Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cyclists, rules of the road, a bit of cop on!

rubadub wrote: »
    you never once managed to knock them off, that's pretty pathetic in fairness, your walter mitty hard man act is failing badly. You should easily be able to at least kick a kid or old man off a bike, I know I could.

yep. pretty good going to keep shoving cyclists and fail to knock a single one off their bike. it's almost as if.... it didn't happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

CramCycle wrote: »
    As below, the car should not attempt to complete the overtake on a corner, ever, its poor driving and a huge lack of foresight, the driver would be destroyed in court by any half decent solicitor.

No matter what way you cut it, if the bicycle was turning or not, the car made the mistake. Assumption as they say is the mother of all F ups. Replace the cyclist with a motorcyclist and it remains the same, your overtaking on a corner. If the cyclist was hit, he could claim he was taking the corner wide for his own safety etc. the motorist cannot claim he thinks that the cyclist was turning and that he "should" have had enough space.
    Driving 101.

Imagine the cyclist was on the right and decides to turn left, then the car hits him because it was unavoidable, then the cyclist is at fault for the same reasons as above, he should have slotted in behind rather than trying such a silly maneuveur.

Have to disagree with you there, if I'm turning left and there is a cyclist (any vehicle ) supposed to be turning left I'm not going to be expecting him to go straight on. I'm already going to be starting to move expecting to slot in behind as he takes the corner not have him going perpendicular to his correct course!
    The effect is 2 vehicles closing, caused by the cyclist failing to obey vehicle direction signage, now given that the cyclist is probably only a couple of feet away then the closing distance can be very little for a motorist to react in, a classic cause of any collision is the reaction time to an unexpected occurence, fortuneately due to the slow take off speed of the majority of motorists turning, I suspect that the majority of times where this would happen the result is little more than a bit of horn blowing and calling for all cyclists to be castrated to prevent them breeding :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

What's with the lack of rain lately? Nothing I like doing more than driving fast through a big puddle and splashing water all over cyclists. Great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Yellow121 wrote: »
    What's with the lack of rain lately? Nothing I like doing more than driving fast through a big puddle and splashing water all over cyclists. Great fun.

That's a shocking attitude. I'm disgusted. At first I thought you were just posting to be inflammatory and annoying, but then I realised that you were going out of your way to look for puddles that are deeper in the middle of the road than the side, and waiting by them until a cyclist cycles into them before making your move. On those rare days when they won't already be soaked from rain, I could see how annoying and dangerous your manoeuvre would be. The length of time it would take to wait for this, and amount of preparation it would take show a truly depraved criminal mind!

Or you could just be making it up, and are still a few years shy of the legal driving age yet? Let us all know how the driving lessons in your little chicken chaser go when the time comes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

It depends on the layout of the road, i was driving down Dyke Parade and had entered the lane for bachelors quay, there was a cyclist to my left of me, the lights were red and the cyclist was quicker to react and went to cycle on straight instead of turning left, i nearly ran him over had to stop, he should have been to the right of me since he was continuing on Dyke Parade, he was poorly lit too, what would the law be if i had mowed him down that morning?
    This happened in Cork City.

If you were level with the cyclist at that junction then you must have been parked in the bike box at the junction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

some day one of those cyclists will catch up with you at the next set of lights.......now that'll be fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,645 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

rambutman wrote: »
    some day one of those cyclists will catch up with you at the next set of lights.......now that'll be fun

no need to be violent, one of them will have a camera eventually. Simply hand it in to the Gardai for a dangerous driving conviction. Or report the incident if you get the reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

no need to be violent, one of them will have a camera eventually. Simply hand it in to the Gardai
    Hand it into discovery channel for a paranormal tv show. These phantom hardmen vigilantes don't exist, except in their own cowardly sad pathetic minds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Just to veer away from the topic for a moment; did anyone get a polemic of an email notification from CyclistsAreThe Scum_Of_The Fukcing Earth last week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

Hand it into discovery channel for a paranormal tv show. These phantom hardmen vigilantes don't exist, except in their own cowardly sad pathetic minds.

No need to come to the assumption i was nominating myself as a hard man. There's always someone tougher than you out there and if you go around looking for agro, splashing people by driving through puddles, getting out of your car to give someone an earful, etc etc......you'll eventually cross the wrong person.

I've been cycling, driving and walking in Dublin - even pushed a buggy around for a bit. There's nob-ends on every form of transport..........stay sensible, stay safe, stay calm. Rules of the road aren't worth a sh1t to you if you're on the ground with your head split open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭alwayssideways

no need to be violent, one of them will have a camera eventually. Simply hand it in to the Gardai for a dangerous driving conviction. Or report the incident if you get the reg.

Hand in a video of someone driving through a puddle?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Like that fool on youtube shouting reg numbers all over the place and abusing people?

Teh guards don't give a damn about cyclists whinging unless one of them actually got killed.

rambutman wrote: »
    No need to come to the assumption i was nominating myself as a hard man.
    I wasn't having a go at you, I agree with your point. I am saying most of the guys claiming to do this stuff in the first place are just dreaming liars. If they did it then it would be believable that they will get a beating at some stage.

I can see how you picked me up wrong, I was saying "vigilante" which was in reference to the guys claiming to assault law breaking cyclists. The guy claiming to soak people is just lying about being an antisocial prick, weird thing to lie/brag about.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1220013/Driver-faces-prosecution-deliberately-soaking-children-puddles--posting-video-online.html
    http://www.thisisgloucestershire.co.uk/Puddle-wars-drivers-deliberately-splash/story-16481586-detail/story.html#axzz2n4E8zzVO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah. You know you're driving a metric tonne of steel at speeds beyond the capabilites of most other organisms on the planet.

It's not a fncking toy, and thankfully authorities are copping onto this fact and prosecuting anyone who uses it like a toy and not what it's actually built for - getting from A to B quicker.

MrCreosote wrote: »
    That's a shocking attitude. I'm disgusted. At first I thought you were just posting to be inflammatory and annoying, but then I realised that you were going out of your way to look for puddles that are deeper in the middle of the road than the side, and waiting by them until a cyclist cycles into them before making your move. On those rare days when they won't already be soaked from rain, I could see how annoying and dangerous your manoeuvre would be. The length of time it would take to wait for this, and amount of preparation it would take show a truly depraved criminal mind!

Or you could just be making it up, and are still a few years shy of the legal driving age yet? Let us all know how the driving lessons in your little chicken chaser go when the time comes around.

Since there's a lack of rain about I've had to do other stuff to get my thrills. I've found driving about a metre behind cyclists to be quite amusing, the look of fear when the cyclists turn around to see my big beast of a van on their tail is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

Since there's a lack of rain about I've had to do other stuff to get my thrills. I've found driving about a metre behind cyclists to be quite amusing, the look of fear when the cyclists turn around to see my big beast of a van on their tail is hilarious.

Hilarious? Funny sense of humour you have, and not ha ha funny...

penguin88 wrote: »
    Hilarious? Funny sense of humour you have, and not ha ha funny...

If cyclists don't like it then they can get off me fookin road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

If cyclists don't like it then they can get off me fookin road!

Oh I certainly wouldn't mind. To be honest I'd find it hilarious having a van driver tootling along behind me at half the speed limit for his own amusement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

I think people need real problems in their lives and not getting their panties in a bunch over this thread.

Some cyclists are complete as*holes. Equally some motorists are complete as*holes.

Life goes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,428 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

I think people need real problems in their lives and not getting their panties in a bunch over this thread.

Some cyclists are complete as*holes. Equally some motorists are complete as*holes.

Life goes on

Some cyclists are also motorists! ... It's a mad world eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Some cyclists are also motorists! ... It's a mad world eh?

Some (but not many) cyclists are heterosexual. Its a mad world what with all that lycra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

68 pages in and what have we learned? cyclists and motorists are tw@ts in equal measures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Don't forget to smile for the rear-facing helmet cam while you're doing it. That will make it nice and easy for the Gardai and/or your employer to catch up with you once the cyclist reports it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I wonder what you're trying to compensate for......;)

Some (but not many) cyclists are heterosexual. Its a mad world what with all that lycra

Again with the lycra @apkebcfrxvlms4, for someone who seems to not have much time for cycling, you seem to have a well rooted fetish fascination with cycling attire.

the look of fear when the cyclists turn around to see my big beast of a van on their tail is hilarious.
    Appropriate user name, cowardly fool, well really you're simply a liar.
    Not surprising to see homophobic comments here. I maintained before that cyclists are one of the few groups left that people do not care about being openly prejudiced against. In past generations they would have been openly racist, sexist or homophobic -these sad pathetic fools have to get their anger vented somehow I suppose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

RainyDay wrote: »
    Don't forget to smile for the rear-facing helmet cam while you're doing it. That will make it nice and easy for the Gardai and/or your employer to catch up with you once the cyclist reports it.

Did you ever hear such nonsense?

The gardai and your employer getting involved because you pissed off some numpty on a bicycyle...dream on with your "Rear facing helmet cam".

chopper6 wrote: »
    some numpty on a bicycyle
    What is a "numpty", I'm guessing its an insult, in which case you are insulting yourself too -unless you are now going to claim you have never cycled a bike before. Wouldn't surprise me with your previous laughable lies.

You do realise this other liar/dreamer is just saying he does this to any cyclist, not one who has done something he considers wrong/annoying/illegal.

Swords CC are taking new Members at the moment. There is a special reduced price for new members on the club Bib shorts and jersey. check out the membership page on our website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

chopper6 wrote: »
    Did you ever hear such nonsense?

The gardai and your employer getting involved because you pissed off some numpty on a bicycyle...dream on with your "Rear facing helmet cam".

Don't be so sure - having been almost taken out of it by a driver of a well known courier firm on the airport road once, I took the details of the vehicle and reported the matter - the firm confirmed the driver was suspended pending an investigation and asked me to provide a statement to the depot manager.

When I did, the manager asked if I'd be satisfied with the driver being suspended for a week - I said I would be as long as it was a genuine suspension and he assured me it was.

Of course, the fact that we had an account with them at the time might have focused their attention.

EDIT:- From the Cycling Forum
    Appropriate user name, cowardly fool, well really you're simply a liar.

Not surprising to see homophobic comments here. I maintained before that cyclists are one of the few groups left that people do not care about being openly prejudiced against. In past generations they would have been openly racist, sexist or homophobic -these sad pathetic fools have to get their anger vented somehow I suppose.

.....one of the other groups is gingers - meaning I'm doubly f&cked!