If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭thecomedian

I took a 2007 Focus ST for a drive today. Really impressed, better than I thought it would be. It felt as quick as mine if not then it was quicker.
    Biggest surprise was the sound it made after 4000rpm, I now see why SG is so happy.
    This car has only 16500kms on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I took a 2007 Focus ST for a drive today. Really impressed, better than I thought it would be. It felt as quick as mine if not then it was quicker.
    Biggest surprise was the sound it made after 4000rpm, I now see why SG is so happy.

I must get myself a spin in one of these. Couldn't believe it that a FWD car has that much power.

With 225bhp I thought it would cause a lot of torque steer but I didn't notice it.
    Grip was very good also, it will go on to my list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

Where was it based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Best thing about the ST is for small money you can get 320bhp+390ft/lb of torque if thats your thing.

With the right exhaust it can sound glorious :)

dar83 wrote: »
    Where was it based?

It's in Perry's in Athy. Their selling it for another lad who is also in the motor trade.

Funny, that's where my own originated from. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Got a quote of 160 today to tint the 3 rear windows on the Accord so must book it in the next couple of weeks if I can. Only balls is they don't work weekends so need to take time off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Got a quote of 160 today to tint the 3 rear windows on the Accord so must book it in the next couple of weeks if I can. Only balls is they don't work weekends so need to take time off.

Thats a good price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Ya it's from solarguard in Cork so happy with it just need to get around to doing it some stage. I'll go 35% tint I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

colm_mcm wrote: »

See yer mans comment under it. Nice try!

I can't see comments?

The Padraic fella said "I'm kicking myself. I should have said I was saving for a new Passat"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I can't see comments?

Linked to Facebook? Do you have one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,471 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Cue all the hopeful copycat ads! :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Jaysus. Just realised I've been on boards for 6 years. I feel old.

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Jaysus. Just realised I've been on boards for 6 years. I feel old.

Ummm... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I'm six years too, I haven't stayed on any other website for this long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

My original join date was Dec 2008 I think.

I'm only here 7 months, but the obsession I have with it worries me :(

It's a dodgy one. If you have a girlfriend, she'll be giving out about it soon. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

CianRyan wrote: »
    It's a dodgy one. If you have a girlfriend, she'll be giving out about it soon. :p

Ha ha ha mine does that :D

To be fair, this is a second life for most of us. :p

Naa had to get my priorities straight. No time for a girlfriend :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

To be fair, this is a second life for most of us. :p

True, don't use Facebook myself so this is where I usually go to. Stuff is usually a lot more interesting too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Went out to the car this evening after work, went to open it and nothing. No door unlock, no interior lights, nothing. Battery completely flat dead. Interior reading lights wouldn't even turn on. E38 to the rescue! Jump started in 30 seconds, got me out of a right jam.

Think it's new battery time, looks like the original, 9 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Right lads I know this isn't the cycling forum but how long should I leave a tyre patch on before testing to see if it's still leaking? Right away I assume is fine because the glue is already dry?

10 minutes is plenty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

If the glue is dry, it's not going to get any more air tight. I used to direct a hair dryer on it for a few minutes, tube would be back in the tyre and back cycling within 25-30mins of first applying the patch.