12 pubs madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭Setun

Super-Rush wrote: »
    I never saw the point in moving from one pub to another.

How can you enjoy that?
    Precisely - why waste time wandering from pub to pub on a cold/wet/windy evening when you can get a nice cosy spot in one place and actually have a conversation with your mates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

No ****ing chance I'd get involved with something like that with a work crowd. We'll go to a single pub and get pissed together but that level of drinking will always just end up messy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Rules go out the window after the first pints :D you'll be lucky to find your next pub after the 8th :D

What happens mostly is people do 8 max and then club :rolleyes::rolleyes: or something seriously ghey and unfun like that :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    The next day then it's all like "oh man we did 12, 12 didn't we, oh man can you remember the 10th pub man" :rolleyes:

Ah here, I didn't mind people slagging off the 12 pubs things.

But christmas jumpers? Get the fcuk out the lot of ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

1. go to work 12 pubs do
    2. drink 12 pints
    3. ????
    4. go to court
    5. profit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Rules go out the window after the first pints :D you'll be lucky to find your next pub after the 8th :D

What happens mostly is people do 8 max and then club :rolleyes::rolleyes: or something seriously ghey and unfun like that :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    The next day then it's all like "oh man we did 12, 12 didn't we, oh man can you remember the 10th pub man" :rolleyes:

Agggh, my eyes burn!
    :(:eek::P:confused::pac:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

The VAST majority of people cannot drink enough to do a 12 pubs. But come Xmas literally everyone on the 12 pubs seems to think they are big drinkers, they'll order doubles of everything because they believe they can drink like that, but in reality, they drink 5 or 6 times a year and are soupy at best.

I hate the very idea that people plan these things, calling it a pub crawl to go to a few different pubs and think they can drink more than anyone..... I just call that a night out.

Xmas brings people who don't drink/drink a bottle of wine at home to the pubs thinking they're the hardest cnuts in the place. They are really just twats with no tolerance.

I agree with the vast majority of your post especially about the ****e crowd Christmas brings out too the late bars, but I do think a lot of fella's would be able to handle the twelve pubs, it is a pint a half hour for every six hours a lot of people would drink at that pace for that length of time (well substitute some cans in too these days) but the thing is a lot of those people wouldn't be Tristan and Siobhan from marketing and accountancy the people who do twelve pubs!

ps never done the twelve pubs its easy enough to drink too much and spend too much without planing to no need to make it the goal :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

tomboylady wrote: »
    12 pubs always seems weird to me. I would be in terrible shape if I drank 12 drinks in 6 hours, as would most people I imagine. I've been invited to two separate crawls on the same day this year, think I'm going to give both a miss.

Nah, do both at the same time. :pac: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Birneybau wrote: »
    Agggh, my eyes burn!
    :(:eek::P:confused::pac:;)

What? :confused::confused: Just telling it how it is ;) maaaaaaaaan :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

12 pubs is a pain in the arse for everyone not doing it.

The pub fills up and empties every 15 minutes with different crowd of gob****es and this ruins the atmosphere in the pub if you ask me for the people in there enjoying a few pints, especially if it's a smaller pub, big super pubs not so much...... not to mention that fact that the door is held open for everyone coming in and everyone going out so the cold air fills the pub, again ruining the atmosphere of an honest to goodness christmas session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

megaten wrote: »
    I did it with spirits last year and I was fine. It's probably a good bit harder with pints though if only because of the sheer volume of liquid.

A single spirit is roughly half the unit strength of a pint. A pint has 2 units, 40% ABV standard spirit measure will have 1.1 or something close.
    Ah here, I didn't mind people slagging off the 12 pubs things.

I'm no fortune teller, but I can see bannings happen if people continue about the jumpers :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Setun wrote: »
    Precisely - why waste time wandering from pub to pub on a cold/wet/windy evening when you can get a nice cosy spot in one place and actually have a conversation with your mates?

If you're out with your workmates, it does at least afford you the chance to frequently reposition yourself to escape bores or sit beside hot colleagues.

It's not the same when people are not at least hunting them down in charity shops or unearthing them in their granny's gaff.

They have whole sections of them now in Dunnes and Tescos now. In November.

anncoates wrote: »
    It's not the same when people are not at least hunting them down in charity shops or unearthing them in their granny's gaff.

They have whole sections of them now in Dunnes and Tescos now. In November.

Fuck.

That was just a arsey way of declaring myself a hipster from when Christmas jumpers "were underground", wasn't it. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

agree its bound to get messy with work.

i'd much rather be irresponsible when out with my friends than my work colleagues :)

also, people need to lighten up about the amount of drink and all that. Don't fool yourselves. You all blather yourselves to bits over the christmas. Its a bit of fun and a chance to get together with your mates. God forbid you have to spend the whole time with your family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Got invited too one of these, at first I was like grand be a bit of crack see if I can even manage 12 pubs! Now I have to compete with some rules.

Why complicate something that's meant to be fun and simple. 12 pubs 12 drinks.

It's worst than trying to hold yourself together at your Christmas party !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

agree its bound to get messy with work.

i'd much rather be irresponsible when out with my friends than my work colleagues :)

also, people need to lighten up about the amount of drink and all that. Don't fool yourselves. You all blather yourselves to bits over the christmas. Its a bit of fun and a chance to get together with your mates. God forbid you have to spend the whole time with your family

god forbid to be so unimaginative that the only fun you can think of having with your mates at christmas is to get blathered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

12 pubs is soooo yester-year.
    Gonna do the '12 chippies' this year.

Get yer santa bellies on yiz bastids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Stupid egotistical man activity, got invited to one before about 2 years ago, didn't go for that reason.

I'd have been locked by pub 7 or 8 anyway. No point in spending 5 euro each on a pint and drinking it off to keep up with the other sheep in the group. Silly "test of manhood" activity. We will see who's the man when my liver still functions when I'm older!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭flanzer

Can't stand that 12 pubs shíte. I do 2 nights in town. 1 with close pals who I haven't seen in ages (as we've all started to breed!) and another with the missus.

On both occasions we visit pubs that we've socialised in down the years. We talk about old times. Have a laugh. Take in the atmosphere.

I hate sitting in a pub at Christmas and a load a sh!tebags that barely know each other cram in, dictating rules about the night, taking pictures of each other, while being glued to their smartphones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Stupid egotistical man activity, got invited to one before about 2 years ago, didn't go for that reason.

I'd have been locked by pub 7 or 8 anyway. No point in spending 5 euro each on a pint and drinking it off to keep up with the other sheep in the group. Silly "test of manhood" activity. We will see who's the man when my liver still functions when I'm older!

I went on a night out recently and went from ale to whiskey then back to ale, one of them mental nights. Anyway, I blew off a lot of steam and had fun, but wasn't right for about 4 days after with depression and general cabagged-ness. I have since then and at last learned my lesson thankfully.

Moderation is the key.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭adocholiday

Some great responses here. I think I'll go and just drink as I had originally planned to. If someone puts a shot in front of me I'll just tell 'em to fook right off and that's that. I just wasn't sure of the etiquette of these things with regard to the rules, wouldn't want to be the only one not participating fully because you'd just look like a knob. If its a case where the majority of people are going to ignore them after the 4th or 5th drink then great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

anncoates wrote: »
    Familiar sight at Christmas in Dublin pubs.

Usually twats in zany jumpers that all arrive, cram in and then leave the pub en-masse like they have sticks up their holes.

There's a joyless, clock-watching, metronomic, obligatory feel to the whole thing that completely negates the spirit of a leisurely Christmas session.

I'll be wearing a Christmas jumper and doing the 12 pubs. Are you saying I'm a twat?
    flanzer wrote: »
    I hate sitting in a pub at Christmas and a load a sh!tebags that barely know each other cram in, dictating rules about the night, taking pictures of each other, while being glued to their smartphones

Yes because that sweeping generalisation describes exactly the type of people who do the 12 pubs :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

The Dom wrote: »
    Throw in some zombies and you'd have a great story for a movie.

The zombies are inherent. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

Boombastic wrote: »
    god forbid to be so unimaginative that the only fun you can think of having with your mates at christmas is to get blathered

I have lots of fun at christmas doing all kinds of things not only involving booze. No need to be so judgmental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

12 pubs is good fun if it's taken at face value i.e. have 12 drinks at the groups pace in 12 pubs.
    If someone wants a glass of water let them have a water, if someone has enough pints after the 5th and goes on shorts let them be. If the craic in one pub is so good a 2nd pint is warranted, all the better!
    When rules are added it just ends up being glorified pub golf and everyone hates pub golf.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

On my work night out last year we kept running into the 12 pubs lot. It was amicable enough at the start of the night but by 11.30 onwards it seemed to consist of idiot males puking and/or fighting and half naked girls in ridiculous shoes falling over and crying.
    By pure bad luck our night out this year is on the same night/ We plan to get into the back of an auld fellas pub and hide til its over.

Setun wrote: »

That's what I thought before doing one but if you do it in a more relaxed way in a small group it can be enjoyable (3 or 4 of us usually). We do it slightly outside the city centre and its the only time we visit a lot of the pubs so its nice to have our yearly visit, spend 45 mins or so enjoying a pint and move on.

Always pick a decent pub for the last pint too as you will stay there. I actually have no difficulty completing it at all, in fact its rare I have less than 14 pints on a 12 pubs and a few shorts, the key is allowing the time needed in each pub.

First two pubs takes say 45 mins because you are a bit slow because of the hangover from the night before (drinking the night before is vital). Then there will be a couple of pubs where you are on song and probably finish in 30 mins to 45 mins, then stop for food and probably spend an hour in the next pub because you are full from the food etc.

Start good and early then you aren't in a rush and pubs wont be packed and you have the sport for following as you go from pub to pub too etc. I cant wait for our one now, less than a month away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭flanzer

Yes because that sweeping generalisation describes exactly the type of people who do the 12 pubs :rolleyes:

I'll ask you to watch the groups doing '12 pubs' this Christmas. I'm sure the 'sweeping generalisation' you say, is actually quite factual!

I'll be wearing a Christmas jumper and doing the 12 pubs. Are you saying I'm a twat?

No. No. No!

Yes.