Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

I'd say its slightly skewed though. Running multiple herds out of one yard brings a lot of hassle. So there's probably a lot of lads under the age of 35 that are farming with their parents and don't have their own herd number.

I'm pretty sure the statistics would leave them out even though they could be doing most or all the farming.

we started milk recording here last week and your man that drops off the recorders who covers all of wexford, most of kk and some of wicklow said i would only be one of a handful of lads as young as me farming at home full time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Half thinking of loading the nap sack up with roundup and spraying around the yard again as the weeds keep growing, no sign of them to stop yet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

jersey101 wrote: »
    we started milk recording here last week and your man that drops off the recorders who covers all of wexford, most of kk and some of wicklow said i would only be one of a handful of lads as young as me farming at home full time

Jesus. An your auld enough! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Ha, that Jersey chap could prb get away with still being in school! But anyways, I would well believe the figures about older farmer, the one thing is the most of them would be only small enough farmer, with maybe only 40 cows or so, I guess this skews the figures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Christ you've all talked a lot since I left. Without reading the 22 pages:eek: was there any scandal?
    Bet you missed me like a sore head:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    :eek: was there any scandal?
    Not a bit when you werent around yourself sure

moy83 wrote: »
    Not a bit when you werent around yourself sure

Working my way through the pages now. Never though I'd see the breast feeding thread brought up here:pac:

Christ you've all talked a lot since I left. Without reading the 22 pages:eek: was there any scandal?

Bob and sharp came outta the closet and eloped to Thailand.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Bob and sharp came outta the closet and eloped to Thailand.

Were they ever in it:D:D
    Christ, I'm still not over that weekend. The Gypsy Rose has a lot to answer for!

Were they ever in it:D:D
    Christ, I'm still not over that weekend. The Gypsy Rose has a lot to answer for!

Ah we all need a blow out every now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

dont mention the horses;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Ah we all need a blow out every now and again.

Thought you were talking about something else there for a minute. But yes and yes

Muckit wrote: »
    Thought you were talking about something else there for a minute. But yes and yes

I wasn't going to mention that but I know what you're thinking:D

Ah yes, I seen the nag posts. Like in Fawlty Towers, Don't mention ze orses!

I wasn't going to mention that but I know what you're thinking:D

Ah yes, I seen the nag posts. Like in Fawlty Towers, Don't mention ze orses!
    ah so decided to praise us with your presence again, heard the emergency services are still flat out in dublin after ya :D

Actually didn't get my usual taxi home in a Garda car for a change:D

(and I literally mean a lift, not handcuffed)

prone to the white taxi with blue lights are we :D:D of course it was a lift, God forbid if you were in handcuffs *COUGH COUGH* :p

sharp and kovu back at it again i see :D

jersey101 wrote: »
    sharp and kovu back at it again i see :D

Shush, you know you missed me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Cow with tetany here today, one with mastitis yesterday, another mastitis case last week too, never a dull moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

why does a scene from Supertroopers enter my head :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭joe man utd

last of the cows put in fulltime.. have an operation on my cheekbone tomorrow.. a lads stag in cork on saturday.. hope i make it... never a dull moment eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Best of luck with op joe

It general anaesthetic? Are you fasting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

That ****er FL22 has a lot to answer for.
    A few of his cracked daughters have the place gone mad.
    Great stock but no handling them. I only hope the slats calm them down a bit.

Bizzum wrote: »
    That ****er FL22 has a lot to answer for.
    A few of his cracked daughters have the place gone mad.
    Great stock but no handling them. I only hope the slats calm them down a bit.

Mind yourself anyway, don't need any more accidents!
    Just got a call off a neighbour as there's cattle on the road near us. Unless ours have managed to perfect hurdling:rolleyes: and opening the shed door, they're not ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Put all cows up the chute today. Vacc for Salmonella, clipped tails and freeze brands.

Heifers tomorrow, clip tails, dose and Salmonella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Anyone thinking of shaking some fertiliser with the temps we have?;)

delaval wrote: »
    Put all cows up the chute today. Vacc for Salmonella, clipped tails and freeze brands.

Heifers tomorrow, clip tails, dose and Salmonella

Do ye use a big hand shears or small hand shears to clip all them del? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

Anyone thinking of shaking some fertiliser with the temps we have?;)

saw a fellow in north tipp flat out at slurry to day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,685 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

jomoloney wrote: »
    saw a fellow in north tipp flat out at slurry to day
    Came across a few lads at it too.Id love to of went with a half bag of urea last week and slurry this week but it aint worth the risk,Some nosey ****e of a neighbour or passer by could land u right in it.Perfect weather for it though.Talking to one lad earlier in the week and got his final 50% of sfp on friday so he now feels its worth taking the chance.Calendar farming ,You got to love it