Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Stupid ads about how wonderful alcohol is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Yes you are, re read the post I quoted. Anecdotal evidence IS NOT FACT. You do have an agenda (they're not inherently negative) and you're using shady anecdotal evidence to back it up.

Shur his anecdotes don't even tell us where he is witnessing this damage.
    I asked, but it was brushed off................ probably because imaginationland is hard to find on google maps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭seanie_c

Yes you are, re read the post I quoted. Anecdotal evidence IS NOT FACT. You do have an agenda (they're not inherently negative) and you're using shady anecdotal evidence to back it up.

Right. So I just made the €3.7 Bln. number up to support my agenda?
    I just lied about Irish doctors warning of an epidemic in health related problems as a result of alcohol abuse in Ireland. I just made up the number of people dying of alcohol abuse every month. (88)

FFS, get your head out of the sand.

You people accusing me of having an agenda sound like you might have an agenda of your own?
    So you're angry... about an ad... which is made to portray products in a postive light... in...America? What effect does that have on Ireland's attitude towards alcohol consumption?

Tired of the stereotype, tired of watching garbage "oh, this ad is good, you have to watch it" only to realize it's another mindless beer advert.
    I don't think anyone would argue that too many go too far when drinking and that we need to change, but it's your argument that makes no sense.

But you're contradicting yourself here because my argument is that we do need to change, that's what I've been saying all along.

You're falsely accusing me of having an agenda which frankly doesn't exist, unless you consider caring for the well being of Irish society an agenda.

Since when did Irish Doctors have a stake in seeing a decline in alcohol consumption? They're warning society to cut back because of the irreversible damage both physically and mentally.

mikom wrote: »
    Shur his anecdotes don't even tell us where he is witnessing this damage.
    I asked, but it was brushed off................ probably because imaginationland is hard to find on google maps.

I think you were trying hard enough to determine that earlier, mikom but i'm much to cute for that.

Keep trying though ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 447 ✭✭Pen.Island

Smoking isn't advertised on TV :confused:

No?

http://wtf1.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/jordan1999_1.jpg

Not anymore perhaps, but drink should be treated as the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Sigh another made up rant about alcohol, in other threads i have posted factual information on figures relating to Ireland having the 2nd highest price for booze in the EU yet apparently we have to much cheap booze. And that were in the middle on consumption in the EU yet apparently were all alcoholics and were the biggest drinkers in the EU . And also that consumption has been falling for years not going up. Ever think these people fighting in the streets would still do it sober ? scumbags from different parts of the city for example meeting each other and not getting on after a few beers. and the 3 billion ... yeah ok so i have 1 pint slip over on some ice on the pavement and bust my leg guards take me to hospital or ambulance and that then is counted as an alcohol related accident. Actual figures on people hammered in the E.R is really hard to find as it does not support peoples agenda’s

seanie_c wrote: »
    Right. So I just made the €3.7 Bln. number up to support my agenda?
    I just lied about Irish doctors warning of an epidemic in health related problems as a result of alcohol abuse in Ireland. I just made up the number of people dying of alcohol abuse every month. (88)

FFS, get your head out of the sand.

You people accusing me of having an agenda sound like you might have an agenda of your own?

Tired of the stereotype, tired of watching garbage "oh, this ad is good, you have to watch it" only to realize it's another mindless beer advert. cant have an epidemic if conditions figures are falling

But you're contradicting yourself here because my argument is that we do need to change, that's what I've been saying all along.

You're falsely accusing me of having an agenda which frankly doesn't exist, unless you consider caring for the well being of Irish society an agenda.

Since when did Irish Doctors have a stake in seeing a decline in alcohol consumption? They're warning society to cut back because of the irreversible damage both physically and mentally.

yes you did lie http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1122/488362-alcohol-liver-disease/

Sigh another made up rant about alcohol, in other threads i have posted factual information on figures relating to Ireland having the 2nd highest price for booze in the EU yet apparently we have to much cheap booze. And that were in the middle on consumption in the EU yet apparently were all alcoholics and were the biggest drinkers in the EU . And also that consumption has been falling for years not going up. Ever think these people fighting in the streets would still do it sober ? scumbags from different parts of the city for example meeting each other and not getting on after a few beers. and the 3 billion ... yeah ok so i have 1 pint slip over on some ice on the pavement and bust my leg guards take me to hospital or ambulance and that then is counted as an alcohol related accident. Actual figures on people hammered in the E.R is really hard to find as it does not support peoples agenda’s

Point out the bits I made up

We can pull information from government websites into this if you want, but I think you'll look rather silly once it's well established alcohol consumption has more negative effects on society than positive.

You list off 5 benefits to drinking alcohol and I'm sure I can list off exponentially more negative aspects.

Could you even list 5 benefits?

Yeah, did you read that article?
    Speaking on RTÉ's Morning Ireland, Professor Aiden McCormick said while the reduction in hospital admissions was good news, a corresponding decrease in liver disease is not yet apparent.

So what does your evidence prove? Nothing? okay.

Point out the bits I made up

We can pull information from government websites into this if you want, but I think you'll look rather silly once it's well established alcohol consumption has more negative effects on society than positive.

You list off 5 benefits to drinking alcohol and I'm sure I can list off exponentially more negative aspects.

Could you even list 5 benefits?

I don't need to as your made up figures of cost and health impact stand out for themselves. Point out 5 pros to cars and i will point out 5 cons

I don't need to as your made up figures of cost and health impact stand out for them selves. Point out 5 pro to cars and i will point out 5 cons

Again, you accuse me of making stuff up but can't point to what it is exactly.

Are you suggesting the €3.7 Bln cost to Health Services due to alcohol related admissions is a lie?

If so, it must be the government lying because it's their own figure.

I could think of better ways to spend that money, you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Pen.Island wrote: »
    No?

http://wtf1.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/jordan1999_1.jpg

Not anymore perhaps, but drink should be treated as the same thing.
    I'll say it again. Smoking ISN'T advertised on TV.
    What's the point in linking to a time when it was?
    What next? There's cocaine in Coca Cola?

Here's the report stating the €3.7 Bln cost to health services you say I made up...

Costs to Society of Problem Alcohol Use in Ireland

It's on page 5...still unsure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Grayditch wrote: »
    Ok. Not sure what that has to do with anything. Cocaine isn't advertised on T.V.

I wish it was :(

Here's the report stating the €3.7 Bln cost to health services you say I made up...

Costs to Society of Problem Alcohol Use in Ireland

It's on page 5...still unsure?

estimates are facts now ?

Estimates? What evidence do you have to contradict it?
    And how did I make the figure up?

Obviously alcohol has many benefits to society, unfortunately you can't list any...ah well. I'm off. Laters.

What evidence do you have that its correct ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Again, you accuse me of making stuff up but can't point to what it is exactly.

Are you suggesting the €3.7 Bln cost to Health Services due to alcohol related admissions is a lie?

If so, it must be the government lying because it's their own figure.

I could think of better ways to spend that money, you know?

oh...right....cause that could never happen of course....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Guys, there is literally no point engaging this poster. I'm starting to think they are a troll.

The power of reading comprehension is beyond them.

To every point I've made, the OP has either gone and said something completely unrelated, repeated himself, asked irrelevant questions or tried to dodge the points at hand.

He does not want a conversation. Leave him to proselytise with himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,568 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I don't know what kind of bar you were in, were they all drinking tea?

Any night I'm out, I always see fights, always see couples arguing with each other, always see people getting sick, always see ambulances taking drunk people to hospital, always see criminal damage to property. Always see puke on the foot paths the next day and the odd time blood from a fight.

Always thought it would make a fantastic TV show for RTE but then I remembered the Vintners wouldn't allow it to be shown what a fcking mess Ireland is.

And I'm willing to bet the gardai + health services see enough themselves.

I'm not entirely sure where any of you have been living lately but you mustn't be in the same parts of town I am.

Your not Des Bishop by any chance are you? Pretty sure I saw you on a show on RTE sensationalising the problem of alcohol a few months ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I don't agree with the way the OP is going about his argument but have you ever spent a night in A&E? I have a few times and it's pretty frightening. And the reason it is frightening is because of aggressive drunks off their heads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

You have already said you enjoy a drink yourself. Do you end up in a puddle of your own vomit and broken glass every night following a fight?
    If 'No' then what the hell point are you trying to make?

Wattle wrote: »
    I don't agree with the way the OP is going about his argument but have you ever spent a night in A&E? I have a few times and it's pretty frightening. And the reason it is frightening is because of aggressive drunks off their heads.

Depends on what A&E you go into and where the hospital is located say a large urban centre vs suburb, there not all crammed with pissed up people fighting each other. I would say more often than not it's people off there head on drink and drugs not just drink. I wonder what the figures are for the combination of drink/drugs to the amount of aggressive just drunk people are. I would wager there both lumped together to make out just drink is the problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Depends on what A&E you go into and where the hospital is located say a large urban centre vs suburb, there not all crammed with pissed up people fighting each other. I would say more often than not it's people off there head on drink and drugs not just drink. I wonder what the figures are for the combination of drink/drugs to the amount of aggressive just drunk people are. I would wager there both lumped together to make out just drink is the problem

also, as already pointed out earlier and in other threads where these numbers have been quoted, these numbers are based on ANY incident where alcohol was INVOLVED.....not necessarily responsible.

I've had 2 glasses of wine so far tonight, if I trip on one of the kids toys and fall off the stairs going to bed tonight that'd be classed as an alcohol related event.

Which, in my most humble opinion, makes the numbers complete hogwash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Sjhrunner

The government makes ALOT more money from the taxes on drink and cigarettes than it spends on related problems in the healthservice.
    Therefore the government makes a net profit on our addictions/bad habits.
    Therefore there is no financial incentive for the government/macro health service to fix it.

There is a significant problem with alcohol in this country.
    But I have live in two "dry" places (where alcohol was illegal) and to be honest....I'd rather live here.

I'm a moderate drinker...which actually is beneficial to my health.
    My friends who had periods of heavy drinking in their youth/middle age are the ones who are giving it large about the evils of alcohol now.
    Moderation in all things, even abstinence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭jt69er

I drink Burgundy Pinot Noir and Bollinger most days. I don't smoke though, cuz it gives you cancer and heart disease and stuff like that...high blood pressure.

think you have that already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I agree that they are not crammed with drunk people. My point is that the one's who are responsible for the threatening atmosphere are the one's who are drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Addicts are addicts. It doesn't matter, even if the ability to create alcohol was somehow lost on humanity, the same people would be off their face on something else.
    Alcohol is not the problem, society is. Fix the root cause and not something that the majority of the population can enjoy sensibly.

If people go out and all they see are fights and puke then they are either going to the wrong places or their brains are geared towards negativity and filter out all the thousands of people not fighting and not getting sick all over each other. The ones enjoying themselves and not causing any trouble while doing so.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,298 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

What S wrote. Drugs of some sort are to be found in every society on earth pretty much. From caffeine to nicotine, to alcohol to various local herbs like khat etc. Given their ubiquity it seems they are a part and parcel of being human. We will always have addicts and an addict will get their fix, whatever that may be*, somewhere, no matter what. Of the various drugs out there the joke is alcohol, particularly wine in moderation is actually good for you(caffeine may be similar). Wine drinkers tend to be slimmer, have reduced risks of cardiovascular disease, less macular degeneration and even less risk of dementia. Considering the number of conditions it has a positive effect on it's damn near a wonder drug.

* I know people addicted to food, exercise, the interweb. We all have our little obsessions to some degree, with some worse than others.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Wibbs wrote: »
    alcohol, particularly wine in moderation is actually good for you(caffeine may be similar). Wine drinkers tend to be slimmer, have reduced risks of cardiovascular disease, less macular degeneration and even less risk of dementia. Considering the number of conditions it has a positive effect on it's damn near a wonder drug.

That's what the wine drinkers want you to believe. Fact is, most beer has better health benefits than wine, including a lower calorific content but because beer has more ingredients, all of which should be natural, it's packed full of B vitamins and antioxidants and has a whole rake of other health benefits. All alcoholic drinks are beneficial in moderation but beer especially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Any night I'm out, I always see fights, always see couples arguing with each other, always see people getting sick, always see ambulances taking drunk people to hospital, always see criminal damage to property. Always see puke on the foot paths the next day and the odd time blood from a fight.

All this happens EVERY time you go out?
    There are two possibilities here -
    1 - you're waffling and you don't actually see all this madness every time, in which case stop waffling!
    2 - you're actually the cause of all this madness - in which case behave yourself!