If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Just turned on the avatars there, some of yours are funny. I know I'm easily amused.... :pac:
    Anyway, is it just me or at night do ye see little field mice running out on the road in front of ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Just turned on the avatars there, some of yours are funny. I know I'm easily amused.... :pac:
    Anyway, is it just me or at night do ye see little field mice running out on the road in front of ye?

Yep all the time! I try not to kill things so i jam on my brakes all the time haah

I was over on a saab forum and seen this build thread, I want a 900, just to do something similar to it, so i went looking and found this! :D I have a problem :pac:

Yep all the time! I try not to kill things so i jam on my brakes all the time haah

I was over on a saab forum and seen this build thread, I want a 900, just to do something similar to it, so i went looking and found this! :D I have a problem :pac:

I used to try and avoid them, but I never see them in time, now my attitude is ta fúck with them.
    There's no two ways about it, the astra will have to go man, won't be enough room in the drive :pac:

I used to try and avoid them, but I never see them in time, now my attitude is ta fúck with them.
    There's no two ways about it, the astra will have to go man, won't be enough room in the drive :pac:

We'l make room!! we have an entire back yard of nothing sure ;) ah no it's just a dream, I can afford it and all but to do something like that guy would leave me even more broke than i already am, maybe after i get tired of the 9-5 perhaps ;)

Could very well be a money pit! That spoiler looks epic ;)

True that! Yeah I love the back of them, but one car at a time :pac: keep your eyes on the today i done something thread

I'll be watchin it like a hawk. Wanna see these new alloys on pronto!! :p

They're being ordered friday, should get them sometime during the following week, then gotta save up for tyres :pac:

I've a whiteboard in my room with all the stuff i need to do to the car on it, there's a lot crossed off but a lot remains, we're on track however! Should be driving it the day of my birthday in march ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Quick question.

I passed through the M50 toll twice three weeks ago in my newer car and only today did I realise that it's my other car that's registered on the video system with eFlow, not the new one.

I went to add the new car to my existing eFlow account today and it says its already registered, presumably the previous owner did so.

Thing is, I don't have the new logbook yet and chances are Shannon didn't have it at all when I passed through the toll, so chances are an unpaid notice has been sent to the previous owner. What do yas reckon I should do?

Quick question.

I passed through the M50 toll twice three weeks ago in my newer car and only today did I realise that it's my other car that's registered on the video system with eFlow, not the new one.

I went to add the new car to my existing eFlow account today and it says its already registered, presumably the previous owner did so.

Thing is, I don't have the new logbook yet and chances are Shannon didn't have it at all when I passed through the toll, so chances are an unpaid notice has been sent to the previous owner. What do yas reckon I should do?

I would ring the m50 guys and explain it to them and see what happens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I think that a merc would be the perfect car for me, the circle hood ornament would be a perfect "targeting" apparatus :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Quick question.

Don't need the log book or even for it to be in your name.

I borrowed a friends car for a while and added it to my video account no problem

• Company Representative Posts: 62 Verified rep eFlow: Reps

Quick question.

Hi Voodoomelon,

I can have a look at your information and see if I can resolve the issue for you. I can check to see if Shannon has updated the vehicle into your name and if so I should be able to add the vehicle to your account.

I would need you to PM me your account information for me to access your details securely.

Kind Regards,
    Maureen
    eFlow Customer Service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Thanks Maureen, PM sent. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Hi Voodoomelon,

I can have a look at your information and see if I can resolve the issue for you. I can check to see if Shannon has updated the vehicle into your name and if so I should be able to add the vehicle to your account.

I would need you to PM me your account information for me to access your details securely.

Kind Regards,
    Maureen
    eFlow Customer Service

That's service.

tossy wrote: »
    That's service.
    So, they take your money for driving on a public road but do it quickly and we are happy :p

You don't have to drive on it if you don't want to :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

Headlights were gone on the LH side of my (new to me) Citroen C5 there the other day. Spent a couple of hours removing the front bumper to access the bulb (and while I had the bumper off I changed the under engine cover which had become damaged) only to put the whole thing back together to have my girlfriend point out that the light was dimmer.

I'd forgotten to change the side-light too. Doh!

You don't have to drive on it if you don't want to :D

Well I do, as it is on my way to work.
    And (this is a particular bugbear of mine so apologies if this develops into a rant) the bridge has been long since paid for - so I dont understand why it is still tolled.
    The main circular motorway around dublin should be encouraged not dissuaded. Especially for people who already pay hundreds (or thousands for idiots like me with a few cars) in motor tax. I pay about €80 per month on the feckin toll, if they didnt have that anymore its almost €900

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Pictures please :p

I actually remembered :)

There are small bits of car in the grass..... I'm guessing undertray, bumper, foglight etc

Must have completely misjudged the corner to mill the ditch like this!
    Image1105.jpg
    Image1106.jpg

Saw this nearby and remembered some lights flashing one night, another gombeen spinning, hit the wall and the car went on fire... I haven't a clue what they were trying to achieve, to fling the car sideways down that small road or just completely and totally got it wrong :confused:
    Image1107.jpg
    Image1108.jpg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Greetings from chilly Canada where it is minus 39 with windchill this morning :eek:

All the taxis here are Prius (es/Prii?)

Now we know where mad_lad needs to go to :pac:
    Well, maybe not as they aren't LPG priuseseseses

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Now we know where mad_lad needs to go to :pac:
    Well, maybe not as they aren't LPG priuseseseses

Strangely it evoked the same thoughts for me

Well I do, as it is on my way to work.
    And (this is a particular bugbear of mine so apologies if this develops into a rant) the bridge has been long since paid for - so I dont understand why it is still tolled.
    The main circular motorway around dublin should be encouraged not dissuaded. Especially for people who already pay hundreds (or thousands for idiots like me with a few cars) in motor tax. I pay about €80 per month on the feckin toll, if they didnt have that anymore its almost €900

Does your driveway open out onto the M50? I doubt it, so you don't have to drive that way but you do. So suck it up :D

enda1 wrote: »
    Headlights were gone on the LH side of my (new to me) Citroen C5 there the other day. Spent a couple of hours removing the front bumper to access the bulb (and while I had the bumper off I changed the under engine cover which had become damaged) only to put the whole thing back together to have my girlfriend point out that the light was dimmer.

I'd forgotten to change the side-light too. Doh!

If it's the left hand side you can take out the battery for access? Or are you looking from the left from the front (where the hydraulic pump is in the way).

Either way, me with my shovel hands can still manage to change the bulbs without removing the bumpers. Though I've lost a bit of skin in the process haha.

The side lights are a waste of time to change. They go too often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

Mycroft H wrote: »
    If it's the left hand side you can take out the battery for access? Or are you looking from the left from the front (where the hydraulic pump is in the way).

Either way, me with my shovel hands can still manage to change the bulbs without removing the bumpers. Though I've lost a bit of skin in the process haha.

The side lights are a waste of time to change. They go too often.

Yeah left hand as in vehicle left, by the battery. I spent ages trying to reach in and pull the light retaining clip off but just couldn't. Decided to just bite the bullet and go the bumper route as then I could do the under cover too. Battery seemed an option but that retaining nut wouldn't budge with the tools I had.

Side-lights seem to go often as I see online alright. I'll change them this once then wait till the MOT comes around (i'm in the UK) if they go again to change them.

Thanks for the advice though!

Does your driveway open out onto the M50? I doubt it, so you don't have to drive that way but you do. So suck it up :D

My point is that the road is already paid for, and then some.

To avoid the m50 doubles my fuel cost each way. (Depending on which car I'm in)

enda1 wrote: »
    Yeah left hand as in vehicle left, by the battery. I spent ages trying to reach in and pull the light retaining clip off but just couldn't. Decided to just bite the bullet and go the bumper route as then I could do the under cover too. Battery seemed an option but that retaining nut wouldn't budge with the tools I had.

Side-lights seem to go often as I see online alright. I'll change them this once then wait till the MOT comes around (i'm in the UK) if they go again to change them.

Thanks for the advice though!

Ahhh it's handy if you can get the battery out. Makes life much easier.

Now go try the drivers side without dropping the bumper. You'll need one of these.

Carl-Homer-Simpson-Swear-Jar.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

The aul 535 has developed it's weird earthing issue again.... Before it was the rear left brake light, today the washer jet stuck on for absolutely no reason :confused:

I may get to the bottom of it asap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Anyone ever rent a car in Crete?
    I'll be heading there (or Zante) in early August and I'd like to rent a car for a few days to explore a little bit.
    Not sure if I can though as I'm only 23 but I do have my full licence?