

A minority of people can't handle something so therefore it should be banned for everyone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 149 ✭✭Chris The Hacker

Yes. What sort of retard would think otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

Sheepination

...That is all

nelly17 wrote: »
    Sheepination

...That is all

Depending on how bad one's mind is, this could be interpreted as an absolutely filthy suggestion. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Balmed Out wrote: »

Therein lies the problem. It should not be acceptable to be ever hungover at work regardless of the occasion.

People bemoan the lack of jobs in this country but fail to act in a professional manner when they have said jobs. If someone applies to me for a job and i happen to see a video of them neknominating through a google search i will almost certainly look to other candidates instead.

Yes. What sort of retard would think otherwise?

A retard that sees the peer pressure that happens form this muck

People are dead this needs to stop

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

A retard that sees the peer pressure that happens form this muck

People are dead this needs to stop

You still haven't explained on what basis it should be banned. What laws are being broken?

This. I'm getting pretty tired of the Irish government's attitude to the Internet, we had the same sh!te last year with ask.fm.

A minority of people can't handle something so therefore it should be banned for everyone.

We need to protect out most vulnerable citizens