PDC World Championship 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

Didn't like like the look of MvG tonight even when he was running away with it, something off about his attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,890 ✭✭✭✭briany

Looks like MvG has walked himself into a match, but let's not forget, if MvG can get the rod out of the fire for even a couple of minutes, he'll be in the semi final. I'm enjoying Webster's comeback though. His smile is infectious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,647 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Didn't like like the look of MvG tonight even when he was running away with it, something off about his attitude.

he comes across as far too cocky.
    Hope Lewis does him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Normal service has resumed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,769 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

MVG must be shyte at poker!

he comes across as far too cocky.
    Hope Lewis does him.

He was cocky last year but in a good way, giving it the fist pumps etc, no problem with that. At the moment every time he throws a bad dart he's acting like a sulky teenager. Needs to cop on or Lewis will kill him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Fair play to Webby. Made a game of it where a lot would have thrown in the towel.

Well, at least he recognises that he was over confident, in his interview.

I'm actually disappointed but fair play to Webster who had a great game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 chippy81

Hopefully Lewis will beat Wade and bury van gerwen. This is why he'll never come close to what Taylor has done no matter what talent he has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,796 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

chippy81 wrote: »
    Hopefully Lewis will beat Wade and bury van gerwen. This is why he'll never come close to what Taylor has done no matter what talent he has

MVG is a nice human being, Taylor is a horrid one.

So do we reckon Lewis to win next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

Would have loved for Webster to have beaten MvG just to see that grin wipped off his face. He's way too cocky.

Hope that performance helps improves Webster's confidence and he gets back to winning.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    So do we reckon Lewis to win next?

Yea, and to win the tourney too unless MvG gets adjusts his attitude in the semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

He was cocky last year but in a good way, giving it the fist pumps etc, no problem with that. At the moment every time he throws a bad dart he's acting like a sulky teenager. Needs to cop on or Lewis will kill him.
    his constant stopping on the oche between bad darts is what annoys me, he does it all the time in a manner to probably affect the other player rather than showning respect.
    Lewis was out of sorts last year and still had darts to beat MVG, Lewis now looks on form and if he comes through Wade which I expect then I'd put Lewis a heavy favourite against MvG

Bit premature to say that. He's got another 6 years to win his first world championship at an earlier age than Taylor. The lad is a phenomenal player and there's no saying he can't sort out his flaws and dominate for years to come.

Van Gerwen is still only 24.

Not sure Taylor was even playing darts at that age! He wasn't even in the worlds until into his 30s afaik.

It would be almost impossible to catch Taylor because Taylor is so sensational. But he has time on his side, and he can improve.

Inquitus wrote: »
    MVG is a nice human being, Taylor is a horrid one.

That may or may not be so but Taylor wouldn't have taken his foot off the gas like that, you can't put nice guy on your record only titles won

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,484 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

God almighty I wish Sky would sack Dave Clarke's ass, the chap is hopeless. Spouts some amount of crap too, "that match has resurrected his career" re: Webster. He also looks like a puppet from Captain Scarlet. :pac:

Crofty is far better, pretty good in the commentary box too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

Mad how perceptions change over time. I remember defending Lewis here as everyone slated him with the same criticisms they're levelling at MVG now, now Lewis is somehow a champion of composure and consistency? As a huge fan of his lads, he's not. He's really, really not. Lewis is a momentum player and if van Gerwen hits him with some of his unstoppable play then Lewis' head is just as likely to slump as MVG's is when he builds up a big lead.

I've been saying it all tournament but I don't think we can read too much into van Gerwen's sloppy play tonight. The problems that's caused it over the past couple of weeks (losing interest when he's outclassing players) won't be an issue tomorrow, if Lewis wins of course. The two of them will push each other and hopefully it'll lead to another classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

That may or may not be so but Taylor wouldn't have taken his foot off the gas like that, you can't put nice guy on your record only titles won

Taylor did take his foot off the gas, and he lost to Michael Smith after narrowly avoiding defeat in the 1st round. /discussion

Andrew76 wrote: »
    God almighty I wish Sky would sack Dave Clarke's ass, the chap is hopeless. Spouts some amount of crap too, "that match has resurrected his career" re: Webster. He also looks like a puppet from Captain Scarlet. :pac:

Crofty is far better, pretty good in the commentary box too.

Bit harsh, given his difficulties. I kinda like him, he seems like a nice guy, maybe too deferential to Taylor but they all are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,647 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Somebody must have put a silencer on the crowd. Very quiet now.

leggo wrote: »
    Taylor did take his foot off the gas, and he lost to Michael Smith after narrowly avoiding defeat in the 1st round. /discussion

Missed that match unfortunately. Although I would have labelled Lewis the same until he won 2 titles so maybe mvg will learn. He seems to need to be behind to focus.

Can't see Wade coming back in this.

If he wins this set he's right back into it with his confidence growing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭galait

Somebody must have put a silencer on the crowd. Very quiet now.

Good Banter between Tables and Tiered Seating , The guys in the Tables chanting "We Pay your benefits" to the lads in tiered seating after "Boring Boring Tables " Chant !!!

Damnit Sky, sort out the on-screen score display!

Hopefully that leg sparks this off. Disappointing so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

galait wrote: »
    Good Banter between Tables and Tiered Seating , The guys in the Tables chanting "We Pay your benefits" to the lads in tiered seating after "Boring Boring Tables " Chant !!!

Or a load of **** depending on your point of view.