Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

jersey101 wrote: »
    a country bumkin in the bigg smooke?? :O:O
    Went to college there :cool:
    I'll tip off the lads now shall i
    Yup, Give them a head start!
    moy83 wrote: »
    Id be happy enough if one of the young lads brought a country girl like yourself back but they are awhile away from the dating scene yet !

See above and be glad Moy. Very glad.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Could you imagine the state of the poor unfortunate after kovu got her hands on him :eek:...probably join the priesthood :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

I actually hate dub tbh. Dont mind going on the beer up there but as regards shopping and that craic i don't like the place

Could you imagine the state of the poor unfortunate after kovu got her hands on him :eek:...probably join the priesthood :D

Sure aren't they running out of priests anyway. I'd be helping!:)

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Sure aren't they running out of priests anyway. I'd be helping!:)

Doing the country a service are ya.....

What else would I be at!

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    What else would I be at!

You realise you could have opened the flood gates of the "one liners" there

No because I have faith in you all being polite gentlemen! And I'm for the leaba anois.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭35x

It's bad enough having turfcutters branded as criminals and having round-the-clock Garda patrols to monitor them while gangs like that lot in Tipp can drive around freely.
    Now there is another problem...people stealing turf. My neighbour has a reek of turf in the bog which he hasn't room for in his shed yet. However, over the past few weeks a small bit was taken but lately the amount has seriously increased.As there is little chance of constant patrols I'm looking for ideas to catch/identify/immobilise the culprits. I suggested hiding a cartridge in a sod - sure to get 'spectacular' results unless this hoor is selling it to some unsuspecting person. Any suggestions out there....keep them reasonably legitimate!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

35x wrote: »
    It's bad enough having turfcutters branded as criminals and having round-the-clock Garda patrols to monitor them while gangs like that lot in Tipp can drive around freely.
    Now there is another problem...people stealing turf. My neighbour has a reek of turf in the bog which he hasn't room for in his shed yet. However, over the past few weeks a small bit was taken but lately the amount has seriously increased.As there is little chance of constant patrols I'm looking for ideas to catch/identify/immobilise the culprits. I suggested hiding a cartridge in a sod - sure to get 'spectacular' results unless this hoor is selling it to some unsuspecting person. Any suggestions out there....keep them reasonably legitimate!!!!!

Can he hide a trail camera somewhere. Wouldn't be admissible evidence but might give some clues. Bog probably not the best place for hiding one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭visatorro

Never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

You should have been a better neighbour and helped him draw it home during the summer and he wouldn't have any problem. Sure you have the perfect tractor for it and all :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

And isn't it just the lads illegally cutting on protected bogs that are criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I see ye are adding great value to the timber, three heatings, cutting, splitting and burning. :confused:
    Woke up at 5am with a pain in my knee. By 6 i was rolling on the floor in bits pain up to my groin. rang doc on call, 2 hours to wait.! Came down the stairs on my ass. Got lift into a&e in a daze, was dizzy from the pain , was pure fooked. Got an infection and they dont know what it is. In here for a while.
    What a waste of a day

Any news? I hope you are much improved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

i see it all kicked off in the Reps payment thread again , want to fcuking close that thread altogether, its like abrea kebra on a saturday night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

hugo29 wrote: »
    i see it all kicked off in the Reps payment thread again , want to fcuking close that thread altogether, its like abrea kebra on a saturday night

Ahh shyte, keep missing all the agro. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

bbam wrote: »
    And isn't it just the lads illegally cutting on protected bogs that are criminals.

Until the designation gets spread across other bogs. Watch that space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

In ten years time all turf will be a thing of the past

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

bbam wrote: »

I heard that in Roscommon they had a novel way of getting around the wording of the act which stopped them from cutting. Basically the act states that you cannot cut turf from your turf bank and spread it on your bank. So the machines went in early one morning and cut every man's turf from his own bank but spread each hopper out on the next man's bank. When the inspector came in, each landowner that had turf spread on his bank told him "that's not my turf and it wasn't cut from my turf bank" ;)

They are still drawing turf off that bank every time I pass it :D

Marooned75 wrote: »
    In ten years time all turf will be a thing of the past

I hope not.

The price of timber has gone through the roof. Anyone without enough land to grow their own firewood is facing an awful expense. €1650 is the latest quote for a 25 ton load. At that price, oil would be cheaper and a hell of a lot handier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

reilig wrote: »
    I hope not.

The price of timber has gone through the roof. Anyone without enough land to grow their own firewood is facing an awful expense. €1650 is the latest quote for a 25 ton load. At that price, oil would be cheaper and a hell of a lot handier!

A 25 ton would last a long time surlly,I have a trailer of timber on the way,usually just burn turf,decided to see if timber is any better.
    Paid 350 for a trailer of turf,timber will be 130.put 600 euro in the oil tank a month ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

As the lady who can't be mentioned would say "FOOK"
    First a phuckin eejit, me left a gate open and a cow walked into a slurry pit. We fished her out with loader and chain, all well.

Dried some cows this am and a phuckin eejit left a gate open and allowed them mix, not me this time. We usually dry after milking but only a few this am so he did as milked. For good luck he put yellow tape on their tails.

So alls well that ends well, no porridge till 10am though, will be able to go for the day now???

naughto wrote: »
    A 25 ton would last a long time surlly,I have a trailer of timber on the way,usually just burn turf,decided to see if timber is any better.
    Paid 350 for a trailer of turf,timber will be 130.put 600 euro in the oil tank a month ago.

25 ton load will heat my house for 2 years because I have a specialised boiler for heating. With a basic range or stove you're looking at a little more than a year.

You also have to factor in the time taken to process the timber and the time taken to light, fill and clean the burning appliance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

delaval wrote: »
    First a phuckin eejit, me left a gate open and a cow walked into a slurry pit. We fished her out with loader and chain, all well. ??

There's always something.
    she dead or alive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

left a gate open and a cow walked into a slurry pit.

wait for the other lads to get on to ye now, they'll say its your own fault for havin inbred runts in the place. is the cow alive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Should've bought a Massey from your other neighbour, good hand brake on them.

That could've been much worse[/QUOTE

Had to go with that yoke, trying to keep the lad beside us happy and hopefully get all them nice big empty sheds that are now idle.
    Still cant fathom what happened, was in the dairy at that time washing the bulk tank when I see the tractor fly-by the window 3 feet away from us and into the bin, was a blast of wind that made it take-off, how the handbrake gave when she was on the flat beats me.

Thanks for the heads up on the sheds, I must give Winkey a call!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Any news? I hope you are much improved.

Feeling better today, wobbly on the legs. Still don't know what's wrong. Had a load of tests. Appetite is back though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hugo29 wrote: »

you wouldnt dream of going into the REPS thread during the day, night time and a couple of pints on board and you cant get enough of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Feeling better today, wobbly on the legs. Still don't know what's wrong. Had a load of tests. Appetite is back though!

Sounds like a serious dose of acute man-flu so, you were lucky you got to hospital on time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,114 ✭✭✭jaymla627

jaymla627 wrote: »

Thanks for the heads up on the sheds, I must give Winkey a call!!!!

Ha yeah wouldn't be going with your outdoor cubicles in that yard, between timber and tractor parts yeah still wouldn't swing a cat up there at the minute has some serious potential though.