Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

There was a good size farm and sheds for sale here not so long ago. It was rented since the owner died with no will made. The sitting tenant made some song and dance at the auction, and a fool of himself too. and out bid any competition , but was beat in the last two bidders.
    Strangely enough the winning bidder backed out a few days later, and the sitting tenant bought it for less. Hasn't come without its troubles though, you would wonder if someone from beyond, or otherwise doesn't want the place to work.
    Lot of people talking about why he bought it. Know a guy who would be in there regularly, he counted the stock and said no way would a living be made, or repayments for that matter be made. With what's there. You would wonder what people want so much.

The auld dog in the manger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

fooooookkk

broke the key to a room in the house in the lock, santy inside

any brainwaves as to how to open (apart from the obvious)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    He actually adores me for some reason, maybe it's because I'm as cranky as him.:p I calve all his cows if he needs help. Plus get injured off all his horses. Win win situation!

And yes he's a bachelor but noooooooooooooooooo. You've a better chance of marrying me off to Bertie Ahern.

Give him a rub every now an the,it could be worth it in the long run.it could be all yours a few yes down the road:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

hugo29 wrote: »
    fooooookkk

Break open the window. :D

A bent paperclip/pin actually should do the trick, it's small enough to fit around the key and slip it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

There was a good size farm and sheds for sale here not so long ago. It was rented since the owner died with no will made. The sitting tenant made some song and dance at the auction, and a fool of himself too. and out bid any competition , but was beat in the last two bidders.
    Strangely enough the winning bidder backed out a few days later, and the sitting tenant bought it for less. Hasn't come without its troubles though, you would wonder if someone from beyond, or otherwise doesn't want the place to work.
    Lot of people talking about why he bought it. Know a guy who would be in there regularly, he counted the stock and said no way would a living be made, or repayments for that matter be made. With what's there. You would wonder what people want so much.

i must have plenty of begrudgers around me so, feck all gone right in the last ten yrs since we bought the place, funny thing is on the day of the auction the room was packed solid and not one person bid only my mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

fooooookkk

Happened me before and I was able to cut a groove in the bit of the key that was left in the lock then stuck a flathead into that groove and turned the key while still inside the lock.

Might work for ye if there's enough of the key left in the lock.

bit late but the sky farmer runs in cheltham at 1.40 worth a 5 ew

lovey stuff 1st winner of the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

fooooookkk

Yale type lock, or the Basta type lock?

Also, are the hinge pins on your side of the door, or the other?
    If your side, your flying, just tap out the hinge pins.

If its a yale type, and the bit is left in the door, surprisingly a bit of superglue can work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

fooooookkk

Screw off the faceplate and handle.. it might give you the access to the stub of the key, long nose pliars might get it..

I wouldn't recommend glue into a yale lock, or any lock... only going one way with that trick !!

naughto wrote: »
    bit late but the sky farmer runs in cheltham at 1.40 worth a 5 ew

lovey stuff 1st winner of the day

You were on the ball as well naughto, I got him as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

fooooookkk

Give chippy a shout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Yale type lock, or the Basta type lock?

Also, are the hinge pins on your side of the door, or the other?
    If your side, your flying, just tap out the hinge pins.

If its a yale type, and the bit is left in the door, surprisingly a bit of superglue can work.

Pins on other side so no go
    bbam wrote: »
    Screw off the faceplate and handle.. it might give you the access to the stub of the key, long nose pliars might get it..

Key is out, one of the small stubs at end of key is broke, not sure if its in door, tried face plate, no go
    No spare key
    I wouldn't recommend glue into a yale lock, or any lock... only going one way with that trick !!

Give chippy a shout.

Ya might be right, locksmith is 60 yo yo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Don't suppose it's an old house with a fireplace in every room, Santa could get out that way........................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Got me car through nct first time today. 08 with over 300,000 km on it. Never had to put any parts into it since new. People knock them, but there's a lot to be said for Toyota!

Hugo is it a big old style key with the long handle or a new yale type one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

reilig wrote: »
    Got me car through nct first time today. 08 with over 300,000 km on it. Never had to put any parts into it since new. People knock them, but there's a lot to be said for Toyota!
    it pains a mate of mine to say it but its the brand of car that he is least called out to recover with the truck :D

wifes car has over 187hundred thousand on it all it get is a service before the test and it passes each time.its 97 toyato petrol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

reilig wrote: »

Auris are a great yoke! :-) were you a bit late with the nct if she's a 08 plate??

Have one sitting in the drive here..... l drive it. .... but l'l never claim it's mine! :-)

Muckit wrote: »
    Auris are a great yoke! :-) were you a bit late with the nct if she's a 08 plate??
    second time round :confused:

Ah yeah. Reread again. I thought twas first nct it ever did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Have one sitting in the drive here..... l drive it. .... but l'l never claim it's mine! :-)

never put you down as a hair dresser Muckit with your Auris

It's another great sideline of mine. All goes into my big auris pocket!!

anything to keep the food on thr table

that pocket must be getting empty now, it had a super spring though :D

Just got a phone call from Dovea there. We have 2 calves off VMP and one of their agents is coming to weigh and grade them tomorrow.

Knew their dates of birth and Dam sires and all. Something about upgrading his stats or something. Honestly wasn't listening too much as I was looking for the AI book! Anyone else get this kind of call?

Kovu Murr wrote: »

Knew their dates of birth and Dam sires and all. Something about upgrading his stats or something. Honestly wasn't listening too much as I was looking for the AI book! Anyone else get this kind of call?

I would say it was just you Kovu, aslong as its just the calves stats he is checking out, you will be grand

Oh shut up:p I'm hardly going to be in a skirt in the shed in Winter!

Lads from anchor man on late late now. I wonder will burgundy play jazz flute :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,774 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Have a cow calving tonight, a bull broke in last March and got her in calf, she will be having her second calf this year - calved in February, dried off not too long ago but she has a good springing.
    Not ideal given the others start calving in January, but once healthy it will be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Fathers friend was down tonight and he had his jeep in the DOE today and passed it. But there is a new levy of 25e gone onto the DOE price. Something to do with the irish road authority. Anyone else see this?