Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Had vet with a bull with scour on Sunday. She left norodine for him. He I not scoury anymore .do I continue injecting him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hugo29 wrote: »
    i run in me clothes, saves time

im more of a lycra man myself, when out and about getting fit.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    I hear ya....in the lorry myself this morning

I hope you werent getting polled in Kilmallock yesterday, heard there was a serious amount of action happening :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

biddy2013 wrote: »
    Had vet with a bull with scour on Sunday. She left norodine for him. He I not scoury anymore .do I continue injecting him?

I would give a couple more treatments once he looks okay, I presume you were putting sulpha powders back his throat aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Do you work in irish water!

no, but i hear there are a few places going;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Anyone got a recent price for readymix concrete per m3?

:eek:and you wonder why you are single

I hope you werent getting polled in Kilmallock yesterday, heard there was a serious amount of action happening :rolleyes:

teasers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Got myself a lock of sucks thank you ;)

I would give a couple more treatments once he looks okay, I presume you were putting sulpha powders back his throat aswell

She didn't give him any. I had some of my own and I used them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

i run in me clothes, saves time

Jaysus stink off you! *bleugh* :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭grizzlyadams

reilig wrote: »

Just after putting in foundations for a builder , €370 for 5.5 metres for j cash :-)

I dont have the time in the evening BBAM, kids, homework and feeding
    actually its peaceful in the morning in gym, feck all there,
    i have a treadmill in the living room if i dont get out during the day i try to do 30 mins every second day in the evening, have tv on in front of me, only problem is kids running around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

West cork. 65 plus vat for 25 newton, 20mm chip

biddy2013 wrote: »
    i have a treadmill in the living room if i dont get out during the day i try to do 30 mins every second day in the evening, have tv on in front of me, only problem is kids running around

there should be a show about u biddy:D
    cooking, cleaning, farming, fixing roofs, power washing, barbecues, bulmers, threadmills, pulling 20 year olds, pyjamas parties,

is here anything you dont do;)

30N 67 a metre + vat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 aghost

Anyone else having trouble logging in. I made 3 attempts and no go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

aghost wrote: »
    Anyone else having trouble logging in. I made 3 attempts and no go.

I was on last night at 3am. I must have broke it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

I dont have the time in the evening BBAM, kids, homework and feeding
    actually its peaceful in the morning in gym, feck all there,

Yea. We have a thread mill here In the spare room. Was here for years and I wouldn't bother with it, herself uses it a good bit when weather is bad.
    Started using the thread mill myself last spring and find it great. Stick the laptop going and watch something while I'm walking.

bbam wrote: »
    Yea. We have a thread mill here In the spare room. Was here for years and I wouldn't bother with it, herself uses it a good bit when weather is bad.
    Started using the thread mill myself last spring and find it great. Stick the laptop going and watch something while I'm walking.

we have one of those yokes where ya walk and move handles at same time, never been used, must dust it off and have a go, probably will kill meself:D, the coordination would not be the best, old age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 aghost

I was on last night at 3am. I must have broke it.:D

Must be a boardsie among them, its flyin now.

we have one of those yokes where ya walk and move handles at same time, never been used, must dust it off and have a go, probably will kill meself:D, the coordination would not be the best, old age

Cross trainer. Rowing machine is hard work too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

How wide can a slat be before it needs another stud wall to support it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

20'6" afaik

Not an easy one to answer, Depends on a few things Greengrass

Proposed Width,
    Loading eg ya driving on them
    Make up, depth, concrete strength, reinforcement

Not an easy one to answer, Depends on a few things Greengrass

Proposed Width,
    Loading eg ya driving on them
    Make up, depth, concrete strength, reinforcement

I was going to go 10ft deep and 54ft long and 12'6 wide but its not big enough to hold 40 cows outside for 16 wks. I will be driving on it for a few yes until I upgrade to scrapers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

td5man wrote: »
    20'6" afaik

The widest I ever saw was 16' 6" ..... I think 14' 6" is the largest standard slat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Snows in old castle are around 70 a metre with fibreglass in it, It was that a year ago anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Cross trainer, great for the lower back and gluts

I was going to go 10ft deep and 54ft long and 12'6 wide but its not big enough to hold 40 cows outside for 16 wks. I will be driving on it for a few yes until I upgrade to scrapers

if yer only going 12-6 then you should not need a central support,

speak to your supplier and ask them what is the max width they will provide single span and allowing for tractor loadings
    The widest I ever saw was 16' 6" ..... I think 14' 6" is the largest standard slat

yea 16 6 is widest i have seen too

if yer only going 12-6 then you should not need a central support,

speak to your supplier and ask them what is the max width they will provide single span and allowing for tractor loadings

yea 16 6 is widest i have seen too

16'6 will give me 244m3 of storage. And if I was indoor tank I need 211. May work out what free board I need.
    The plan I have in my head is to put up a silo then and this tank will hold a months storage from 120 cows for a month. And pump every month. Which if I'm lucky will only have to be done twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Well if you are driving along the slats, your tractor wheels are close to the slat ends. But if you are crossing the end of a tank with the weight of the tractor ( or tanker, if you are a chancer!) Then I would not be comfortable with a 16 foot slat.