Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclists, rules of the road, a bit of cop on!

• 07-02-2013 11:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

IMO cyclists seem to think they own the road, just the other day I was crossing through a yellow box into the petrol station, traffic was back up from the lights (red light) through the box. A cyclist was FLYING down the cycle lane not looking ahead and nearly slammed into the side of the car as I was pulling into the petrol station. He then followed me into the petrol station and began to beat on my car, calling my girlfriend a C**t etc scaring the **** out of her in the car.

Everyone in the petrol station and traffic was watching like WTF is up with this guy. 2 people approached me afterward saying they saw the whole thing and the cyclist was definetly in the wrong, flying down the inside lane not looking ahead at all, when the light infront of him were red and almost causing an accident.

Pretty sure cyclist have to obey the rules of the road also, this would include stopping before the yellow box in traffic? am I wrong.

And how many times a day do you see cyclists breaking red lights/filters etc?? A HELL OF A LOT MORE THEN OTHER VEHICLES!!

Its an absolute joke and then, they come on hear and moan about car users....

No car user had the intention of goin out an causing an accident, purposely breaking lights, road signs etc. But cyclists do ALL the time.

Cyclists more than any other people on the road should be exercising more caution, you are totally exposed for christs sake!

get over yourselves

OBEY THE RULES OF THE ROAD!

rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Wah wah wah, whinge whinge whinge. Other people are idiots. They're idiots when they walk, they're idiots when they drive and they're idiots when they cycle. The sooner you accept this as an immutable fact of life, the sooner you will learn to just get on with life.

Report the road rage incident to the Gardai.

srumball wrote: »
    A cyclist was FLYING down the cycle lane not looking ahead and nearly slammed into the side of the car as I was pulling into the petrol station.

Did you check your mirror before turning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tommythecat

I think what he did afterwards was competely out of order however if i understand you correctly the cars were stopped but his lane was free? Cyclists are not required to stop just because cars are in a traffic jam. Their lane is free so they are perfectly entitled to continue cyclling as far as the lights. If you are crossing the road in your car it is up to you to yield to oncoming traffic (bikes included)

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

So essentially one cyclist acted like an asshole, so you've now decided that all cyclists are to blame?

Do you apply this logic to people's races or nationalities?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Maybe car drivers, bus drivers and white van man might do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

No car user had the intention of goin out an causing an accident, purposely breaking lights, road signs etc. But cyclists do ALL the time.

get over yourselves

Not a cyclist...but... I have deleted out the rest of the rant as ...well its a rant.... kept the 2 bits above... one is to highlight absolute nonsense (yeah..every cyclist I know says every day they go out...right I must cause an accident today)

The second is to advise you to take your own advice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Think we all need a bit more info in order to pass our judgement down upon thee scrumball?

Lets assume you indicated for a starters? Where else was the cyclist to go except on the inside? No cycle lanes available? No room at all for the cyclist to move forward after the yellow box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

It sounds to me like you were in the wrong, OP. The cyclist was proceeding in his own lane, which you pulled across without checking that there were no other road-users coming up behind you. It is your responsibility to check that the cycle lane is clear before crossing it.

I can't tell you how many times I've nearly been killed by car drivers turning left without checking the cycle lane. Worst of all are the ones that overtake you, and then immediately pull in in front of you.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

If you pulled across the cycle lane then you are completely in the wrong. If a cyclist had to slam on the breaks because you cut across his lane then that's on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The cyclists can go and pay some road tax before they start complaining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭MrScootch

So you pulled in front of a cyclist travelling at speed and wonder why he was annoyed?
    You say he wasn't looking but you saw him 'FLYING down the cycle lane' and still moved your car into his lane?

Sounds like you nearly caused an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

guess im just still angry at the way he reacted hitting the car and abusing my gf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

You sound like a terrible driver.

Cienciano wrote: »

What an idiotic thing to say. I pay road tax for my car but i commute via bike so stick that in your pipe and schmoke it.

MrScootch wrote: »
    So you pulled in front of a cyclist travelling at speed and wonder why he was annoyed?
    You say he wasn't looking but you saw him 'FLYING down the cycle lane' and still moved your car into his lane?

Sounds like you nearly caused an accident.

i didnt see him, some lady on the garage forecourt told me after he ran off after hitting the care and abusing my passanger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

awec wrote: »
    If you pulled across the cycle lane then you are completely in the wrong. If a cyclist had to slam on the breaks because you cut across his lane then that's on you.

This is the nub of it. However, you should report the incident on the forecourt.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

There is no such thing as road tax ffs.

i didnt see him,

Good lord, check your mirrors before you make any manoeuvres
    The world exists outside you and your car

What's road tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Driving School Groupon for 1 please...

Intelligent response there. Well done.

How about pedestrians crossing the road, people on horseback, farmers moving livestock?

guess im just still angry at the way he reacted hitting the car and abusing my gf.

Well is it any wonder he was angry you could have actually killed him.

It's motor tax, not road tax. Show me where the motor on a pushbike is.

Well, he'd just had the shock of his life, what with a car pulling directly in front of him and nearly causing an accident in which he could have been seriously injured. While I would never condone the use of violence or vulgarity, I can't really blame the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I pay more road tax than you. I also Cycle. Does that mean i can complain twice as much ? or 3 times as much depending on what junker you are driving.

rofl rofl

IMO cyclists seem to think they own the road, just the other day I was crossing through a yellow box into the petrol station, traffic was back up from the lights (red light) through the box. A cyclist was FLYING down the cycle lane not looking ahead and nearly slammed into the side of the car as I was pulling into the petrol station. He then followed me into the petrol station and began to beat on my car, calling my girlfriend a C**t etc scaring the **** out of her in the car.

Everyone in the petrol station and traffic was watching like WTF is up with this guy. 2 people approached me afterward saying they saw the whole thing and the cyclist was definetly in the wrong, flying down the inside lane not looking ahead at all, when the light infront of him were red and almost causing an accident.
    Reading this is the yellow box at some point before the lights rather than after the lights?

If that is the case then you did pull out across his path.

bluewolf wrote: »
    Good lord, check your mirrors before you make any manoeuvres
    The world exists outside you and your car

I was in the opposing lane coming across a yellow box into the garage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭HTML5!

Some of that lycra gear is a little embarrassing.

Thats even worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

retarded post is retarded...its a motor tax by the way sheesh

http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Great!
    In that case so can motorists....since they pay MOTOR tax.

Until they pay road tax i guess they can't complain either.

Thats even worse!

maybe you should have been there, the 2 people who approached me after the incident seemed to agree.

was just a rant, before this gets out of hand Mod should lock it, going nowhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭smackyB

Then you need to check that ALL lanes are clear before proceeding across the road. Get yourself some driving lessons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

this thread is giving me road rage, just sitting in front of my computer

maybe you should have been there, the 2 people who approached me after the incident seemed to agree.

Its irrelevant what THEY think its the rules of the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

IMO motorists seem to think they own the road, just this morning I was standing at a pedestrian light, traffic light goes red, pedestrian light goes green and the motorist who is on the phone just drives straight through.

Now the reason this really really annoyed me was that a child was killed 12 months ago at same traffic lights when exactly the same thing happened, poor kid walking across on a green man, and all the bunches of flowers and soccer jerseys that his mates put up and little bits of graffiti that his friends wrote on the traffic light are all still there. And our motorist friend on the phone just drove straight through.

Pretty sure motorists have to obey the rules of the road also, this would include stopping at a red light? am I wrong.

And how many times a day do you see motorists stopping in yellow boxes?? A HELL OF A LOT MORE THEN OTHER VEHICLES!!

Its an absolute joke and then, they come on hear and moan about bike users....

No bike user had the intention of goin out an causing an accident, purposely breaking lights, road signs etc. But motorists do ALL the time.

Motorists more than any other people on the road should be exercising more caution, your machines are killers!

Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Pretty sure cyclist have to obey the rules of the road also, this would include stopping before the yellow box in traffic? am I wrong.

And how many times a day do you see cyclists breaking red lights/filters etc?? A HELL OF A LOT MORE THEN OTHER VEHICLES!!

Its an absolute joke and then, they come on hear and moan about car users....

Cyclists more than any other people on the road should be exercising more caution, you are totally exposed for christs sake!

get over yourselves

rant over

ah good another one of these threads, so becuase you seen an idiot cyclist ALL cyclists are idiots.

and you say he was in a cycle lane, was there anything between him and the lights?

going by what you said you crossed through another lane without looking. If there was someone walking across the entrance to the garage would you have stopped for them?

And he was well in his right to yell IMO. you seem to have been the eejit reading through your post again. i have lost count of the number of time i have been cut off when i used to cycle (i'm 6 foot 2 and flly kitted in bright reflective gear so kinda hard to miss) i've ended up hitting the side of cars because they turned into me. I've ended up over bonnets and roofs. Being a cyclist is a nightmare with drivers who only look for other cars.

And next time you go into that entrance bet you are gonna look out for cyclists and because of that you might see someone else coming and stop instead of hitting them.

Its irrelevant what THEY think its the rules of the road!

Agreed and as I previously stated I was still angry when I posted this. I could have taken more care, but I still would not have seen him. He literally came out of nowhere. I was creeping across the box and still didnt see him.

Saying that he was still going TOO fast approaching RED lights (about 20 foot ahead) in traffic in rush hour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

So you crossed over into his lane without checking the way was clear, nearly took him out of it and he is the one who needs to cop on??

You mean everyone isn't agreeing with you. Quite right, too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

sounds like the OP deserves a smack.

of the rules of the road handbook!

bad2dabone wrote: »
    sounds like the OP deserves a smack.

wanna come give me one?

Agreed and as I previously stated I was still angry when I posted this. I could have taken more care, but I still would not have seen him. He literally came out of nowhere. I was creeping across the box and still didnt see him.

Saying that he was still going TOO fast approaching RED lights (about 20 foot ahead) in traffic in rush hour!

He didn't come out of nowhere, he was travelling in his own lane. How fast he was travelling is not your concern, as you found out this morning bicycles have a much smaller stopping distance than cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

going nowhere or just realised that not everyone agreeing with you and you see that you too were in the wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

wanna come give me one?

sure you wouldn't see it coming :D

He literally came out of nowhere.

I cannot believe you seriously just said that.

Ah Here, Come off it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

OP 100% in the wrong, glad the cyclist avoided injury.

danniemcq wrote: »
    going nowhere or just realised that not everyone agreeing with you and you see that you too were in the wrong

Again had you been there i'm sure you would be denouncing his own reckless endangerment.

Also haven't seen anybody defending the fact that many more cyclists proceed through red lights then motorists, introducing more danger to themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Pretty sure cyclist have to obey the rules of the road also, this would include stopping before the yellow box in traffic? am I wrong...

Yes.
    Its an absolute joke..

Yes. But you could have killed him.
    maybe you should have been there, the 2 people who approached me after the incident seemed to agree. ...

Maybe they don't know the rules either.

The only thing I do agree with you, is the cyclist was probably going too fast. While he should have seen you, you should have seen him.

When you calm down, theres lessons to be learnt here. Thats what to take from this.