Limerick City of Culture

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Mad how a thread about the incompetence of the organisers of a bash in Limerick manages to turn into yet another AH argument on the relevance of the Irish language.

In less than 2 pages.

I blame the bankers, the Roma and the Shinners myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭An Coilean

Lapin wrote: »
    Mad how a thread about the incompetence of the organisers of a bask in Limerick manages to turn into yet another AH argument on the relevance of the Irish language.

In less than 2 pages.

I blame the bankers, the Roma and the Shinners myself.

There is not all that much to discuss with regard the incompetence of the organisers.

They're incompetent. /Thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

"When I hear the word culture I reach for my revolver" or the weapon of choice in Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Ralligher

Not like the people in limerick to protest....worked there about 6/7 years ago all the local tradesmen wanted to do was go on strike, moan , and try to stir up trouble amongst the non local workers, no wonder limerick city half deserted. Lonely planet described it as been a city best viewed in your rear view mirror. City of culture my a##

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Ralligher

Not like the people in limerick to protest....worked there about 6/7 years ago all the local tradesmen wanted to do was go on strike, moan , and try to stir up trouble amongst the non local workers, no wonder limerick city half deserted. Lonely planet described it as been a city best viewed in your rear view mirror. City of culture my a##

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    "When I hear the word culture I reach for my revolver" or the weapon of choice in Limerick

Hyde Rd bot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Muise... wrote: »
    I think it has as much relevance as Hungarian has to carpentry.

That's got to be one of the most asinine comments I've read on AH.

I don't speak Irish and don't particularly have any time for the language, but to say it has no place in Irish culture is just... fcukin' stupid really.

Just because you don't follow or have an active interest in a particular custom or tradition doesn't mean that it hasn't got a place in 'Irish culture', either currently or historically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

It's gonna hurt for a while longer with Cat Pox heading this thing

There are few gravy trains that this worm misses out on - what's his angle on this one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Well if a feckin hole like Derry/Londonderry can be UK City of Culture http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056791757 , there's no reason why Limerick shouldn't have a crack at being a City of Culture too - whatever one actually is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Isn't it just unreal the way Pat Cox installed his secretary as CEO of the culture festival without the need for the job to be advertised to the public. Then she goes and admits that she has zero experience whatsoever of working within the arts or with artists yet she is head of an organisation that is supposed to run over 120 artistic events throughout the year. Then she goes and tells two teenage rappers to change the lyrics in their song because she didnt like them. You really could not make this stuff up.
    I feel sorry for the good people of Limerick and also for all the artists who just want to put on a good show and show off their city to the rest of us. But instead they found a gombeen politician in Pat Cox lumber them with a CEO who has already admitted that she is way out of her depth when it comes to running large scale artistic events. They've been let down badly yet again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

They could do the old skit of a poster for the limerick city of culture with one lad holding up another lad with a knife with the logo (in Gothic script) "Is this a dagger I see before me?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

That's got to be one of the most asinine comments I've read on AH.

I don't speak Irish and don't particularly have any time for the language, but to say it has no place in Irish culture is just... fcukin' stupid really.

Just because you don't follow or have an active interest in a particular custom or tradition doesn't mean that it hasn't got a place in 'Irish culture', either currently or historically.

tóg go bog é a mhac!

I was reponding to this (my italics):

"You don't think the Irish language has any relevance to Irish culture outside of the Gaeltacht?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Pat Cox. Jumped from one bandwagon party to another for whatever personal gain he could. End Kenny tried to foist him on us as President. One of the emptiest, most self serving politicians we,ve ever had, and he's put in charge of that. I wouldn't be surprised if Patricia Ryan is just the tip of the iceberg and a lot of other posts are filled by cronies, friends etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I've said it many times, but Limerick has so much potential going to waste. It's home to a lot of good artists who really care about what they do, and the place is a fucking dump. Infested with scumbags right in the middle of the centre, filthy, most of the buildings are either devoid of life or literally hollow, just a shell. The garda are exasperated, the politicians don't give a shit. The first things you see when you roll into the station is a sprawl of fire charred, boarded up flats. Around the corner is the first of many Hell hole estates. Anywhere remotely nice soon becomes the new place to store the ever expanding group of assholes who make the county such a pain to live in.

There's so much can be done in Limerick, it's a crying shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Very smart move booting those scobie rappers off the running order.

Credit where it's due there.

...what's this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Nodin wrote: »
    ...what's this?

Oops!

My mistake, they were ordered to change the lyrics to one of their songs.

http://www.independent.ie/incoming/city-of-culture-boss-tries-to-alter-lyrics-of-rap-song-29885557.html

Oops!

My mistake, they were ordered to change the lyrics to one of their songs.

http://www.independent.ie/incoming/city-of-culture-boss-tries-to-alter-lyrics-of-rap-song-29885557.html

Changing this was "proper order"?

"The line Ms Ryan objected to was in a verse that says: “The city’s looking rough when you’re walking on the bridge; It’s the city where we’re tough, there’s no place you’d rather live..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Changing this was "proper order"?

"The line Ms Ryan objected to was in a verse that says: “The city’s looking rough when you’re walking on the bridge; It’s the city where we’re tough, there’s no place you’d rather live..."

The factual inaccuracy of my statement kinda makes whether its 'proper order' or not pretty much redundant.

Post has been deleted.

Think I need an early night.:(

For the record, I find Irish rappers pretty much cringeworthy right across the board.

The factual inaccuracy of my statement kinda makes whether its 'proper order' or not pretty much redundant.

Post has been deleted.

Think I need an early night.:(

For the record, I find Irish rappers pretty much cringeworthy right across the board.

Fair play.

And yes, it grates on the ear. Not that I'm a fan of rap anyway. Not that I don't listen to stuff that others might say not so much grates as stabs at the ear.

Yer woman is gone.....

"Embattled Limerick City of Culture chief executive Patricia Ryan has resigned saying that “speculation and commentary” about her €120,000 a year post in recent days had damaged her ability to do the job. "
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ryan-resigns-as-head-of-city-of-culture-1.1644899

I'd like to see Cox go to, if only for the smugness to vanish for a few seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Yesterday she was adamant she wasn't going to resign, today she resigned, my guess is she was fired. No loss really by the sound of it. She'll probably appear in another well paid job, secured throughcronyism ability

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

This whole title of culture is a joke. I don't see much culture around LK. Give the money to the local hospitals and close this absolute shambles down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SmurfX

Rightwing wrote: »
    This whole title of culture is a joke. I don't see much culture around LK. Give the money to the local hospitals and close this absolute shambles down.

Well the idea is to generate money from tourism not for it to be an exercise in spending...

SmurfX wrote: »
    Well the idea is to generate money from tourism not for it to be an exercise in spending...

That's the idea, but I suspect the only money generated will be going in the likes of Cox's pockets.

Cox's position is unpaid, afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

It's not even a proper city ffs, full of gangsters and travellers driving around in Mercedes and BMWs and still collecting their dole every week.

A toilet

Cox's position is unpaid, afaik.

Good, that's something at least. For the life of me I can't understand how the other position could be €120K job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭rednik

Will she get a pension ??? Everyone else does.

Good, that's something at least. For the life of me I can't understand how the other position could be €120K job.

.....if you do work it out though, you might tell me what justified her getting €700 a day as a "consultant" doing the same thing beforehand, despite no experience in the area at all, whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

.....if you do work it out though, you might tell me what justified her getting €700 a day as a "consultant" doing the same thing beforehand, despite no experience in the area at all, whatsoever.

Did she pat cocks?