Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

biddy2013 wrote: »
    Last year I got a bike for one of the kids. Smyrna knocked 20 euro off price ad it was a display model. Oh was delighted as he didn't have to put it together

Result :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I would if I was close enough, used to go around a few neighbours on Christmas Eve putting things together for them. Those were the days. Ye always left well fed and by the last house I was larger than Santa

Fair play , I will probably get the brother to go at it , or get the wife to ask him he wont say no to her !

I have one bill left to settle now and and eveyone is sorted before the new year thank god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

There was a dolls house a few years ago that near ended in divorce oh burnt the assembly instructions and the box before he put it together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

There was a dolls house a few years ago that near ended in divorce oh burnt the assembly instructions and the box before he put it together

I bet he was sorry he didnt burn the dolls house aswell while he was at it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

what is womens obsession with instructions;)

saying that last year i put the trailer wheels on the tractor, talk about a job to get them off again

got new camera installed in shed , Adne from boards set it up for me

its a great job, at work here now looking at the bull throwing shapes across the gate at a maiden heifer who seems to be getting in the christmas spirit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

hugo29 wrote: »

its a great job, at work here now looking at the bull throwing shapes across the gate at a maiden heifer who seems to be getting in the christmas spirit

Onve it doesn't show yourself throwing an eye on the vet :p, remember that story afew months ago!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Onve it doesn't show yourself throwing an eye on the vet :p, remember that story afew months ago!

we set up a blind corner;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

Cheers hugo,a gentleman to deal with, if anyone else needs some advice on cameras drop me a pm.

we set up a blind corner;)

Every good setup needs a blind spot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭tanko

adne wrote: »
    Every good setup needs a blind spot :)

Farmers need to be careful what they get up to in front of calving cameras. Heard a story about lads in a local pub tuning in the tv to watch a nearby farmer calving a cow.:eek:

tanko wrote: »
    Farmers need to be careful what they get up to in front of calving cameras. Heard a story about lads in a local pub tuning in the tv to watch a nearby farmer calving a cow.:eek:

Thats using the old setup of transmitting the signal over analogue. its not possible with the setup hugo has, his is transmitted via digital.

Rest easy hugo no one in the local will be viewing you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Anyone got any tips for minimizing aggro when adding new cows to a pen on slats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

No damage that I could see this morning on the farm. Am empty IBC tank got rolled about 60 meters uphill. It was strange to see at the top of the farm how what little grass there is there was all laid in one direction just as if it was perfectly combed. None of the neighbours trees came down and none of my walls blew down. All good here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

No damage that I could see this morning on the farm. Am empty IBC tank got rolled about 60 meters uphill. It was strange to see at the top of the farm how what little grass there is there was all laid in one direction just as if it was perfectly combed. None of the neighbours trees came down and none of my walls blew down. All good here.
    spent the morning cleaning up around the yard and fixing some roadways with the loader, the rain left some "canals" that conman would have been proud of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Bizzum wrote: »
    Anyone got any tips for minimizing aggro when adding new cows to a pen on slats?

Leave them hungry for a few hours maybe and throw out silage before you let in the new ones?! I have no experience of it really bit it might help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

cousins sheep where chased by dogs last night dont know what the damage is but it might be a reminder to people to know where there dogs are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I found Jess and Scott getting in the spirit of things when I got up this morning:mad:

aaaahhh, is jess ur girlfriend, and scott ur best friend

your right, scott is my work colleague and best mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

your right, scott is my work colleague and best mate

the two dogs id say??

jersey101 wrote: »
    the two dogs id say??

jayus jersey easy, thats bobs girlfriend u are on about;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

jayus jersey easy, thats bobs girlfriend u are on about;)

Maybe he was on about the twins poor lad :)

Feck the father anyway, we had a tonne of can in the shed and the father is after bursting it open with the bucket on the loader

hitch on the spreader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I've surely told yas before about the bag of can we kept over last winter, I tried to load it into the spreader while hungover to fook last spring, bag was one big lump, I kept on cutting till the arse outa the bag till the whole lot came out, and burst the hopper in ****e. I try to avoid anything risky at all while hungover now!

Ordered the farm management planner the IFJ are giving away, supposed to be good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Ordered the farm management planner the IFJ are giving away, supposed to be good

Same here, I'll have to push on with this reseed and bring in a few of these dairy cows every other fella is getting :D

Be some talk if that happened.

the two dogs id say??

you little rascal calling my girlfriend a dog. she maybe a bit of a bitch, but to call her a dog is well below the belt :mad:

sorry bob honestly thought you were talking about your dogs :/ haha