Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

td5man wrote: »
    Auld Biddy 1974 would be more appropriate. ;-)
    tried a few user names before i got one thats not being used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

biddy2013 wrote: »

Ok W1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Was PowerwasherMad taken :D

Good to see you back, missed your advice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Has anyone on here used parcel motel before? Is your first time using it free? Im buying a phone from amazon and using it and just got a txt saying i had no funds in my parcel motel acc to process the order?? :(

jersey101 wrote: »
    Has anyone on here used parcel motel before? Is your first time using it free? Im buying a phone from amazon and using it and just got a txt saying i had no funds in my parcel motel acc to process the order?? :(
    i used it , i assume it was free the first time ,i used my paypal account after that. i am waiting on my credit card statement so not sure what i have been charged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Did you try "bananas in pyjamas"

hugo29 wrote: »
    Did you try "bananas in pyjamas"
    i should have used your other suggestion:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Welcome to boards biddy , hopefully you will be able to fill the shoes of whelan ! She was missed bigtime since she bowed out

i used it , i assume it was free the first time ,i used my paypal account after that. i am waiting on my credit card statement so not sure what i have been charged

i paid enough for the phone so better get it. Ill log on to it now and see what its all about

You can send it to my account jersey. I'll even test it to make sure it's working for you.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

You should get an email any time a paypal payment goes through... Or you could log onto your paypal account directly to check... I bet ya were watching in the whole time.. weren't ya !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Jersey make sure ya writeoff the price of the phone against your farm accounts. Its a perfectly valid farm expense, assuming you use the phone for emails/farm records etc etc!

Anyways, question here for any of ya dairyfarmers. I was trying to dose a fresh calver today for fluke and worms, but she was a stubborn yoke, so I just grabbed the can of ainmec pouron and fired it on her instead. Only then did I think about the withdrawal, its not meant to be used on lactating cows withing 60days. I wiped as much of it off with paper towel, anyways, is there much chance of her milk failing the test now? I'll test her anyways to be sure.

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    You can send it to my account jersey. I'll even test it to make sure it's working for you.;)

you can swap me 400bob so :D

how much would ye put in the parcel motel acc lads?

is it not 3.95 for delivery. if its your first time afaik its free

ye i thought it was free too. There was 3.95 in it on friday night, none now ill stick in 3.95 and see what happens

you can swap me 400bob so :D

And where's bob when you actually need him....:D

then ill swap you back bob for the phone. You might have more use for him than me :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

ye i thought it was free too. There was 3.95 in it on friday night, none now ill stick in 3.95 and see what happens

here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=87884748

new link other 1 was sh1te

then ill swap you back bob for the phone. You might have more use for him than me :D:D

He's too old for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

He's too old for me!

The older the fiddle, the sweeter the tune :-)

Bizzum wrote: »
    The older the fiddle, the sweeter the tune :-)

Ha, I'm not starting that again! I'm off to Dublin for my EEG omorrow, big gluey head on me coming home in the evening:eek:

He's too old for me!

how do yu know what age bob is ;)

The average age of people who wear boat shoes tells me.

i wear boating shoes :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

i wear boating shoes :O

Ha, don't be giving that bob chap any ammo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

reilig wrote: »
    Go away out of that.

You just have to look at what Albert Reynolds did for his native longford - abbots, prison service HQ, Social Welfare HQ. Only for him the town would be all Hiaces and halting sites.

Cowen did the same for Tullamore over the years. Several big factories came there in his time as a minister. he just wasn't in the top job for long enough to make a difference.

Look at James Reilly - all those primary care centres in his own constituency. That's how you remain popular among the people that elected you!!

They all work in the same way no matter what party they are in. Only problem is that Inda hasn't the cop on to look after his own while he is in the job. That's why Europe love him and want him to take a top EU job - he'll do what he's told, not what he wants to do.

The hypocrisy of the Irish electorate summed up in a few lines. Everybody says they want the system cleaned up, bbam was posting about people in his office shredding letters from TD's trying to get constituents bumped up lists, but then they bitch like f**k if someone they elected isn't playing the system hard enough on their behalf. Which way do ye want it lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

The hypocrisy of the Irish electorate summed up in a few lines. Everybody says they want the system cleaned up, bbam was posting about people in his office shredding letters from TD's trying to get constituents bumped up lists, but then they bitch like f**k if someone they elected isn't playing the system hard enough on their behalf. Which way do ye want it lads?

Parish pump politics is how the country works, it's the bread and butter of an awful lot of TD's. The systems designed for the "customer" (that's us plebs) do not work. My fiancee was being shouted at by a civil serpent over the phone. She qualified for a particular education grant and was being denied it. They would not tell her one iota of information on "their system". How do you solve that problem?

I told her mid call "Hang up", she didn't want to. I said "Hang up, and don't worry".

I texted my local TD and she had her grant, I'll repeat again for those hard of reading that she qualified under the terms of the grant aid, within 4 days.

Until all of these systems are fixed no one should be one bit ashamed of asking their local representatives for help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Well lads. Land price is gone up savage in the last while.

Half an acre in Limerick worth 1.5m they said on news this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Parish pump politics is how the country works, it's the bread and butter of an awful lot of TD's. The systems designed for the "customer" (that's us plebs) do not work. My fiancee was being shouted at by a civil serpent over the phone. She qualified for a particular education grant and was being denied it. They would not tell her one iota of information on "their system". How do you solve that problem?

I told her mid call "Hang up", she didn't want to. I said "Hang up, and don't worry".

I texted my local TD and she had her grant, I'll repeat again for those hard of reading that she qualified under the terms of the grant aid, within 4 days.

Until all of these systems are fixed no one should be one bit ashamed of asking their local representatives for help.

You're right in what you did and what you are saying but it's a vicious circle. The fools spend so much time running around doing these jobs instead of what they should be doing, making sure that bills and regulations
    are properly drafted that all of these stupid anomalies keep getting through which creates more jobs for them to garner more votes from and so on. The only way to fix it is that instead of saying thanks that anyone who is forced to go to a local TD for that sort of nonsense should tell the TD that if they have to contact him again for something similar he'll get no vote in the next election and that if they hear of anyone else having a similar problem he'll get no vote in the next election. He knows there's a problem and exactly how it should be dealt with so deal with it.

Personally speaking I don't want to see any TD I elect from one election to the next other than on a current affairs programme. They have no business in their constituency outside of election time at all. Their job is to ensure the country is properly governed whether in government or opposition and they can't do that if they're taking phonecalls abotut Con's partners education grant and I mean no offence Con in that comment. The system is broken and you did what was necessary to work around it.