Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cyclists, rules of the road, a bit of cop on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

beauf wrote: »
    That's based on the premise that studying the ROTR makes you safer on the road. How can that be, if the people most familiar with the ROTR are the ones having the most accidents.

Are you telling me that someone who has no knowledge of the ROTR is safer?
    LOL

Jawgap wrote: »
    Passing a test is not a proof of competency - it's only proof of an ability to pass tests......

Sigh.
    How can you pass a test on being a competent driver without being competent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Jester252 wrote: »
    Are you telling me that someone who has no knowledge of the ROTR is safer?
    LOL

Over 941,000 penalty points were issued to drivers for driving offences in 2012 - if knowledge of the RotR is the hallmark of a safe and competent driver, how come so many points are issued to drivers?

Sigh.
    How can you pass a test on being a competent driver without being competent?

Same way a person can nail 650 points on their leaving cert, ace their medical school exams and go on to be a crap doctor!

You can drive to pass the test, it's not "real world" driving - it's driving test driving :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Some posters should have the use of the roll eyes smiley removed. That's all I have to add really

SV wrote: »
    Some posters should have the use of the roll eyes smiley removed. That's all I have to add really :rolleyes::mad:

FYP :D

Over 941,000 penalty points were issued to drivers for driving offences in 2012 - if knowledge of the RotR is the hallmark of a safe and competent driver, how come so many points are issued to drivers?

If you read the thread I already answer this. Overconfidence, lapse in concentration etc.
    Do you honestly thing that it is safe for you and other road user to have someone use the road without any knowledge of the ROTR? Why is it a bad thing to want road users to show that they have some knowledge of the ROTR by taking a test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

But that's 941,000 points issued to people who have taken the time to obtain a license, if points were available to give to cyclists I would expect to see just as many pro rata, so not really an argument,

EDIT Will be interesting to see how FPNs effect cyclist behavior but given the constraints of no registration and no need to carry identification I foresee a lot of people getting away with a lot of offences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,461 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Never said anything about cyclist killing people ..
    ...Not killing other with your lack of competency
    ...The majority of cyclist accidents only involve a single bicycle. ..

How would the ROTR help with accidents where a single bicycle is involved.
    A study conducted in 2000 by the Institute for Road Safety Research in the Netherlands found that single bicycle accidents accounted for 47% of all bicycle accidents,
    between 60% and 85% of serious cyclist injuries are the result of negligence by a motor driver...

This is what one would expect from thermodynamics; a cyclist only accident only provides a small amount of energy whereas a motor vehicle can provide a lot. The injuries are related to the energy available. Falling off and hitting obstructions tend to be relatively minor, usually not involving any hospital attention, so no appearance in the statistics. Motor vehicles add a lot of energy; even at very low speeds...
    Its a test shows that the road user has some understanding of the ROTR, is that a bad thing?

Its not the panacea of safety, you are promoting it as.

If you read the thread I already answer this. Overconfidence, lapse in concentration etc.
    Do you honestly thing that it is safe for you and other road user to have someone use the road without any knowledge of the ROTR? Why is it a bad thing to want road users to show that they have some knowledge of the ROTR by taking a test?

Pedestrians too?

Mobility scooter users?

At what age should a cyclist have to take this test and they should be allowed cycle before they past their test?

And why are people allowed drive on a provisional licence in a car without dual controls?

How would the ROTR help with accidents where a single bicycle is involved.

With regards to the ROTR section for cyclsit

Its not the panacea of safety, you are promoting it as.

Why is it a bad thing to have proof that a road user has some knowledge of the ROTR? Do you think its safe to stick a guy on the a busy roundabout with no experience or no knowledge of the ROTR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,645 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

it's not necessarily a bad thing, simply not required.
    only users of motor powered vehicles are required to do a test, no other road users are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

The standard of driving in Ireland is pretty poor, in general. You only have to drive the M50 ring road to see this in action. Yes it's a ring road, not a motorway.

I am excluding the under 25's (more or less) mostly males, as they can't help that stuff. We They are like young rucking stags for those years. Sad but true. Blame genitcs! Most do get sense eventually.

There are a few arséhole cyclist too. Maybe they are under 25 too?
    If not, lets just put that down to possibly their general personality and not tar all cyclists with the same brush. There are quite a few arséhole drivers too.

Being on a bike, my, and possibly other cyclists main aim, is to stay alive; while getting to our destination.
    I don't think a lot of car drivers, including myself, have this as a first thought when they get into a car. But on a bike I do.

Occasionally I have to do what I refer to as the Motorcycle manoeuvre.

I pretend I am on a motor cycle.

That is why at the walkinstown roundabout I am taking over the whole lane. Sorry I am not as fast as you would like taking off but I do so in the knowledge that I have read the traffic right and will make it to my exit without impeding traffic. I have been beeped at once and that was by someone who decided to accelerate across the rounadabout.

As a car driver and a cyclist I have learnt one easy indicator to spot a more or less wanting car driver. Just note the angle of their wing mirrors. If they are at an angle that they the driver, can see the arse of their car in, then be careful. If you are behind them and you can see their face in the mirror, they are doing it wrong....

The "M" in "M50" would disagree. I do think some typical cyclist behaviour is pretty bad. I will say however that how I have seen motorists behave on approaching a roundabout where I have entered on a bicycle at the previous exit. Hint I have the right of way if I approach the roundabout from your right.

Pedestrians too?

Mobility scooter users?

At what age should a cyclist have to take this test and they should be allowed cycle before they past their test?

And why are people allowed drive on a provisional licence in a car without dual controls?

Pedestrians and mobility scooter only use the road to cross it, they don't use roundabouts or have to make turns. Stop straw manning

16 for access to the road under that you can use the footpath.

Why should learner cyclist be allowed on the road without an experience cyclist? I can straw man too

Spook_ie wrote: »
    But that's 941,000 points issued to people who have taken the time to obtain a license, if points were available to give to cyclists I would expect to see just as many pro rata, so not really an argument,

EDIT Will be interesting to see how FPNs effect cyclist behavior but given the constraints of no registration and no need to carry identification I foresee a lot of people getting away with a lot of offences

Without enforcement, not a lot will change I expect.

Be that cyclists going through red lights, drivers on mobiles.

Can believe that so many cyclist would get butt hurt at the taught of doing a test on the rules of the road. I'm out

Pedestrians and mobility scooter only use the road to cross it, they don't use roundabouts or have to make turns. Stop straw manning

16 for access to the road under that you can use the footpath.

Why should learner cyclist be allowed on the road without an experience cyclist? I can straw man too

What about people who live outside cities and towns - they do more than just cross roads.

So, no more cycling to school, then?

...Why should learner cyclist be allowed on the road without an experience cyclist? I can straw man too

Why shouldn't they?

Also why are drivers allowed on a road without an experienced driver. Because having your test doesn't mean you are experienced.

Without enforcement, not a lot will change I expect.

Be that cyclists going through red lights, drivers on mobiles.

But there is enforcement otherwise where did they get the volunteers to take 941,000 penalty points?

EDIT

You may not consider there is sufficient enforcement but there is still enforcement, awaiting FPNs for cyclists with great interest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,645 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

But there is enforcement otherwise where did they get the volunteers to take 941,000 penalty points?

there is very very limited enforcement. Drive the m50 for a day and see the level of enforcement compared to the level of law breaking of all types for example.

Unless you're suggesting a police state or the resources of the NSA being targeted towards them you will always get a level of law breaking, just that with FPNs that law breaking for cyclists will have repercussions.

A few FPNs of €250 would put manners on a lot of cyclists :) of course if you had licenses and penalty points you could get a €50 fine and a point or two instead but cyclists in general don't want licenses

Unless you're suggesting a police state or the resources of the NSA being targeted towards them you will always get a level of law breaking, just that with FPNs that law breaking for cyclists will have repercussions.

A few FPNs of €250 would put manners on a lot of cyclists :) of course if you had licenses and penalty points you could get a €50 fine and a point or two instead but cyclists in general don't want licenses

Neither do the Guards, the Government, the RSA or anyone else - just a minority of people who don't understand public administration.

Are you willing to pay more in tax to pay for the cost of punishing cyclist. For a negligible effect on safety, (possibly a negative impact) and a increase in congestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

Biggest danger of all is when a motorist decides to take a left turn at a junction when a cyclist is going straight on, and is perfectly entitled to carry on his/her way without some knucklehead motorist deciding to cut them up. Are those fookers blind or what?? Or perhaps they don't seem to realise that cyclists are actually MOVING :rolleyes:
    SI332/2012

Since the poster refers to cyclists moving, I imagine their point related to a motorist overtaking a cyclist approaching a junction and trying to turn without fully completing the overtaking maneuver. SI332/2012 does not relate to this all to often an occurrence.

Neither do the Guards, the Government, the RSA or anyone else - just a minority of people who don't understand public administration.

Assuming that reply is referring to the costs of implicating a licensing system, is exactly why I reckon an FPN should be far in excess of the fine imposed on motorists for speeding etc. as a lot of cyclists like to highlight the disparity between motorist fines and FPNs as a facet of their arguments to reduce the cost of FPNs

Cost, complexity and proportionality - are you going to compel cyclists to carry id? What about teenagers - at what age would they be required to carry id just to use a bicycle!!

Enforcement of rule breaking by cyclists is already possible. Fixed penalty notices will just make the process easier for everyone.

penguin88 wrote: »
    Since the poster refers to cyclists moving, I imagine their point related to a motorist overtaking a cyclist approaching a junction and trying to turn without fully completing the overtaking maneuver. SI332/2012 does not relate to this all to often an occurrence.

Insufficient information given in the post to conclude for either occurrence, however, the SI332/2012 does seem to SPECIFICALLY preclude cyclists from overtaking on the left under SPECIFIC circumstances

I.e If I overtook a cyclist (safely) and were then indicating left to turn a little way up the street I wouldn't be expecting the cyclist to try overtaking on the left just because I'm slowing to make a turn

Cost, complexity and proportionality - are you going to compel cyclists to carry id? What about teenagers - at what age would they be required to carry id just to use a bicycle!!

If you aren't carrying ID and become subject of a FPN I believe the Garda is allowed to detain you until verification of your identity is completed, some people think that detaining the cycle may be sufficient and making the cyclist walk I'm open to either being applied as long as it is applied.

If cyclists find it too much of an imposition on their lifestyles then in the absence of cycling licenses I'd suggest you either stay law abiding or carry ID

Insufficient information given in the post to conclude for either occurrence, however, the SI332/2012 does seem to SPECIFICALLY preclude cyclists from overtaking on the left under SPECIFIC circumstances

I.e If I overtook a cyclist (safely) and were then indicating left to turn a little way up the street I wouldn't be expecting the cyclist to try overtaking on the left just because I'm slowing to make a turn

The previous poster complained about being cut up, which to me suggests an overtaking maneuver following by a left turn across the vehicle being overtaken so as to impede them. If an overtaking maneuver cannot be completed safely before turning left then it would be best to wait until the first vehicle has cleared the junction/turn.