Neknomination ***MOD WARNING FIRST POST***

Danger781 wrote: »
    What's this? Last thing I heard / read was that he downed a pint of whiskey after a night out.

Most likely a load of bollox by the look of it. Let's not give the rumpus any more legs eh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

Most likely a load of bollox by the look of it. Let's not give the rumpus any more legs eh :)
    That's what the tabloids have been saying, but multiple people on Twitter, Facebook and even here on Boards who claim to know him have said that he didn't actually do a nomination on the night in question and that the cause of death is still unknown

Thanks for clearing that up. Like I said it was just what I had read / heard from different places. Didn't mean to bring the story back up, was just curious when you said it wasn't a neknomination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭winston82

Im 19 and think it's complete and utter scutter. I've been nominated 3 times, and some people are gonna nominate me again because i won't do it.

It's not funny downing a load of drink, it also doesn't any skill. What is the sense in it ?

If people are sensible enough, and they think its a laugh them let them do it. Who cares. If you don't want to, then don't. If you drink a bottle of whiskey or jump in a river then bad things will happen. Let people make up their own minds and let that be that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Thanks for clearing that up. Like I said it was just what I had read / heard from different places. Didn't mean to bring the story back up, was just curious when you said it wasn't a neknomination.

If nothing else, it's a nice cautionary tale about what happens when people cite the Mirror as a primary source ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Watched a few and it Looks like a bit of fun.

There are the odd full time mad bstard one however, they shouldn't be encouraged but there is no stopping them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

fits wrote: »
    Who hasn't downed a naggin of a spirit at some stage of their lives?

I haven't.

I love the craic as much as the next lad, but there is absolutely no sense or enjoyment in something like this.

On a lighter note, this is genuinely one of the funniest things I've seen in a long time :D

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=555974924501000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Was shown a load of these videos last night, still going strong with the 18-25 crowd it seems.

Saw a load of beer/vodka being downed, then trying to out do everyone else of course, doing more crazy drugs, stunts, one guy ate a lit cigarette. The worst was one guy, doing a bong hit, a beer, a full bottle of vodka, a line of cocaine, some pills and then the option of drinking some petrol after it.... idiots!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

If you really wanted to do it then you should know your limits...that obviously varies....if you've never drank that much vodka in a short period of time then why start now? A few friends of mine couldn't do spirits and didn't and it was fine...if you can safely hack the spirits and want to do that fair enough...each to their own. I guess it's just you'd never think that many people were that desperate for attention/likes/validation and wanted to fit in so bad. Anyway this craze will slowly die out thank God. If this went on longer than a few weeks there could be incredible disastrous circumstances, there is already after only a few weeks...needs to be put to bed now before death toll increases by one more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Festy wrote: »

Bit late to the game there..

It's been reported his death was unrelated to the game..

However, someone did die last night in Carlow after jumping in a river for his neknomination

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

Bit late to the game there..

It's been reported his death was unrelated to the game..

However, someone did die last night in Carlow after jumping in a river for his neknomination

EDIT: Thought you were pulling the piss. WTF http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/neknominate-craze-jonny-byrne-co-3104824

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 Golovkin P4P

On a lighter note, this is genuinely one of the funniest things I've seen in a long time :D

You've a strange sense of humour, how was that funny. He walked into a shop and drank a can of beer then tried to pay for it.

The full Hurling get up including Hurley took it from mildly amusing to absolutely ridiculous :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

That video isn't funny one bit...acting all tough and then nearly starts crying when the staff give him some sh*t...didn't even have the balls to stick around either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Looks like the tesco in carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

beano345 wrote: »
    Looks like the tesco in carlow

According to the facebook comments it is a person from Westmeath in IT Carlow. Going by a mini profile review.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Ham Sambo

Its just a bit of fun!!

A bit of fun? so do you think the deaths of two lads over the past few days is a bit of fun? When will people like learn to cop on, how many more people have to die in order for you to see that this is not 'a bit of fun'

Ham Sambo wrote: »
    A bit of fun? so do you think the deaths of two lads over the past few days is a bit of fun? When will people like learn to cop on, how many more people have to die in order for you to see that this is not 'a bit of fun'
    The first one only has The Mirror linking the game to it. The second one had as much to do with the material his clothes were made out of as it had to do with downing a pint.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,169 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

It was just a bit of silly fun when people were keeping to reasonable limits. Not my cup of tea, but not exactly lethal either.

It's a bit of fun until someone takes it too far.

The majority of videos I see are someone in the comfort of their own home, downing a pint, and nominating a friend.

No harm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭yohan the great

It is a bit of fun, it isn't the game's fault that some idiot decided to jump in a river. I feel sorry for his family but its his own fault not the game's fault

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Wouldn't happen with monopoly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 149 ✭✭Chris The Hacker

It is a bit of fun, it isn't the game's fault that some idiot decided to jump in a river. I feel sorry for his family but its his own fault not the game's fault

A river after flood warnings were issued across the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,346 ✭✭✭No Pants

If people die doing something because they saw it in a post on Facebook, that's Darwinism in action, right? I fail to see a downside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,567 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

It just seems to a young male issue. The need to impress mates by drinking a lot..is it to prove manliness? It's lost on me. Mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Shouldn't you be saying mass somewhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

It just seems to a young male issue. The need to impress mates by drinking a lot..is it to prove manliness? It's lost on me. Mad.

I've seen a fair few girls do it too. Maybe not as extreme, but in one case she stripped down to her underwear before downing a beer at a luas stop in town. She could have caught quite a chill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

thecatspjs wrote: »
    I've seen a fair few girls do it too. Maybe not as extreme, but in one case she stripped down to her underwear before downing a beer at a luas stop in town. She could have caught quite a chill.

She hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

yawhat! wrote: »
    She hot?

Very