Is your ma trying to run your life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Shark

Wow I guess I'm not the only one who has a **** mother.

I actually had a massive argument about 2 weeks ago with mine. She just totally dis-respects me and my opinions. She seems to think that only her feelings and opinions count. She couldn't give a rats arse about how her actions and opinions make others feel so long as she's happy and gets what she wants.

As it stands now she's not talking to me and it actually suits me fine. It's just another fine example of how selfish and childish she is. I won't be making any effort to resolve things with her and I won't apologise for standing up for myself.

I think people need to realise that we don't all have great mothers for whatever reason. If you can find a way to get along and comprise then that's great. Otherwise it may be best to keep your distance and limit any communication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I've read that her MIL is a nasty control freak who's basically torturing her children. But above that, what stood out was when she said "when my partners fees are paid" she will stop her kids having anything to do with their grandmother. That's fair enough, but it's pretty disgusting to dangle small kids in front of such a vile person, just for money.

I am not dangling them, she knows herself if she keeps up her behaviour I and her son will not allow her near them. She is being told constantly either be nice or we'll walk. How many times will you allow yourself be ridiculed before you say enough is enough? The money is only one factor, and my partner has the right to his money. He saved all his money as a teenager, and his father slaved hard at work for years to get him that money, but she knows without that last thread forcing us to be civil, we will be more than happy to no longer put up with her. We don't want to leave her by herself, but you can only take so much.
    FTA69 wrote: »
    This is terrible. Some people need to realise that abuse is abuse and that isn't limited to the classic drunken violent father scenario. Women are well able to dole out the abuse as well, unfortunately this is sometimes directed at their own children. My first girlfriend had to flee home at 16 due to the sustained abuse she got from her mother, she was physically assaulted and referred to as "the fact c*nt" around the house. She ended up battling an eating disorder over it.

The "venerable mammy" stereotype isn't always true. If your one above is actually up to that carry on I wouldn't leave her darken the bloody door.

Yeah, I was called the "skinny bítch" by my mother. When I started going to the gym she forced me on a scales because I was clearly starving myself. I was a healthy 9stone at 5 foot 4. I wasn't allowed go out with my friends, even though I was 20 and earning my own money. I wasn't allowed go to college in Dublin even though it was a great career because I would not be home in the evenings. I know how the OP and your first gf feels. It's suffocating, and there nothing worse than having to cut off family, especially moms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

She'd never really interfere in my life but she'll always treat me as if I'm 7 years old which I secretly like.

You're right, I don't. And I don't have kids so I have no idea how I would react in that situation, however, there's got to be a legal route no? Or taking out a loan? I understand its his money and he shouldn't have to however - your children's esteem and mental health, or money? I know what I'd be choosing.

We have no money to guarantee the loans, as it stands, we have only a SW payment for me and that is not what we want for our kids. We want to make our own way. He is in his final year, if we were to go the legal route it would take a year at least, he could lose his place. We don't want her out of the kids lives, she is getting old now and will need family, but she is making it so hard. I don't care if she doesn't see eye to eye with me, that is the clichéd MIL scenario, but I don't want her abusing them, and I am trying to limit their access to her, it is not something I want to do.

But as I said, I came back from the weekend feeling shít and wanting to cry about the things she said about my children, her attacks were always on me away from the kids so I just got on with it because she had a good relationship with my son, but the way she treated him this weekend hurt ME so much that with or without fees paid, I am serious, if she does not apologise to him tomorrow (she is in Dublin shopping for the day) I won't bring them down for xmas, I won't do that to them. I love them too much to let anyone hurt them like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

This is what scares me about going back for Xmas. The last time I was back home, my mother was passively aggressively trying to get me to cut my hair. I remained calm. Told here I wasn't but I then went to the toilet and was raging. I would have loved a punch bag I was that angry. I've had anger issues of late and have spent 2 years, successfully, working on them. The mother episode felt like a step back.

Potentially controversial but maybe it might be best for you not to go back for the 25th if she'll cause so much aggro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

My ma is the only woman on either side of my family who doesn't have grandchildren. I can completely understand her frustration at that but passively aggressively badgering all her children any opportunity she gets isn't going to speed up the process. A while back she was begging me to shave my facial hair. She said 'Just do it for me..'. I said the reason you want me to shave is that if I shave, I'll be more attractive, if more attractive, I'll get a partner, if I have a partner, she'll get grandchildren (so she thinks). She laughed because I hit the nail on the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

Soerenlp wrote: »
    What a horrible horrible thing to even consider doing.
    There are some places you never go, THIS is one of them.

FFS, seriously you don't know the situation. An abuser should still be allowed access to his or her victims?? Are you retarded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

My ma is the only woman on either side of my family who doesn't have grandchildren. I can completely understand her frustration at that but passively aggressively badgering all her children any opportunity she gets isn't going to speed up the process. A while back she was begging me to shave my facial hair. She said 'Just do it for me..'. I said the reason you want me to shave is that if I shave, I'll be more attractive, if more attractive, I'll get a partner, if I have a partner, she'll get grandchildren (so she thinks). She laughed because I hit the nail on the head.

OP it's obvious that her comments are hitting a nerve with you. If I was having these issues with my mother I would definitely try to talk to her about it or at least let her know how much they annoy me and also I'd try to create new boundaries with her.

Also you say you've moved out but from your posts it would seem that you see/talk to her every day, perhaps you should distance yourself. You may find that the less you see/talk to her the less likely she'll be to come out with the mundane comments regarding your hair/lack of grandchildren.

By you holding your anger in and leaving the room when your become angry, yes you are avoiding a possible argument but you're also internalising your anger and in the long run that will not do you any favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

vitani wrote: »
    Normally, I'd agree but I've seen wolfpawnat post over the past while about different things her MIL has said or done to the children as well as her, and tbh, I think she's well within her rights to consider doing this.

I totally agree and I actually think some people use their grandchildren as a way of saying:

"See how much I love kids, how good I am with them, how much I want them around and so the problem was never with me, it was with you".

blacklilly wrote: »
    OP it's obvious that her comments are hitting a nerve with you.

Yes, I feel guilty about her not having grandchildren.

Also you say you've moved out but from your posts it would seem that you see/talk to her every day, perhaps you should distance yourself. You may find that the less you see/talk to her the less likely she'll be to come out with the mundane comments regarding your hair/lack of grandchildren.

I only see her 5 times a year (I live in a different country) but I phone once a week. I just would feel bad about threatening to not come home. It annoys me that she can't be grateful for me making the effort to fly home and instead focussing on a hair cut. To be honest, I don't think she's smart enough to know the damage she's doing.

MrBlack93 wrote: »
    FFS, seriously you don't know the situation. An abuser should still be allowed access to his or her victims??

This is a very important point. OP like in my situation, don't allow yourself remain in it. One lonely xmas for you may save your relationship. I know it is tough, but if she sees you are serious, you may shock her into sorting herself out and you may be able to have a healthy relationship after.
    Daqster wrote: »
    I totally agree and I actually think some people use their grandchildren as a way of saying:

"See how much I love kids, how good I am with them, how much I want them around and so the problem was never with me, it was with you".

Okay, that actually scared me. I never thought of it like that, but that could very much be the case. She spoiled my son (I know it is a nana trait) but she was violent to her children, now if we tell him to stop being bold she calls us abusive parents. It is very much what she could be doing, until it went belly up this weekend.

I only see her 5 times a year (I live in a different country) but I phone once a week. I just would feel bad about threatening to not come home. It annoys me that she can't be grateful for me making the effort to fly home and instead focussing on a hair cut. To be honest, I don't think she's smart enough to know the damage she's doing.

Maybe ignoring her might be the best idea in that case. Basically once she starts on the topic of grandkids/hair glaze over and nod and smile?

I only see her 5 times a year (I live in a different country) but I phone once a week. I just would feel bad about threatening to not come home. It annoys me that she can't be grateful for me making the effort to fly home and instead focussing on a hair cut. To be honest, I don't think she's smart enoguh to know the damage she's doing.

This last bit means there's hope.

Call her and before she talks, tell her you need her to really listen for a few minutes, and ask her not to interrupt while you speak.

Tell her you love her, tell her that you're looking forward to coming home and that you want to see everyone.

Then tell her you have a problem, and that only she can help you out with it.

Tell her she hurts you with her constant criticism, and that it's so bad that you're dreading Xmas instead of looking forward to it. Tell her you know she doesn't realise how hurtful you find it, or that it affects you so badly. Then tell her you need her to promise to lay off over the holidays. Tell her you're under enough stress. Make sure you finish by telling her you love her and want her to understand how you feel. If she downplays it, tell her you're going to skip coming home because you need a rest and if you can't get it there you'll have to make other plans.

At that point, it might be an idea to tell her you have to go but you'll call back in an hour. Let her absorb the import of what you're saying.

If she doesn't realise the pain she's causing you, you really have to tell her straight out.

P_1 wrote: »
    Maybe ignoring her might be the best idea in that case. Basically once she starts on the topic of grandkids/hair glaze over and nod and smile?

But, as I said, she's not as smart as me. If I do nod and smile, she isn't seeing those actions from a place of hurt, all she'll see is me not caring about her want for grandchildren. A 'I don't care if you die before seeing grandchildren, not my issue'. I don't want her thinking I don't care about her and am selfish.

Some people take pleasure in knowing they are hurting you with their criticism though, I find telling people you just don't care, as rude as it sounds, ends the topic fairly briskly.

OP, you cannot force yourself to have children just to suit her. You are still young (I think I read you are 32) and there is plenty time. Jesus I am in my mid twenties and would do anything to have been able hold out for another 10 years. You will have them if you choose in due course. Is she old or sick, if not, she's more than likely going to be here for another bit. She needs to lay off. Just say "In due course" that tells her yes, you want kids, but you're not there yet.

But, as I said, she's not as smart as me. If I do nod and smile, she isn't seeing those actions from a place of hurt, all she'll see is me not caring about her want for grandchildren. A 'I don't care if you die before seeing grandchildren, not my issue'. I don't want her thinking I don't care about her and am selfish.

Yes but she is being incredibly selfish in her actions too and by her actions it does come across that she doesn't care about you or your siblings in her meddling quest for grandchildren. Sadly sometimes the only way to fight fire is with more fire.

You shouldn't feel guilty, you don't owe her grandchildren and it's not fair that she is putting pressure on you to provide some. If I ever become a mother I'd be much more concerned that my children would meet good partners and grandchildren would hopefully be a by product of that.

Ok, I know what you're saying re: her possibly not being smart enough to understand. Unfortunately there are many people of your mothers age that are quite devoid of emotion or simple cop on and that is frustrating.

Perhaps you may want to consider why you put so much value on her comments regarding your hair etc, it sounds like she has always been somewhat overbearing and maybe you are still looking for approval from her.

Yes, her comments push my buttons more than they should. I've noticed throughout the years, she's never been happy with my achievements. She only focuses on the bad parts. I'll tell her something that I've done, that I'm proud of, and she'll never seem proud. It's as if the only achievements she's interested in is getting me a wife and kids so she can tell the neighbours how proud she is. I'm constantly wishing she was proud of me. She very well might be by the way. But is unable/not intelligent enough to show it (or even realise that she should be showing her pride, people like to hear it).

More than likely she is proud of you and only wants the best for you but is unable to verbalise it as you say. I suppose what you need to do is to try not put so much emphasis on her approval and instead try to become content in your achievements and be proud of yourself.
    Some people are emotionally disconnected and sadly sometimes just remain that way. I suppose you cannot control how she acts or what she says but you can try to change how you react toward her comments and how much importance you put on her approval.

Also your mum is from a generation where great importance was put on marriage and kids and anyone from her generation who did not marry etc was possible marginalised, she probably still hold marriage and kids as the ultimate achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Tell her that you've taken on board her advice and now want to have kids but you've read up on it and found that, statistically, women are more attracted to men with facial hair when in their periods and are at their most fertile.

Shell be speechless for a while at least.

I suppose what you need to do is to try not put so much emphasis on her approval and instead try to become content in your achievements and be proud of yourself.

Agreed. I do put too much emphasis on it. I've realised this a long time ago. It's difficult. All children (I think) want to make their parents proud. It's just my mother is utterly unpleasable. I'm never proud of my achievements really. I am for 5 minutes then the pride goes. So maybe her not recognising my achievements mirrors my own views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Get your hair cut and get some young one pregnant, problem solved.

Don't thank me, it was nothing.

Agreed. I do put too much emphasis on it. I've realised this a long time ago. It's difficult. All children (I think) want to make their parents proud. It's just my mother is utterly unpleasable. I'm never proud of my achievements really. I am for 5 minutes then the pride goes. So maybe her not recognising my achievements mirrors my own views.

More likely to be the other way around. If the people who matter don't express pride in you, you can wind up feeling you've nothing to be proud of.

Well it's great that you are aware of this, some people go through their whole lives not realising why they react in certain ways.

Yes, all (most) children want to make their parents proud. I know speaking for myself I sometimes would rely too heavily on my parents advice instead of making decisions for myself and that is something I've been working on.

Well it's great that you are aware of this, some people go through their whole lives not realising why they react in certain ways.

It's taken hard work.
    I know speaking for myself I sometimes would rely too heavily on my parents advice instead of making decisions for myself and that is something I've been working on.

I don't rely on my parent's input at all, zero. I think this might be what worries my mother. She sees me still single and thinks if I had of followed her advice all along I wouldn't be. I think if I lived the life she wants me to, I'd jump off the pretty steep cliff. Dull, formulaic and conformist. I like individuals, characters, people who chose their own ways in life regardless of what society thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Well to be honest I get the same guff from my mother

I have refrained a few times from telling her where to go to be honest

I havnt given her anything to worry about in mine or her life. World probable hardship I gave her was fail the mocks in the junior cert years ago and there was world war three

I moved out and we got on really well when I came home once or twice a week but had to move back in then when an apartment arrangement went skeyways

So have been there since april this year, have had some good days, some terrible days.

It really wound me up in the beginning when I was home and I was getting it layed on thick and heavy about everything and being back in the family rotation basically where I had to like look after the sister again and drop her to wherever she wanted to go regardless of what i was doing, have to go every single day to get the mother cigarrettes and just general things like that

Nothing I am ever doing is any way important at all when something got to do with anyone else in the family wants something (for example I could be watching a movie or maybe doing some sort of building with my different hobbies and someone will burst into the room and want something and I will have to leave what im at to go like get a litre of milk something)

Or what I cannot stand is the whole privacy of the bedroom is now gone, at least when I was out on my own everything was mine and if the room was untidy Id clean it when I can. Now its constant arguements until Im made act like a 12 year old and be sent to clean my room, even though I would work the same hours as the parents but yet im still looked at as pulling the piss

I have taken the approach of just ignoring now and when she comes shouting just ignore her, she will eventually go away, Ill clean at my own leisure.

My appearence is highly criticized, how I spend my free time or weekends is criticized, my hobbies, my choice in job (eg I am in a job, I applied for the guards and was told how stupid I am) I am regularly told how useless I am and thats the sum of it! But I got a thick skin

But what we do forget is that even though its the mother, they can also be generally horrible people (I dont personally think my mother is horrible, she has sharp edges but nothing a nice outburst from me wont sort some day :P) but I genuinely know people who hate one or both of their parents

And sorry for waffling on haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

....... I'm 32 by the way. She's 60-odd.

Can anyone make me feel better and empathise?

She could drag on for years so you need to solve this as permanently as possible asap.
    I dread going home these days.

Just don't go to where she is
    - if/when she phones you, straight away tell her you are not going round to listen to obsessive manipulative whinging.

She deserves to die screaming for doing this psycho stuff to you :
    When she realised I wasn't going to cut my hair for her she seems to get annoyed and said 'Well if I die, I don't want you having long hair at my funeral'. Beggars belief.

It's taken hard work.

I don't rely on my parent's input at all, zero. I think this might be what worries my mother. She sees me still single and thinks if I had of followed her advice all along I wouldn't be. I think if I lived the life she wants me to, I'd jump off the pretty steep cliff. Dull, formulaic and conformist. I like individuals, characters, people who chose their own ways in life regardless of what society thinks.

You sound so assured in what you've written above, yet still want approval from you mother. If you could talk to her over Christmas and pretty much tell her what you've written above (maybe an edited version) she might back off, it's worth a try. No need for an argument just a frank discussion thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

But, as I said, she's not as smart as me.... I don't want her thinking I ... am selfish.

Sure look now your woman knows you care, because you're still around. Two things though:

1. Are you SURE she's not as smart as you? I had a therapist once who asked me if I thought my mother might be a very clever manipulator. I snapped back that my mother wasn't smart enough! I thought I was the chess player (learned from my Dad), the one who did strategy. Six months of reflection brought me around to realising that while my mother might not have been intentionally malicious in her manipulations, she was highly skilled at it, and a lot smarter than I had given her credit for. Word to the wise: don't underestimate your old lady's grey matter.

2. Why don't you want her thinking you're selfish? What would be the harm in saying "If having a beard makes me happy, and insisting that I want to be happy makes me selfish... then so be it!"? Sounds like you want your bread buttered on both sides, like most of us :) Besides, what your mother thinks of you, is her prerogative, isn't it? Surely you can give her the gift of letting her think whatever she likes about you? Cos she probably thinks whatever she likes anyway. That way she gets to have her thoughts and feelings validated, and you get to do what you want to do for you :)

"Hey Mum, look, it's my facial hair and I like it, and I know you don't think much of it... but it's here to stay... gowan call me an ugly blighter", and give her your best cheesy grin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Threads like this always make me glad of the parents I have. I won't have them shipped off to a home as long as they behave and I get a good Christmas dinner and the protection money keeps coming in on time.