If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Spurs.

285200.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

80d3acf9-4e3a-46a0-9a39-594f3cceda0c.jpg

:(

Just for the record I didn't do the spelling on this one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Missing a planned session on your birthday due to a sick (and seriously cranky toddler)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

No running in a week, firstly due to 'social engagements' and now due to sickness. Getting panicky now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

People who say"fact" at d end of a sentance.fact....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

The radio stations being piped into the office in work.

96fm or Red fm or any other sort of 'cool' radio station. Sweet suffering Jaysis I can't cope with it any longer.

Miley Cyrus at least 6 times a day, normally part of a '6 in the mix'. :mad:
    If it's not Miley - it's One direction/Katy Perry/Pitbull/A.N. Other generic wanker.

Even the sounds of the presenters' voices grates on me - the muppets. Ye're 'mad' lads - we get it.

I can't wait to finish for Christmas so I can be rid of this sh*te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

this is a rant at myself....ordered myself the new football manager @ 6pm yesterday.....played it right through to 3am ignoring my dinner, my wife and my scheduled 8 mile run.....today in work I am hungry, fat, tired and (almost) single :(:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

statss wrote: »
    this is a rant at myself....ordered myself the new football manager @ 6pm yesterday.....played it right through to 3am ignoring my dinner, my wife and my scheduled 8 mile run.....today in work I am hungry, fat, tired and (almost) single :(:D

Ahh, I remember those good old days about 10 years ago...one more match and before you know it a season has passed and you've 6 or 7 hours wasted!
    Cold turkey is the only route to survival!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

belcarra wrote: »
    Ahh, I remember those good old days about 10 years ago...one more match and before you know it a season has passed and you've 6 or 7 hours wasted!
    Cold turkey is the only route to survival!!

But it's nearly playoff time, he swears he will go to bed once they get promotion :D. Remember winning the Champions League with Shelbourne in the 99/00 game..... the only problem was I won it in the 2038 season :o

ecoli wrote: »
    But it's nearly playoff time, he swears he will go to bed once they get promotion :D. Remember winning the Champions League with Shelbourne in the 99/00 game..... the only problem was I won it in the 2038 season :o

Best signing ever: Oleg Petkov from Levski Sofia - that man made Leo Messi's goalscoring record look like Marouane Chamakh's!

Rant: Marouane Chamakh's goalscoring record at Arsenal!

People giving out about the price for the Electric Run!
    This is not so much a run as an 'event' so comparing it to a parkrun or even a €20 5k race is like comparing apples and oranges.
    Please just ignore it people! Let those who choose to pi$$ their money away do so, not everything has to conform to our needs as runners!

For the record this event looks like everything I would hate about any running event I would ever do and so I'll be staying well away from it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

Apologies for momentarily ruining the tone of the thread by posting a happy thought, by accident.

As you were....

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

belcarra wrote: »
    For the record this event looks like everything I would hate about any running event I would ever do and so I'll be staying well away from it...

You mean you don't like flashing lights, silly music and people acting like its a rave? Whats not to like :pac:

To be honest I couldn't care less about the price, its not a race I'd ever consider entering (not going to Dublin for a 5km!), I'd agree if people want to throw money at it then more power to them. Its clearly aimed at a different demographic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

statss wrote: »

My epic champions league campaign with wolves almost cost me my job in the early 00's.

I retired georgie best style after that and have never touched the game since. It's the height of evil that's beaten only by heroin.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Getting less than one hours sleep after doing a session - I have no idea why. I've a "social engagement" (as someone around these parts nicely put it) later and was hoping to get a sneaky run in before the OH realises it's time to party. Now I'm hoping to get a sneaky sleep in before the OH realises:(

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Gavlor wrote: »
    My epic champions league campaign with wolves almost cost me my job in the early 00's.

I retired georgie best style after that and have never touched the game since. It's the height of evil that's beaten only by heroin.....

Pfft I'd imagine no football game has cost people jobs as much as World Of Warcraft,

I shared a flat with a chap who lost his job within 1 month of starting to play the game, in the end we looked at his game stats and he was playing it for around 13hours a day on average.

I know of atleast 3 other people in a previous company I worked for that were fired for being late etc due to World Of Warcraft,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

ultrapercy wrote: »
    The Rant thread has become a mere shadow of its once mighty self. Like Sonia in her final years or Keane at Celtic, it makes one sad to witness its now impotent limpness. It has become a parody of itself. Please moderators, I implore thee, give it a clean death.

QFT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

menoscemo wrote: »
    QFT

People who use bull**** acronyms that I don't understand forcing me to do an internet search to find out their meaning, like WTF ;)

TRR wrote: »
    People who use bull**** acronyms that I don't understand forcing me to do an internet search to find out their meaning, like WTF ;)

Well said TRR!

What does it mean?!

Cabaal wrote: »
    Pfft I'd imagine no football game has cost people jobs as much as World Of Warcraft,

I shared a flat with a chap who lost his job within 1 month of starting to play the game, in the end we looked at his game stats and he was playing it for around 13hours a day on average.

I know of atleast 3 other people in a previous company I worked for that were fired for being late etc due to World Of Warcraft,

Try take over waterford utd at championship manager... I dare you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

menoscemo wrote: »
    QFT

Quantum field theory :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

World Taekwondo Federation or

For all those people who find it more convenient to bother you with their question rather than google it for themselves:

http://bit.ly/ruDfxo

I have a rant to myself for commenting on other rants.

Stop ranting at rants in the rant thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

drquirky wrote: »
    Missing a planned session on your birthday due to a sick (and seriously cranky toddler)

You too? Demon child at the moment, you know it's bad when she goes and wants to take her medicine herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Fecking dog owners who can't control their dogs. I don't mind barking or chasing after me, but when I have to stop or trip over them, or they jump up on me :mad: You'd think after the 3rd or 4th time I passed them in a morning, on the 20th or 30th morning we've all been in the same park, they'd realise that shouting "Here!" doesn't work :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

D-bags aggressively driving around the Phoenix Park like its a freaking motorway. What is equally annoying is that these same people typically show up in the Park only a couple times a year but literally prance around like they own the place- they clearly don't understand that the Park belongs only to runners. Dumbasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭rom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

When your 3 year old shows up with Chicken Pox 3 days before Christmas......meaning it's house bound isolation for us for the entirety of the holidays :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

rom wrote: »

AP MCCoy is a worthy winner in my opinion. He achieved something which may never be done again. In a sport of savage sacrifice and relatively meager reward and recognition his dedication is inspiring. Its unfortunate for some other worthy candidates that they were up against McCoy in his stand out year but thats the way it goes.