Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

12 pubs madness

• 19-11-2013 11:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭

I'm sorry if this has been done before but I did a search and all I could find was posts on suggestions for 12 pubs etc.

I've been invited to a 12 pubs session with work (social club, not the company). I've never been on one before but I've heard about them. So today I get an email with the rules of it. This isn't it word for word but its the jist of it.

1. Eat before the first drink. No eating allowed after this until the 12th pub is finished
    2. Each pub is 30 minutes and 1 alcoholic beverage must be consumed in that time (pints for men). If you don't you must down the drink before leaving the pub and do a shot in the next pub.
    3. If you are caught cheating (i.e. not drinking/drinking a non-alcoholic drink) you must do a shot
    4. If you fall/spill a drink/some other silly scenario you must do a shot
    5. If you get sick you must do a shot after
    6. If you get thrown out of a pub/cause the group to get thrown out you must do a shot in the next pub.

And it continues in that vein. Now, I like a drink as much as the next person. I do drink to excess/binge drink regularly enough and I enjoy being out having the craic with my friends. I'm not anti-drink by any stretch of the imagination; but this concept of drinking 12 pints in 6 hours, as well as shots (which is unavoidable by the looks of things) just seems like madness to me. Surely that's drinking on a very dangerous level?

I know that there are many here who will give me grief over this "hurr durr Ya big Wimp, man up, bit of fun, blah blah..." but I can't be the only one who thinks encouraging people to drink that amount of alcohol that quickly is plain stupid? Has anyone done the 12 pubs before and what was your experience of it? The lad organizing it said that he got the rules off the internet so at least one gang of people has done this particular set before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Fcuk that, I'll drink as much or as little as I like, what I like, where I like and when I like.

Screw 'rules'.

Judging from the amounts involved, unless you have an iron constitution, it'll end in tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭fluke

Fine Gael Christmas nights were always this precise.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I think it's nuts. Whenever I hear of anyone in progress with it, or planning it, I just smile and nod, then walk off.

Drinking is to be enjoyed, not to punish yourself with and pretend it's a fúcking game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,674 ✭✭✭elefant

Feck. That sounds a bit extreme. All these rules and shíte on a 12 pubs just make the whole thing too much effort.

Surely it should just be a pub-crawl at Christmas for the fun of it. Your one just sounds punishing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

I'd be fired after that 12 pubs :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I have one rule for doing 12 Pubs

1. Don't do 12 pubs.

A group of us do it every year. Just 12 random pubs, none of those rules regarding time etc etc. When everyone's finished their drink we move on to the next.

Some people choose not to have a drink in some pubs, nobody cares. Why would they.

Last year after pub 6, we made an effort to have bit of grub. Made a big difference!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I just don't do 12 pubs.. works for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Me and the old mates do this every year. We get to pub 6 or 7, enjoy it, so we stay there. Only rules are, you have to show up if your in the country and you have to be wearing something Christmasy. Screw this one pint every 30 mins and doing shots, leads to a bad night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Its ridiculous having these rules. Why not just take your time having the one drink in each pub and actually have a bit of craic!

And as for having to take a shot, nobody "has" to do this!Anyone that is a light weight with drinking, such as myself should have enough cop not to take the shots or skull their pints or they won't make it past 3 or 4 pubs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭adocholiday

I was actually looking forward to it when I heard about it first. I'm very aware of my limits. For a start there's no way I'd drink 12 pints over 12 hours never mind 6. I normally have 5-6 pints on a night then I might sip on a whiskey or 2. I haven't done shots in about 6 or 7 years ffs. I thought yep, I'll have a bottle of Corona or something in each pub up to about 6 or 7, then I'd have a whiskey or 2 and call it a night. I think I'm going to give it a miss altogether now. Never heard such rubbish before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

I think the fundamental rule behind it is that you need to move on after 30 minutes, this keeps you on track and gives you a chance of completing the 12 pubs in a 'reasonable' amount of time. It also means that stragglers dont say "I'll catch up" and then the group becomes fragmented.

The rest of the rules have been thrown in by knobs.

In fairness I did one last year with extra forfeits, but they were light hearted craic as opposed to wrecking yourself further with shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I never saw the point in moving from one pub to another.

How can you enjoy that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭sidders

im a fan of the 12 pubs, one night of the week in holiday spirit with your friends to go bonkers! if you cant finish all 12 you obviously stop !!! its a laugh, joke. full of silly christmas jumpers just a great night out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Did it last year. Everyone backed out at some point along the way except for me and one other guy. We both puked at some stage (maybe pub 9?) and were refused entry ti the last two pubs. Also my friend got in two separate fights. I was hungover for two days after it. I really wouldn't recommend it. Its on again this year but I'm just going to talk to my mates and will not be drinking stupid amounts of booze again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

This is very silly, especially for a work do. I would need the hospital if I drank twelve drinks in six hours. Way over the top, try and imagine that in most European countries being encouraged by a company, madness. Fine if you want to do it with your mates but not as a work thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Just realised your username is not "alcoholiday". Would have been apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

I was actually looking forward to it when I heard about it first. I'm very aware of my limits. For a start there's no way I'd drink 12 pints over 12 hours never mind 6. I normally have 5-6 pints on a night then I might sip on a whiskey or 2. I haven't done shots in about 6 or 7 years ffs. I thought yep, I'll have a bottle of Corona or something in each pub up to about 6 or 7, then I'd have a whiskey or 2 and call it a night. I think I'm going to give it a miss altogether now. Never heard such rubbish before

I wouldn't miss out on it because some try hard is messing it up with those stupid rules, especially if you were looking forward to it!
    You can be guaranteed that nobody will stick to those rules anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

1. Eat before the first drink. No eating allowed after this until the 12th pub is finished
    2. Each pub is 30 minutes and 1 alcoholic beverage must be consumed in that time (pints for men). If you don't you must down the drink before leaving the pub and do a shot in the next pub.
    3. If you are caught cheating (i.e. not drinking/drinking a non-alcoholic drink) you must do a shot
    4. If you fall/spill a drink/some other silly scenario you must do a shot
    5. If you get sick you must do a shot after
    6. If you get thrown out of a pub/cause the group to get thrown out you must do a shot in the next pub.

Nonsense! You don't have to do anything you don't want to do. What are they going to do? Force it down you? No problem visiting 12 pubs but no way would I be following these rules!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭adocholiday

This is very silly, especially for a work do. I would need the hospital if I drank twelve drinks in six hours. Way over the top, try and imagine that in most European countries being encouraged by a company, madness. Fine if you want to do it with your mates but not as a work thing.

I should mention that its not being organised by the company that I work for. They encourage very responsible drinking at work events. It's the Social club that are organizing it, run by the staff with no company input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Stay clear of shots, we did it last year with shots being punishment for something. (swearing, first names, drinking with a certain hand etc.)

after 5 pubs i had had my five pints and roughly 12 jagers.

It went downhill from there.

So this year sticking to the pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Seems like a Celtic tiger hangover. No pun intended. Usually gets messy by the eight pub anyway. The drunker you get the more relaxed are the rules. Get fellas going off course, chatting to women etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I should mention that its not being organised by the company that I work for. They encourage very responsible drinking at work events. It's the Social club that are organizing it, run by the staff with no company input.

It's still in bad taste basically encouraging people to get absolutely pissed. Its connected to the company .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I think it's a disgrace, whatever about going to 12 pubs there's no reason to force some dull drinking rules. Very juvenile stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Ah if you dont like the rules simply dont go. Me and my mates do it with similar rules and forfeits and i think it makes it more craic. Usually the rules go out the window at pub 6/7 then its simply drink a pint in the remaining pubs.

We have rules liek "the question pub" (every sentence you speak has to be in question form) or foreign accent pub" (you must spend the half hour speaking in a foreign accent) , if you fail then a forfeit arises like walking backwards to next pub, hopping to next pub or a shot. I enjoy it and so do others. If ya dont, simply dont do it. Each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭tomboylady

12 pubs always seems weird to me. I would be in terrible shape if I drank 12 drinks in 6 hours, as would most people I imagine. I've been invited to two separate crawls on the same day this year, think I'm going to give both a miss.

I'm a massive fan of the 12 pubs but not of having rules stupid rules. We so it every year in the same 12 pubs and always have a great day. Only rules we have are, have a good drink the night before to set you up. Meet outside the shop at 12:30 for breakfast rolls and pick up another roll to have later in the day and be in the first pub by 1pm.

Then it's just take your time (within reason) and enjoy the day drinking one pint in each pub and finish when you finish. We usually end up drinking more than the 12 pints to be honest as we stay in the last pub until closing and alway have a good laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Links234 wrote: »
    I have one rule for doing 12 Pubs

1. Don't do 12 pubs.

First rule about 12 pubs:

Never talk about 12 pubs..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

Throw in some zombies and you'd have a great story for a movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

dan1895 wrote: »
    Me and the old mates do this every year. We get to pub 6 or 7, enjoy it, so we stay there. Only rules are, you have to show up if your in the country and you have to be wearing something Christmasy. Screw this one pint every 30 mins and doing shots, leads to a bad night.

screw that 12 pints/bottles of beer? I went to one a few years ago when living in dublin and got to pub number two. Going in to packed pubs and out in the cold every half hour is a nightmare.:confused:

Maybe i'm getting older(and wiser) but it just seems like too much hard work.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

And pubs are supposed to be the "responsible" places to drink... No way I could hack drinking a pint in 30 mins, maybe 2 or 3 but there after no chance. I prefer to actually enjoy a pint, a pint would last me nearly an hour i'd say, certainly not less than 45 mins..

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,219 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

After last years 'festivities', the first jumper and lights wearing gobsh1te that falls on top of me - as Im enjoying a pint with the friends I barely get to see but once a year, and that have made great efforts to get a free night and meet up early to get food and a seat in the city centre - is getting a broken nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

If I tried that one OP I'd be in a hoop by the end! Took part in the 12 pubs last year, but completed it Junior B style (bottles instead of pints).

This year a group of us are doing it and we're keeping it simple. 12 pubs. 12 hot whiskeys. Max 35 minutes per pub (allowing an extra 5 minutes for the making of the hot whiskeys)

Larbre34 wrote: »
    After last years 'festivities', the first jumper and lights wearing gobsh1te that falls on top of me - as Im enjoying a pint with the friends I barely get to see but once a year, and that have made great efforts to get a free night and meet up early to get food and a seat in the city centre - is getting a broken nose.

Yea that silly jumper thing has only really started in recent years AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

lufties wrote: »
    Yea that silly jumper thing has only really started in recent years AFAIK.

Staggering home in a puke-stained Late Late Toy Show jumper is not my idea of fun tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

The VAST majority of people cannot drink enough to do a 12 pubs. But come Xmas literally everyone on the 12 pubs seems to think they are big drinkers, they'll order doubles of everything because they believe they can drink like that, but in reality, they drink 5 or 6 times a year and are soupy at best.

I hate the very idea that people plan these things, calling it a pub crawl to go to a few different pubs and think they can drink more than anyone..... I just call that a night out.

Xmas brings people who don't drink/drink a bottle of wine at home to the pubs thinking they're the hardest cnuts in the place. They are really just twats with no tolerance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

First time I did twelve pubs was here in Germany (honestly never heard of this happening in Ireland until I moved here!). In most pubs where I live it's pretty standard to get a 0.3 or 0.2 beer so I just stuck to those. Got drunk (also had a few shots) but I wasn't ossified or puking.

I wouldn't drink 12 pints in 6 hours anyway. I enjoy getting drink/high whatever, but not to the point where I'm sick or uncomfortable. Like others have said, I'm not going to punish myself. It does seem to be an Irish attitude of "get pissed as much as possible" to the point of where it's just no longer fun. F*ck that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Fookin stoopid and yet the sterotype continues.... I wonder why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭AlanG

have done several with work and they usually have these rules but end up as:

- After 2 pubs people move on to bottles not pints
    - most people leave or start skipping pubs by the 7th ot 8th pub
    - Rules go out the window by pub 7
    - Lots of people dont turn up until pub 3 or 4

Remember only the fools in the company will actually drink 12 pints in front of their work colleagues, its better to get a bit of a slagging for saying no on the the night than being the one people are talking about for weeks after you got sick or hammered.

Staggering home in a puke-stained Late Late Toy Show jumper is not my idea of fun tbh.

I agree, Nowadays 4 drinks max does me, otherwise the following day is a write off pretty much. Recently read Allen Carr's book, 'No more hangovers', definately worth a read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The "rules" rarely apply all the way around unless you're with someone who's a complete alcoholic and militant about his alcoholism.

What usually happens is that for the first four pubs things go as they're supposed to. Better than they're supposed to in fact, as a couple of people manage to squeeze in a second pint in a couple of the pubs. Now you're 3 hours in and everyone is well toasty or actually pissed. And the pubs are busy so it takes 15 minutes to just get a pint and you haven't a hope of downing it in 15 minutes. So time starts slipping and you start the timer from when the last person gets their pint.

By pub 6, all of the "I'll just go for a couple" people have slinked off and everyone's getting pretty hungry. Inebriated and pliable, everyone agrees that it's OK to eat. It's not rule-breaking if everyone agrees. At that stage you lose a couple of people who've decided with a full belly that they're too pissed or knackered and go home. Back on the road, you make it to pub 9, about 2 hours later than planned. People have been skipping pubs. At pub 7, someone said they'd meeting you later in pub 11. You're all fairly wankered and agree that you can't do any more pints so to get this whole thing out of the way, you'll do a shot in the next two pubs so you can get to the last pub and settle down.
    For the small group of hammered stalwarts who make it to pub 12, it's ten hours after you started drinking and everyone has a bottle of corona in their hand which they don't really want to drink anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Christmas day/night out - arrange to meet the lads in a pub at a certain time. Order drinks and have a bit of craic. If banter is good and you have a decent spot don't move from that pub for a while. No juvenile rules, if I wanted to drink with kids I'd go knacker drinking.

Maximum pubs visited that night - 4 (at a push)

Job's a good 'un

12 pubs me bollix!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Theye can be a pain for bar staff,its great to get business in but alot of these 12 pubs groups are messy and upset the whole pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

My response to those rules would be:

"Yeah, no. I'm a grown man. I'm not doing that."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

At weekends in December I try to drink in pubs that don't allow 12 Pubs crowds in.

Sounds like 12 pubs for 12 years olds.

OneArt wrote: »
    First time I did twelve pubs was here in Germany (honestly never heard of this happening in Ireland until I moved here!). In most pubs where I live it's pretty standard to get a 0.3 or 0.2 beer so I just stuck to those. Got drunk (also had a few shots) but I wasn't ossified or puking.

I wouldn't drink 12 pints in 6 hours anyway. I enjoy getting drink/high whatever, but not to the point where I'm sick or uncomfortable. Like others have said, I'm not going to punish myself. It does seem to be an Irish attitude of "get pissed as much as possible" to the point of where it's just no longer fun. F*ck that.

I lived in Dusseldolf for a bit, what a town..bolkerstrasse and altbier on a cold winters night:)

Pity about the smoking in pubs though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Sounds like 12 pubs for 12 years olds.

Ah i enjoy it, ill never grow up! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

drinking games are for poindexters, just drink ta ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Familiar sight at Christmas in Dublin pubs.

Usually twats in zany jumpers that all arrive, cram in and then leave the pub en-masse like they have sticks up their holes.

There's a joyless, clock-watching, metronomic, obligatory feel to the whole thing that completely negates the spirit of a leisurely Christmas session.