Neknomination ***MOD WARNING FIRST POST***

Mod

Threads merged. Mod warning added to OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Bacon and Cabbage

But... That's not a neck nomination at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

I thought that South African guy was gonna start throwing stuff at people or something while drinking, what he done was really cool, would be great to turn it into helping people instead of that other crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

People have been doing stupid things for 'dares' long before social media was invented.
    I remember seeing some fella necking a bottle of red wine in a pub for a bet...about 25 years ago.
    Another lad I knew used to be able to get his lips around a pint glass....hold the glass and then turn his head upwards and empty the glass in to himself.

As long as there are young people with testosterone there will be stupid drinking games and sadly some fatalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

It's better to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭A Scoundrel

Interesting to contrast some of the condemnatory posts in this thread with the "RIP Philip Seymour Hoffman" posts elsewhere.

PSH ingested an un-labelled mind-altering chemical substance until he was dead, and deserves an RIP. Some naive youngsters did something similar, with regulated, statutorily approved substances, and somehow, they are fools.

drinking did not kill this man
    jumping into a river killed this man

jesus ****ing christ

No one said drinking killed him but is the issue here not whether intoxication is leading people to take mindless risks?

He is showing it can be something good and not a shower of idiots drinking alcohol.

No, it's completely unrelated to neck nominations, he's just giving a person some things out of a car window

Instead of nominating someone to do something stupid he is nominating them to help someone. Not too hard to figure that one out.

JerCotter7 wrote: »
    Instead of nominating someone to do something stupid he is nominating them to help someone. Not too hard to figure that one out.

There are no stupid things only stupid people. As for the video, it's obviously staged and why did he feel the need to record it if not to make himself look good? He could have just donated to charity or something and not try to capitalise on the neck nominations circle jerk

Of course there is stupid things but how is that related to this topic. He did it it to try and get people to take part in the necknominations in a way that is helpful rather than moronic.

JerCotter7 wrote: »
    Of course there is stupid things but how is that related to this topic. He did it it to try and get people to take part in the necknominations in a way that is helpful rather than moronic.

Neck nominations is necking a drink in an interesting way, that's just what it is. He did not do a neck nomination, he made the video to get Internet likes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 149 ✭✭Chris The Hacker

No one said drinking killed him but is the issue here not whether intoxication is leading people to take mindless risks?

Plenty of people have blamed drinking and the game itself. Personally, I think the friends and family are using the game as a scapegoat to cover a man basically killing himself.

I can PM you a link to his brother's Facebook if you want.

Plenty of people have blamed drinking and the game itself. Personally, I think the friends and family are using the game as a scapegoat to cover a man basically killing himself.

I can PM you a link to his brother's Facebook if you want.

Trying not to be too disrespecting to the deceased but Id agree that a grown man cant be absolved of the blame and your right there is a scapegoat culture here but while you cant save people from themselves but its probably not an idea to put daft ideas out there either.

If anything positive can spring out of this awful tragedy its that its a costly lesson of how things can go horribly wrong when people make the decision to follow these type of alcohol fuelled trends.

I believe no one individual would make this type of decision without being egged on to some extent and I notice alot of people on a daily basis have no sense of visualising the worst case scenario when it comes to their own safety. This young fella is sadly not alone in making a poor error of judgement

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Diemos wrote: »

Alcohol kills so many in this country every year, how many people who are shouting down, condemning this drinking game would agree to ban alcohol to save lives in this country?
    My guess very few would, the rest are hypocrites.

No offence Diemos but thats a load of crap.

Why would someone who criticises the abuse of alcohol be a hypocrite by not calling for a complete ban and thus denying the majority of those who drink sensibly something they enjoy?

As this thread has grown, I wouldn't expect people to read every post but below is a response I gave earlier that addresses your comment.
    Lapin wrote: »
    I've no problem with anyone (over 18) getting drunk as long as they have a general sense of cop on about what they are doing.

Nothing wrong with having a few beers or a glass of vino too many at home now and again, or having a slightly wobbly walk home from the pub every once and a while.

Even some from the most staunch anti drink lobbys concede that such deviations from moderation are relatively harmless in comparison to the abuse of alcohol witnessed in these videos.

And while I don't for one second believe that there was alcohol involved in all those clips (I've been around the block long enough and sampled enough of the pleasures of spirits to know what look it would leave on the face of those who down the stuff), I do believe that these muppets are playing right into the hands of the killjoys who want to restrict drinking altogether.

These videos are all the ammunition the government needs as an excuse to slap even more taxes and duties on alcohol in a vain effort to curtail alcohol abuse.

Meanwhile those who enjoy a drink without having to boast about it on the web are penalised because of the actions of those who clearly cannot handle theirs.

Alcohol in itself doesn't kill people. Indeed some medics argue that a small amount a couple of times a week is beneficial for health.

Its the abuse of alcohol either by drinking dangerous quantities by volume over a short period (such as this current craze), or over indulging for prolonged period of time that has fatal consequences.

Its perfectly acceptable for those who enjoy a few sociable drinks to plead with others who maybe temped to consume dangerous quantities not to do so without being in any way hypocritical.

To say they are is akin to suggesting that anyone who complains about boy racers is a hypocrite unless they also call for a total ban on driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭systemicrisk

Not really. Sure we have no information whether or not he was drunk before he planned to jump. He may have planned it all sober, downed the pint and jumped straight in before the alcohol even got to his bloodstream. I think the issue is the stupid bravado of youth trying to out do each other to gain "legendary" status on facebook.

Im in my early thirties now but ten years ago I did quite a few things that coulda and on one occasion almost did kill me and not always with drink involved. Its horrible that this young man will never have the opportunity to look back and think "what was I thinking back then". He made a stupid decision thats true but many people make stupid decisions every day and walk away from them.

I have no problem with people downing pints but I really hope this will be the end of the crazy escalation of young lads doing crazier and crazier thungs to out do each other because there will definitely be more deaths otherwise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Mr.S wrote: »
    How can people DOWN 70cl/1lr botles of spirits like water and then be fine?!

They can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I can't fathom this either. Half a bottle of Jack Daniels would knock me out. I don't know why you'd want to do that to yourself.

They're almost certainly vomiting it straight back up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Some clown was tryig to show off and twentwrong

RIP lad, but to blame facebook is bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,749 ✭✭✭irishmover

Seen an old friend who posted a longish video for her neknomination about 5 days ago. She was talking utter bollox for ages and then drank her pint of beer. It was just like that video someone posted on an earlier page with a guy taking the piss out of it. Except she was fully serious.

She then put up a post yesterday saying something along the lines of 'shocking for those two people who died but also fascinating to see so many people jumping on the new bandwagon when last week they were liking every video on it'

Surely doing a neknomination is jumping on the bandwagon to begin with..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭Testament1

I saw a guy down a 70cl bottle of Jack Daniels in one go a few years ago. It came back up again in one go a few minutes after he drank it.

Testament1 wrote: »
    I saw a guy down a 70cl bottle of Jack Daniels in one go a few years ago. It came back up again in one go a few minutes after he drank it.

I drink a lot, it's not something I'm proud of but it's a fact. I've never seen anyone down more than 350ml of spirits without bringing it straight back up. Even that was around 15/16, he stopped that the next year when he couldn't even have a shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I think Neknomination is one of the stupidest things going, but at the same time, I recognize it is entirely harmless - If someone's going to down a bottle of spirits, jump into a river, or do god knows what else, you cannot blame a game for these ridiculous escalated actions that have always occurred long before social media and are nothing to do with the concept of this latest game, stupid and all as it is, but just young people being reckless and stupid, as they always have been.

As for necking spirits, that is quite literally playing Russian Roulette with your life, and for what? 700ml of spirits would get an average person pretty battered over an extended period (say, 7 hours) - nobody would be 'fine' after ingesting that in one go, not even the most hardened drinker. Stupid beyond stupid.

Most of these 'games' or ideas start off completely harmlessly, until some idiot takes it too far - alcohol related or not, so this is nothing new whatsoever, it is just simply human nature.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,411 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

A donation to charity doesnt mean his action has a direct result for someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

now as always in this country we will have to legislate because of a few morons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I think Neknomination is one of the stupidest things going, but at the same time, I recognize it is entirely harmless - If someone's going to down a bottle of spirits, jump into a river, or do god knows what else, you cannot blame a game for these ridiculous escalated actions that have always occurred long before social media and are nothing to do with the concept of this latest game, stupid and all as it is, but just young people being reckless and stupid, as they always have been.
    He done the dare because of the game. He jumped in the river to keep up with the game. He would not have jumped in the river if it wasn't for the game.

To ignore all that, and call it harmless after a young man has lost his life, is ignorant of the facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

When I lived in Ireland it used to annoy me when foreigners would say it's a country of alcoholics and problem drinkers.

Then I traveled the world and realised it's true.

I've been to Russia and other countries where they also abuse alcohol, but the difference between those countries and Ireland is it's so normal and tolerated to be hungover in work or extremely drunk at night, whereas those countries recognise it as a problem.

As a country we have an extremely unhealthy relationship with alcohol.

EDIT: This has reminded me of an argument I had on boards.ie a few years ago. I said basically the same thing as above and loads of people got angry with me. When I asked how much alcohol do they drink a week, they all stated things like 10+ pints at least two nights a week, 3+ bottles of wine a week, etc. They thought this was normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

When I lived in Ireland it used to annoy me when foreigners would say it's a country of alcoholics and problem drinkers.

Then I traveled the world and realised it's true.

I've been to Russia and other countries where they also abuse alcohol, but the difference between those countries and Ireland is it's so normal and tolerated to be hungover in work or extremely drunk at night, whereas those countries recognise it as a problem.

As a country we have an extremely unhealthy relationship with alcohol.

EDIT: This has reminded me of an argument I had on boards.ie a few years ago. I said basically the same thing as above and loads of people got angry with me. When I asked how much alcohol do they drink a week, they all stated things like 10+ pints at least two nights a week, 3+ bottles of wine a week, etc. They thought this was normal.

Ah now. In Russia 25% of all men die before reaching the age of 55...and vodka takes most of the blame for that stat. We are no where near that yet.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/alicegwalton/2014/01/31/proof-of-vodkas-grasp-russian-men-still-dying-young/