If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Skoda, diesel, CHEEEPPP TAAAAAXXX, Enseetee. What more d'ya want.:p

Seriously go for it! you want rid of that bm and here's your chance to make a few quid off it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Seen a passat tonight in town parked across one lane of traffic blocking it. Basically it's a normal road with a lane of traffic each way and parking spaces directly of it ie the cars park at 90 degree to the road. But some lad in a passat estate went to go park in one of the spaces but the space was going to be to narrow for him to open the doors. So he pulled it into the space slightly the two wings were just about in the space and left the rest of the car blocking the whole lane of traffic ie cars had to overtake him by going onto the other side of the road. Maddest thing I ever seen no lights on on the car and no one in it but was gone half an hour later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

what Never minding the 530D that i drive on a regular basis ?

i wouldn't consider that bucket i had to be a bmw at all.. more of a corolla if you ask me !

i like the recent superb ... has a cool shape about it !

Which 530d is that? e60 or?

Anyway, there is a hell of a gulf between a 530d and a 535d. Ask lord alfamort, he took a spin in an e60 530d and then mine.

Seriously go for it! you want rid of that bm and here's your chance to make a few quid off it!

I am.
    I would have just laughed it off and ignored the offer, but common sense was restored after posting it on here.

So, to all those that say the chat thread has no function.......:pac:

I am.
    I would have just laughed it off and ignored the offer, but common sense was restored after posting it on here.

So, to all those that say the chat thread has no function.......:pac:

THE SYSTEM WORKS!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Which 530d is that? e60 or?

Anyway, there is a hell of a gulf between a 530d and a 535d. Ask lord alfamort, he took a spin in an e60 530d and then mine.

whatever the hell 2006 is... i dunno this fecking e60 eu stamp mark crapology !

and it really doesn't bother me the difference between a 530 or 535. we're in a country with speed limits and a police force. cant use all of the power in a car

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-superb-1-9-tdi-ambition/6260477

I'd rather this anyday.... in auto DSG !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Dartz

I'm having a brilliant day, how about you?

Someone drove a car through my front garden wall, knocking the whole thing over. I handed car parts to the Gardai, while one of the neighbours handed in a well torn up registration to myself after the Garda left...

And I scratched the ****e out of the side of my own car moving it back into the drive. Paid too much attention avoiding the damaged gate... forgot about the other one. Mother****er gouged the side of it out. It's not even technically my car..... and now I have to listen to that bull**** aswell because apparently clipping a gatepost makes me the worst driver than the **** who smashed the wall...

Why? Just why?

whatever the hell 2006 is... i dunno this fecking e60 eu stamp mark apology !

and it really doesn't bother me the difference between a 530 or 535. we're in a country with speed limits and a police force. cant use all of the power in a car

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-superb-1-9-tdi-ambition/6260477

I'd rather this anyday.... in auto DSG !

There is no arguing with the self explanatory.
    Enjoy your blandbox.

Ack.

You can use all the power in your car. Try overtaking a slogging full-length truck in a 1.5 turbodiesel, and in something with a bit of poke. You'll see the difference.

Also. Now that I've calmed down a little.... how do I fix a scratch as long as my arm without respraying the entire bloody panel? It's a door too.... on a black car.

Dartz wrote: »
    Ack.

You can use all the power in your car. Try overtaking a slogging full-length truck in a 1.5 turbodiesel, and in something with a bit of poke. You'll see the difference.

Also. Now that I've calmed down a little.... how do I fix a scratch as long as my arm without respraying the entire bloody panel? It's a door too.... on a black car.

Pic of said scratch?

Da it out or polish it, depends on how deep the scratch is really

I'll have that in the Afternoon when I get back from Lurgan

It's pretty vicious though. Can see the primer at least along half the passenger door. It's a black car so it's pretty bloody obvious.

Dartz wrote: »
    I'll have that in the Afternoon when I get back from Lurgan

It's pretty vicious though. Can see the primer at least along half the passenger door. It's a black car so it's pretty bloody obvious.

:o oh dear that's not good at all, you might get some form of filler primer and spray the area, im not too sure myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

This single cell cat has to go. No fun driving at 1800rpm into work hearing WAAHHHHHH at 8 in the morning.

The spending she never ends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

It could be worse. At least it's just the car that's making the wahh sound :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

I prefer the stock brubble the st makes. What if you added another muffler to tone it down, would it make much of a difference?

OSI wrote: »
    Hahaha. Noise always seems like a good plan. Until that one commute of a dreary winters morning and your head is being rattled by simply pulling away from the lights.

Don't really mind the noise its just the drone is killing the 5 pot warble off until just below 4000rpm which sucks.

Hal1 wrote: »
    I prefer the stock brubble the st makes. What if you added another muffler to tone it down, would it make much of a difference?

Its the cat setup mainly rather than the fact the cat back is deresonated.

If you are at the next meet I can let you experience the pandemonium first hand

:o oh dear that's not good at all, you might get some form of filler primer and spray the area, im not too sure myself

Yep. She's ****ed. Right down to the steel. beyond the steel- there's a gouge in the metal. I even buckled the panel in slightly in the process.

Do Halfords do a kit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

141 reg 520d outside the office there now. Reg is 141 -- 320!

Also I park beside a black 141 passat and copped the other day its sporting a deep scratch on the rear passenger door at least 6 inches long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Whoever changed the spark plugs on my car last needs a kick in the balls.
    Two spark plug tools and 3 hours later and ive 3 of the 4 plugs changed, ****ing muppets overtighten everything :mad::mad:
    giotta take it to a mechanic in the morning to loosen the 4th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

What a bollocks!
    This is why I refuse to get going on my yoke before I have a torque wrench.

I have a torque wrench, but its useless for this job.
    Hopefully the mechanic can use an impact gun. 25e on spark plug tools gone! Wouldve been cheaper to pay the mechanic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

2004 Lexus IS200. I love it. Do I recall however these are a beast on fuel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I am sick of people over tightening stuff when there is no need!
    I witnessed my da jumping on a breaker bar before putting his wheels on!
    If anything it was more prone to failure being that tight.

Ardennes an air gun won't do it any good, more harm if anything. Beating I mind I have seen a head being lifted over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

CianRyan wrote: »
    What a bollocks!

You dont need a torque wrench for spark plugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

CianRyan wrote: »
    What a bollocks!

No need for torque wrench with plug install, you just need to tighten them a little. I would think after you use torque wrench for one set of plugs you never use it again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

ba_barabus wrote: »
    2004 Lexus IS200. I love it. Do I recall however these are a beast on fuel?

If the official figure is this, then the short answer is yes.

Ok i had a brain wave and the 4th ****er is now changed, helloooo smooth idle :D
    the old cabin filter was literally full in every single slat with dust-hair, never seen one so bad. and the electrodes were so coked up you couldnt even see them anymore!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Ok i had a brain wave ==

heat engine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Changing the front shocks in the father's 2010 Octavia tomorrow. Should be fun :)

I'll be getting the old "are you sure you can do this now" :rolleyes: