Weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

Yes is always a little better inland - unplayable on coast - was due to play too. Was back into my own routine after xmas. Xmas has messed up everything including golf - i guess that is what Christmas is for. :confused:

For me I'm now too old for double figure m/s wind speed - it is sort of a a rule of thumb for me now. Pity, because - this week looked like good weather in every other way.

Then - I often think - do we look at the weather too much - particularly in the long term. Long term weather predictions with high wind speeds does not seem to work. So dan that is why you are seeing the model change so much.

I've often said - well I'll hit the range. But, do you learn much in winds like that ?

So maybe I'll wake up and it will be perfect - but , I often hope that Paddy will win a major every time he is in one.
    I wouldn't fancy playing on the coast with a gentle breeze with my driving :pac:

Wedensday still looks calm if you can get out then.

Its not too bad at the minute,hoping it stays that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

havent played in about a month over the weather.

looking like January will be a write off too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Well done Dan if you went out.

It look ok early on - but a bit cazy in Dublin now.

Fair play - looking out now - grand job.
    So - maybe, we should grow balls like yourself and ignore these bloody red , yellow warnings.

Well done Dan if you went out.

It look ok early on - but a bit cazy in Dublin now.

Fair play - looking out now - grand job.
    So - maybe, we should grow balls like yourself and ignore these bloody red , yellow warnings.

It was ... windy haha

It was ok for about 3 holes then it went to hell.

It was still good fun try to work with the wind and forced me to tee with a 3 iron most of the day which I really liked and trying to knock down the ball.
    The bad was most good hits were punished with the roll out leaving you under the headge or trees. Was good crack all the same and now I know how bad I can really play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭the greatest game

got out saturday and Sunday morning last weekend, stayed dry and dodged a bullet re frost, it thawed during the night.
    Our course is remarkably dry considering the amount of rain it has taken, this time last year it was bog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

A piece on the extent of the damage to most coastal courses during the storms and high tides.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/golf/doonbeg-and-rosses-point-golf-clubs-feel-the-brunt-of-recent-atlantic-storms-1.1647519

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭TrapperChamonix

A piece on the extent of the damage to most coastal courses during the storms and high tides.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/golf/doonbeg-and-rosses-point-golf-clubs-feel-the-brunt-of-recent-atlantic-storms-1.1647519

It seems amazing how Lahinch escaped so lightly. It's likely to be more and more of an issue for our marque links courses in the coming decades.

As an aside, do these storms show why links courses have never been built on the East Coast of the US? The regularity of the Hurricanes over the years means none would survive long?

Scotland (Trump) not unscathed, although it seems to be more to do with rainfall than sea surges.
    http://www.scotsman.com/news/scotland/top-stories/donald-trump-s-golf-course-ruptured-by-weather-1-2740884

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

Slight aside but was in Tralee last year and saw the cool way they protect the greens from having sea spray landing on them in winter. A wall of straw bales. Kinda weird playing into those greens though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I can't lie, that "course closed" text was beautiful.
    Back to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

PARlance wrote: »
    I can't lie, that "course closed" text was beautiful.
    Back to bed.

You would of played in that.
    Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Pretty wet and windy around Moate this morning so our fourball decided not to play. Then the rain stopped and one of my partners changed his mind and said he was going. Too late for me as I'd already committed to Mrs D that I'd do the shopping instead as she's at work. DOH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I called the morning comp off but according to Accuweather hourly it'll stay dry after lunch and the wind will calm down a bit too. Might get 9 holes in later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Was at the club at 08:30 in the lashing rain for a 09:07 tee time to find only 4 cars in the car park. Play suspended until the next course inspection at 09:30 when it was then decided to close it for the day due to surface water. Pain in the ass as it's been mostly dry since, stopped in the driving range on the way home to get a fix in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Was at the club at 08:30 in the lashing rain for a 09:07 tee time to find only 4 cars in the car park. Play suspended until the next course inspection at 09:30 when it was then decided to close it for the day due to surface water. Pain in the ass as it's been mostly dry since, stopped in the driving range on the way home to get a fix in.

Was very wet out there. I went out for a few holes on Friday and even on the fariways there was a lot of standing water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Wind rain and hail this morning meant I wasn't getting out of bed. 2 closest courses to me still closed and have been for the last 3/4 weeks :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

etxp wrote: »
    Wind rain and hail this morning meant I wasn't getting out of bed. 2 closest courses to me still closed and have been for the last 3/4 weeks :(

Honestly? Courses closed for 4 weeks? where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Honestly? Courses closed for 4 weeks? where?

I think it's going into the fourth week now. Mulranny and achill golf clubs both being closed since the bad storms!

Going to chance navan tomorrow. If its too bad I'll just hit a basket in the range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Danny dyers double

Had to settle for a visit to the range yesterday as my weekend golf . Sick of this rain as Its limited me to 15 holes since iv joined the club 3 weeks ago .

Full round booked for Sat so please God its not too bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭djivide_

Changed my tee of time to 11 today and was a great day bar one shower of hail which only
    effected 1/2 of a par5. bit mucky off the fairways but sure whos goes there :P greens were
    in great condition hardly leaving any pitch marks no matter what type of shots were coming in.

2 nine hole competitions were playing yesterday.
    Played the 1st competition and then came in. Tee to green I managed ok but the wind was so strong it was unplayable on some greens. On one green having marked my ball I had to re spot it 6 time before I could hit it. Thru the green I hit one wedge 165yds and a driver 180yds.
    On the plus side when ever a shower went through it only took 2 mins to be dried out by the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

2 nine hole competitions were playing yesterday.
    Played the 1st competition and then came in. Tee to green I managed ok but the wind was so strong it was unplayable on some greens. On one green having marked my ball I had to re spot it 6 time before I could hit it. Thru the green I hit one wedge 165yds and a driver 180yds.
    On the plus side when ever a shower went through it only took 2 mins to be dried out by the wind.

I'm presuming the wind moved it, in which case, you play from the new position

Re the weather, always have a plan b

Whyner wrote: »
    I'm presuming the wind moved it, in which case, you play from the new position

Re the weather, always have a plan b

Yes wind moved it. I should have said more accurately I had to place my ball 6 times before I removed my ball marker. Once the marker was removed, I hit it immediately and missed.

Yeah I think you still get stung. Doesn't matter if your marker is down or not.

Really? My understanding was that until I removed the marker the ball was not in play. e.g. I could pick the ball up again if I wanted etc.

Interested to hear any other opinion and a reference link to this rule / clarification.

Really? My understanding was that until I removed the marker the ball was not in play. e.g. I could pick the ball up again if I wanted etc.

Interested to hear any other opinion and a reference link to this rule / clarification.

Nope, ball marker is irrelevant, play it from the new position. Marker is mainly used to clear the line for other putts

Tough break eh.

In times like that play should be suspended but sure when does that ever happen

http://lindamillergolf.blogspot.ie/2009/02/ask-linda-102marked-ball-moved-by-wind.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Poker Face

Whyner is correct ... happened me in a Jimmy Bruen match. Ball moved after i had taken away my marker. Ref told me that even if my marker had been down, the ball is in play once you put it back on the ground.

Nope, ball marker is irrelevant, play it from the new position. Marker is mainly used to clear the line for other putts

Tough break eh.

In times like that play should be suspended but sure when does that ever happen

http://lindamillergolf.blogspot.ie/2009/02/ask-linda-102marked-ball-moved-by-wind.html

Oh, OK, I got that wrong. I've been in the habit of replacing my ball, working out the line of my putt and only lifting the marker when I'm ready to putt. From what you say, I've got that all wrong and as soon as I place the ball back on the green it is back in play with or without lifting the marker. You live and learn. Tx for clarification. Had played it where it rolled to, I would have been 20yds in front of the green.

On the plus side I missed the putt for a 6 (and a point) and therefore didn't affect my (miserable) score. Just glad I hadn't come on hear after having won and then having to ring the comp sec to admit my mistake. Now that would be a Tough Break.:D

Just glad I hadn't come on hear after having won and then having to ring the comp sec to admit my mistake. Now that would be a Tough Break.:D

True that.

I'm playing about 5 years and only discovered the ruling last year. Think it was boards also. A ball rolled 100 yards back down a steep green on a links course, 17th in The Point :eek: