Golf Digest Event Carton House

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭jacko

Will never go to any of these events based on feedback from a few friends who have attended them. Scoring is ridiculous and its usually a friend or relative of the organizers that conveniently win.(1 of my bandit mates got beaten on a countback in one event by an 8 handicapper, mate of organizer who shot 25 points in back 9 in tough conditions... I'm not sorry for my mate as he is a complete crook. guess he was just beaten by bigger crooks. He was even more gutted when the third prize, also going to fried of organizer was better than my mates 2nd prize)

Also, from 2 different friends at 2 different events both independently said that the draw at the end is embarrassing in that again its the organizers and friends that walk away with majority of prizes. All cards are put into a cup with stack of them left on the side. They will pick out all the winners from this stack and guess who wins.

So go and play the events for chance to play some great courses, just don't be expecting to win anything. Hang around for the draw at the end and see for yourself what goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭HB2002

Was it a very large field of players? would you not have over 40 points most days? It is only a birdie on a hole where you have 2 shot , you are talking 5 pts for that, hard to do, but on a large number of golfer that will happen, Another good hole for that person they have 40 at least.

I'm not sure how big the field was but you would expect a few big scores alright and they can come from anyone on any given day, I just don't see someone playing off 23 putting two big scores back to back on those kind of courses under that kind of pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,403 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Was it a very large field of players? would you not have over 40 points most days? It is only a birdie on a hole where you have 2 shot , you are talking 5 pts for that, hard to do, but on a large number of golfer that will happen, Another good hole for that person they have 40 at least.
    HB2002 wrote: »
    I'm not sure how big the field was but you would expect a few big scores alright and they can come from anyone on any given day, I just don't see someone playing off 23 putting two big scores back to back on those kind of courses under that kind of pressure.

Plus if you've two shots on a hole you're not supposed to be getting birdies and 5 pointers especially on a long championship course. Sure you will always get occasional big scores but it become more incredulous when they're consecutive over two different courses.
    Sounds like the handicaps in use had no reflection on ability so whether that was a result of handicap building using 0.1s or from an improving golfer plummeting in handicap remains to be seen. I certainly can't comment without knowing the golfer and their history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

It's not begrudery..... in fact it's not even begrudgery!!
    It's just painful to see this kind blatant cheating going on and nothing being done about it.... and the fact that people just go "ah well..." means the cheating goes on unchecked.

At the end of the day just go and score better. your scoring is in your hands after all

slingerz wrote: »
    At the end of the day just go and score better. your scoring is in your hands after all

Absolutely my scoring is in my hands and if I play off a handicap that's 5 shots higher than it should be I'll score better and if I only play in competitions where there is no cutting I'll get in the winners enclosure more often.

Don't you get that?:confused:

The idea behind the handicap system is good but the application of it is flawed to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭kevgaa

jacko wrote: »
    Will never go to any of these events based on feedback from a few friends who have attended them. Scoring is ridiculous and its usually a friend or relative of the organizers that conveniently win.(1 of my bandit mates got beaten on a countback in one event by an 8 handicapper, mate of organizer who shot 25 points in back 9 in tough conditions... I'm not sorry for my mate as he is a complete crook. guess he was just beaten by bigger crooks. He was even more gutted when the third prize, also going to fried of organizer was better than my mates 2nd prize)

Also, from 2 different friends at 2 different events both independently said that the draw at the end is embarrassing in that again its the organizers and friends that walk away with majority of prizes. All cards are put into a cup with stack of them left on the side. They will pick out all the winners from this stack and guess who wins.

So go and play the events for chance to play some great courses, just don't be expecting to win anything. Hang around for the draw at the end and see for yourself what goes on.

Jacko, very sweeping and damning statements for someone who has never been at one of these events. I played in two of these events this year and at both events the prizes for first, 2nd and 3rd are advertised in advance and are static for all events I think, a TM driver, 3 wood and rescue so the point about the organizers friend getting a better prize for 3rd is complete crap...

I agree to a point about the draw at the end but both my playing partners who had no affiliation to golf digest both won decent prizes in the draw afterwards so I have no complaints apart from the fact I won nothing...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,525 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It's not begrudery..... in fact it's not even begrudgery!!
    It's just painful to see this kind blatant cheating going on and nothing being done about it.... and the fact that people just go "ah well..." means the cheating goes on unchecked.

You are not sure how big the field was but you seem adamant that this person off 23 is a cheat.
    The field was made up of all the former category winners from this years events.... so he's the king of cheats :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

jacko wrote: »

Went to two of these events this year. And know a good few lads who went to a third one. And to be honest, all of what you wrote above is wrong. Lots of prizes on offer and it was luck of the draw at the end of the night. A few our group got some great prizes.

One of our group won the overall trip to South Africa on Tuesday.

I've found them to be extremely well run events. Very fair and a great day out.

Just to add to the above, the lad who won the overall was in the secondary event. There are two events run side by side. A golf digest event and a volvo event.

The winner of the Golf Digest part of it goes to Qatar to play in a European tour pro-am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Just to add to the above, the lad who won the overall was in the secondary event. There are two events run side by side. A golf digest event and a volvo event.

The winner of the Golf Digest part of it goes to Qatar to play in a European tour pro-am.

Can you expand on this please Ed ? I wasn't aware of two seperate events ?

So was South Africa 2nd prize and Qatar 1st prize or something ?

Absolutely my scoring is in my hands and if I play off a handicap that's 5 shots higher than it should be I'll score better and if I only play in competitions where there is no cutting I'll get in the winners enclosure more often.

Don't you get that?:confused:

The idea behind the handicap system is good but the application of it is flawed to say the least.

play well enough and you wont need the 5 shot higher handicap.

Can you expand on this please Ed ? I wasn't aware of two seperate events ?

So was South Africa 2nd prize and Qatar 1st prize or something ?

Joint sponsorships. Golf Digest and Volvo. The main event is the qualifying tournament that the winners of all the events during the year get to play in and the winner of that event goes to Qatar for the european tour event.

The second one is invitation only for Volvo customers, dealers and selected others. The winner of that goes to South Africa.

play well enough and you wont need the 5 shot higher handicap.

You're completely missing the point.

I presume like most guys you have a mate that you play with every weekend or regularly?
    If your mate was playing off a handicap of 18 and was hitting 40 odd points every time he played in a non cutting event.... do you think his handicap might be wrong?
    Do you think it's fair for him to compete in competitions with guys who are playing off their real handicap?
    A lot of guys play for a few quid on the front nine, back nine and over all.
    would you be happy to play againsts your mate knowing his handicap was wrong?

There are golfers out there like myself that are trying to get their handicap as low as possible and there are guys out there trying to keep their handicaps as high as possible and I think something should be done about them.

Joint sponsorships. Golf Digest and Volvo. The main event is the qualifying tournament that the winners of all the events during the year get to play in and the winner of that event goes to Qatar for the european tour event.

The second one is invitation only for Volvo customers, dealers and selected others. The winner of that goes to South Africa.

Do you know the winning details of the Golf Digest one Ed?
    They haven't updated their site or facebook page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

I presume like most guys you have a mate that you play with every weekend or regularly?
    If your mate was playing off a handicap of 18 and was hitting 40 odd points every time he played in a non cutting event.... do you think his handicap might be wrong?

Do you think it's fair for him to compete in competitions with guys who are playing off their real handicap?

There are golfers out there like myself that are trying to get their handicap as low as possible and there are guys out there trying to keep their handicaps as high as possible and I think something should be done about them.
    This exactly what i believe. The fact that the event isn't a gui event attracts certain types who will do whatever they can to win big prizes. Not all entries are bandits but my experience of such has kept me going to play in these outings. Great value for playing top courses all the same

i get what your saying. but at the end of the day see it as a challenge to go out and play out of your skin. your posts are coming across as sour grapes.

at the end of the day you dont know nor cant prove that the winner of the event just didnt have a weekend of his life golfing and won the prize. he may be the most honest golfer that plays the game. your assuming that bcos he's a 23 handicap that he protects his handicap and never plays, which may be true but you cant assume it about a person otherwise there would be no point in you ever playing a competition.

i've seen similar attitude in my home club toward student members. one older member was giving out one evening about a young fella (17 at the time) scoring 45 points in a comp to win it. what that member didnt know is that the lad was playing off 8 at the time, considerably lower than what that member was playing off of however the member made the mistake of assuming that he was off 20 odd.

point being, dont assume anything and accept that this 23 handicapper, may just may, have played the rounds of his life to win

PARlance wrote: »
    Do you know the winning details of the Golf Digest one Ed?
    They haven't updated their site or facebook page.

Not sure. I do know there was a ruling called and a bit of controversy about the way the winner lined up his putts. Something to do with him grounding the putter in front of his ball before every putt.
    It was given to him anyway. Not sure of the score.

Winner played off 15 3 years ago. Left club and let handicap lapse. Joined new club got new handicap of 23.

i get what your saying. but at the end of the day see it as a challenge to go out and play out of your skin. your posts are coming across as sour grapes.

I'm just venting.
    But if I had qualified for that final and lost to a guy off 23 who had 80 odd points over two days on those two course they would be the sourest of grapes I can assure you.

The challenge is to go out every time and try to post a good score on a level playing pitch, get myself cut and with a bit of luck pick up a prize not to go out and try to out score someone who has an inflated handicap.

It's grand to say the guy might just have had two wonder rounds but it's also completely naive.

I'm not assuming becuse the guy plays off 23 that he's dishonest, it's a combination of his handicap and his scores that make me smell a rat and the problem is there is a pong of rat in so many events ( in particular team events ) that I think the GUI need to do something about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭jtown

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Winner played off 15 3 years ago. Left club and let handicap lapse. Joined new club got new handicap of 23.

Seriously!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭valc

Not sure. I do know there was a ruling called and a bit of controversy about the way the winner lined up his putts. Something to do with him grounding the putter in front of his ball before every putt.
    It was given to him anyway. Not sure of the score.

And walked off the course & back to the club house when the controversy arose mid way through his round!

Was persuaded by the Golf Digest lads to finish his round with different playing partners. Which he did!

valc wrote: »
    And walked off the course & back to the club house when the controversy arose mid way through his round!

Was persuaded by the Golf Digest lads to finish his round with different playing partners. Which he did!

Yep! A few left unhappy over it.

jtown wrote: »
    Seriously!!!!

Technically not breaking rules but hey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭DuckHook

Somebody posted that the guy had 3 scratches on the back nine and still returned 39 points for the second round.

This means that the last 5 holes on the O'meara were played in +1 gross for the 16 points with 2 shots at 15 and 18.

Im sorry but thats banditry at its finest to turn on the pars when it counted as a 23 hcap shoulnt be able to do this.

scrubber72 wrote: »

Now there's something seriously wrong there if that's true (Do you know the guy, or know of the guy, Scrubber?)

That is absolutely ridiculous if true.
    Are we obliged to tell a new club of our previous HC?
    I know/think the information is always requested in an application form, but are there sanctions if you withhold the information?
    If not, there should be.

Unless he lost his arm during the lapsed period, it would seem that his previous HC was omitted on applying for a new course or completely disregarded by his new HC Sec.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Pretty sour end hearing about the walk-off and 15 to 23 h/cap jump, shame as I played the one in The Heritage and really enjoyed it...

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

hhmmm, yea tis pretty sad end to the season for the golf digest events.

The scores brought in to win the events during the year from what I remember weren't completely off the charts, but if the stuff I'm reading here is true, then it could be abit fishy alright.

What would be the ruling about finishing with different playing partners ? Would you have 2 markers signatures on the card ??

hhmmm, yea tis pretty sad end to the season for the golf digest events.

The scores brought in to win the events during the year from what I remember weren't completely off the charts, but if the stuff I'm reading here is tr
    ue, then it could be abit fishy alright.

What would be the ruling about finishing with different playing partners ? Would you have 2 markers signatures on the card ??
    Its fine once markers signed. All disputes were resolved on the day. Can't and shouldn't change any result. Its a shame its gone to this but that's what happens.
    Golf as a game of honour is gone forever

DuckHook wrote: »
    Somebody posted that the guy had 3 scratches on the back nine and still returned 39 points for the second round.

This means that the last 5 holes on the O'meara were played in +1 gross for the 16 points with 2 shots at 15 and 18.

Im sorry but thats banditry at its finest to turn on the pars when it counted as a 23 hcap shoulnt be able to do this.

1 point from the first 4 holes on the back nine! Now that's more like it :D
    At the very best he was +12 for those 4 holes (he had 2 shots on 11).

Pity about what seems to be a bitter end to what seems to be a decent schedule of events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

This is outrageous.

Why would anyone bother entering this at all with the type of crap I've read the last couple of pages here going on.

15 handicapper 3 years ago now playing with 2 shots on 5 holes!!!!
    All after he just let his GUI lapse!!!!

That's scandalous.