Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

just do it wrote: »
    Vaccinated for pneumonia for the first time this autumn. A week later I brought 2 weanlings back from the mart. A few days later both were coughing and over the course of another few days another few were coughing. None got sick though nor got treatment, but it was a nervous time. I reckon the vaccination saved me.

It can buy you a serious amount of time if you run into problems with bought in stock. I amazed how little of the weanlings are vaccinated. I can afford to lose animals with pneumonia. What used to be a major killer thankfully now is at bay (touch wood). when your selling these animals make sure that you make it known that they are vaccinated, its worth double the cost when buying IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

He was in the shed with another 2 weanlings Muckit. We sold their mothers so the 3 of them were weaned together. He could have missed a dose alright blue but couldnt say for sure. Other 2 seem grand, no snots or coughing. Was never really a problem here with weanlings as far back as I can remember, had plenty of young calves get a bout of it alright though after a cold wet night. Dont really want to go down the road of vaccinating to be honest, Id be putting this one down to myself more so than the pneumonia. Completely my own fault for paying no heed to the warning signals. I wont make the same mistake again. He probably wouldnt have got it if he was outside.

Sometimes it can be hit and miss with these viruses. They can get a dirty nose and be a bit dul for a few days and may be able to fight it off themselves and pull through.

There is usually a stressor that has caused the immune system to be depressed. Likely causes in young cattle are weaning and/or the belting up and down trailers and whole rigmaroll of the mart.

10 days post stressor is the time to be on the look out. Up until then the virus in incubating. If the snotty nose turns into a pant and their sides are moving in and out from it and they have a high temperature, you definitely need to be acting upon it.

I had two this year that I had to pull out from pens and treat. All grand now. Had a full pen last year that got it. Held out for a few days and they all pulled through.

It's pissing off when you loose an animal, but sometimes even with the best will and mollycoddling in the world some of them are more inclined to throw the four legs up in the air than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Muckit wrote: »
    Sometimes it can be hit and miss with these viruses. They can get a dirty nose and be a bit dul for a few days and may be able to fight it off themselves and pull through.

There is usually a stressor that has caused the immune system to be depressed. Likely causes in young cattle are weaning and/or the belting up and down trailers and whole rigmaroll of the mart.

10 days post stressor is the time to be on the look out. Up until then the virus in incubating. If the snotty nose turns into a pant and their sides are moving in and out from it and they have a high temperature, you definitely need to be acting upon it.

I had two this year that I had to pull out from pens and treat. All grand now. Had a full pen last year that got it. Held out for a few days and they all pulled through.

It's pissing off when you loose an animal, but sometimes even with the best will and mollycoddling in the world some of them are more inclined to throw the four legs up in the air than others.

Couldn't agree more with the bolded bit. we had a mad hoor of a heifer here had a section and forced her guts out the hole four times. The vet myself and the boss all had our hands in pushing them back against her forcing. whole operation took 2 1/2 hours. Needless to say hygiene had went out the window. The vet reckoned it was the hardest job of her 20 year career. We reckoned that the heifer was as good as gone from the whole thing, yet she is that ill and stubborn that she never looked back and is flying ever since. If she was a nice quiet placid lady she would have died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

whelan1 wrote: »

I think these are banned in the Republic of Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Depends on what you are using it for :D

would it keep 'her' quiet? could be worth the money! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

dharn wrote: »
    Depends on what you are using it for :D
    would it keep 'her' quiet? could be worth the money! :pac:

:eek::D

how does it work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Definitely banned, had a dangerous Limo that I wanted the vet to squeeze, and asked them if they had one of these devices. The reply she give me, left me in no doubt that she would rather use it on me than the Limo!

Also have read that after the use of it, some cattle go berserk when its switched off.

Whelan, it is inserted into the anus, and delivers an electrical current like a stun gun, paralysing the animal, freezing them in place.

how does it work?

Just stick it in the ahem..... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Just stick it in the ahem..... :cool:

Another delightful product from New Zealand.

Thought it was a dildo at first glance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

mf240 wrote: »
    Another delightful product from New Zealand.

Thought it was a dildo at first glance.

i thought it was a vibrator :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

jersey101 wrote: »
    i thought it was a vibrator :D

Keep away from those twins so.:D:D:D

no need for me to bring one of them with me for them :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

jersey101 wrote: »
    no need for me to bring one of them with me for them :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

may bring two or they could fight.

was spreading lime here today, some serious grass on the reseeds. Mist of them stopped 3 weeks and they were bare at that, should have a nice flake of grass for the first week in feb :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I saw one used. They are indeed banned now.

Bizzum wrote: »
    I saw one used. They are indeed banned now.
    they mustnt be banned in the uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I dont think they are banned, they are not stunners which are banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I could easily be mixing this one up with the stunner. The thing I saw working was different (now that I think about it), in that there was no probe, I seem to remember attaching a crocodile clip to the tail instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Bizzum wrote: »
    I could easily be mixing this one up with the stunner. The thing I saw working was different (now that I think about it), in that there was no probe, I seem to remember attaching a crocodile clip to the tail instead.
    I remember them things now, only ever seen it used once about 8 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭gazahayes

Milked cows for a lad who had one years ago. He had one cow who would be grand one minute and just kick the clusters off the next used it on her and not a bother. It could be turned up or down. Couldn't figure out how it worked tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Be a great yoke bob for getting rid of unwanted girlfriends, have it hanging on the bedroom door,

What were you looking for whelan1 when you found that thing;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

hugo29 wrote: »
    Be a great yoke bob for getting rid of unwanted girlfriends, have it hanging on the bedroom door,
    A fella gave me great advice in the pub last night about how to get rid of women :rolleyes: DRINK he said and dont stop until their bags and bagage is gone .
    Four days on the beer is usually enough but you would want to allow a week solid at it for a stubborn one he reckoned :D

moy83 wrote: »
    A fella gave me great advice in the pub last night about how to get rid of women :rolleyes: DRINK he said and dont stop until their bags and bagage is gone .
    Four days on the beer is usually enough but you would want to allow a week solid at it for a stubborn one he reckoned :D
    Gonna take his advice are ya

Im not fit for that kinda work :D I had 5/6 cans of cider last night and thought my head would burst today , I was a couple of hours on the consaw first thing which didnt help :mad:

moy83 wrote: »
    Im not fit for that kinda work :D I had 5/6 cans of cider last night and thought my head would burst today , I was a couple of hours on the consaw first thing which didnt help :mad:
    Hardly set up were ya :D

???? I'm not with you