Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment- The Waiting to Apply Room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭DK man

Scouser wrote: »
    i dont think its to do with fitness or health

i think its the 30year service contract and pension entitlements etc

If you join at 35 you won't be able to keep going until you reach 30 years service either so it's not about 30 years service as you can't work up until you are 65 in an Gardai

Or if a garda takes leave of a sense for whatever reason - (a part in love hate!)

Pensions are usually calculated on the number of years served and not an exact promise for a period of service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

DK man wrote: »
    If you join at 35 you won't be able to keep going until you reach 30 years service either so it's not about 30 years service as you can't work up until you are 65 in an Gardai

oh wow

the commissioner will be delighted you have spotted that obvious lack of judgement on his organisations part

how silly of them to set it at a reasonable age that suits the needs of operational policing on this island

Is there any reason why a group of 'over-age applicant's' wouldn't have a case if they brought it to the courts?

They 'reason' for the age limit can be seen here:
    http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2011/03/22/00161.asp

Thanks for the post. Reasons don't seem plausible and would hardly hold much weight if pressed. Garda trainees spend a lot of time out working and the new recruits will have full powers after only 8 months!

The 3rd reason is more explicit in stating the preeminence of brawn

The Gardai need to have a graduate entry programme like they do in the U.K. but it seems like they don't place much value in academic training

oh wow

the commissioner will be delighted you have spotted that obvious lack of judgement on his organisations part

how silly of them to set it at a reasonable age that suits the needs of operational policing on this island

Reasonably age? On what grounds are you making your judgement? It was 26 up until a few years ago - was that also a reasonable age as it was deemed by a previous commissioner

I'll be very interested in your reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

DK man wrote: »
    Reasonably age? On what grounds are you making your judgement? It was 26 up until a few years ago - was that also a reasonable age as it was deemed by a previous commissioner

I'll be very interested in your reply

i think its reasonable to assume that somebody joining at 35 will have a good career up to 65 and still be able to carry out his/her duties (whatever they maybe) at 65

i

oh wow

Using your logic - a person over a certain age should not be allowed to apply to train as a nurse or primary school teacher - in fact why allow them into college

I don't know your age but I'm assuming that you are interested in Garda training - a few years over 26 was seen as an unreasonable age to suit the needs of operational policing on this island! Which commissioner do you think is right?

i think its reasonable to assume that somebody joining at 35 will have a good career up to 65 and still be able to carry out his/her duties (whatever they maybe) at 65

i

Well I'm glad to see that you agree that people can be very productive across from 35 - 65. So we do agree after all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭coolock94

so their not accepting foundation irish I have English and another language ie Spanish is this not enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Disco Dub

RANDOMUSER wrote: »
    So you want them to have Seperate Email adresses for each specific problem that they think candidates might have. gardarecruitment@publicjobs.ie is the mailbox for ALL queries. There are also phone numbers provided.

A correction to the e-mail address in your post. It should be gardatrainee2013@publicjobs.ie Also, the phone line given for queries is 08183323222 and I got through today. They said they're open 24/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭RANDOMUSER

Disco Dub wrote: »
    A correction to the e-mail address in your post. It should be gardatrainee2013@publicjobs.ie Also, the phone line given for queries is 08183323222 and I got through today. They said they're open 24/7.

Thanks for clarifying the address disco. I haven't access to MS Word as using phone to post over weekend so couldn't look at info book. The 0818 number is a call centre who PAS awarded the contract to to handle the phone queries on their behalf as PAS no longer have the staffing numbers due to the moratorium on recruitment etc. The 01858 number is directly to PAS who only open Monday to Friday

coolock94 wrote: »
    so their not accepting foundation irish I have English and another language ie Spanish is this not enough

What you have is sufficient. The requirement is English and Irish or english or Irish plus another language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭HighburyLad

I have French and German which is grand as it means I'm covered, but why the need for a second language qualification? I could understand English and Irish, but why the need if you have English the need for another bar Irish and vice versa? just a genuine query more curious than anything lol :)

It allows non nationals to apply and anyone who may have been exempt from Irish etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭HighburyLad

RANDOMUSER wrote: »
    It allows non nationals to apply and anyone who may have been exempt from Irish etc.

Fair point, would there be many non nationals within AGS?

A few Asian candidates went through on the last campaign. Garda reserve had a diverse range of nationalities apply too. I reckon a large Asian contingent to apply again and they are usually very good candidates too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

I think they can and could, raise it to 45? They'd still get a good few years out of applicants then, even though they are aware of the future re pension or other

I think 45 is far too old to join. Fair enough a man in his 40s might be fit but he would be completing the last 5 years of the contract while he's in his 70s.

That job is a bit stressful, I don't think it would suit a 74 year old man or women...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Maybe it's about time we started looking after Irish people and give them the jobs. If a person is an Irish citizen but of an ethnic background fair enough but we must draw a line somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

mfergus wrote: »
    I think 45 is far too old to join. Fair enough a man in his 40s might be fit but he would be completing the last 5 years of the contract while he's in his 70s.

That job is a bit stressful, I don't think it would suit a 74 year old man or women...

I mean't that they could still work up until they are 65 and are made aware of the situation with pension's on their retirement. You could still get a good 20 years out of a 45 year old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭carzony

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Maybe it's about time we started looking after Irish people and give them the jobs. If a person is an Irish citizen but of an ethnic background fair enough but we must draw a line somewhere.

I couldnt agree more mate. Irish people are struggling for jobs as it is. i'v nothing against foreign people but come on irish people should get priority..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

carzony wrote: »
    I couldnt agree more mate. Irish people are struggling for jobs as it is. i'v nothing against foreign people but come on irish people should get priority..

Can we not go down this road folks?? Thanks

Hooch wrote: »
    Can we not go down this road folks?? Thanks

Why.

Maybe it's time that the matter was discussed. Or are you afraid someone might be "offended"

Maybe it's reasonable that we should expect to be policed by Irish nationals who have been raised in a country where unarmed policing is the norm.
    In a country where the majority of the people support the police but still are confident that they can criticise the police when they do the job incorrectly.

Or just for the sake of political correctness are we to recruit individuals raised in the atmosphere of communist Eastern Europe or corrupt African states and who have no concept of community policing, policing by consent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Why.

Maybe it's time that the matter was discussed. Or are you afraid someone might be "offended"

Maybe it's reasonable that we should expect to be policed by Irish nationals who have been raised in a country where unarmed policing is the norm.
    In a country where the majority of the people support the police but still are confident that they can criticise the police when they do the job incorrectly.

Or just for the sake of political correctness are we to recruit individuals raised in the atmosphere of communist Eastern Europe or corrupt African states and who have no concept of community policing, policing by consent.

I, like a number of people here, am from the North, a place where the idea of community Policing is a relatively new concept and where the chances of unarmed Policing becoming the norm anytime in the near future is almost a fantasy. I don't feel, however, that any of this would negatively affect my capacity to be a good candidate.

I honestly think that the main issue here for some of you is simply the sheer number of applicants, and all this talk of "foreign nationals" somehow not being good candidates is just a deflection from this; Not to mention the fact that they would be but a drop in the ocean in terms of actual applicants.

I'm just as dismayed as I assume you are about the immense level of competition that we're likely to face and how remote our chances are, but we have to face the reality of the situation, which is that we're a Nation emerging from an economic crisis and, as such, the prospect of a secure government job is incredibly appealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭thestar

Has anybody looked at the paying conditions? Anybody who is applying for this job thinking of the steady income then they will get a surprise. Recruits will be lucky to come out with 350e which is a joke. I said that I always wanted to join the job but that money is a disgrace and will put many people off

I, like a number of people here, am from the North, a place where the idea of community Policing is a relatively new concept and where the chances of unarmed Policing becoming the norm anytime in the near future is almost a fantasy. I don't feel, however, that any of this would negatively affect my capacity to be a good candidate.

I honestly think that the main issue here for some of you is simply the sheer number of applicants, and all this talk of "foreign nationals" somehow not being good candidates is just a deflection from this; Not to mention the fact that they would be but a drop in the ocean in terms of actual applicants.

I'm just as dismayed as I assume you are about the immense level of competition that we're likely to face and how remote our chances are, but we have to face the reality of the situation, which is that we're a Nation emerging from an economic crisis and, as such, the prospect of a secure government job is incredibly appealing.

I have no difficulty with anyone born on the island joining An Garda Siochana and I can see a situation where unarmed uniformed policing could develop in the North. I am not an applicant but I do want to be policed by Irish men and women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

thestar wrote: »
    Has anybody looked at the paying conditions? Anybody who is applying for this job thinking of the steady income then they will get a surprise. Recruits will be lucky to come out with 350e which is a joke. I said that I always wanted to join the job but that money is a disgrace and will put many people off

Be extremely lucky to even come out with 350 even after deductions,
    very important factor to consider, especially for lads to enter with loans,mortgages etc,

I myself always wanted to join, regardless of pay,but it is lingering, I as like most would b taking a hefty pay cut to join,but i d love to join,
    decisions :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

re : alerts

Anybody worried about not receiving a confirmation email should check the spam account on your email address as mine was there :)

is there a rent allowance for Gardai?

That is why the authorities should be more forthcoming about rates of pay and allowances. Applicants who are in their late twenties maybe with a mortgage and family and in a well paid job now will have to be prepared to take serious financial hardship if the join up. For younger applicants without family etc. this might be a blessing as it will reduce the numbers applying when the truth about the salaries is known.

The figures are clearly given out on the public jobs handbook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

The figures are clearly given out on the public jobs handbook

They aren't.
    It says noting about rent allowance, overtime rates, and yearly increments or increments if you hold a degree. No one knows if all this has been scrapped or what's happening