Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Timmaay wrote: »
    Some fun turning on the headlands?

That hill isn't that steep! Looks worse than it is really! Was ploughed and tilled years ago before there were tractors half as big as what's on it now! One of the fendts is only runnig a grubber or harrow of some sort. Check out wicklowcam.com if ya haven't seen it before, live feed from 1 of the security cameras on one mast, found it the other day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Zr105 wrote: »
    Check out wicklowcam.com if ya haven't seen it before,

Wicklow...... Where men are men and sheep are nervous :-)

I mean horses.... Horses are nervous.

Bizzum wrote: »
    Wicklow...... Where men are men and sheep are nervous :-)

I mean horses.... Horses are nervous.

To be honest i find that last bit to be quite distasteful in light of the unfortunate incidents that have happened not just in wicklow but country wide over the last couple of months.
    I wont even bother on the first bit

To be honest i find that last bit to be quite distasteful in light of the unfortunate incidents that have happened not just in wicklow but country wide over the last couple of months.

It's your prerogative to find anything you want distasteful, but don't go reading something into my post that isn't there.

Your right it is my prerogative and i know it may have been intended as a joke but i didnt see the need for it to be honest. Anyways we'll leave it at that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    The big C in both lungs im afraid. Tough week here.

Sorry to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Ah come on don't go putting words in a lads mouth. You know well wat he's saying and how twas ment.
    Don't go finding offence where ther is none.

I'm not trying to put words in any ones mouth, or tryin to read something into something thats not there, i know full well it was intended as a joke, a joke that was quite obviously pointed at the recent abuse of horses, for why else would they have reason to be nervous in wicklow.

I was simply stating that in my opinion, which I'm every bit as entitled to have as any of ye, was that it was distasteful. I also fail to see how the post had any relevance to mine other than to make the joke about wicklow. As was said earlier this is my prerogative on the post, yours may be different and thats fair enough,

Whoa there........ I didn't mean to cause offence. I was only horsing around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Whoa there........ I didn't mean to cause offence. I was only horsing around.

Would Sir care for a shovel to replace his stirring spoon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

fcuk sake this a chit chat thread, not a grumpy old men convention,

quit the bitching and infighting, if ya dont like something report it to the mods, otherwise just enjoy the crack, life is fcuking serious enough

The 4 suckler cows behind the Trooper worked out the finest.
    No doubt some disappointment awaits, be it weight or grade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

hugo29 wrote: »

quit the bitching and infighting, if ya dont like something report it to the mods, otherwise just enjoy the crack, life is fcuking serious enough

I find that comment quite distasteful towards grumpy old men....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

I find that comment quite distasteful towards grumpy old men....:D
    Ah hes one himself sure :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Zr105, it could be worse, he could have called you a Welsh man! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hugo29 wrote: »

I just reported your post :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

I just reported your post :)

good man, could do with a chat with Reilg or Rovi;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Dosed weanling heifers today. One of them coughed up aloud of spit on my face...not nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

Mine are over the 6 months tho

It will still work. Your vet can get it for you, 1kg bag or 4x1kg bags in a box or if you have a lot of animals to treat you can get a 25kg bag if you know someone with a pig number and it works out a lot cheaper
    Word of caution: if you get an inspection and they see that you have used it in the remedies section make sure you tell them that you measured and administered it INDIVIDUALLY to each animal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

On the road most of the day today. Seen 3 artic lorries of urea in my travels. Even my dad was on about spreading some urea yesterday as were opening the pit.Some weather for this time of year eh

A solid separator for slurry. They seem to be on every second farm in Northern Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭fredweena

jersey101 wrote: »
    Dosed weanling heifers today. One of them coughed up aloud of spit on my face...not nice

A foal with a rotton cold sneezed on me the other day. I had a terrible hangover and nearly gagged. It was rotton. A neighbour was once dosing heifers with an old dosing bottle and whatever way the heifer moved her head he managed to tip half the dose down his own throat.

fredweena wrote: »
    A foal with a rotton cold sneezed on me the other day. I had a terrible hangover and nearly gagged. It was rotton. A neighbour was once dosing heifers with an old dosing bottle and whatever way the heifer moved her head he managed to tip half the dose down his own throat.

id say that was a nick trip to the hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

jersey101 wrote: »
    id say that was a nick trip to the hospital.

Not atall, A JD Chaser and he' be grand!!!

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Not atall, A JD Chaser and he' be grand!!!

id somehow doubt that ha. Lad in my discussion grouo got pour on on his hand and was sick for a week after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭fredweena

Hospital!! The man is so contrary he wouldn't go to one if his leg fell off. He just carried on and then went home and had the tea. Didn't knock a step out of him. His wife didn't sleep for a week with the worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

I know some of you aren't too fond of them, but Teagasc have uploaded a good few videos from a recent conference, soem decent info in them. One thing that stood out was, there are more farmers over 85 than there are under 35 :eek:

http://www.youtube.com/user/TeagascMedia/videos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Nothing like the smell of clutch when your trying to get it rolling :P

As a mechanic once said to me "burn rubber not clutches it's cheaper". Let out the clutch good and lively and give her holly:eek::eek:

Damo810 wrote: »
    I know some of you aren't too fond of them, but Teagasc have uploaded a good few videos from a recent conference, soem decent info in them. One thing that stood out was, there are more farmers over 85 than there are under 35 :eek:

http://www.youtube.com/user/TeagascMedia/videos

That's some statistic about the age profile of farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

That's some statistic about the age profile of farmers

I'd say its slightly skewed though. Running multiple herds out of one yard brings a lot of hassle. So there's probably a lot of lads under the age of 35 that are farming with their parents and don't have their own herd number.

I'm pretty sure the statistics would leave them out even though they could be doing most or all the farming.