If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

jersey101 wrote: »
    God oul lads would make ye pull your hair out.

ATM he's taking over rearing the calves and he never noticed one a a real dirty white scour until i seen it today, all he does is throw milk in drinker and walks off and leaves them drink on there on, cant get through to him to stay with them.
    Told him i was going to tube the calf tonight because i new she was drinking no milk and was getting worse and he wouldn't here of it.

Theres no talking to him. Sometimes ye would just feel like fcukin off and see how he manages on his own....
    i do everything with calves around here, do it yourself its done right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

whelan1 wrote: »
    i do everything with calves around here, do it yourself its done right

your dead on there. I reared the first 5 heifers and they were weaned last week. Fine heifers, the vet even said they were and thats unusual for him. The ones my father started looking after are just terrible i think

Boards gone awall again. Cant see the last few posts on my phone. Even says my post is up but i cant see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

Boards gone awall again. Cant see the last few posts on my phone. Even says my post is up but i cant see it.

Using the touch site? It has issues.
    Anytimethat happens click 'full site' at the bottom of the page and you'll see the pc versionand your missing posts.

whitebriar wrote: »
    Using the touch site? It has issues.
    Anytimethat happens click 'full site' at the bottom of the page and you'll see the pc versionand your missing posts.

ye using it on Nokia lumia. Ill try that

hugo29 wrote: »
    Don't tell him what you are doing, if you think it needs doing, just do it jersey, less hassle
    ye im going to start looking after again. Couldnt care about loosing a bull but a heifer is a different story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

ye im going to start looking after again. Couldnt care about loosing a bull but a heifer is a different story

Hey think of your customers.

dzer2 wrote: »
    Hey think of your customers.

im always thinking if them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Muckit wrote: »
    ate with woodworm I heard... :D

Like my fathers . He is an awful man for leaving every implement with a wooden handle in the hedges to be handy for the next Time he wants it., usually forgets where he leaves them. Then when I do find them and start to use it the hadles always break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

ABlur wrote: »
    I see Dampintheattic has closed his account. Another Banner Boardsie gone!

Will the last person left turn off the lights.
    Where's everybody going. Is there another secret place that I don't know off. Or why are people all leaving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

God oul lads would make ye pull your hair out.

ATM he's taking over rearing the calves and he never noticed one a a real dirty white scour until i seen it today, all he does is throw milk in drinker and walks off and leaves them drink on there on, cant get through to him to stay with them.
    Told him i was going to tube the calf tonight because i new she was drinking no milk and was getting worse and he wouldn't here of it.

Theres no talking to him. Sometimes ye would just feel like fcukin off and see how he manages on his own....

I suppose I'm sorta close to being an auld fella.
    I moaned and complained too.

Then he was gone in an instant.

Complain lads, it's normal.
    Just not too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭easymoney!

bbam wrote: »

Just not too much.

wise words bbam would make u think !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

easymoney! wrote: »
    wise words bbam would make u think !!

I'm not down on moaning about the auld fella. I did it too. I'm sure my girls do it too. We all do it. I still give about Mumbo jumbo he believed in.
    Just one evening we were having a bit of crack. Then a few hours later a call in the night and that was it.
    No final words, no nothing. Just memories.

I'm not down on moaning about the auld fella. I did it too. I'm sure my girls do it too. We all do it. I still give about Mumbo jumbo he believed in.
    Just one evening we were having a bit of crack. Then a few hours later a call in the night and that was it.

i know wat ya mean im no better myself but that post just meant me think!!
    and im sorry aabout ur dad to mate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Im rowing with the father at the minute and hate it . I hope we can pull again soon enough because its not entirely his fault but at the minute I cant talk to him because im so angry .

moy83 wrote: »
    Im rowing with the father at the minute and hate it . I hope we can pull again soon enough because its not entirely his fault but at the minute I cant talk to him because im so angry .

it usually takes one or the other to give in moy ha! in my experience anyways i feel its almost a clash of different ages and ways of doing stuff etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

That's life bbam. When I kick the bucket I'd like to check out like that. There's far worse ways. Death's very final though, so I suppose we should make the most of our time here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I'm sure the ol man feels the same. Hope ya can resolve it soon and not let anything fester.

easymoney! wrote: »
    it usually takes one or the other to give in moy ha! in my experience anyways i feel its almost a clash of different ages and ways of doing stuff etc

In fairness he has given in , twice this week I tried to go and talk to him but once I started talking I got so mad that I had to leave again . We arent arguing about the farm , my grandmother has been put into a home when she didnt want to go by his brothers and sisters and he couldnt stand up to them and take her out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Chisler2

In fairness he has given in , twice this week I tried to go and talk to him but once I started talking I got so mad that I had to leave again . We arent arguing about the farm , my grandmother has been put into a home when she didnt want to go by his brothers and sisters and he couldnt stand up to them and take her out .

Serious stuff Moy! What would the implications for running the farm be if your grandmother stays at home?

Chisler2 wrote: »
    Serious stuff Moy! What would the implications for running the farm be if your grandmother stays at home?

No implications . And even if there was , I would sooner sell the farm rather than put someone into a home against there wishes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Jesus that's not nice situation my friend. Is your pop one of the youngest r youngest of his family I wonder?

What do ye think guy's of giving a Hi-Mag mineral lick fertility booster to a suckler cow? I think by right there for lactating milkers at grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭epfff

Just not too much.

Still in bed here with young lad with a million things to do outside asking him when is he comming out farming with me
    could do with him today to drive jeep or tractor he is only 11 months though the cops may frown on it
    when I Just relished Im The auld fella here
    Damm where did youth go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Just not too much.

Well said.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Jesus that's not nice situation my friend. Is your pop one of the youngest r youngest of his family I wonder?

What do ye think guy's of giving a Hi-Mag mineral lick fertility booster to a suckler cow? I think by right there for lactating milkers at grass.

He is the eldest , got left everything but was to look after the parents till they died . He has done this always in fairness , paid for their car, heating , esb maintained the house .
    She got alzheimers a few years ago and a couple of his sisters started collecting her pension and supposedly looking after her . Her alzheimers isnt bad yet but all of a sudden they said she needs 24hr care because they cant cope with her . I offered to take her I with me and they said no way and got all the other siblings to side with them by telling them that she is too demented to move in with anyone even though she is not .
    Im fierce disappointed that he didnt stand up to them and just take her in himself .

Its a call you dont forget, and you think of all the things you should have said and done. :'(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

can honestly say i have never had a row with my dad, if there is a disagreement over something we would talk about it, i am sure he doesnt agree with everything i do

Try and sort it asap. My father got people outside the family involved and they made things worse , but they werent there when he needed help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

epfff wrote: »
    Still in bed here with young lad with a million things to do outside asking him when is he comming out farming with me
    could do with him today to drive jeep or tractor he is only 11 months though the cops may frown on it
    when I Just relished Im The auld fella here
    Damm where did youth go
    Even though the auld lad is live and kicking here, he is now Granda and to my two boys I'm the auld lad!! I even heard the 5 yo telling the 11 yo that when he is in charge things will be done differently. As much as a pain that auld lads are they are still very useful, you just cannot buy the experience that they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

Myself and the father get on very well, I am terrified of the day coming when he's not around.