Super-Rush wrote: » I never saw the point in moving from one pub to another. How can you enjoy that?
Mint Aero wrote: » Rules go out the window after the first pints you'll be lucky to find your next pub after the 8th What happens mostly is people do 8 max and then club :rolleyes::rolleyes: or something seriously ghey and unfun like that :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: The next day then it's all like "oh man we did 12, 12 didn't we, oh man can you remember the 10th pub man" :rolleyes:
minidazzler wrote: » The VAST majority of people cannot drink enough to do a 12 pubs. But come Xmas literally everyone on the 12 pubs seems to think they are big drinkers, they'll order doubles of everything because they believe they can drink like that, but in reality, they drink 5 or 6 times a year and are soupy at best. I hate the very idea that people plan these things, calling it a pub crawl to go to a few different pubs and think they can drink more than anyone..... I just call that a night out. Xmas brings people who don't drink/drink a bottle of wine at home to the pubs thinking they're the hardest cnuts in the place. They are really just twats with no tolerance.
tomboylady wrote: » 12 pubs always seems weird to me. I would be in terrible shape if I drank 12 drinks in 6 hours, as would most people I imagine. I've been invited to two separate crawls on the same day this year, think I'm going to give both a miss.
Birneybau wrote: » Agggh, my eyes burn!:eek::P:confused::pac:;)
megaten wrote: » I did it with spirits last year and I was fine. It's probably a good bit harder with pints though if only because of the sheer volume of liquid.
Deleted User wrote: » Ah here, I didn't mind people slagging off the 12 pubs things. But christmas jumpers? Get the fcuk out the lot of ye.
Setun wrote: » Precisely - why waste time wandering from pub to pub on a cold/wet/windy evening when you can get a nice cosy spot in one place and actually have a conversation with your mates?
Deleted User wrote: » But christmas jumpers? Get the fcuk out the lot of ye.
anncoates wrote: » It's not the same when people are not at least hunting them down in charity shops or unearthing them in their granny's gaff. They have whole sections of them now in Dunnes and Tescos now. In November.
gracehopper wrote: » agree its bound to get messy with work. i'd much rather be irresponsible when out with my friends than my work colleagues also, people need to lighten up about the amount of drink and all that. Don't fool yourselves. You all blather yourselves to bits over the christmas. Its a bit of fun and a chance to get together with your mates. God forbid you have to spend the whole time with your family
zcorpian88 wrote: » Stupid egotistical man activity, got invited to one before about 2 years ago, didn't go for that reason. I'd have been locked by pub 7 or 8 anyway. No point in spending 5 euro each on a pint and drinking it off to keep up with the other sheep in the group. Silly "test of manhood" activity. We will see who's the man when my liver still functions when I'm older!
anncoates wrote: » Familiar sight at Christmas in Dublin pubs. Usually twats in zany jumpers that all arrive, cram in and then leave the pub en-masse like they have sticks up their holes. There's a joyless, clock-watching, metronomic, obligatory feel to the whole thing that completely negates the spirit of a leisurely Christmas session.
flanzer wrote: » I hate sitting in a pub at Christmas and a load a sh!tebags that barely know each other cram in, dictating rules about the night, taking pictures of each other, while being glued to their smartphones
The Dom wrote: » Throw in some zombies and you'd have a great story for a movie.
Boombastic wrote: » god forbid to be so unimaginative that the only fun you can think of having with your mates at christmas is to get blathered
Brendan Flowers wrote: » Yes because that sweeping generalisation describes exactly the type of people who do the 12 pubs :rolleyes:
Brendan Flowers wrote: » I'll be wearing a Christmas jumper and doing the 12 pubs. Are you saying I'm a twat?