If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Gale force wind whipping a piece of the wing mirror off Mrs RFR's car parked at the back of the house. Don't know how that is even possible..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

ultrapercy wrote: »
    The Rant thread has become a mere shadow of its once mighty self. Like Sonia in her final years or Keane at Celtic, it makes one sad to witness its now impotent limpness. It has become a parody of itself. Please moderators, I implore thee, give it a clean death.

I'll do my best to get us going again, here's the list of things that annoyed me this week:

The wind
    Paperwork
    Cold houses
    Fucking Christmas advertisements
    People who won't drive at the speed limit
    People who drive Peugeot's, there are usually ancient and have a fondness for 3rd gear
    Christmas shopping
    Car tax
    Estate Agents
    Unreasonable deadlines
    Visiting the OH's family
    Charities
    The priest in the college where I work sending me 4 emails a day about Christmas mass, I don't go to Mass any other time of the year, Xmas is no different
    Music in Dflat major
    Newstalk's new "moved the dial recently" advertisement
    ATM's that don't work
    People who do 12 pubs of Christmas

I'm sure there's more but that's enough for now (before I get sent for anger management therapy).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Guitar players who rant about D flat major who don't bother picking up the cappog that's sitting on the table in front of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Guitar players who rant about D flat major who don't bother picking up the cappog that's sitting on the table in front of them.

Ha, that wasn't aimed at you! Everything I played last night was in G! :pac: No I had to accompany exams during the week on piano and all the sheet music was in Dflat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

All christmas music (except Stop the Cavalry by Jonna Luey) most especially Driving Home For Christmas by Chris (Dia) Rea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

pconn062 wrote: »
    I'll do my best to get us going again, here's the list of things that annoyed me this week:

The wind
    Paperwork
    Cold houses
    People who drive Peugeot's, there are usually ancient and have a fondness for 3rd gear
    Christmas shopping
    Car tax
    Estate Agents
    Unreasonable deadlines
    Visiting the OH's family
    Charities
    The priest in the college where I work sending me 4 emails a day about Christmas mass, I don't go to Mass any other time of the year, Xmas is no different
    Music in Dflat major
    ATM's that don't work

I'm sure there's more but that's enough for now (before I get sent for anger management therapy).
    Have to agree with ya on this one. What a load of sh*tehawking. Seems to have come into fashion in the last few years. I enjoy a pint as much as anyone but this is way ott. Talk about confirming our status as a country with serious issues with the gargle! Town was full of gimps all week falling around the place, puking and pissing in doorways. Girls wearing shorts that were tattooed to their backsides (Jesus Christ I was having seizures thinking about when my wee one is at the going out age!) and them wobbling all over the place like new born foals with no-one looking out for them. Where were the big wigs of the vintner's association and the Diageo group who promote responsible drinking??There was massive discussions about Arthurs day but this 12 pubs is definitely messier. Would love to know were many of these groups of lemmings refused drink at any establishments for their own good
    or was the chance to make a few rare euro too much of a temptation for the landlords? Judging from what was seen around town it was the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

The drive home from Wexford after a few days r & r.

conavitzky wrote: »
    Have to agree with ya on this one. What a load of sh*tehawking. Seems to have come into fashion in the last few years. I enjoy a pint as much as anyone but this is way ott. Talk about confirming our status as a country with serious issues with the gargle! Town was full of gimps all week falling around the place, puking and pissing in doorways. Girls wearing shorts that were tattooed to their backsides (Jesus Christ I was having seizures thinking about when my wee one is at the going out age!) and them wobbling all over the place like new born foals with no-one looking out for them. Where were the big wigs of the vintner's association and the Diageo group who promote responsible drinking??There was massive discussions about Arthurs day but this 12 pubs is definitely messier. Would love to know were many of these groups of lemmings refused drink at any establishments for their own good
    or was the chance to make a few rare euro too much of a temptation for the landlords? Judging from what was seen around town it was the latter.
    The twelve pubs of Christmas and Arthurs Day are both like the Third Round of the FA Cup: a big day out for the part timers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Tosspots who still havent a clue,.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

The Swiss, I hate the fcuking bastards. Not because of Nazi gold although that would be a valid reason.

No back a few years ago when Ireland where trying to qualify for a major competition the Swiss were in our group and their footballers and fans use to piss me off. Awful shower of dickheads. This was confirmed in 2005 when I started a new job and ended up working beside the biggest $hitebag on the planet who was, you guessed it, Swiss. Then a friend of mine started going out with a Swiss guy who, wait for it, was a knob. Then a couple of years ago I was at a concert in the states. On the way out I was walking behind a group of Swiss lads (I know this as they were wearing t-shirts telling everybody). I was taking the mick out of them behind their back and in unison, the fcukers exhaled the cigarettes they were smoking and engulfed me in a cloud of cigarette smoke that nearly killed me. **** the lot of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

pconn062 wrote: »

The wind
    Paperwork
    Cold houses
    Christmas shopping
    Car tax
    Estate Agents
    Unreasonable deadlines
    Visiting the OH's family
    Charities
    Music in Dflat major
    ATM's that don't work

That's more like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

TRR wrote: »
    The Swiss, I hate the fcuking bastards. Not because of Nazi gold although that would be a valid reason.

No back a few years ago when Ireland where trying to qualify for a major competition the Swiss were in our group and their footballers and fans use to piss me off. Awful shower of dickheads. This was confirmed in 2005 when I started a new job and ended up working beside the biggest $hitebag on the planet who was, you guessed it, Swiss. Then a friend of mine started going out with a Swiss guy who, wait for it, was a knob. Then a couple of years ago I was at a concert in the states. On the way out I was walking behind a group of Swiss lads (I know this as they were wearing t-shirts telling everybody). I was taking the mick out of them behind their back and in unison, the fcukers exhaled the cigarettes they were smoking and engulfed me in a cloud of cigarette smoke that nearly killed me. **** the lot of them!
    bit of credit where due,,,they did invent swiss roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Rant: 6 of our 12 inter-club meets being at a track completely exposed to winds, and getting completely robbed of a PB on Saturday!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

How do you tell the difference between a sprinter and a distance runner?
    drquirky wrote: »
    Parkruns in gale force winds. Not giving a **** about time and just racing yourself, the other guys and the conditions. Reason #4,578 that I love running/ racing
    Chivito550 wrote: »
    Rant: 6 of our 12 inter-club meets being at a track completely exposed to winds, and getting completely robbed of a PB on Saturday!!

This is a quality rant. Irrational, illogical, a little bit racist but also true.Its the kind of thing that could save this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

ecoli wrote: »
    How do you tell the difference between a sprinter and a distance runner?

Ha, the amount of whinging I heard from distance runners at the weekend completely nullifies that point. "We had to run into that wind 4 times".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Ha, the amount of whinging I heard from distance runners at the weekend completely nullifies that point. "We had to run into that wind 4 times".

Ah them Aussie lads aren't made of the same schtuff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Old women drivers. Worst still are old women that text while driving and as a result the car that they are supposed to be in control of veers on to the footpath missing me by an inch.

Hurry up and move into the nursing home FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Spurs.

Spurs.

Avb is 2/7 to be sacked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Gavlor wrote: »
    Old women drivers. Worst still are old women that text while driving and as a result the car that they are supposed to be in control of veers on to the footpath missing me by an inch.

Hurry up and move into the nursing home FFS

I seen a woman putting make up on while navigating the M50 the other morning, I got such a shock I nearly dropped my phone and split my coffee!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

Twink.
    Lorraine Keane..
    Xpose and that 2-tv ****e or whatever it is rebranded as this year...
    The obvious sexualisation of female characters in childrens cartoons, there's something really wrong with that. No doubt those crafty marketing types are behind it - bastards, the lot of them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Digger somehow running more miles than me...embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

b.harte wrote: »
    The obvious sexualisation of female characters in childrens cartoons, there's something really wrong with that.

I was stunned to come across 'fan' art of My Little Pony in which odd balls either draw themselves in strange poses with My Little Pony characters, completely sexualise them, or imagine themselves as My Little Ponies. Then I remembered there's a My Little Pony board on this site, I dare not enter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

The obvious sexualisation of female characters in childrens cartoons, there's something really wrong with that
    Yea, one of my bro's in the states made a small stand against that, and would not allow anyone give toys from said char's to his kids as presents, nor allow TV/DVD/Games from said shows in the house...

Needless to say, said items were ALL his daughter wanted and he was not a popular man for a couple of years - but he is right IMHO

Selfies...go get a life

Thieves...pricks...hope karma comed back to bite ye in the ass.

blockic wrote: »
    Selfies...go get a life

Thieves...pricks...hope karma comed back to bite ye in the ass.

Two rants in the same week????

Miss running much?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,690 ✭✭✭✭walshb

O I was taking the mick out of them behind their back and in unison, the fcukers exhaled the cigarettes they were smoking and engulfed me in a cloud of cigarette smoke that nearly killed me. **** the lot of them!

You got off lightly, then!

Gavlor wrote: »
    Two rants in the same week????

Miss running much?!

I'm known for my constant ranting in real life...24/7...it somehow strangely has not made it on here... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Spurs.